The Club

We are 2 and 9 and playing the worst footy I have ever seen from a North side. I find the constant, occasionly personal atacks as tiresome as anyone but they are in the minority. Most feel justifyibly annoyed at where we stand in most facets of the operation. 2006 has been a disaster.

I will go every week, I will hope to see a win every week, but I don't think attitudes of a minority of supporters on a message board can be in any way responsible for us being complete shyte ATM.

I like to think that we are a ruthless footy club. I would like to think that we dn't just accept poor performance and get things right before we turn into Richmond or St Kilda.

NorthBhoy said:
We are 2 and 9 and playing the worst footy I have ever seen from a North side. I find the constant, occasionly personal atacks as tiresome as anyone but they are in the minority. Most feel justifyibly annoyed at where we stand in most facets of the operation. 2006 has been a disaster.

I will go every week, I will hope to see a win every week, but I don't think attitudes of a minority of supporters on a message board can be in any way responsible for us being complete shyte ATM.

I like to think that we are a ruthless footy club. I would like to think that we dn't just accept poor performance and get things right before we turn into Richmond or St Kilda.

that small minority (so you call it) are acting like the supporters of Richmond... so I don't get what you are saying...

Midas said:
I'm purely suggesting that some support and a bit of a look at some of the positives, or at least taking into consideration both sides of the argument may be more appropriate than delving into a passionate ramble.

There is no doubt, as I have said, that many would agree with many of the things you have said, self included, but decisions are always made for a reason, and that is to develop the club not hinder it.

You think that the form of the likes of Harding, Hay, Sansbury, Grant, Harvey etc excites me as a loyal but passionate supporter that thrives on a winning culture?

If at the end of the day they hinder the club, then people will be held accountable and new people will be given the custodianshipof our football club in the hope that their different ideas will work.

What I am suggesting is how about for the next 11 weeks we support what the current on and off field heirachy are doing and sort things out at the end of the year.

At least then we can all say we gave the current hierachy a crack, unlike where we sit at the moment - a fractured football club with people at both ends of the spectrum creating uncertainty, disappointment and frustration for everyone concerned, leaving the current powers that be no chance of success.

Let's just pull together, support what we have, and get on with it.

OUT!
I will continue going as I do every week and support and not bag players as some may think in here . I have no doubt many changes will be made at the end of year I wear my heart on my sleeve perhaps it comes from playing sport not sure but when I feel players are not putting in it kills me , in saying that the club always comes first and I would never walk away , its just people that are fickle may walk away with some of the current happenings down at Arden Street thats my concern and the very reason I posted.

Rooboy 96 said:
that small minority (so you call it) are acting like the supporters of Richmond... so I don't get what you are saying...

Firstly, it IS a minority. Most of us are disapointed, some angry, but there is nothing wrong with that IMO. A few are whingeing, tearing up memberships and all of that, and to them, some of what Midas says applies. They are weak.

I am simply saying that accepting poor performances is just as bad, if not worse, than heavily bagging them.

More generally, I have always said that I will accept losses if we play the right way, players are getting the best out of themselves and we are just not good enough. I won't like it, but I will be ok with the effort. Right now, we are playing terrible footy in a worse style, we have many footballers not nearly doing enough work on field and a coach who seems lost for answeres and who looks to be confused as to which direction he wants to take.

Add to that the off field pre-season, the relocation talk, what seems to be the imminent and IMO disasterous Gold Coast decision and the ever constant money issues, and we have the worst year in my memory.

Of course this requires more effort on our behalf to remain strong, but there has to be something (anything) coming our way in return.

NorthBhoy said:

It's an undercurrent, not just a few comments on a website, that I believe is shrouding our footy club at the minute and its exacerbated by websites like this.

Talkback radio, general ****taking of the club's recruiting policy (which I might add is not fairly reported), members who haven't re-signed and then those calling for heads to roll all gear us up for potshots from the media, opposition etc. Does this augur well for things to be sorted quickly & efficiently.

Everything combines to create a negative perception of our football club, and that impacts in every facet of its operation.

I don't see anyone coming up with brilliant alternatives, just saying that we are in a bad place. The year has been awful, but it happens.

