Mega Thread The Adam Goodes Megathread - Now with Added Poll!

Why are crowds booing Goodes?

• Racism

Votes: 565 29.9%
  • He's perceived as a dirty player

Votes: 563 29.8%
  • He's perceived as making a team game all about himself

Votes: 758 40.1%
  • Because everyone else is booing, I thought I'd join in - like a Mexican wave thing

Votes: 268 14.2%
  • Because Gillon doesnt want them to

Votes: 135 7.2%
  • I have no idea

Votes: 74 3.9%
  • Other

Votes: 183 9.7%
  • His onfield message is at odds with his off field one

Votes: 233 12.3%
  • He can do no wrong with the MRP

Votes: 164 8.7%
  • I was saying Boo-Urns?

Votes: 61 3.2%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 56 3.0%

This is where I stop following your line of thought. However, in a truly evolved and civilized society I'd say no one would be yelling any insult at another. In a truly evolved and civilized society I'd say it it would matter naught if you were speaking to a white person or a black person.

No. You see for me, in a truly evolved and civilized society, both parties would make an effort to understand and acknowledge the others viewpoint, not just one demand acknowledgement from the other. In this case, after the girl said her comment was not race related, Goodes would try to understand and acknowledge that a young girl may have reasons entirely separate to that of race in calling a large bearded man an ape and leave objectified notions of racism out of it. The girl in turn would try to understand and acknowledge that from another perspective, calling an Indigenous man an ape may have racist interpretations and apologise for any offense she caused and amend her actions so as to avoid causing offense in this way in future.
Your first point is meaningless.
The words re Goodes's attitude towards the girl the next day have been quoted many times. If you have not absorbed them by now, then you are unlikely to acknowledge he was behaving in a fair and reasonable manner. Goodes and the young girl did in fact make an effort to understand each other -it wasn't a demand- they sat down and he explained why it offends him. And she came to an understanding of that and regretted her use of the word which she had unintentionally used in a racist way. Civilized.

It was a penal colony. A group of convicts and their masters set up camp on a foreign land. They also traded with the indigenous inhabitants of that land. January 26 Australia Day might mark an event that changed indigenous Australia's way of life forever, but to call it an invasion is IMO stupid.
You have arrived at the idea that it is stupid. This is based on not knowing the meaning of specific terms. And, seeing as you think all that happened was some benign trading, you also need a bit of a brush up on your history.

The flog was grand standing / auditioning for a job with the Industry / bullying a child.

Goodes was shocked at the average Aussie’s reaction to his disgraceful antics, but he shouldn’t have been, he should have been grateful that some disgusted footy fan hadn’t jumped the fence and jobbed him!

Media’s Left had emboldened him and adorned him with an undeserved Australian of the Year prize. He started to believe his and their bullshit. He only mixed in white Aboriginal circles that promoted an Aboriginal victim mentality.

Well, Adam was served a dose of reality from real Australians who believe this land is theirs too. He clearly didn’t appreciate that much, so he took a week off to sulk.
Someone's been on the frothies.

The words re Goodes's attitude towards the girl the next day have been quoted many times. If you have not absorbed them by now, then you are unlikely to acknowledge he was behaving in a fair and reasonable manner. Goodes and the young girl did in fact make an effort to understand each other -it wasn't a demand- they sat down and he calmly explained why it offends him. And she came to an understanding of that and regretted her use of the word which she had unintentionally used in a racist way. Civilized.

I maintain the real villains in the Collingwood girl scenario where her mum who didn't accompany her daughter as she as lead away (was supposedly told by security not to go with them but bugger that if someone is marching my kid away I'm insisting on going) and the idiots that abused her on facebook, social media, etc. Goodes was pretty clear in asking that she be supported by my memory.

The argument that Goodes has somehow turned football into a political issue is one I don't get. He made is AOTY comments outside of the football environment. If anything it is those people that are booing him for them that have introduced politics into football.

