Coach Teague in or out?

Teague in or out?

How do we really know if John Barker and Stanton were no good?

Unless you are inside the club then I'm not sure how anyone can make an accurate assumption.

lol.

Good coaches don't walk out mid season, after a poor start to the season and when advised their performance will be reviewed, and then subsequently advise they are leaving footy.

If Teague has any self respect he'd have to rebuke those comments made on one of his players by his tosser of a manager. As a coach you stick fat to your players especially your captain, come hell or high water! Don't care if you think you're about to get the boot or what not but at present and time of those comments you're still coach of the footy club... I give Teague 24 hours to make the necessary retort regarding those comments otherwise I'll frog march him out of Princes Park myself.

Even though I still think Teague may survive, makes a whole lot more sense why things have gone for him as they have.

If Teague was smart, he'd get out there this morning and condemn Pickering's comments. Seriously, they may affect him scoring an assistant role at other clubs.

Unfortunately I think he will just keep quiet and/or concede will is his usual modus operandi this year after each week.

We're just waiting for excavators to finish the new underground tunnels at Ikon Park before we can have our meeting with the players. Thanks to COVID restrictions there is a limit on the number of construction workers allowed on prem. Stanton got told to leave because he refused to help the dig with the spoon he was provided at breakfast yesterday. Teague last I hear was still on his hands and knees doing the hard yards, whilst the board was overheard saying "lets get 400K of dig out of him before we tell him".

If Teague was smart, he'd get out there this morning and condemn Pickering's comments. Seriously, they may affect him scoring an assistant role at other clubs.

Unfortunately I think he will just keep quiet and/or concede will is his usual modus operandi this year after each week.
Front up to the camera, cross his arms and legs and look into the void.....

Journo: "Teague, anything you want to say??"..
Teague: "Matt Damon"

Tom Browne is a knob & talks complete sh*t.

People need to remember our board have been/are business professionals, to suggest that all of a sudden a couple of board members have put a red light up on Ross Lyon is just Tom Browne's way of trying to hedge his bets.

The Lyon payout at Freo is old news & something the board would have been well aware of, it's not suddenly a startling revelation.

This process has not gone to the media's timetable & now these fools are just throwing up crap for the sake of click bait.

Exactly and one of the people running our review, just happened to be captain of the footy club at the time of the Ross Lyon incident.. Do you not think this has been sounded out prior to yesterdays revelation by Tom Browne.....

lol.

Good coaches don't walk out mid season, after a poor start to the season and when advised their performance will be reviewed, and then subsequently advise they are leaving footy.

Not a comment on his coaching ability at all but John Barker didn't walk out on the club. He told the club he was leaving at the end of the season and they pushed him out immediately.

I was all on the Teague train, but the above is a legit coach-killing choice that Teague appears to have made.

Blind Freddy could see that John Barker and Stanton were complete dead wood. Why would Teague want to retain these two in particular? John Longmire brought in Don Pike, Melbourne brought in Chocolate Williams. Carlton should have done something similar, it appears they wanted to but Teague did not want change.

If Teague goes, there won’t be much sympathy from me, his choices where part of the problem.

because Teague is too nice, and a 'good bloke' which is half the problem.. The real issue is that this choice should not have been given to David.. He is a young inexperienced coach. If we had a good football manager, he would not have given Teague this choice, he would have seen the holes that were obvious and fixed them... However we have Brad Lloyd.

How do we really know if John Barker and Stanton were no good?

Unless you are inside the club then I'm not sure how anyone can make an accurate assumption.

Stanton & Barker have been our midfield and stoppage coaches... This is a group that now has 2 All Australians, Cripps and Walsh.. Yet we have been slaughtered at clearances for 2 years, never been able to stop a run on which always started with easy goals out of the middle.. Our transition was pathetic.. Barker and Stanton could not fix this, not even close...

lol.