Dont accept it, but support its direction for the next 11 games as a consolidated group so we can look forward to 07 with positivity no matter the outcome.

Ruthless doesn't = constant bagging of the same tired old names, mid season coaching shake-ups or petitions to relieve the club of its Chairman.

Ruthless = a serious review of the club's direction at the end of the year, determining the right people to do that job and committing to that plan of attack for whatever the agreed timeframe is.

NMFC said:
It has nothing to do with me wanting to rip the club apart merely stating what I feel in this current moment. You have not right to question my loyalty to the football club I purchase a high level membership every season , go to interstate games in canberra drive up with friends , buy merchandise , not to mention attend the syd barker medal so don't get on your high horse and tell me what to do or how unloyal I am to the club , I love this club just as much if not more than you.

I would rather post what I feel instead of the same rubbish people tend to write in here however, if you rock the boat in here in even the slightest form people tend to take it personally. I am sorry if I have a different opinion to you but I am sure you have posted things which people don't agree with thats life.

NMFC, I am no questioning your loyalty, and I apologise if it came across that way. What I am questioning is your behaviour, (and yes that of many negative posters on here). It is very easy to have a dig when things are not going well, and it is hard to stand up for the club. Yes I have different opinions and if you want to express your opinion on here then surely you expect that not all responses will be in agreence, I surely do. It's not the rocking opf the boat that is the problem but it's the constent barrage of negativity towards the club, the coach and the players.

What I have tried to do is to state my case (sorry for the boxing remark, it was more a dig at your grammar than anything else!!) and show that not everything being touched by JYD has turned to salt. He is playing kids (Hale, Hamish, Perry, Gibson, Swallow, Thurley, Pratt, Green, Le Cras, Schwarze, Jones and Smith, Urch and Grima to come when fit) he is trying to develop a winning game plan (has mentioned on several occasions he wants the players to carry and run with the ball more than they are doing) and he is trying to make himself more accessible to the media (very hard under the current climate and with what happened a couple of weeks ago).

On the other hand everyone bagged Hay for his poor game for Tassie on the weekend but no one bagged Perry, he was pretty awful in the half that I saw on the teli, Hamish was no better (infact worse). We love a soft target don't we!

Maybe wins against Carlton and Essendon will make everyone a little happier and maybe loses will see the changes you want! Yes thats life!

NMFC said:
I will continue going as I do every week and support and not bag players as some may think in here . I have no doubt many changes will be made at the end of year I wear my heart on my sleeve perhaps it comes from playing sport not sure but when I feel players are not putting in it kills me , in saying that the club always comes first and I would never walk away , its just people that are fickle may walk away with some of the current happenings down at Arden Street thats my concern and the very reason I posted.

on this you are not alone;)

mav said:
NMFC, I am no questioning your loyalty, and I apologise if it came across that way. What I am questioning is your behaviour, (and yes that of many negative posters on here). It is very easy to have a dig when things are not going well, and it is hard to stand up for the club. Yes I have different opinions and if you want to express your opinion on here then surely you expect that not all responses will be in agreence, I surely do. It's not the rocking opf the boat that is the problem but it's the constent barrage of negativity towards the club, the coach and the players.

What I have tried to do is to state my case (sorry for the boxing remark, it was more a dig at your grammar than anything else!!) and show that not everything being touched by JYD has turned to salt. He is playing kids (Hale, Hamish, Perry, Gibson, Swallow, Thurley, Pratt, Green, Le Cras, Schwarze, Jones and Smith, Urch and Grima to come when fit) he is trying to develop a winning game plan (has mentioned on several occasions he wants the players to carry and run with the ball more than they are doing) and he is trying to make himself more accessible to the media (very hard under the current climate and with what happened a couple of weeks ago).

On the other hand everyone bagged Hay for his poor game for Tassie on the weekend but no one bagged Perry, he was pretty awful in the half that I saw on the teli, Hamish was no better (infact worse). We love a soft target don't we!

