News Taylor Adams coming to Pies? Hine: "Yeah, I think so"

What do you reckon about this drawn out trade?

From what I can gather GWS are trying to swap picks 21-22 for pick 14, they will then want our pick 10 and Shaw for Adams and pick 14.

This is a club that has been given so much

Just do the straight swap you greedy pieces of crap

I'm sorry, but if GWS want us to drop 4 places down the draft and out of that all important "top 12" that has been mentioned by many, they better be giving us something else as well in the deal (2nd round pick maybe).

A deal of Adams and pick 14 for Shaw and pick 10 ludicrously favours GWS, and I'd be very disappointed if we did this deal.

Well if that is the reason for the hold up we had better start looking at Plan B for oursleves.

I'm sorry, but if GWS want us to drop 4 places down the draft and out of that all important "top 12" that has been mentioned by many, they better be giving us something else as well in the deal (2nd round pick maybe).

A deal of Adams and pick 14 for Shaw and pick 10 ludicrously favours GWS, and I'd be very disappointed if we did this deal.
I don't think we will.
Despite what giant flog and their supporters say, at the end of the day. We want Adams, they want Shaw (even said they had him on their website). If come 10AM Friday morning and the deal isn't done. Reality is Shaw is contracted and wanted by 7 other clubs, we can either keep him or trade him elsewhere. Adams on the other hand has no contract and can just go into the draft. GWS could come out with none of them and it would be a massive embarrassment. When push comes to shove at 1PM Friday and nothing has been done they will accept a straight swap. I have no doubt in my mind the outcome will be a straight swap and we will NOT part with one of our first round draft picks that we worked so hard to get.

It took us 2 weeks to get a deal done that could of been done in the first minute of the trade period just so we can get a better pick, hine clearly wants them for a reason.

Was anyone listening to what Scott Lucas had to say this morning on SEN and was anything he said worth noting?

I had to goto my Neurological lecture and missed it. Dam Steve Hooker putting him on late!
Basically Lucas said the deal will get done. Said that Adams has selected the Pies as his club. Also said that the trade period is a bit like a school assignment, why hand it in as early as possible when the due date is three weeks later.

Yeah like we folded re Luke Ball.

As Hine said, there are other things going on that we are not aware of.
We had a strong hand with Ball given the cap space and hi agrees salary nomination. We have alienated Shaw. Totally different situation.

I made a pretty simple point about negotiation stength. Gubby likes to play a strong bluff hand. It worked for us when he was on our side and against us when he was on Brisbane's (Mal Michael). As I said, know your opponent. It wasn't a criticism of us - no need to put your cheerleading hat on again.

Then we pass. Adams was pick 13. We'll just keep Shaw and go in with high picks meh
As I keep saying, there is a hell of a lot of water to pass before we can just keep Shaw. It's pretty difficult to put culture on the agenda like we ahve and then proceed as we have and take a u turn. I'll be amazed if we keep shaw now. I wouldn't be unhappy mind you.

We are not giving up our first 2 picks, Hine said something yesterday along the lines of unless an extraordinary deal comes along we will be keeping 6 and 10.
I got the distinct impression we were keeping 6 & 10 and that we did not think there was any chance of a trade for 1 or 2. Hine may be playing a bluff of course but if so he played it well.

IMO we will keep the picks which isn't a bad thing at all. With 6 & 10 there is a high probability of a gun and serviceable player at least.

We had a strong hand with Ball given the cap space and hi agrees salary nomination. We have alienated Shaw. Totally different situation.

I made a pretty simple point about negotiation stength. Gubby likes to play a strong bluff hand. It worked for us when he was on our side and against us when he was on Brisbane's (Mal Michael). As I said, know your opponent. It wasn't a criticism of us - no need to put your cheerleading hat on again.

Shaw is contracted for two years, we hold the upper hand again.

From what I can gather GWS are trying to swap picks 21-22 for pick 14, they will then want our pick 10 and Shaw for Adams and pick 14.

Doesnt sound unreasonable although I'd prefer a straight swap. Impossible to really compare the values of Adams and Shaw...but they are pretty close. Dropping from 10 to 14 might not be a massive cost if people are saying that the quality drops away after the first 6-8 players...

We'd still have two picks in the top 15 as well as Adams and White from trade period.

Doesnt sound unreasonable although I'd prefer a straight swap. Impossible to really compare the values of Adams and Shaw...but they are pretty close. Dropping from 10 to 14 might not be a massive cost if people are saying that the quality drops away after the first 6-8 players...

We'd still have two picks in the top 15 as well as Shaw and White from trade period.
I'd prefer to keep Shaw who is a proven star and our best defender and keep our pick 10 thanks. Shaw is durable and has plenty of good footy ahead of him. Shaw is worth MORE than Adams imo.. I don't understand the argument the we should provide a sweetener. If anything should be the other way round.

Agree I'd like to keep Shaw too.

But that isnt going to happen so what needs to be discussed is what will happen...........the trade and whether either club can argue for a sweetener and what that woudl be. I'd be happy to take a punt on Adams given his age his body shape and his form since debut....so if we pay fractionally overs for him thats a punt worth taking.

Realistically it's going to be one of 2 scenarios (that actually makes sense for all this waiting).

Straight swap

or

Shaw, pick 6 and 10 for Adams and pick 1 or 2.

Would rather picks 6 and 10 than just pick 2