The post by dickballsack (great username btw) is pretty spot on. I do understand the frustration of those who have booed him for football reasons being labelled racists when that there no racial motivation behind the behaviour. If you want someone to blame, look no further than the media who have portrayed the issue as black and white (pardon the analogy) when in reality there is a myriad of reasons for booing him. Obviously going by this thread though a lot of it is to do with his AOTY speech - again something I don't get. Even if I did disagree with it, would I boo him at every opportunity? If I booed everyone involved in football whose political opinion differed from mine, I'd be booing all the time (and so would everyone btw). So for the "football" booers, if you want someone to blame, look at the people who have hijacked your football boos with political boos.

People have noted that "it's all about Adam". Well given he's the guy copping the boos I guess it is. But to me the issue is greater than just Adam Goodes. As I mentioned earlier in the thread, it's about indigenous involvement in the sport. It's about having an opinion and being able to express it without being the subject of abuse. No-one is saying you have to agree with what he said. But surely you have to respect that the guy has an opinion (which by the way did mention a lot of things about racial harmony) and the right to express it. Hawthorn released a video last week that basically said this. Didn't mention Goodes by name but I thought the message was pretty clear.

I dunno. I don't reckon I lose much by not booing Adam Goodes at every opportunity. Don't worry, if he was to clatter into Josh Gibson again I'd probably let loose at him because of what he did on the football field. And it would be justified. But I'm not going to boo him every time he goes near the ball. I tend to get more enjoyment out of cheering my own team and appreciating the skills, stamina and toughness of my favourite sport being played at the top level anyway.

So call me a social justice warrior if it makes you feel better - I've been called worse. And I get people feel aggrieved that they feel they have been judged unfairly. And I get that people don't like being told what to do by the AFL. But I fail to see what you achieve by continuing to boo him at every opportunity.

The flog was grand standing / auditioning for a job with the Industry / bullying a child.

Goodes was shocked at the average Aussie’s reaction to his disgraceful antics, but he shouldn’t have been, he should have been grateful that some disgusted footy fan hadn’t jumped the fence and jobbed him!

Media’s Left had emboldened him and adorned him with an undeserved Australian of the Year prize. He started to believe his and their bullshit. He only mixed in white Aboriginal circles that promoted an Aboriginal victim mentality.

Well, Adam was served a dose of reality from real Australians who believe this land is theirs too. He clearly didn’t appreciate that much, so he took a week off to sulk.
Meanwhile, back on Planet Earth.

no one?

didnt think so.

he's not even liked or supported by his fellow indigenous players. he's trying to make the game all about him and most sensible people arent falling for his victim routine.

a little girl called him names. booooo hoo

Yeah they HATE him mate!

Shaun Burgoyne said:
I hate the booing ... he’s a champion person and a champion player
Cyril Rioli said:
On ya brother. Proud Aboriginal man

6665914-3x2-460x307.jpg

Your definition of the average Aussie is a somewhat myopic view. For one, the average Aussie is for fair play and, when it becomes obvious that the continual bullying of a player is having a serious emotional effect on them, would have stood up and said 'enough's enough' (not to mention that those booing every touch are f*&king up the game for the rest of us). Your view of the average Aussie is one that the majority of Australians would shudder to be counted as part of. Please refrain from branding us 'average' Aussies with your out-of-date extreme right wing rhetoric.

Your first sentence perfectly spells out the real problem.
There has always been a racist undercurrent, started off as minor but has steadily, then rapidly grown to subsume all the boos. That is the problem.
Easy way to find out which is which. Ask the people that are booing for any other reason other than racism to stop, leaves only the racists booing doesn't it?
Really? It's that easy is it? So if someone boos him this week purely for sporting and team support reasons you don't think they'll be labelled racist?

As I've said I totally agree that what started as footy "banter" morphed into an undercurrent of supporters joining in for totally different reasons, political and racial reasons. The afl grouping everyone together with what is an abhorrent label as racist is just plain wrong but the decision will have a long lasting affect in the wrong people. People that actually care about people's feelings are the ones that will probably stop coming as they're the ones that will feel guilty and confused about what is right when what they'd been doing was in their mind right.

