Universal Love Thank you SOS

SOS did a great job and luckily for us it is mostly done. Embarrasing and terribly unprofessional from the club. SOS should have had one more season, we should have spent 2020 sourcing a replacement and now we are in limbo. Put ourselves in a poor position. MLG has done a hell of a lot of good but has dropped the ball on this one and Liddle doesn't appear to be a very professional operator at all.

All is well if we find someone good. Pressure is on those at club to do so.

Very sad to see SOS go and the wrong decision IMO but he has completed 90% of the job so that is lucky. We will look back and thank him for his hard work. He will still be loyal to the club forever and I think it does take pressure off his boys a little bit so they can focus on performing without the speculation.

Thanks SOS, you are our greatest ever servant!

Thank you SOS.

We are sorry, upset and frankly embarrassed that this has transpired.

You have done a magnificent job and we, the fans, are forever grateful.

You are a true Carlton legend, and you will always be remembered for your contributions, both on and off the field.

I hope in time we see you back at the club in some capacity.

Did some very good work. Not faultless but set us up pretty well it seems. I know absolutely nothing about the machinations of his role or ending of his tenure, suffice to say those in the real world with a conflict of interest don't always get to determine how that conflict is managed.

Look forward to seeing the fruits of your labour (and loins) in the coming years.

someone is about to gain a creative and proactive list manager, one well ahead of the curve, thank you Stephen for a job well done ....... unfortunately for the fans changes in upper management often bring changes in direction

what is the fuss all about it? people start, people finish - not everyone says "ok, I'm off" and even if they did people would find some sort of conspiratorial reason for them going - so not everyone is in complete sync? these are relatively new waters for all of us - on the threshold of real, hopefully sustained, success - the next bloke will have a lot easier job than sos ever did - onwards and upwards you clowns, you despots, you thankless hoons, you impertinent jesters.......

Since you addressed me, I will respond.
  • List management is one of the most important roles at a football club
  • We have sucked at list management for a long time but finally recruited someone who was qualified
  • He put in a very good performance in the role and wanted to stay
  • We was given the boot, not because he was doing a poor job, not because of conflicts (IMO), but seemingly because of an organisational pissing contest
  • We have had appalling governance for decades and we finally looked like we had everything (and everyone) in order. And then this happens
So the angst over SOS leaving is from losing a talented employee. But it's bigger than that, the circumstances suggest all is not harmonious at the top of the organisation

And to badly paraphrase Harker....if the fish is still rotting at the head, those down the chain have no hope of doing their jobs properly.

• We have sucked at list management for a long time but finally recruited someone who was qualified
  • We was given the boot, not because he was doing a poor job, not because of conflicts (IMO), but seemingly because of an organisational pissing contest
  • We have had appalling governance for decades and we finally looked like we had everything (and everyone) in order. And then this happens
So the angst over SOS leaving is from losing a talented employee. But it's bigger than that, the circumstances suggest all is not harmonious at the top of the organisation

And to badly paraphrase Harker....if the fish is still rotting at the head, those down the chain have no hope of doing their jobs properly.

This!

Well said,

There's also chance that with SOS' departure that we will begin to see greater unity within the club because as noted by some ITK: Liddle, Lloyd & Agresta are on the one page.

I'm happy with the turnover of the list under his watch but rejuvenation is normal as is a degree of dysfunction but those leaking news of the conflict have let all parties down as nobody is walking away from this affair smelling like roses.
I trust that whatever lessons can be taken from these shenanigans are embraced and that the club can be better moving forward.

On SM-G965F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Long time lurker of the Carlton BigFooty Forum, first time poster. I've spent years reading the content that's put on this site, but thought it would be wrong not to comment on the influence that SOS has had on our footy club.

I don't think I've ever had the sense of optimism and hope that I have now about our future, and for me the man that can take credit for all of that is Stephen. He's absolutely turned the club around. Don't get me wrong, we've had some great off field appointments (Russell, and I also rate Brad Lloyd) in recent years, but he takes the cake.

For the first time in forever, picking the starting 22 is near on the most difficult its ever been. We have up and coming talent on every line. From getting two rounders for Bryce Gibbs, to turning this years first into 3 first rounders, he's made other list managers look silly and maximised our chances at getting talent through the door via trade and the draft.

I'm gutted he's leaving us. I can see almost every other club in the country having a chat to SOS about some sort of position at their own clubs. He's far too good to be out of a job.

Thanks for all your hard work SOS, best of luck for your next chapter :blueheart:

Long time lurker of the Carlton BigFooty Forum, first time poster. I've spent years reading the content that's put on this site, but thought it would be wrong not to comment on the influence that SOS has had on our footy club.

I don't think I've ever had the sense of optimism and hope that I have now about our future, and for me the man that can take credit for all of that is Stephen. He's absolutely turned the club around. Don't get me wrong, we've had some great off field appointments (Russell, and I also rate Brad Lloyd) in recent years, but he takes the cake.

