List Mgmt. The Bryce Gibbs trade has set our club back 5 years.

Enjoying his footy more than he ever as. Also said he was talking to Tex the other day who asked him how great is the job that we've got right now. So basically our 2 most senior players are enjoying themselves to the max and Sloane thinks that's entirely normal to express when staring down a winless season. He's not quite right.
Simply doesn't care. Club has made them both multi millionaires. Sloane has his long overpayed contract. Knows that money is coming whether he performs or not. What a great attitude for a captain to have. Club needs to retire Walker after his 200th and ship Sloane off to enjoy his footy elsewhere. Would be happy to pay 30% of his wage.

Someone asked why our players get to their highest level and then regress so often. I think that our selection culture is mostly to blame. You get the feeling at our club that after a certain amount of games and a couple of really good seasons, you've made it and are duly anointed. Life is easy after that because you're valued based on what's already happened and you're protected and overly rewarded going forward.

Club thought we were in a premiership window, a solid above average SA player wanted to come home that we tried to pursue when he was a kid under the father-son rule and for years following.

We paid massive overs.

Its more of an indictment of the VFL that teams like the Crows, Eagles with Kelly, have to pay massive overs to get players home.

In the end it was like a ransom we had to pay.
We didnt have to pay it at all. Thats the point.

This is way over the top re Rory.

He bleeds on the field for the club and I applauded the deal we gave him at the time as he could have got heaps more to go home to Vic. He is a true AFC club-man and a worthy captain and to say otherwise is rubbish. He still has heaps to offer the club in leadership during the rebuild and he should be encouraged in this task and not cut down by supporters.

To suggest that a captain of this club doesn't care about his on-field performances is way out of bounds and simply disrespectful and wrong. Hell even VB thought that way during his captaincy.

As regards Taylor he is also an ex-captain of the club who has bled for the club both on and off field. The level of disrespect currently being shown to him by so called experts and supporters is woeful. He will become a life member of the club this weekend and will most likely retire as our leading goal-kicker.

To suggest Taylor doesn't care is also disrespectful and plain rubbish as well.

Someone asked why our players get to their highest level and then regress so often. I think that our selection culture is mostly to blame. You get the feeling at our club that after a certain amount of games and a couple of really good seasons, you've made it and are duly anointed. Life is easy after that because you're valued based on what's already happened and you're protected and overly rewarded going forward.
Our selection seems to be based on how much players get paid. I can imagine the board saying "we are not paying XXXX $500k a year to play seconds". Young guys see this - no matter how well they perform at SANFL level they wont get picked because an out of form senior play is on more coin. Stinks and is no was to build a culture or foster development.

I reckon Gibbs only came here because his family wanted him in Adelaide. Regardless.of the rumours around his "investing", he personally did not want to leave Carlton. Justin Reid facilitated this request.

We wanted him because he was a good player. Would have slotted in nicely to our 2017 side. Do allowed Reid to get the deal done.

2018 he gave it a crack but since then as we slide down the ladder his attitude has worsened.

It is obvious his heart is at Carlton.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

I reckon Gibbs only came here because his family wanted him in Adelaide. Regardless.of the rumours around his "investing", he personally did not want to leave Carlton. Justin Reid facilitated this request.

We wanted him because he was a good player. Would have slotted in nicely to our 2017 side. Do allowed Reid to get the deal done.

2018 he gave it a crack but since then as we slide down the ladder his attitude has worsened.

Was not a good player, ever.

He was an acceptable B grader at his VERY best.

Jesus how are people here STILL talking this spud up.

Gibbs first season at the Crows was decent, just a shame that the rest of the team didn't bounce back.

Haven't been able to get anything from him since then. It was a trade done a year too late but still happy that we didn't die wondering with it - although that didn't happen either given the drop off post 2017.

He was good. Far from great, but good.

But Carlton took advantage with the trade knowing the situation.

Trade should have been for one late first or early second rounder at best.

He bleeds on the field for the club and I applauded the deal we gave him at the time as he could have got heaps more to go home to Vic. He is a true AFC club-man and a worthy captain and to say otherwise is rubbish. He still has heaps to offer the club in leadership during the rebuild and he should be encouraged in this task and not cut down by supporters.

To suggest that a captain of this club doesn't care about his on-field performances is way out of bounds and simply disrespectful and wrong. Hell even VB thought that way during his captaincy.

