The Age article on racism and homophobia

And fairfax media wonders why it is slowly going out of business?

What a relentless self promoter:

from: http://www.abc.net.au/unleashed/erin-riley-44914.html

(the ABC drum site ... beyond boring)

"She is a Masters student at the United States Studies Centre at the University of Sydney and completed her undergraduate degree in Sports History."

Wow! a masters student in American Cultural Imperialism ... impresses the crap outta me!

And a semi-professional academic!

What a self serving wunker.

While i was busy booing goodes for being the flog of the year i was listening to triple m and gary lyon said with astonishment - now they cant be booing adam goodes, surely not, some people need to have a good hard look at themselves etc. Sorry Gaz ill boo whoever i want and u can shove it up ur ass, booing goodes has nothing to do with race it has to do with him being a dirty campaigner and a diver and an all round general flog of a flog on the footy field. Nothing to do with him off it, or his skin colour. Yes we are so racist with our love for rioli, burgers, hill, changa etc. In all the games ive been to in the last few years ive never heard a racist remark or an overtly sexist one and im always surrounded by hawks. Take your sour grapes and suck on them loser hahaha.
Ps, Gareth Bale looks like an ape. Oh no im racist?

For those playing at home...

Rohan Connolly
@GMegalogenis @HawthornFC Been going on most of the season, "diving" the alleged reason. Think we know what it's really about. Pathetic.

my response...
Darth_Docomo 8m
@rohan_connolly yeah "diving" is not my alleged reason.. he's a thug, a sook and an undeserving AOTY. Are you insinuating I'm a racist?

What's funny is, people who assume that folk boo Goodes based on race, not because he's a dirty player and a diver who is unfairly regarded as some paragon of virtue, is that by assuming it's racism is patronisingly racist itself. People can dislike black people because of the 'content of their character'. And guess what - diving for free kicks earns you the ire of opposition fans, regardless of colour.
This! Totally agree. I would boo Goodes at any AFL game.

Thanks. Rohan Connolly is being disingenuous, would have expected better from him as he is an intelligent person. I also heard the MMM guys saying they couldn't understand why Goodes was being booed. Have they been living under a rock? He has been booed for awhile now for the reasons previously stated. Are these media people stupid or following some absurd directive from the AFL?

What's funny is, people who assume that folk boo Goodes based on race, not because he's a dirty player and a diver who is unfairly regarded as some paragon of virtue, is that by assuming it's racism is patronisingly racist itself. People can dislike black people because of the 'content of their character'. And guess what - diving for free kicks earns you the ire of opposition fans, regardless of colour.

I boo Goodes because he's a kicker, and gets away with it.
He plays dirty and never gets suspended

I also boo Fletcher for the same reason.

Although Fletcher also plays for the scum and has red hair ...

;)

I don't have a problem with players being booed. It has always been part of the game.
However when perpetrators say they are booing because the player is an unworthy AOTY, pointed to a young girl breaking the law by mouthing racist comments, or doesn't sing the national anthem, I become a bit suspicious of their motives. In fact I think that sort of rationalisation is pathetic.
If you boo a player because he plays for an opposition team or you don't like the way he plays the game, I applaud you. If you are doing it for reasons of thinly disguised racism you probably need help.

I don't have a problem with players being booed. It has always been part of the game.
However when perpetrators say they are booing because the player is an unworthy AOTY, pointed to a young girl breaking the law by mouthing racist comments, or doesn't sing the national anthem, I become a bit suspicious of their motives. In fact I think that sort of rationalisation is pathetic.
If you boo a player because he plays for an opposition team or you don't like the way he plays the game, I applaud you. If you are doing it for reasons of thinly disguised racism you probably need help.

I've got issue with almost any athlete being AOTY as there is undoubtedly some unsung hero out there more deserving, regardless of the community work they do. The pointing, I actually backed Goodes. He didn't know it was a 13 year old naive girl at the time, and he shouldn't have to put up with it regardless. I don't boo him because of these incidents - I boo because he is a diver, tripper, sniper and because he's a media darling he repeatedly escapes criticism and punishment from the MRP. Undoubtedly talented, probably a good bloke off the field - absolutely dirty prick on the field.

I wonder why Stevie Johnson and selwood get booed

And how about fletch and Crowley
What about Drew Petrie or Lindsay Thomas

How about buddy when he played for the hawks

It's ridiculous to suggest the only reason is because of the colour of goodes skin and tbh clutching at straws

I wonder why Stevie Johnson and selwood get booed

And how about fletch and Crowley
What about Drew Petrie or Lindsay Thomas

How about buddy when he played for the hawks

It's ridiculous to suggest the only reason is because of the colour of goodes skin and tbh clutching at straws

Remember the hoo ha over Jobe Watson getting booed last year? Plenty of reasons for booing and racism would be bottom of the list as I see it. Racist people tend to shout out racist remarks, booing is too subtle for them.

Pushing shit up hill - doesn't matter what reasons anyone gives, it all comes down to everyone hiding behind those excuses to showcase the real reason and that's their racism

Media are unbelievable

Did she mention the stripper - what the hell was that about!

In the reporters defence, there was not much else to do for a Swans supporters from about half way through the first quarter, might as well dream up an article.

I can see how people might be put off by comments calling players girls or whatever, but at the same time men and women are different. Does anyone know a women in their life that could absorb that Rough tackle on Hannebury? I barely know any men that could. Most of the women I know would be close to death after that.

Let's see Hawks have Rioli and Hill to name but two. we had buddy we had that kid who lost it last year, Anderson..and I am sure more. i don't end to take notice of race as much as I do on playing ability

This a million times over. I get that the gap between Goodes' reputation and some of his deeds on the field can get pretty galling sometimes, but it's hard not to be suspicious that the subtext is the shaming of a black man who stands up for his rights. I was disgusted by the booing and said so in the bay I was sitting in. He is a champion who could have been playing his last game - deserves better. Hawks fans are better than that as well.

If this woman heard such horrible things while trying to watch a game of footy then she has every right to tell anyone who will listen about it. Such a shame that the people who most need to hear the message are the people most closed to it.

I've shared a couple of tweets with Rohan this morning. He's pushing his agenda... I eventually said to him...

"Not all dickheads are racists, but all racists are dickheads."

I don't mind people finding a correlation between the booing and racism. I thoroughly object to the media and these PC flogs saying that any booing constitutes racist behaviour.

Goodes is a respected character and is an absolute credit to the Australian community. He's not AOTY worthy, but I will not deny he does exceptional work.
He's also cheating, diving, sniping, thug on the football field whose best football is well past him.
He's also an out-and-out champion of the game.
Could not give a shit if he's black, white, brown, fluro orange or a lovely shade of periwinkle.

I'll boo. And I retain my right as a dickhead to do so.

Let's see Hawks have Rioli and Hill to name but two. we had buddy we had that kid who lost it last year, Anderson..and I am sure more. i don't end to take notice of race as much as I do on playing ability

Burgoyne, Wanganeen... still might have missed someone.

I'm with you, of course race is irrelevant. It's the colour of their jumper that I hate or love, hence my recently acquired dislike for Buddy! 99.9% of supporters are like this. Sick of all these beat ups all the time, detracts from our great game.

If Swans did what we did (i.e. thrashed us) she would have heard similar offensive remarks from the Swans supporters, the winning supporters are always more vocal. Would she have written the article then? I think not.

The Age article on racism and homophobia