The AFL Should Ban Gambling Advertising At Games and During AFL Broadcasts

Should the AFL ban all gambling advertising from grounds, broadcasting, sponsorship deals

• Yes-everywhere

Votes: 138 84.1%
  • No

Votes: 22 13.4%
  • Only on TV

Votes: 2 1.2%
  • Only at games

Votes: 2 1.2%

And I think you’re trying to sound a lot smarter than what you are and replying in a fashion that completely misses the point of what I was getting at.

It was clearly a question of morals with other examples I was using. Which are valid.

If you wanted to make a point about morals then the examples you offered were clearly not relevant.
They were completely inaccurate as I pointed out.

Nah. Bring back tobacco sponsorship and allow them and alcohol companies and gambling companies to sponsor.
Free for all. But charge them big bucks so junior football and competitions all are funded well. Can have tassie team too.

Yeah and show those kids that Tobacco, Alcohol. And gambling are all “cool”.

Do not agree 👎

If you wanted to make a point about morals then the examples you offered were clearly not relevant.
They were completely inaccurate.
I just think you’ve completely misunderstood what I was getting at and perhaps yep, sure I rambled on but they weren’t inaccurate for what it was essentially about.

They are completely relevant if you’re offended by gambling advertising, at no stage did I question why them certain scenarios actually happened. Simply a comparison to its opposition from an ad space point of view.

I just think you’ve completely misunderstood what I was getting at and perhaps yep, sure I rambled on but they weren’t inaccurate for what it was essentially about.

They are completely relevant if you’re offended by gambling advertising, at no stage did I question why them certain scenarios actually happened. Simply a comparison to its opposition from an ad space point of view.

When I saw the post from a school bus driver on BF saying how the primary school kids are quoting odds for upcoming games it made me realize we have an issue here.

These kids will start gambling much earlier than past generations and that is a very great concern.

If clubs have taken a moral stance to sell pokie venues and forego those profits, then surely the AFL can do the same with gambling sponsorship.

Gambling advertising should be subject to the same standards as anything else that has restrictions outside the AFL. Cigarettes, alcohol - whatever. The AFL shouldn't be special in that regard.

What the AFL should do is eliminate gambling from being part of the coverage. I don't pay much attention to the flashing signs around footy grounds and I try to tune out to the 97 Sportsbet ads at quarter time on TV but if I'm switching on the TV 5 minutes before the game starts to see Gerard Healy and Jason Dunstall or whoever standing on the ground discussing the odds then that's not a good example for the kiddies and problem gamblers.

When I saw the post from a school bus driver on BF saying how the primary school kids are quoting odds for upcoming games it made me realize we have an issue here.

These kids will start gambling much earlier than past generations and that is a very great concern.

If clubs have taken a moral stance to sell pokie venues and forego those profits, then surely the AFL can do the same with gambling sponsorship.
With that, you make a very fair point but respectfully, it’s one that’ll I disagree with.

I just think that there’s much more damaging vices out there than a gambling advertisement that we could be concerned about if we dug deep enough.

No doubt that’s a concern in regards to primary school kids but for me, especially for that sort of age group, parenting and a lack of education around gambling is much more at blame.

Addiction is a real issue with so many things out there, not least of all gambling. But too much gambling advertising isn’t the only reason.

With that, you make a very fair point but respectfully, it’s one that’ll I disagree with.

I just think that there’s much more damaging vices out there than a gambling advertisement that we could be concerned about if we dug deep enough.

No doubt that’s a concern in regards to primary school kids but for me, especially for that sort of age group, parenting and a lack of education around gambling is much more at blame.

Addiction is a real issue with so many things out there, not least of all gambling. But too much gambling advertising isn’t the only reason.

Yes but what the betting agencies are doing (with the Government being asleep at the wheel) is indoctrinating children into betting culture. It's pretty obviously morally wrong but nothing gets done about it.

As Bunk Moreland says, easy to find somewhere to place a bet if you want, it does not need to be shoved down everyone's throat. Even reasonably intelligent blokes I know have been sucked into the "oh my multi", "makes it more fun", "always come out about square" idiocy. Unless you are really smart at it the game always plays you.

One close friend of mine is general counsel at a large online betting mob, they pay around abouts $250-300k a week to the AFL in "royalties", depends on the round and the betting interest that's been generated. Thats just one agency, so do your own speculative sums.

Will be even more when the new broadcast rights deals are negotiated, what they get now is just the "not quite under the table but keep it hush hush" money
Yes and this has spiked considerably since in game or live odds betting was introduced ... this particular avenue LOVES games to be close in nature .

Yes but what the betting agencies are doing (with the Government being asleep at the wheel) is indoctrinating children into betting culture. It's pretty obviously morally wrong but nothing gets done about it.

As Bunk Moreland says, easy to find somewhere to place a bet if you want, it does not need to be shoved down everyone's throat. Even reasonably intelligent blokes I know have been sucked into the "oh my multi", "makes it more fun", "always come out about square" idiocy. Unless you are really smart at it the game always plays you.

I’d get rid of all advertising aside from at racetracks and on racing telecasts (and that advertising must feature racing, not sport).

Mind you, id also get rid of pokies because it’s 20x the problem and the kicker... it’s literally not even gambling. It a computer, programmed to take x% of your money.

But we (well Victoria at least) are completely hooked on pokies. You can’t switch them off overnight because of the venues that live off them (providing a lot of employment) and the amount of tax they generate. It’s now going to take probably a 20 year plan to phase them out. No government has the balls to do it.

I think the whole “betting agencies are only trying corrupt our children so it’s all their fault” vibe is a massive stretch.