Creative

Actually didn't walk out, offered his resignation and was terminated at that point ( I do the same when mid level staff and below resign, no need for handover)

Maybe Barker had a difference of opinion with Teague and his gameplan, yet any leader calls the shots, whether it's the right strategy or not

As a sidenote, since Barker's departure, we have dropped from 5th to 15th for clearances, nor did we lose to bottom sides in the first half of the year (Pies were at full strength at round 2)

he couldn’t even find a phone in the coaches box when opposition teams are piling on goal after goal. I doubt Pickering’s comments are going to fire him up.

Oppose to in the other camp we have Clarko hurling orders/abuse down the phone to poor ole Burgoyne who picked up the phone accidently while sitting on the bench,when the Hawks were winning their game.

Ive often observed Cripps having a tanty on the field when ump decisions havent gone his way. Twice when i was watching the game live he was tryng to remonstrate with an ump while a team mate was looking for support. It's this attitude on Cripps that I'm getting from Teague. There's a touch of 'me first and the gimme gimmes' going on. When Cripps is firing and the team is firing he's the man for the job. But that's not when it counts as captain. Cripps signing long term? I really don't know what to take from that.

As for Teague I think he's lacked adequate support on and off field. The main problem he faces if he is to remain, or any incoming coach for that matter, is to establish a new and galvanised culture. We seem to lack a standard of any sorts. And it seems to me some players are on board 100% and some are not. It's pretty bloody simple. Start stringing some games togther, create an iron clad group that guys are dying to get into. I'm just not seeing the 'i wanna be part of that' mindset. Until that die is solidly set we will float haplessly in the 13-9 position on the ladder.

There seems to be a thinking that if Clarko comes in he'll crack the whip and start setting bombs off under players backsides. That's all well and good. But if you're not winning that hard ball routine wears thin very quickly. We've seen it how many times.?

I think Teague is still capable. I think he can bridge the gap. It's just whether or not the club wanna back him in. If Clarko shows any remote interest I think he'll be gone.

Ive often observed Cripps having a tanty on the field when ump decisions havent gone his way. Twice when i was watching the game live he was tryng to remonstrate with an ump while a team mate was looking for support. It's this attitude on Cripps that I'm getting from Teague. There's a touch of 'me first and the gimme gimmes' going on. When Cripps is firing and the team is firing he's the man for the job. But that's not when it counts as captain. Cripps signing long term? I really don't know what to take from that.

As for Teague I think he's lacked adequate support on and off field. The main problem he faces if he is to remain, or any incoming coach for that matter, is to establish a new and galvanised culture. We seem to lack a standard of any sorts. And it seems to me some players are on board 100% and some are not. It's pretty bloody simple. Start stringing some games togther, create an iron clad group that guys are dying to get into. I'm just not seeing the 'i wanna be part of that' mindset. Until that die is solidly set we will float haplessly in the 13-9 position on the ladder.

There seems to be a thinking that if Clarko comes in he'll crack the whip and start setting bombs off under players backsides. That's all well and good. But if you're not winning that hard ball routine wears thin very quickly. We've seen it how many times.?

I think Teague is still capable. I think he can bridge the gap. It's just whether or not the club wanna back him in. If Clarko shows any remote interest I think he'll be gone.

I have noticed this about Cripps, and used to figure he was just trying to hard and getting frustrated... However the more I watched his game, the more I have heard him speak... I actually just think he is a very dumb footballer, has got away with it up until now because of talent, workrate and size.. but as captain of an underperforming side its become a bit of a liability.

Creative

Actually didn't walk out, offered his resignation and was terminated at that point ( I do the same when mid level staff and below resign, no need for handover)

Maybe Barker had a difference of opinion with Teague and his gameplan, yet any leader calls the shots, whether it's the right strategy or not

As a sidenote, since Barker's departure, we have dropped from 5th to 15th for clearances, nor did we lose to bottom sides in the first half of the year (Pies were at full strength at round 2)

Interesting comments from Sam Edmund this morning Lloyd and Teague were happy for Barker to stay until the end of the year the call was made above them! again interference in Footy Department matters from above?

Seems to be a pattern no wonder there are rumours of Liddle's delayed departure

I wonder if playing while in pain has effected his on field demeanour as he seems much more self focused than team focused as he has been in past seasons.

