Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread

This is not a Carlton board for the Carlton board. Refer to the OP for the purpose of the thread.
Look I don’t care what the boundary rules are. I am most concerned by the current attitude of the CFC Board as evidenced by today’s extraordinary statement of the Carlton CEO.

Forget form. Focus on substance.

Look I don’t care what the boundary rules are. I am most concerned by the current attitude of the CFC Board as evidenced by today’s extraordinary statement of the Carlton CEO.

Forget form. Focus on substance.

The substance might be the problem.

Last week they started with Bolton being under pressure after our loss to Melbourne.

When that was effectively squashed by the club announcing they had given him another two years at the beginning of this year they suddenly became interested in what was happening with Murphy.

If Murphy and the club agree on terms for a new contract they will move onto something else.

They want something to report that points to instability at the club.
The footy media haven't claimed a scalp yet this year, so they are starting to get desperate.

They started circling Bolts, sniffing blood in the water & the club shut them down with a timely announcement regarding his tenure.

They haven't been able to shake any big name Free Agents loose yet so Murphy is the next best thing. Of course being the captain of Carlton, such false reporting would be generating a stack of clicks on the respective websites.

Never underestimate just how low the footy media are prepared to stoop.

Wasn’t sure where to put this but it’s kinda cool, so I wanted to share ...

... so my oldest (5) has autism. He is pretty much non-verbal. He sometimes will say single words, like he will point to something red and say red, but we dont get much more than that.

So I was sitting watching the Carlton vs Essendon game, and my little fella comes up and sits next to me. So I put my arm around him and say, ‘do you want to watch the footy with daddy, Ollie?”

Now, I know that although he doesn’t speak he understands so much of what we say - I wouldn’t be surprised if he understood everything we say. So I say to him, ‘see the really dark blue team, they are the good team, and see that red and black team ... well they are the naughty team!! Like Norman in Fireman Sam!! They are very annoying and very naughty and get into lots of trouble’. I then say to him “but we go for the Blues!”

He then says, “go the Blues”! I’m like ‘what!!!’ A three word sentence!! I was so happy.

Anyway I’ve been in the US for the last week. I arrived home yesterday. As I’m walking to the car, I see Ollie sitting in the back with a big smile on his face! I say ‘Hey Ollie, love you buddy!!’ He looks at me and says “Go the Blues!!!” Apparently he had been practicing all week!
That's so lovely. What a great bonding moment for you and your son. Go the Blues indeed...but most importantly go Ollie!!

The Carlton CEO today said that CFC would not be asking for a pp at the end of the year because CFC had got itself into this mess and it would get itself out of it.

On the assumption that CFC is governed by a Board and that the members of the Board are governed by, inter alia , the duties set out in sections 180-184 of the Corporations Act how can the Board refuse to ask for a PP, having regard to the fact that other clubs in the recent past have asked for and received one!

Carlton isn't a corporation therefore the Corps Act has no standing. Even it id did - you have to make the argument that the Board is being negligent all things considered - not a strong argument.

Just thinking out loud, what is next years draft like? Are there any guns coming off contract next year?

Can we be waiting to ask for a priority pick next year to use on a better draftee/trade target?

Just thinking out loud, what is next years draft like? Are there any guns coming off contract next year?

Can we be waiting to ask for a priority pick next year to use on a better draftee/trade target?
You're not going to get many better opportunities than this draft.

I love the club's stance on this but deciding halfway through the season that we're not going to apply for a priority pick is premature.

It shuts the media up but if we get flogged here-on every week, we should reserve the right to change our mind and apply if we so choose AFTER the season is over.

What if Brisbane finishes above us and successfully gets one? **** that.

I don't think our season will end that poorly anyway, reckon we'll get several more wins before the end, but this isn't a discussion we should have had now other than to kill the speculation on it.

... so my oldest (5) has autism. He is pretty much non-verbal. He sometimes will say single words, like he will point to something red and say red, but we dont get much more than that.

So I was sitting watching the Carlton vs Essendon game, and my little fella comes up and sits next to me. So I put my arm around him and say, ‘do you want to watch the footy with daddy, Ollie?”

Now, I know that although he doesn’t speak he understands so much of what we say - I wouldn’t be surprised if he understood everything we say. So I say to him, ‘see the really dark blue team, they are the good team, and see that red and black team ... well they are the naughty team!! Like Norman in Fireman Sam!! They are very annoying and very naughty and get into lots of trouble’. I then say to him “but we go for the Blues!”

He then says, “go the Blues”! I’m like ‘what!!!’ A three word sentence!! I was so happy.

Anyway I’ve been in the US for the last week. I arrived home yesterday. As I’m walking to the car, I see Ollie sitting in the back with a big smile on his face! I say ‘Hey Ollie, love you buddy!!’ He looks at me and says “Go the Blues!!!” Apparently he had been practicing all week!

Thanks for sharing mate, loved reading it.

goddamnit, now what am I gonna get you for Christmas? :mad:
Get a Thylacine bobble head.

Probably look like a cow crossed with a zebra

Thx for sharing, beautiful story. That's a lifetime bond right there, I know from experience they don't forget