For the majority, gambling isn’t an issue, like alcohol or whatever other perceived luxury is out there and unlike them other luxuries, there’s enough folk out there that actually make money from the punt.

If a young teenager responds to alcohol advertisements negatively and finds his way to getting his hand on a stupid amount or a dangerous choice of booze, is it the company’s fault for advertising it?

Poor parenting/lack of education is as much to blame than just the easy out of lumping the blame on a TV ad.

It’s not like a young adult generation now has grown up without corporate bookmakers all over the place, it ain’t exactly new and most are not brainwashed to a degenerate level.

Like many life choices, they need to be guided to make the right ones.

The adverts are normally dumb as dogshit looking knuckle dragging neanderthal guys just being " ONE OF THE LADS PUT A WAGER ON YOU PUSSY AND DONT TELL YA MISSUS YA LEGEND"

I have a mate who puts money on absurd things like Bill Shorten going for a jog on election morning and posting it on his instagram - he won that but from what I gather he only bets $1 or $2 so I don't really get concerned for him

I don't get it, personally

I think the whole “betting agencies are only trying corrupt our children so it’s all their fault” vibe is a massive stretch.

For the majority, gambling isn’t an issue, like alcohol or whatever other perceived luxury is out there and unlike them other luxuries, there’s enough folk out there that actually make money from the punt.

If a young teenager responds to alcohol advertisements negatively and finds his way to getting his hand on a stupid amount or a dangerous choice of booze, is it the company’s fault for advertising it?

Poor parenting/lack of education is as much to blame than just the easy out of lumping the blame on a TV ad.

It’s not like a young adult generation now has grown up without corporate bookmakers all over the place, it ain’t exactly new and most are not brainwashed to a degenerate level.

Like many life choices, they need to be guided to make the right ones.

OK thanks, that's all I need to know about where you are coming from.

Not sure whether you’re taking the piss but my job directly relates to being a successful punter and yes there’s plenty of people in my field.

These careers and even people pulling secondary incomes from punting, do exist.

Not sure whether you’re taking the piss but my job directly relates to being a successful punter and yes there’s plenty of people in my field.

These careers and even people pulling secondary incomes from punting, do exist.

That's what I mean, your agenda is clear. Not interested in hearing about people who "make money off the punt" because over the medium term unless you have a very complex set up or you watch the track and bet with track bookies, you don't win. There is a long and detailed post earlier in this thread from someone who is professional about what exactly is involved and it is far beyond the capability of the average bloke.

My agenda? You automatically assume I don’t know about gambling addiction?

Went to the funeral of a 40yo last year who’s suicide was directly related to a gambling problem. Great person but ultimately no one knew the depth of his demons. There’s countless other stories I could tell about lives pretty well ruined by gambling as I could about alcohol, drugs and other vices.

It’s my career although I’m certainly no brain surgeon and haven’t created some complex system. Have just worked my arse off to get to where I am and to land a gig where I could derive a live-able wage out of it, took years.

No. Be an adult - be responsible for your own lifestyle choices.

I can gamble without becoming addicted. Why should millions like me be punished because of people that can't control themselves?

How about some personal responsibility once you hit 18.
How are you being punished if you don’t see advertising?

Whether you like them or not they employ plenty of people here and create plenty revenue for so many other sports that benefits the economy greatly. That’s undeniable.

Whatever, all profits are syphoned off overseas & no doubt avoiding Aus tax obligations wherever possible like all good foreign entities do.

They are parasites, that is what is undeniable.

Whatever, all profits are syphoned off overseas & no doubt avoiding Aus tax obligations wherever possible like all good foreign entities do.

They are parasites, that is what is undeniable.
Dude, they aren’t running drug cartels, they're legitimate businesses that you know have big staff numbers in this country, pay tax etc.

We might have to agree to disagree on this one.

(Disclaimer: I used to work as a professional punter in Australia - gallops only, not football)

I have no problem with limits/bans on advertising for gambling at games or on TV, and I don't bet on football (or, usually, anything at all), but I often find it interesting to check the betting odds for an impartial guide to the probability of results.

(Disclaimer: I used to work as a professional punter in Australia - gallops only, not football)

I have no problem with limits/bans on advertising for gambling at games or on TV, and I don't bet on football (or, usually, anything at all), but I often find it interesting to check the betting odds for an impartial guide to the probability of results.

Agree with this sentiment.

Odds are something that should be available... even with a brand/sponsorship deal next to it. Betting, like alcohol, tobacco or any other vice, should be accessible for those who choose to use it/indulge in it.

That’s where it should stop though. There’s Crownbet (or whoever they are now) plastered from the AFL app all the way through AFL HQ to Gil’s boxer shorts. Sportsbet have obnoxious in your face ads that make betting a normality and get broadcast every 5 minutes during sports and every 20 minutes every other time of day.

As someone who came from a pretty boring and vanilla family, betting was never something I engaged with despite going to the footy regularly since I was a little kid and attending plenty of sports. I was alarmed as I got older and tuned into workplace and university conversations about “multis” and just how commonplace it was to be placing numerous multi legged bets every week/weekend.

It’s amazing the amount that adds up for most casual punters chucking 5-10 multis on for the weekend to the total tune of about $20. If you are saving that amount every week at a minimum, that’s basically enough of a back pocket boost to win you an election ;)

IMO jaidyn stehpensen represents how most people gamble. 3 bets totalling $36 over 3 weeks is about the extent of what most people are like. just a bit of fun on an otherwise mundane game.

I tihnk sports betting has a relatively low potential for abuse compared to pokies, online casinos etc. Just need to ensure that people can't bet with credit.

The AFL Should Ban Gambling Advertising At Games and During AFL Broadcasts