Taylor Walker new Adelaide captain

ugh

I know I've indulged with it but can we just admit that no one has any clue what Dangerfield is doing and can we stop ruining a thread about Tex's captaincy by speculating..

It's a main board thread you spanner. If you just want people to wank over how good this appointment is and how Danger and Tex will create a dynasty at the Crows then go to the Crows board.

If you want an open discussion re: implications of Tex Walker being captain (Danger leaving) and opinions of whether or not Walker will go well, then yes read this thread.

If you had watched Tex on the footy show or during pressers you'd realise that he is quite witty.

I don't know where he has developed this "stupid" tag. Show me undeniable proof he is as stupid as you suggest.

Geez if he is witty on the footy show then that is undeniable proof he's smart isn't it?

Imo Sloane would have made a great captain, but are you saying you have a better idea than Walsh, glass, et al who made the decision with inside knowledge of the leadership group...

I'm saying Walker was made captain after other stuff happened in-house which us outsiders will probably not be able to confirm for several seasons.

It's funny that the outside is already casting Walsh as some sort of brute - all I have heard from the players is that he takes no sh!t, but is a great guy with a great sense of humour. Sounds like the sort of coach I'd want. Sounds like Ross Lyon. Sounds like Ken Hinkley.
What else are the players going to say, especially if they're shit scared of him?

All we heard out of the club in 2012 was how great Neeldy was with the boys, a week after he was sacked I spoke personally to a few of the guys who admitted that he terrorised the group.

Also, no, he doesn't sound like Ross Lyon or Ken Hinkley. You hear those guys talk, and you hear Walsh talk: there is a clear difference.

I don't care, because I have no particular feeling towards the Crows; but I don't think the bloke has started particularly well.

Opinions are like arseholes and all that of course, so we'll just have to wait until the season before we pass judgement either way.

It's a main board thread you spanner. If you just want people to wank over how good this appointment is and how Danger and Tex will create a dynasty at the Crows then go to the Crows board.

If you want an open discussion re: implications of Tex Walker being captain (Danger leaving) and opinions of whether or not Walker will go well, then yes read this thread.

I think questioning whether or not Tex will be an effective captain or whether it's a good decision or not is a totally valid converstional point

but most jerkoffs here are turning into another Dangerfield GAWWWN thread, which there are already plenty of them in existence...

He's not splitting the atom, he's captain of a footy club flog

That's what I've been saying to people for days.

Footy captains only really have to call heads or tails and do inspirational shit on game day. That and not get into trouble.

He can come across as dumb due to the way he speaks, but I don't believe he actually is. He will become more comfortable with the media after a while.

I think his vocal tone makes him sound dumber than he might actually be. That sort of slow, bogan drawl has connotations of a lack of intelligence. I wouldn't know how smart he is, nor does it actually matter; he's shown he's capable on field and I'm sure he will lead the team well enough. That being said, he does seem fairly witty in the 'behind the scenes' videos AFC post, despite his vocal tone.

He's not splitting the atom, he's captain of a footy club flog

Which is fine, which is why I didn't mention his ability to captain well on the footy field. I was specifically talking about his public speaking, due to the fact that as captain, he will be publicly speaking a lot, and as it stands right now, he sounds like a bogan who didn't do too well in English. Which again, is fine, that's his right.

Was jonathon brown a good captain?

I couldn't give two shits how he speaks as long as he gets the job done on the field, I'm glad opposition supporters care so much

He sounds like a country lad to me. He will grow into his new role.

I think his vocal tone makes him sound dumber than he might actually be. That sort of slow, bogan drawl has connotations of a lack of intelligence. I wouldn't know how smart he is, nor does it actually matter; he's shown he's capable on field and I'm sure he will lead the team well enough. That being said, he does seem fairly witty in the 'behind the scenes' videos AFC post, despite his vocal tone.
Do you really have to use that term? As of 2015 it's being used in the same disgusting context as the "n word"

I don't care how the captain sounds in the media, I just want him to help deliver results on the field...

That's just it though

A team captain these days has so much more to do than just on-field performance. He'll be required to speak to and entertain coterie groups, actual & potential sponsors, overseas visitors, etc.

If all he can do is play good footy, sorry, that just aint enough these days.

That's just it though

A team captain these days has so much more to do than just on-field performance. He'll be required to speak to and entertain coterie groups, actual & potential sponsors, overseas visitors, etc.

If all he can do is play good footy, sorry, that just aint enough these days.

All of those things you mentioned are a shared responsibility. It's not all lumped on Walker alone.

Seriously the bolded part doesn't really make any sense. Performance and the ability to inspire team mates is a hell of a lot more important to me than how eloquent Walker is when speaking publicly.

All of those things you mentioned are a shared responsibility. It's not all lumped on Walker alone.

Seriously the bolded part doesn't really make any sense. Performance and the ability to inspire team mates is a hell of a lot more important to me than how eloquent Walker is when speaking publicly.

It makes perfect sense

A great club captain has to be great on-field AND great in the corporate boxes, he's supposed to be captain for more than just playing ability

Tex could be dumb as a sack of bricks in everything else in life, but one thing he's got is seriously good footy smarts.
That would be a sack of potatoes;)

Good luck to Walker, I think he'll go well as long as the club don't try to inhibit his natural charisma.

Taylor Walker new Adelaide captain