Really? It's that easy is it? So if someone boos him this week purely for sporting and team support reasons you don't think they'll be labelled racist?

As I've said I totally agree that what started as footy "banter" morphed into an undercurrent of supporters joining in for totally different reasons, political and racial reasons. The afl grouping everyone together with what is an abhorrent label as racist is just plain wrong but the decision will have a long lasting affect in the wrong people. People that actually care about people's feelings are the ones that will probably stop coming as they're the ones that will feel guilty and confused about what is right when what they'd been doing was in their mind right.

You're right. It's not fair to label everyone racists for harassing Goodes. They could be racist, bullying or just being a jerk. If a champion player is forced out of the game by being booed every time they go near the ball, if the mental toll on them and their families/friends is spelled out clearly to those doing it and if the majority of fans are asking, please, let's just get back to playing footy, then it might be time to stop. It's just not sporting.

By all means continue to boo any dog acts, set shots on goal or dodgy frees as you see fit.

Yes it is as easy as that.
The AFL have asked fans to stop the booing. The AFL, the players and lots of others havee made it clear that the booing will be seen as racist.

When you were a kid if your parents said to you do that again and I'll give you a smack what happened when you did it again?
When you went to school and you were asked to stop doing something and you continued what happened?
When you got a job and you boss requested you do something did you ignore the request?

Part of growing up, going to school, working and every other aspect of a person's life is behaving appropriately and/or learning to behave appropriately.
There are consequences for everything that we do in our lives.
The suggestion that somehow AFL fans are special and should be allowed free rein to do whatever they please is nonsensical and completely at odds with reality.
Like everything else, the wingnuts will spoil it for everyone else, so the booing will continue, then the booers will blame the AFL for the consequences of the booers not being able to understand a simple request.

Yes it is as easy as that.
The AFL have asked fans to stop the booing. The AFL, the players and lots of others havee made it clear that the booing will be seen as racist.

When you were a kid if your parents said to you do that again and I'll give you a smack what happened when you did it again?
When you went to school and you were asked to stop doing something and you continued what happened?
When you got a job and you boss requested you do something did you ignore the request?

Part of growing up, going to school, working and every other aspect of a person's life is behaving appropriately and/or learning to behave appropriately.
There are consequences for everything that we do in our lives.
The suggestion that somehow AFL fans are special and should be allowed free rein to do whatever they please is nonsensical and completely at odds with reality.
Like everything else, the wingnuts will spoil it for everyone else, so the booing will continue, then the booers will blame the AFL for the consequences of the booers not being able understand a simple request.

Except the AFL are neither the parents, the teachers, nor the bosses of the fans. And the very comparison you are making is exactly what riles opposition fans.

Except the AFL are neither the parents, the teacher, nor the bosses of the fans. And the very comparison you are making is exactly what riles opposition fans.

They are. Check the back of your ticket.
The AFL sh!ts all over the fans each and every day and yet we keep coming back.
'The game is owned by the fans' is a master troll by the AFL Commission .

Yeah they HATE him mate!

6665914-3x2-460x307.jpg

Sorry to hijack your post as it was a pint very well made. But I would like to point out that the images below are a result of the AFL reaction to the booing wrong. Didn't see the freo game but in the north blues game Harvey kicked a goal, raised his fist to the blues fans and got the usual finger up and howls. Thomas kicks a goal and shows his tat as a sign of support for Goodes which is all good. Camera pans to the crowd and no blues supporter does anything - too scared of being labelled a racist I presume.
Support of footy clubs is based on passion and the afl and clubs have done an awesome job of making sure everyone understands that we don't tolerate racism, bigotry, sexism, etc. as has been displayed over the last couple of years with people being painted out, ejected and having memberships revoked ( thank God) but now I feel because of this 'blanket' rule on booing regardless of the individuals reasons we're in the position that fair minded supporters are now feeling like they have to second guess themselves even though as a person they have no hate against anything.