For the first time in forever, picking the starting 22 is near on the most difficult its ever been. We have up and coming talent on every line. From getting two rounders for Bryce Gibbs, to turning this years first into 3 first rounders, he's made other list managers look silly and maximised our chances at getting talent through the door via trade and the draft.

I'm gutted he's leaving us. I can see almost every other club in the country having a chat to SOS about some sort of position at their own clubs. He's far too good to be out of a job.

Thanks for all your hard work SOS, best of luck for your next chapter :blueheart:

Welcome aboard C2W!

Great first post. Would love to see the rest of your posts live up to the high standard you have now set.

But if not, at least you will fit in better around here :p

Cheers Ferris, absolutely can keep the standard and looking forward to contributing where I can :)

I normally contribute where I shouldn't...

... But I guess your approach could work too...

Not happy. Concerned for my club that we’ve not been able to retain the most competent list manager we’ve ever had. The rebuild isn’t over. Agree he had to move on before his sons’ list spots started to influence recruiting decisions, but I reckon he had another year in him and so did the rebuild.

Liddle better bloody do an amazing job, or this is gonna go down as a big headshaker.

SOS is one my all time favourite Blues players. The soother of Ablett/Carey induced pre-game anxiety. Had the measure of the greats. Club legend. Dude! Thanks for it all.

but clearly we didn't have everything in order - I think people see sos as some sort of security blanket - as long as he's around things will be ok - well he's gone now and all the gnashing and moaning in the world won't change that - we are continually asked to be patient with our players - perhaps expecting a fluent, cohesive organization from a diverse series of individuals with egos to match requires the greatest patience of all - in 1980 we removed a president and our captain coach (more beloved even than sos) defected - we survived, even won two flags in the next three years - in 1989 we sacked our coach 18 months after he took us to a flag - we survived and prospered - unfortunately carlton just doesn't seem to "do" cohesion well - perhaps that eternal, internal friction is a bit like the grain of sand in the oyster, it has certainly produced glorious results in the past - be disappointed, point the finger, write what you think is important, then pull your navy jumper on and think about the future - fresh blood into a club on the cusp, how exciting - and the past, how the **** have we been as successful as we have been considering a look back over our history shows a battlefield strewn with bloodied bodies and broken dreams and grumpy baggers (and that's just the boardroom) we exist to win flags and the opposition clubs know it is only a mater of time before crippa and doc are holding up our 17th cup - true story.

but clearly we didn't have everything in order - I think people see sos as some sort of security blanket - as long as he's around things will be ok - well he's gone now and all the gnashing and moaning in the world won't change that - we are continually asked to be patient with our players - perhaps expecting a fluent, cohesive organization from a diverse series of individuals with egos to match requires the greatest patience of all - in 1980 we removed a president and our captain coach (more beloved even than sos) defected - we survived, even won two flags in the next three years - in 1989 we sacked our coach 18 months after he took us to a flag - we survived and prospered - unfortunately carlton just doesn't seem to "do" cohesion well - perhaps that eternal, internal friction is a bit like the grain of sand in the oyster, it has certainly produced glorious results in the past - be disappointed, point the finger, write what you think is important, then pull your navy jumper on and think about the future - fresh blood into a club on the cusp, how exciting - and the past, how the fu** have we been as successful as we have been considering a look back over our history shows a battlefield strewn with bloodied bodies and broken dreams and grumpy baggers (and that's just the boardroom) we exist to win flags and the opposition clubs know it is only a mater of time before crippa and doc are holding up our 17th cup - true story.

Never has such horrific grammar held this much meaning.

but clearly we didn't have everything in order - I think people see sos as some sort of security blanket - as long as he's around things will be ok - well he's gone now and all the gnashing and moaning in the world won't change that - we are continually asked to be patient with our players - perhaps expecting a fluent, cohesive organization from a diverse series of individuals with egos to match requires the greatest patience of all - in 1980 we removed a president and our captain coach (more beloved even than sos) defected - we survived, even won two flags in the next three years - in 1989 we sacked our coach 18 months after he took us to a flag - we survived and prospered - unfortunately carlton just doesn't seem to "do" cohesion well - perhaps that eternal, internal friction is a bit like the grain of sand in the oyster, it has certainly produced glorious results in the past - be disappointed, point the finger, write what you think is important, then pull your navy jumper on and think about the future - fresh blood into a club on the cusp, how exciting - and the past, how the fu** have we been as successful as we have been considering a look back over our history shows a battlefield strewn with bloodied bodies and broken dreams and grumpy baggers (and that's just the boardroom) we exist to win flags and the opposition clubs know it is only a mater of time before crippa and doc are holding up our 17th cup - true story.

Stop being a godamm pest and give djw1952 back!! 😆

Universal Love Thank you SOS