No Oppo Supporters The ASADA Thread... from a Tiger perspective

He must hand back the medal .. obvious.
But doubt Watson is deserving of the torrent of personal abuse and accusations he is receiving, largely from elsewhere, not on here.
I suspect he will do the right thing and hand it back on his own accord.
Attack the decision and the club, but doubt the individual needs to be abused.
I'm sure any of us, in this situation, would have held on to the medal until such time as it became impossible to do so and that time has arrived.
An announcement from Watson will be imminent and he'll hand it back.
The who, what, why etc. is irrelevant here, if they are guilty they are guilty. The rules need to apply.

Most of us wouldn't have cheated and lied in the first place. **** Jab Watson. Zero sympathy. Deserves all abuse. If he doesn't like it, retire and get out of the public eye.

But doubt Watson is deserving of the torrent of personal abuse and accusations he is receiving, largely from elsewhere, not on here.

I agree he isn't deserving of the level of abuse. I can understand why it's so severe though - Jobe kept his drugs a secret from the drug testers, and meanwhile the AFL media are telling us he's an innocent victim. The people aren't buying it, so Jobe attracts their vitriol. The anger and sense of injustice is very real, but that anger can't easily be directed at the AFL. Therefore, it's the AFL's immoral 'they're brave heroes' stance that has vastly amplified the abuse Jobe has copped.

The people just want to feel like justice has been exercised. Until then, Jobe will always be a magnet for abuse.

I'm sure any of us, in this situation, would have held on to the medal until such time as it became impossible to do so and that time has arrived.
The who, what, why etc. is irrelevant here, if they are guilty they are guilty. The rules need to apply.
I agree to an extent about Watson, except he was the Captain of the Club. He lead those under his charge to roll up their sleeves and get injected. He willingly took part in program and then (with his Dad) was at the front of the "We dun nuff'en wrong" campaign that hijacked the game for 4 years. Where was the handing back of his medal this morning after the failed appeal..... that's right it didn't happen. Because no doubt He and those around him still feel hard done by as "He dun nuff'en wrong".

Hope he hands it back and redeems himself somewhat

As soon as it was made public that there was a concious effort to not inform asada during the regular standard testing visits, this rests on the club and the captain of the players. Jobe may be a nice guy but that doesn't excuse of him of bending the rules (cheating) which he did. He was not the best and fairest and Cotch and Mitchell should be awarded.

The cheat should hand it back today. He would have known for months the possibility (or should I say likelihood) of the appeal failing.

So he would have had months to plan a strategy. And if that strategy is to keep it, well **** the campaigner, he deserves everything he gets. Way to make yourself a pariah you cheating ******.

I read a comment on Reddit that summed all this up pretty well:
The attitude by a lot of Australians toward drugs in sport is shithouse. Pile on the Chinese and Russians at the Olympics, but sympathise with the Australian athletes who've also cheated the system.

Sorry Slobbo, you can't champion Mack Horton and then go out to bat for Jobe in the same sports section.

Unfortunately, a lot of casual footy observers are swallowing the AFL narrative hook, line and sinker.

They were singled out unfairly when everyone was doping.
They didn't mean to take banned drugs.
They are good blokes who have suffered enough.

**** it, let the sheep have their fake sport. I'm just about done.

If he doesn't hand it back or the AFL don't strip it then its gloves off i'm afraid when we play them and i'm pretty sure it will be country wide as well.
Hopefully the bloke that spat on Spud Frawley is still attending footy games :D

Sorry Slobbo, you can't champion Mack Horton and then go out to bat for Jobe in the same sports section.
You're leaning brother

Australians are victims, my mother gave it to me, I drank 10 cups of coffee, I had the flue , my doctor gave it me etc etcetc, whereas the Russians and Chinese are all lying doping cheats

so friggin true mate. AFL never been a professionally run sport will always be a boys club.

We win a gold at finger pointing of other countries drug cheats Matt Horton I'm looking at you right now.

how pathetic are the AFL asking Sam and Cotch to make submissions about the brownlow medal, they both obviously declined.

it almost feels like the AFL are setting it up so they can say that Cotch and Sam had no interest in it so we won't strip him of the brownlow.

there really shouldnt be a need to consult anyone about this, pretty clear cut.

November 15 they will sit down and make a decision dont know why it takes a month...

Sent from my iPhone using TapaTalk

I don't get this at all

WADA rules prohibit retention of awards, full stop. even athletes who were doped against their knowledge (and therefore avoided sanction) still had to forfeit their medals. What's there to discuss?

the loophole being discussed is the AFL panel didn't find them guilty, so the . The CAS appeal overturned that verdict using the AFL's own mechanism however, so its a complete furphy

from a moral stand point, its always been a big deal that its "fairest and best". guys with BS guilty verdicts from the tribunal had no mercy, so the precedent is set there (if the WADA rule didn't exist)

finally if its about the * or handover question, we have had more than half a year to consider this, and multiple commission meetings. why hasn't this been discussed till now???

Got this from the hawks board, thought SunshineTiger might be interested

SEN crossed to someone, think from Ch7 news to go through the headlines for the upcoming news.

-Footy world split over Jobe Watson's Brownlow
-Disgraced drug cheat, Maria Sharapova....

Hmm, bit different kind of reporting there.

The Swiss Federal Tribunal decision, released on Tuesday night (AEDT), upholds the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) finding earlier this year that the 34 current and past Bombers had used the banned substance Thymosin Beta 4. The Swiss tribunal was the last legal option for the banned players in the anti- doping process.

The finding leaves the way open for the AFL Commission to rule on Jobe Watson’s 2012 Brownlow Medal, with widespread speculation he will be stripped of the honour.

ASADA noted that the players had agreed to the terms of the CAS arbitration hearing.

“You cannot agree to the rules and then expect them to change if you don’t like the outcome,” McDevitt said on Wednesday in a statement.

Go Ben...farq Jobe

2 hours ago
COMMISSION TO MEET ON JOBE'S BROWNLOW

The AFL has released the below statement from CEO Gill McLachlan. It will meet to decide if Jobe Watson retains his 2012 Brownlow Medal on November 15.

The Australian Football League (AFL) was formally notified overnight that the appeal lodged by past and present Essendon players with the Swiss Federal Tribunal, against the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) ruling, was not successful.

The AFL accepts and acknowledges this Tribunal ruling and the AFL Commission repeats the statement it made when the CAS finding was handed down in January earlier this year - the AFL is fully committed to clean sport, for the sake of all players from all clubs in our competition.

The final decision by the Federal Tribunal means that the AFL Commission must now consider the matter of the Brownlow Medal, which was won by Jobe Watson for the 2012 season.

The Commission will meet on Tuesday November 15 in Melbourne. As stated earlier this year, it is the AFL's view that the AFL Commission must determine this matter.

The next Commission meeting in November will provide the appropriate amount of time for all relevant parties to prepare.