Mega Thread The Adam Goodes Megathread - Now with Added Poll!

Why are crowds booing Goodes?

• Racism

Votes: 565 29.9%
  • He's perceived as a dirty player

Votes: 563 29.8%
  • He's perceived as making a team game all about himself

Votes: 758 40.1%
  • Because everyone else is booing, I thought I'd join in - like a Mexican wave thing

Votes: 268 14.2%
  • Because Gillon doesnt want them to

Votes: 135 7.2%
  • I have no idea

Votes: 74 3.9%
  • Other

Votes: 183 9.7%
  • His onfield message is at odds with his off field one

Votes: 233 12.3%
  • He can do no wrong with the MRP

Votes: 164 8.7%
  • I was saying Boo-Urns?

Votes: 61 3.2%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 56 3.0%

No they don't.
Only when they make a clanger.
After 3 mins all is forgotten.
Goodes just picks up the ball and gets booed.

Goodes has really opened us as a nation and left us all standing naked.
I reckon that is a good thing and really exposed us to who are racist or not.

Done more for all of us to stick together as one than alot of people.

The weird thing is that Adam Goodes has actually proved there are a heap of dumb racists around. This thread is super duper evidence of it

Yep, he has turned the mirror on Australia and it doesn't like the reflection.

Maybe, maybe not, but everyone has the right to decide who they boo. If everyone wants to join in on the booing it's their decision.
but the thing is they actually don't have a right to boo if it's racist... just saying

So being a great player and all round nice guy that Goodes is he decided to do a war dance at paying patrons of the game he is employed by but never had to face the AFL HR department for threatening people with harm.

Seems fair he can call everyone racist then.

Again let me restate what I've already written..

My opinion is that some boo him because they perceive he is a dirty player. I did not generalise and say that is the only reason why people do it and I don't believe that the booing of Adam is solely orientated as a racial attack.

Your opinion is valid.

Its is the AFL, clubs and other parties who are out of order.

So being a great player and all round nice guy that Goodes is he decided to do a war dance at paying patrons of the game he is employed by but never had to face the AFL HR department for threatening people with harm.

A new contender for peak stupid emerges.

I can't believe this is still going. Can't even boo now for disliking someone. People don't like him it's as simple as that. He comes across as a pompus arseh*le every time he's talking to the media. His reputation will be forever tarnished now, the guy who pulled the race card because he couldn't handle being booed. Such a hard life on 500k a year. hope he retires at the end of the year and takes the Adam Goodes show to parliament where he can lecture the Australian public more and talk down them.

If he feels so strongly about speaking out about indigenous issues he should quit footy and go into politics where he might be able to make a difference.

Trying to use a sport like AFL as a platform to speak out on these issues is what pisses most people off rather than the fact he's indigenous, people watch footy for entertainment they don't watch it to be lectured to about political issues and told how to behave by PC moral do gooders.

Adam Goodes basically hijacked the indigenous round with his provocative war dance to make it all about himself and further increasing the divide between indigenous and non indigenous people. Now the same thing is happening with this round due to Goodes deciding not to play because he copped some booing that many other players have been subjected to and just ignored.

Now we have to put up with the sycophantic AFL media typically overreacting by calling everyone racist bullies for booing and calling for booing to stop which has been going on at the footy since the game began.

I don't have a hell of a lot of sympathy for Goodes when he has contributed to this whole racism row by blowing it out of all proportion with help from the media. If he did decide to retire now I wouldn't be shedding any tears about it as I'm sick of this whole sideshow detracting from the game itself.

I was a big fan of Goodes as a player but some of his behaviour in recent years has tarnished his reputation afaic, much like Hird's behaviour has tarnished his reputation.

Crowls copped a bit but it was never as consistent as Goodes'. It was more along the lines of an Aker.

I guess we will see what happens if Freo decide to bring him back for finals in a few weeks, but in my memory it's the same amount. The question is does Goodes deserve that amount of boos? Personally I would say no as he is more just your standard annoying player and definitely not on the same level as a Ryan Crowley.

Y-E-S

Or wait because everything is pc, maybe everyone else should be booed to the exact same level so nobody can be offended here.
I believe you when you say you're booing him like you do to other players. Problem is that a lot of others aren't. Yes you're your own person and shouldn't be told what to do. I agree. But I just think after all this controversy stopping the booing, unless he does something dodgy on the field, will simmer all of this down. You can make a decision to boo or not given this set of circumstances. You ultimately make the decision - not the AFL, media etc.

Haha, trust Aker to totally miss the point on this issue.

"Any stupid journalists who said that they're racist is kidding themselves," the Brownlow medallist and triple premiership player told Fox Sports on Thursday.

"I got booed and no one ever said it was racist."

Tell me more about how you are a member of a racial minority and spent your career fiercely advocating for the interests of that group, Aker.

Yawn, so again-no this is not booing that we have ever seen before, if you can't acknowledge that this is different from previous booing, then we are just wasting our breath.
Then, it is not about 'standing the heat'-if it is causing him pain, then why would you choose to hurt another person-strikes me as very weird attitude. And if you wish to cause hurt to another person, then why would I want to talk to you Bob?

