Teammates that didn't like each other

Apparently Pia was quite the party girl.

This came from the horses mouth, however he could be full of shit

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
She musta been..
Musta been on wiz to find that guy attractive
Definitely worth it from Carroll. Highlight of his career.
Highlight
What next to his brain explosion
Pissed and on drugs while beating up bystanders on Chapel St.

She musta been..
Musta been on wiz to find that guy attractive

Highlight
What next to his brain explosion
Pissed and on drugs while beating up bystanders on Chapel St.
I know Carroll liked the cold stuff. So would make sense

Obviously I've never spent as much time with him as Chapman would have, but most things I've seen and heard of Scarlett on a personal level make him seem like a knob.

When you only have the odd gossipy comment and their on-field persona to go by, it's pretty hard to know. In Chapman's case, for example, I've heard that the only former teammate whom he is truly close friends with is Josh Hunt.

I'm sure he's on good terms with a number of other former premiership teammates, but apparently just doesn't regularly catch up with anyone else.

When you only have the odd gossipy comment and their on-field persona to go by, it's pretty hard to know. In Chapman's case, for example, I've heard that the only former teammate whom he is truly close friends with is Josh Hunt.

I'm sure he's on good terms with a number of other former premiership teammates, but apparently just doesn't regularly catch up with anyone else.
What is actually wrong with this? I never hung out with people from work socially.

I bet you rarely went to the other side of the country with them and stayed in a hotel with them though either. Socially to me a footy club seems like a sort of ‘where work and social lives meet’ place. Sure they’re your workmates but you are working together on such a tight level that it’s virtually impossible not to become more than just work colleagues.

With regard to the Chapman/Scarlett thing, Scarlett could be a bit of a dick, I don’t really know, but he seems to me the sort of bloke that would be really popular with about 75 per cent of his teammates, where he has respect for them, and would be on really prickly terms with those who haven’t, in his eyes at least, earned that respect.

I have always imagined for example that he would have hated Mark Blake.

I bet you rarely went to the other side of the country with them and stayed in a hotel with them though either. Socially to me a footy club seems like a sort of ‘where work and social lives meet’ place. Sure they’re your workmates but you are working together on such a tight level that it’s virtually impossible not to become more than just work colleagues.

With regard to the Chapman/Scarlett thing, Scarlett could be a bit of a dick, I don’t really know, but he seems to me the sort of bloke that would be really popular with about 75 per cent of his teammates, where he has respect for them, and would be on really prickly terms with those who haven’t, in his eyes at least, earned that respect.

Don’t think Blake was too popular with the ‘old school’ cats.

Jason Dunstall didn't like Gary Ayres because Gary used to bring his Mrs on the end of year footy trips, Dunstall didn't like it because he couldn't 'play up'.
Gary believes it's part of the reason why he didn't get the hawks coaching job as Dunstall was on the Hawks board at the time.

Jason Dunstall didn't like Gary Ayres because Gary used to bring his Mrs on the end of year footy trips, Dunstall didn't like it because he couldn't 'play up'.
Gary believes it's part of the reason why he didn't get the hawks coaching job as Dunstall was on the Hawks board at the time.
Fair enough too I reckon'. Who brings their MRS to an end of year footy trip? It's like taking your MRS to a bucks, not on.

This respect thing is a load of ****ing shit.

A good captain or person would welcome any person who walks into the club, and treat them warmly until otherwise.

This idea of not speaking to someone until they have respect is a load of shit. And what does that mean? Playing in the seniors? Playing well? Playing a hundred games? It just proves he was a stupid footy head with no open mind and no grasp on what people are actually like.

'Sorry mate, not gonna be friendly with you as a human... gotta earn respect as a footballer first.' It's just a load of shit and people use it as a way to justify him being a prick.

Scarlett has those serial killer eyes though, sort of bloke who wouldn't blink and just stare at you all day.

This respect thing is a load of ******* shit.

A good captain or person would welcome any person who walks into the club, and treat them warmly until otherwise.

This idea of not speaking to someone until they have respect is a load of shit. And what does that mean? Playing in the seniors? Playing well? Playing a hundred games? It just proves he was a stupid footy head with no open mind and no grasp on what people are actually like.

'Sorry mate, not gonna be friendly with you as a human... gotta earn respect as a footballer first.' It's just a load of shit and people use it as a way to justify him being a prick.

Scarlett has those serial killer eyes though, sort of bloke who wouldn't blink and just stare at you all day.

1. He wasn’t captain so who cares.
2. If you take your football seriously, and you don’t see someone putting in (usually the first thing that earns respect) or you see them looking for a free ride or whatever then I think you have every right to not be chummy with them if you don’t want to be.

F***, what rule book dictates that you have to be lovey dovey to everyone at the club?

Nothing. I didn't say anything was. It's just interesting. And a professional footy club is more like a...local footy club than a traditional workplace, in terms of players hanging out socially.

This respect thing is a load of ******* shit.

Scarlett is great mates with plenty of Geelong players, including Enright. He took plenty of young defenders under his wing over the years, Tom Gillies for one, so your speculation of his relationship with young/fringe players is misguided, at best. At the end of the day, you show me a team full of nice guys and I'll show you an also-ran.

1. He wasn’t captain so who cares.
2. If you take your football seriously, and you don’t see someone putting in (usually the first thing that earns respect) or you see them looking for a free ride or whatever then I think you have every right to not be chummy with them if you don’t want to be.

F***, what rule book dictates that you have to be lovey dovey to everyone at the club?
Dunno, lots of footballers have not tried very hard and were very, very good footballers. Lots of people try their guts out to get on a list and yet are total spuds. Someone who doesn't act decently to the extent they come across as a flog, just because they don't try hard at football, is ludicrous. Who are you to say someone has to try hard? If you want to get to a list and spend your contract drinking and going to nightclubs after every VFL game, go for it, it's your career you're risking.

