AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
In my opinion, nobody will remember Max Rooke, apart from one-eyed Geelong fans. Let's face it: he was a very ordinary footballer. Revered by teammates for his bravery, but not really as tough as many people claim, otherwise he would've spent less time on the sidelines re-habbing and actually played more games. If he was as tough as people claimed, he also would've stuck with the christian name his parents gave him. There's nothing tough about changing your own name to "Max". I actually think there is something vaguely ridiculous and conceited about re-naming yourself.
I would rate Max Rooke behind Dean Wallis for his contributions to his team's premiership as the semi-skilled hard bastard. Say what you liek about him, but at least Dean Wallis held down a position for the entire season.
Threads like these really belong on the Geelong Board. Why would anyone other than a Geelong fan care if Max Rooke has retired? It's not as though he was an ornament to the game, or even contributed a solitary highlight in his ordinary 130 game career. Lord knows why the moderators and Geelong fans get so uptight about people expressing their honest opinions. This isn't the Geelong Board, for chrissakes... We're allowed to be sensible and honest on the main board, aren't we?
Oh God, the Geelong cry babies have been whining to the mods and asking for posts to be removed.
I read the banter b/w you and LLD. Even had myself a few chuckles.In my opinion, nobody will remember Max Rooke, apart from one-eyed Geelong fans. Let's face it: he was a very ordinary footballer. Revered by teammates for his bravery, but not really as tough as many people claim, otherwise he would've spent less time on the sidelines re-habbing and actually played more games. If he was as tough as people claimed, he also would've stuck with the christian name his parents gave him. There's nothing tough about changing your own name to "Max". I actually think there is something vaguely ridiculous and conceited about re-naming yourself.
I would rate Max Rooke behind Dean Wallis for his contributions to his team's premiership as the semi-skilled hard bastard. Say what you like about him, but at least Dean Wallis held down a position for the entire season. He wasn't a bench warmer like Rooke.
Threads like these really belong on the Geelong Board. Why would anyone other than a Geelong fan care if Max Rooke has retired? It's not as though he was an ornament to the game, or even contributed a solitary highlight in his ordinary 130 game career. Lord knows why the moderators and Geelong fans get so uptight about people expressing their honest opinions. This isn't the Geelong Board, for chrissakes... We're allowed to be sensible and honest on the main board, aren't we?
Don't put words in my mouth. Where did I say I didn't admire Rooke? I'm full of admiration for anyone who perseveres at something. Rooke clearly had neither the ability, nor the durability to be much of a footballer. But he stuck to his guns, never gave in and played in two premierships. He didn't make a huge contribution, but he was there and nobody can ever take that away from him.BangBangBang said:Clearly not just geelong fans admired him, although i understand you didnt.
Thats not entirely true, Rooke was the reason Geelong beat St Kilda. It was some of his first half stuff that kept them in the gameDon't put words in my mouth. Where did I say I didn't admire Rooke? I'm full of admiration for anyone who perseveres at something. Rooke clearly had neither the ability, nor the durability to be much of a footballer. But he stuck to his guns, never gave in and played in two premierships. He didn't make a huge contribution, but he was there and nobody can ever take that away from him.
Since when does playing a role with injury define toughness?Revered by teammates for his bravery, but not really as tough as many people claim, otherwise he would've spent less time on the sidelines re-habbing and actually played more games.
Changing your name has nothing to do with footy toughness. Obvious troll, or are you deluded?If he was as tough as people claimed, he also would've stuck with the christian name his parents gave him. There's nothing tough about changing your own name to "Max".
Rooke was a key member of the side and played 42 games across 2008-2009. How you define someone as a "bench warmer" when they are a certain starter when available is beyond me.Say what you like about him, but at least Dean Wallis held down a position for the entire season. He wasn't a bench warmer like Rooke.
Scores of posts full of respect and praise from opposition supporters suggests otherwise.Threads like these really belong on the Geelong Board. Why would anyone other than a Geelong fan care if Max Rooke has retired?
Lies.It's not as though he was an ornament to the game, or even contributed a solitary highlight in his ordinary 130 game career.
Yet he played 135 games of senior footy with an attack on the footy as fierce as any, for two premierships, after a late start from the rookie list. Was it not for multiple serious injuries he could have conceivably played 200 games.Rooke clearly had neither the ability, nor the durability to be much of a footballer.
Revered by teammates for his bravery, but not really as tough as many people claim, otherwise he would've spent less time on the sidelines re-habbing and actually played more games.
If he was as tough as people claimed, he also would've stuck with the christian name his parents gave him. There's nothing tough about changing your own name to "Max".
Pfft. Since when has it not?Since when does playing a role with injury define toughness?
Possible weakness of character and symptomatic of certain type of softness? If you don't believe this to be the case and think it's irrelevant, then why get caught up arguing about it?Changing your name has nothing to do with footy toughness.
Easy. When a footballer spends more time on the bench than most of their teammates, I classify them as a bench warmer.Rooke was a key member of the side and played 42 games across 2008-2009. How you define someone as a "bench warmer" when they are a certain starter when available is beyond me.
The Geelong fans' petulance and anger towards people who don't share their misty-eyed memories of Rooke would suggest that the thread probably does belong on the Geelong board.Scores of posts full of respect and praise from opposition supporters suggests otherwise.