First of all my name is not Bob, that was just an expression.

Second of all the booing has been blown out of proportion, plenty of players have been booed in the lead up to and including when they take posession of the ball. It's not happening 100% of game time at all like the media are implying.

It's only hurting his "why doesn't everybody love me" ego, nothing more.

The AFL and media have opened pandora's box here, can't wait to see things blow up even more.

Bullshit. That's a complete lie and you know it. They get booed sometimes, yes. Like lots of players. But consistently and everytime they're involved in the play, like Goodes? Bullshit.
Yes, most of the time. They also get abused by the players and sometimes have to put up with public abuse and questioning of their job performance by coaches.

Also, Goodes is abused every time? Or just every 2nd week when he plays an away game? I seem to remember overwhelming cheering in front of his Sydney supporters whenever he touched the ball, something the umpires certainly never get.

And the NRL fans all stood and defended the bottles being thrown at refs did they?
No, and if Goodes was copping physical abuse he'd have the same support. But he isn't.

I don't feel sorry for Goodes. His family, yeah, they deserve some sympathy. But Goodes should know and understand why he isn't liked by everyone.

So Richmond are going to wear their dreamtime jumper to support an opposition player who isn't involved in their match who has copped the same treatment that hundreds of other AFL players have put up with over the years.

This is getting embarrassing now.

It Richmond, the king of embarrassments.

P. S. I actually think it's nice of Richmond to do that. But I just want to hang shit on Richmond because we play them this week. It's also my opinion that most people were booing Goodes, evil figurehead of the AFL darlings Sydney Swans, instead of Goodes the aborigine. Ask how many booers if they would boo if Goodes is playing for them instead. I won't be booing Goodes anymore since he is clearly suffering outside the stadium because of it. I just wish Tippett can touch the ball a few more times so I get to boo him.

There is going to be booing and jeering from the crowd. I curse very loudly at what i deem to be stupid decisions from umps and dirty acts of oppo players. This argument is caught up with racism and child like mob behaviour but it actually just revolves around the CONSTANT booing.
I reckon its fine as long as each individual that boos Goodes has to boo CONSTANTLY other similar players in other teams. Gaz sooks to the umpires, boo him constantly, Boomer and Stevie J make it about themselves, boo them constantly, Brian Lake and Jordan Lewis can be dirty, boo them constantly, Pav and Michael Walters play for frees a bit, boo them constantly. And anyone in Brownlow contention gets a free run with the MRP, boo them too.
What it has come down to now is damaging to a players mental health so it should stop.

I was a big fan of Goodes as a player but some of his behaviour in recent years has tarnished his reputation afaic, much like Hird's behaviour has tarnished his reputation.

Yes, standing up against racism and being proud of his heritage is exactly like the supplements saga.

Umpires aren't booed everytime they touch the football. Things they did in games three years ago or off the field are not used to justify booing them

Agreed.
Although there are some people that boo umpires just because they are umpires, simply because of the colour of their fluro. I think we should label these people umpirists. :)

Yes, most of the time. They also get abused by the the players and sometimes have put up with public abuse and questioning of their job performance by coaches.

Also, Goodes is abused every time? Or just every 2nd week when he plays an away game? I seem to remember overwhelming cheering in front of his Sydney supporters whenever he toyched the ball, something the umpires certainly never get.

No, and if Goodes was coping physical abuse he'd have the same support. But he isn't.

I don't feel sorry for Goodes. His family, yeah, they deserve done sympathy. But Goodes should know why he isn't liked by everyone.
Okay let's play a game. For every time the crowd as a whole boos the umpire at the centre bounce, I'll give you $20. For every game this round. Deal?

Just ignore him, he's an idiot who doesn't deserve to have a discussion with a level-headed person.
cb2fbd242a2ce173773cc5d8eb27e2044f8363fbc3be477794db8e6df9a1c679.jpg

but the thing is they actually don't have a right to boo if it's racist... just saying

You have the right to view it as racist, irrationally. So does Adam. But that doesn't make it racism.

A lot of people don't think it's racism. The poll on here shows 30% believes there is a racial component to booing Adam. But that doesn't mean they are saying all the booing is racist.

I didn't say everyone booing him was because of racism. Simply pointing out that the current booing of Goodes has an origin relating to racism, which cannot be denied.

Because Goodes took offence to Eddie's comment and that crowd incident, many started calling him a flog and a sook.
How does the current booing have an origin relating to racism? The history of booing Goodes goes a long way back ao surely that is its origin, not recent events

Yeah nah - that's not threatening with harm. He had um like a pretend spear so it wasn't imminent harm (don't insult my intelligence and argue against this because I can't be f&cked walking you through it but maybe read some case law on threats, unlawful assault etc).

And anyone in Brownlow contention gets a free run with the MRP, boo them too.
What it has come down to now is damaging to a players mental health so it should stop.

Exactly why Fyfe is Goodes 2.0 for me these days and I boo him with just as much passion (even though he's damn good at what he does!).