He just seems like a super serious flog with absolutely no personality, who seems totally defined by his reputation as a 'hard man' and the fact he was once a footballer in a successful AFL team.

This thread is basically about flogs and weirdos and whether you like it nor, it seems old Scarlett is considered one of those.

There have been all sorts of personalities in very successful teams, just look at the Brisbane Lions and Hawks. Guys like Aker who rubbed people the wrong way via flamboyancy and ego, the all serious types in the Lions midfield, the FIGJAMs, the decent guys with great leadership qualities, the cheeky country lads... I mean you can be a ****in arseh*le hard-arse and win flags and you can be a Dane Swan who doesn't believe in recovery and be an even better player than Scarlett was.

Scarlett just seems incredibly dull and over serious. Even in retirement he seems to think football is this thing of utmost importance.

Dunno, lots of footballers have not tried very hard and were very, very good footballers. Lots of people try their guts out to get on a list and yet are total spuds. Someone who doesn't act decently to the extent they come across as a flog, just because they don't try hard at football, is ludicrous. Who are you to say someone has to try hard? If you want to get to a list and spend your contract drinking and going to nightclubs after every VFL game, go for it, it's your career you're risking.

He just seems like a super serious flog with absolutely no personality, who seems totally defined by his reputation as a 'hard man' and the fact he was once a footballer in a successful AFL team.

This thread is basically about flogs and weirdos and whether you like it nor, it seems old Scarlett is considered one of those.

There have been all sorts of personalities in very successful teams, just look at the Brisbane Lions and Hawks. Guys like Aker who rubbed people the wrong way via flamboyancy and ego, the all serious types in the Lions midfield, the FIGJAMs, the decent guys with great leadership qualities, the cheeky country lads... I mean you can be a ****in arseh*le hard-arse and win flags and you can be a Dane Swan who doesn't believe in recovery and be an even better player than Scarlett was.

Scarlett just seems incredibly dull and over serious. Even in retirement he seems to think football is this thing of utmost importance.
This is getting Petty.
My two cents.

Scarlett.
I might need some help here.
I remember reading that Matty Scarlett had an incredibly high IQ.
As with ultra smart people they can give the impression of being aloof.
Even arrogant.
Quite often people with photographic memories have poor communication skills. They just don't relate to the common man.

These issues were personally addressed during the famous Geelong review of 2006.

After some hard truths Scarlett thrived and even started talking to his (what you would call inferiors) teammates..

For us armchair critics, most of whom have never been in the same room as Scarlett, let alone spoken to him, he's defined as one of the greatest defenders of all time and a three time premiership player. And my guess is he's just fine with that.

As a teammate, he's shown himself to be incredibly loyal and selfless, copping the flak for abusing Robert Harvey during Harvey's last finals series, only for it to emerge later that Harvey instigated this by getting stuck into Jimmy Bartel about his relationship with his father. More recently, he's helped both Geelong and a teammate at local level (Tom Stewart at South Barwon) get to AFL level.

For as long as (presumably) any of us have known Scarlett, football has been his profession. On the (very rare) occasions that we hear him publicly speak these days, in his capacity as a Geelong assistant coach what would you like him to talk about, other than football? Were you after his take on Rohingya when Welshy shoves a microphone in his face during the three quarter time break?

Don’t think Blake was too popular with the ‘old school’ cats.
Cant tell you from first hand knowledge that Blake is a top line nob.

w***er of the highest order

5D074F3C-DAE4-49EB-8843-6766476DF6C3.jpeg A2AC4175-5CCD-4AB9-891A-3D92B8EC881F.jpeg

It’s a team sport genius so if someone isn’t putting in their full effort, at the very least on game day, it affects everyone.

Secondly, yes, it seems he is just this serious guy with no sense of humour, highlighted of course by the fact that he is arguably the greatest exponent of dressing up on mad Monday in history. A sure sign of humourlessness.

This is getting Petty.
My two cents.

Scarlett.
Even arrogant.
Quite often people with photographic memories have poor communication skills. They just don't relate to the common man.

These issues were personally addressed during the famous Geelong review of 2006.

After some hard truths Scarlett thrived and even started talking to his (what you would call inferiors) teammates..

images.jpg

This is getting Petty.
My two cents.

Scarlett.
Even arrogant.

I've never seen any evidence of this supposedly high iq. He comes across as a very simple man and an ar$ehole to boot, albeit an amazing footballer. The maxwell sledge is a great example. Would rather get stuck into the oppo than celebrate ling's goal. He talks about sprinting 100 metres to give it to maxwell yet on the vision it's about 20 metres and he gives him a weak little elbow before running away.
Embarrassing

For us armchair critics, most of whom have never been in the same room as Scarlett, let alone spoken to him, he's defined as one of the greatest defenders of all time and a three time premiership player. And my guess is he's just fine with that.

As a teammate, he's shown himself to be incredibly loyal and selfless, copping the flak for abusing Robert Harvey during Harvey's last finals series, only for it to emerge later that Harvey instigated this by getting stuck into Jimmy Bartel about his relationship with his father. More recently, he's helped both Geelong and a teammate at local level (Tom Stewart at South Barwon) get to AFL level.

For as long as (presumably) any of us have known Scarlett, football has been his profession. On the (very rare) occasions that we hear him publicly speak these days, in his capacity as a Geelong assistant coach what would you like him to talk about, other than football? Were you after his take on Rohingya when Welshy shoves a microphone in his face during the three quarter time break?

Well well well, never knew that. Play on then I say.

Teammates that didn't like each other