Not lies. My opinion. I can't think of a single highlight from Rooke's career, except for that dribbled goal in the 2009 Grand Final, after the final siren, while all of his teammates celebrated 100m away. He was a jobber. He played a role, but was nothing to write home about.Lies.
Yep, like I said, I admire Rooke for making the utmost of his limited ability. It doesn't mean I think he is worthy of a ticker tape parade.SJ said:Yet he played 135 games of senior footy with an attack on the footy as fierce as any, for two premierships, after a late start from the rookie list.
The same could be said for hundreds of other AFL footballers who played 50-150 games. There would be thousands of other footballers who could've conceivably played 200 AFL games were it not for injuries.SJ said:Was it not for multiple serious injuries he could have conceivably played 200 games.
I'm sorry, but I really don't see it that way. I don't share your reverence for Max Rooke, but I honestly and truly believe that he was a bit of hack. I swear I'm not trolling. I see thread, I post in it and share my views. That's what I do. No holding back. Forthright. No trolls.SJ said:Take your trolls to the Bay.
Another fine example of your accidental comedic genius.Pretty childish comment. How soft was Peter Hudson? Trent Croad is so soft, the pillow sleeps on him. Crimmo was a big softy too obviously.
applause.gif
Another fine example of your accidental comedic genius.
First you accuse me of making a chilldish comment, then you post, "applause.gif" like a true 13yo
You are hilarious... Really...
Not lies. My opinion. I can't think of a single highlight from Rooke's career, except for that dribbled goal in the 2009 Grand Final, after the final siren, while all of his teammates celebrated 100m away.
Pfft. Since when has it not?
Possible weakness of character and symptomatic of certain type of softness? If you don't believe this to be the case and think it's irrelevant, then why get caught up arguing about it?
Easy. When a footballer spends more time on the bench than most of their teammates, I classify them as a bench warmer.
The Geelong fans' petulance and anger towards people who don't share their misty-eyed memories of Rooke would suggest that the thread probably does belong on the Geelong board.
I believe my opinions are quite reasonable, yet there are a number of whiney Geelong fans who can't handle any negative opinion.
You tell me to take it to Bay 13, but I think you should just take it to the Geelong Board if you can't handle opposing views.
Not lies. My opinion. I can't think of a single highlight from Rooke's career, except for that dribbled goal in the 2009 Grand Final, after the final siren, while all of his teammates celebrated 100m away. He was a jobber. He played a role, but was nothing to write home about.
Yep, like I said, I admire Rooke for making the utmost of his limited ability. It doesn't mean I think he is worthy of a ticker tape parade.
The same could be said for thousands of other AFL footballers who played 50-150 games
I'm sorry that you feel this way.
I don't share your reverence for Max Rooke, but I honestly and truly believe that he was a bit of hack. I swear I'm not trolling. I see thread, I post in it and share my views. That's what I do. No holding back. Forthright. No trolls.
So with hand on heart and full sincerity I say, thanks for what memories?
He was a plodder.
If I was to post like this on your Geelong Board, then I could understand you getting annoyed and asking me to leave, but this is the main board where all reasonable football opinions are allowed.
Shame on you for being so intolerant of diverse opinion.
I watch heaps of footy. Just because I never really rated Max Rooke, it doesn't mean my "opinion" is ridiculous.The2ndComing said:Lol, your not being reasonable. Credit is due where it is due. And your pretty ridiculous 'opinions', which are more like trolls, make you seem like you don't watch much footy.
Jesus mate. Paul Dear and Shaun Hart won Norm Smith medals and both of them were plodders. I would still rate them higher than Rooke.The2ndComing said:Go watch the 2009 GF, you can't perform like that if you are a plodder.
You've got it all wrong. I have no beef with anyone who disagrees with me or "calls me out on my opinions. I just object to precious, thin-skinned folks who accuse me of trolling and tell me to rack off to Bay 13.The2ndComing said:Your opinions are diverse, but they are also stupid, so you've got to make allowances when people call them out.
Yeah, I never said otherwise. I did say that he never contributed much. He did a job and played a role... when he was fit... nothing more, nothing lessThe2ndComing said:On topic though, Rooke was a tough, hard and contributing player for the Cats.
DisagreeIt's trolling, just hiding behind a shield of ignorance. I respect hodgepodge's Bay 13 Rooke thread more than your posting.
Good post, mate.Max was simply my favourite player at Geelong and his retirement hurts much more than Ablett or Bomber leaving. He was the heart and soul of the club. His teammates lifted around him due to his strength, courage and sheer willpower to win each contest he entered (not that he won them all, but he did win many).
He was a throwback to the old, tougher days of football. On top of that he was a genuine character in a game now mostly bereft of them. And he wasn't a character in the bullying Sam Newman vein or dumb Crawford vein, he was just left-of-centre and funny.
He'll be sorely missed at the Cats (as he was this year) and it's nice to see opposition supporters giving him the plaudits he deserves. Not the greatest of players but somebody who earned his spot through hard work and never let it from his grasp until injury pried his hands open. Or his knees in this case, I'm not good at metaphors.
Love ya Maxy. May the no. 33 guernsey be rested until somebody is willing to step up and grow the impressive mane and facial hair it is now synonymous with.