As regards Taylor he is also an ex-captain of the club who has bled for the club both on and off field. The level of disrespect currently being shown to him by so called experts and supporters is woeful. He will become a life member of the club this weekend and will most likely retire as our leading goal-kicker.

That's total rubbish he would have got more interstate. The reason he stayed was because the offers interstate dried up due to injury concerns. To give him 5 years was completely negligent and will likely end up at another club with us paying half his wage. What other conclusion would you make if he states ,"He is enjoying his football more than ever" when we are sitting 3 games clear in last on 54.7%.
If he is enjoying that he either doesn't care enough or he is not all there.

If they were ACTUALLY dedicated to the club they'd announce their retirement at the end of the season.

No, they're dedicated to themselves and the best way they can serve themselves is by playing for the AFC.

100% correct.

He was gifted games, never ever got dropped to the seconds and was put in the leadership group before he had played a senior game.

The terms 'hard work' & 'earning your pay' are just not in his vocabulary, lazy downhill skier, was rapt when we flicked him, wish it happened a few years earlier actually.

It's not Reid, he held out the year before. Fagan instructed him to get Gibbs at all costs. Expect it was a board directive to get some good news following the GF loss. Why it's continually put on Reid is mystifying.

FBA03259-2B2D-4C9B-BC21-C6C76A746514.png

It's not Reid, he held out the year before. Fagan instructed him to get Gibbs at all costs. Expect it was a board directive to get some good news following the GF loss. Why it's continually put on Reid is mystifying.

View attachment 939661
Reid was his manager and family friend.

Fagan wanted him, but for his ability. And PR.

That article is just a PR puff piece. Who knows if that is the truth snd just Reid saying it, and Fagan not complaining as it makes him look good. At that time.

which of those names did he play under in 2014.

View attachment 939663
I reckon you worked it out.

Fagan is new to Aussie Rules , probably thought Gibbs was Ablett or Pendlebury when wanting the trade done......

The year after the first failed trade, he played a blinder against us. 30disp, 2 goals, 15 tackles! 160 ranking points. Every Crows supporter would have watched that game and said...yeah hes the cream on top which we need. Made the GF and thought getting Bryce could help in another assault.

Who was to know the shitshow our club would quickly turn into. Bryce also came across with his own issues and didnt hold up his end of a very expensive deal (in terms of picks, not so much salary).

Hindsight is great but it very easily could have gone another way.

Edit: Some more of his games in 2017 that would have influenced our decision to get him....

R17: 32 disp 1 goal
R13: 43 disp 2 goals
R10: 38 disp 3 goals
R9: 34 disp 1 goal
R3: 35 disp

A goal kicking mid, something we really would have liked after the failed GF

The year after the first failed trade, he played a blinder against us. 30disp, 2 goals, 15 tackles! 160 ranking points. Every Crows supporter would have watched that game and said...yeah hes the cream on top which we need. Made the GF and thought getting Bryce could help in another assault.

Who was to know the shitshow our club would quickly turn into. Bryce also came across with his own issues and didnt hold up his end of a very expensive deal (in terms of picks, not so much salary).

Hindsight is great but it very easily could have gone another way.
Shush you, you can't say stuff like that on this thread.

2017. What a great end of the year for the AFC. Burton in his prime, CM, Loose Charlie, loose GF, Gain Gibbs, Lost 2 1st round picks, prelude to GC camp.

If they were ACTUALLY dedicated to the club they'd announce their retirement at the end of the season.

No, they're dedicated to themselves and the best way they can serve themselves is by playing for the AFC.
Wow. I am staggered at the level of disrespect this board gives to 2 ex-captains of the Club who have served the club with distinction.
Over 400 games for the Club between them since 2009 (including 2 Club B&F) and both will end their careers as one-team players for AFC. We haven't had too many of them so they should be applauded just for that fact!
Both will be Life members and both have been and continue to be great ambassadors for the club through the good times and bad.
They have both served the club with honour and dignity and IMO both deserve to go out on their own terms. They have both earned that!
You wouldn't find supporters of other clubs treating their ex-captains and champions with such disrespect. It is positively shameful that this club has reached the level.
No wonder the AFC is continually questioned about its toxic culture if its own supporters treat Club legends like this in the twilight of their careers. Maybe Bunjii is right after all?

Shush you, you can't say stuff like that on this thread.
Made an edit to my post with some more of his games that year.

I also know you acknowledge he somehow miraculously lost his ability to kick the football. Its like one day he knocked his head and that motor function was completely forgotten.

List Mgmt. The Bryce Gibbs trade has set our club back 5 years.