Universal Love Thank you SOS

An alternate statement from a member:

It is with a heavy heart that I read that SOS is leaving his role as List Strategy and Manager. His presence in the role was always a comfort to me that the club was taking the rebuild seriously, that the list would indeed be transformed and it wouldn't be just to make the finals, it would be for sustained success. I've been fascinated by his strategy, and admire his early adoption of live trading and other trade strategies to extract maximum value for the club. I can't see how he's structuring contracts across the list, but I am absolutely certain he'll have set it up so that we can attract and retain quality players.

Thank you SOS for the premierships, the 100% commitment in moments and games to winning the contests and winning the games, giving your sons the same commitment, and building a playing list and culture in your mould.

I wish you could stay because you are unique and impossible to replace. On this, I give the board, CEO and footy manager notice that many of us will be on your hammer to do better than you have recently. Time for you to demonstrate the sort of commitment that SOS did to making the club better, not play power games and prioritise your self interests.

Can't thank you enough SOS, see you at the footy.

Disgraceful way to treat a legend of our great club.
Wtf is the president doing in all of this?

Probably trying to talk his headstrong great mate into going about his leaving differently. To no avail.

That SOS is the one who has lost this battle tells me a few things.

One is that SOS is not faultless on the breakdown of relationships side of this, otherwise he would get the natural support of his great mate and the Board. The easy emotional decision would be to side with SOS.

Another is that the executive administration are being allowed to do what they are employed to do. Run the club the best way they see fit. That in itself is a sign that the club is still evolving in the correct way.

SOS did a great job that he was perfectly suited for at the time.

But he doesn't work well with others outside his tight group. He just doesn't. He's a limited tenure type guy. Like his great mate Ross Lyon.

And his conflict issues are very real, and affect more than just him, but the rest of the footy dept.

Thank you SOS

You deserved much better than this ending and while I am sure you could have stayed if you took a knee and allowed your role to be compromised, I understand why you stood firm and are exiting the club.

Jack and Ben, it seems that your selection or very place on the list, has been under consideration from above. I'd hate to see you play elsewhere but if you're not respected, take up any other offers that may come. Your place may well be taken by a fringe Richmond player next trade period anyway.

I'm calling the club tmw and requesting they knockdown my 2x home game memberships to 3x game memberships and refund me the difference.

Whether it was the right or wrong move, this has been managed terribly.

Amateur hour.

What a poor poor press release for someone who has done so much for our club both as an ex-player, Carlton legend and list manager.

It was almost a generic farewell release.

Sos has done so much for this club and completely transformed the club in 4 years. He brought hope back for the fans after almost 20 years of failure.

They could have done a lot more. Very disappointed

It's extremely disrespectful.
I don't know whether to be angry or cry.
SoS deserves a better send off than that shit though.

I'm calling the club tmw and requesting they knockdown my 2x home game memberships to 3x game memberships and refund me the difference.

Amateur hour.
you're increasing your memberships?

Amateur hour.

We’re all a little emotional here tonight, and rightly so. Let’s not lose sight of the men WEARING the Navy Blue. They need and deserve our support. They are the ones we cheer for. I am disgusted at the way this has all been handled, but it won’t change the fact that I am a Carlton supporter and member. I’d suggest you call and voice your anger towards President and CEO. Don’t reduce your support for the players.

what is the fuss all about it? people start, people finish - not everyone says "ok, I'm off" and even if they did people would find some sort of conspiratorial reason for them going - so not everyone is in complete sync? these are relatively new waters for all of us - on the threshold of real, hopefully sustained, success - the next bloke will have a lot easier job than sos ever did - onwards and upwards you clowns, you despots, you thankless hoons, you impertinent jesters.......
I have to say thats right.

what is the fuss all about it? people start, people finish - not everyone says "ok, I'm off" and even if they did people would find some sort of conspiratorial reason for them going - so not everyone is in complete sync? these are relatively new waters for all of us - on the threshold of real, hopefully sustained, success - the next bloke will have a lot easier job than sos ever did - onwards and upwards you clowns, you despots, you thankless hoons, you impertinent jesters.......
get over yourself neese

My message to SOS.

It’s not unusual for the things you love most to turn things upside down and hurt you the most. That’s life.

I must admit the ‘conflict of interest’ argument blindsided me. I didn’t see that coming so it’s been a well kept secret. Personally I think it’s spin. SOS is a tough administrator who has allowed others the room to make ‘realistic’ decisions about his boys. I think he’s understood that relationship in the appropriate manner.

For me this is a relationship breakdown where one party has won the day. Our President has failed to broker a peace deal. In essence it’s a demarcation dispute.

On balance SOS, as an employee of the club, still had work to do and he should have been allowed to get on with his job. He’ll be replaced but in reality he can’t be replaced. That’s my dilemma.

SOS I was standing behind the goals in 1985 when you played your first practice match for Carlton. I was bloody excited by what I saw. Then you amazed me over your career with your talent and never say die attitude. I then witnessed your journey away from Carlton when we hurt you the first time. In 2015, your love of the club drew you back to Carlton and I was excited again. You’ve delivered as promised.

All the best. I’m hoping the soufflé can rise a third time at the Carlton Footy Club.

Jack played 17 games in 2019. 15,20 & 8 in preceding seasons respectively. What's your obvious point?

How many did he play in the first 5 rounds? I remember distinctly the views on this board at that time, there just has to be a reason where this conflict of interest thing reared it’s head.
It’s not a conflict of interest until it is...I’m just summising as I don’t know but it’s a natural position to have when blood is involved but the press release suggests something has happened to make it an issue.

How many did he play in the first 5 rounds? I remember distinctly the views on this board at that time, there just has to be a reason where this conflict of interest thing reared it’s head.
It’s not a conflict of interest until it is...I’m just summising as I don’t know but it’s a natural position to have when blood is involved but the press release suggests something has happened to make it an issue.

Something happened alright. Jack found his feet at AFL level.

Universal Love Thank you SOS