Not sure if I've seen a game were he looked like he was moving freely.

During the Hawks game Clarko picked up the phone to yell orders down the phone to the bench,apparently Monkhurst was supposed to have picked the phone up at the time but Burgoyne picked the phone up and copped Clarko yelling down the phone. Was mentioned in Clarkos/Burgoynes last game interview together,both had a laugh over it.

I wonder if playing while in pain has effected his on field demeanour as he seems much more self focused than team focused as he has been in past seasons.

Not sure if I've seen a game were he looked like he was moving freely.

I definitely think his body has been banged up all year. Agree his body language is not great at times on the field. But I also believe some players don’t cope well with the added responsibility of being skipper. The club should seriously think handing it onto Weitering who is best placed out of anyone on our list to carry that responsibility.

Ollie Wines was a prime example where captaincy didn’t suit. But if I was cripps the first call I would be making this off-season is to Ollie. A lot of similarities i.e. struggled to cover the ground, running patterns were all wrong, kicking at times not great, constant crash and bash style broke his body etc. he has transformed all of that to be the damaging player he is currently.

I've been a supporter of Teague and truely hoped that he would survive this year and be coaching us next year. That puts me in the minority here.

His manager making a whole hearted attack on Cripps (whether called for or not is irrelevant) and Teague not coming to Cripps defence immediately and distancing himself from his manager (hopefully sacking him for his efforts) means that that is no longer a viable option. The only option is to remove Teague from the equation. You cannot have the coach's manager denigrating the club captain and the coach not coming immediately and forcefully to his player's defence. Even if the coach harbours some doubts about any player, he must defend them publically and without reservation.

It’s ridiculous, the bloke literally gives his all for the club and the love for the club is evident
Nothing more exciting than watching Patrick Cripps in full flight. We all have those opposition supporter friends that are in awe of him. But if he wants to go next level the point raised earlier regards Ollie Wines and the progress and changes he has made need to happen. And maybe that means handing the reins over. The facts are Teague has given him a whack by not putting him the same convo/level as Weeto, Walsh and Harry. That's a mini red flag. He's taken a crack at him/questioned him. Want to be a an AFL captain and rise to the cream of the crop ? Give Luke hodge a call. And as I've said before regards Cripps, stop remonstrating/sooking with umps during game play. Have that conversation afterwards. Help your team mates first. Make no mistake I'm a huge fan, but right now he's at that cross roads between becoming something Mega for this club or just being a banged up upper level shoulda coulda woulda.

Media reports that the Board is split on Ross Lyon. Their concern is allegedly about the incident that occurred at Fremantle with the staff member and the confidential settlement that was made to her. The Board members opposed to Lyon fear that by appointing him it will go against the club's RESPECT policy.
But when coaches abuse, belittle and explode on players, and their Board sacks coaches, CEO's and other staff this code is never mentioned or considered...

So if Lyon is rejected, that leaves us with chasing Pike, but we forget he was coach at the infamous training camp...hardly respectful. Clarkson has no respect for property as he continually destroys coaching boxes, and was fined for abusing a 19 y.o umpire at an Under 9's match. That rules him out.

How far does this go??

If Teague remains coach next year, then I can guarantee you thousands of members will just walk away from the club and footy.

Media reports that the Board is split on Ross Lyon. Their concern is allegedly about the incident that occurred at Fremantle with the staff member and the confidential settlement that was made to her. The Board members opposed to Lyon fear that by appointing him it will go against the club's RESPECT policy.
But when coaches abuse, belittle and explode on players, and their Board sacks coaches, CEO's and other staff this code is never mentioned or considered...

So if Lyon is rejected, that leaves us with chasing Pike, but we forget he was coach at the infamous training camp...hardly respectful. Clarkson has no respect for property as he continually destroys coaching boxes, and was fined for abusing a 19 y.o umpire at an Under 9's match. That rules him out.

How far does this go??

If Teague remains coach next year, then I can guarantee you thousands of members will just walk away from the club and footy.

The board surely can't be that stupid. To go again with Teague when Lyon is refreshed, hungry and available.