Maybe wins against Carlton and Essendon will make everyone a little happier and maybe loses will see the changes you want! Yes thats life!

sorry mate didn't check the grammar no offence taken I am happy with people responding to any comments or posts I make in here.
The reason Hay is targeted is the obvious big recruit which we gave away high draft pics for as is Brad Ottens it will always be the case whether its our club or other clubs and yes I do agree Joel Perry was terrible on the weekend.
I love the kids , its the older guys besides Archer & Tommo that have let us down , the modern game has gone past some of our players and a lack of confidence doesn't help.

NorthBhoy said:
and we have the worst year in my memory.

Of course this requires more effort on our behalf to remain strong, but there has to be something (anything) coming our way in return.

do you think we have had a good year since Stevo cut his neck???

I think what Laidley has done since the Day Denis ran for the money (pity it was not there)... has been absolutely sensational... he got a club that was on its knees... had to retire half the team and also go through a debut year that no one else ever has... rematch with Pagan... Carey... McCartney comeback game... he has done us proud... and deserves our continued support...

and as for the style we play... he is trying to find a way for us to win... if that is ugly so be it... maybe it would be better that we bomb the ball tto the opposition defenders all game... I don't know that is why I am not the coach...

do you think we have had a good year since Stevo cut his neck???

Relatively, yes. We definately haven't had a bad one.

I think what Laidley has done since the Day Denis ran for the money (pity it was not there)... has been absolutely sensational... he got a club that was on its knees... had to retire half the team and also go through a debut year that no one else ever has... rematch with Pagan... Carey... McCartney comeback game... he has done us proud... and deserves our continued support...

Only a stubborn and stupid few would deny his efforts up until this year. He deserves support because he is the coach, and I haven't said anything differen't. If you take the time to read back over the past few months, I have been at worst undecided on the coaching issue and have spent alot of posts defending him.

IMO, he has had a very poor season starting at trade week last year. You can't just blindly support a coach who is currently in charge of a side who is so clearly playing far below it's potential IMO. Not saying he should be sacked tomorrow, but you surely have to ask the question re his future. I can guarantee those in charge are doing the same thing, no matter what info they feed hack journos looking for a story.

and as for the style we play... he is trying to find a way for us to win... if that is ugly so be it... maybe it would be better that we bomb the ball tto the opposition defenders all game... I don't know that is why I am not the coach...

We have been far too defensive. I won't even bother arguing the point because it's true. I have no problem with best option footy as it what wins flags these days, but it's the general attitude of the side that worries me. 3 taggers through the middle, stifled when in posession, an unwillingness to take risks and being too reactive too often has costs us games IMO.

No-one likes this. It's crap. Off field, we need those in charge to step back and make tough decisions on every single level. On field, we desperately need something to carry into 2007. Absolutey vital.

NorthBhoy said:
We have been far too defensive. I won't even bother arguing the point because it's true. I have no problem with best option footy as it what wins flags these days, but it's the general attitude of the side that worries me. 3 taggers through the middle, stifled when in posession, an unwillingness to take risks and being too reactive too often has costs us games IMO.

No-one likes this. It's crap. Off field, we need those in charge to step back and make tough decisions on every single level. On field, we desperately need something to carry into 2007. Absolutey vital.

Yes, this is what worries me. Does defensiveness result from lack of confidence or does it create it? Much as I hate to give Richmond/Wallace any credit for anything, I like that they seem to go for broke when they feel they can, and go defensive when they must. I don't like at all seeing a team like ours, that is better than at least half of the teams out there, going into every match looking like it half-expects to lose and wants to minimise the damage.

I don't know that it's a consistent pattern, though. We traded like we had huge confidence in the list, and have played since like we have none.

Hearts to hearts said:
Yes, this is what worries me. Does defensiveness result from lack of confidence or does it create it? Much as I hate to give Richmond/Wallace any credit for anything, I like that they seem to go for broke when they feel they can, and go defensive when they must. I don't like at all seeing a team like ours, that is better than at least half of the teams out there, going into every match looking like it half-expects to lose and wants to minimise the damage.

I don't know that it's a consistent pattern, though. We traded like we had huge confidence in the list, and have played since like we have none.

did we truely trade like we had great faith in our list... or did we trade a late first round pick for a bloke that we assumed (and may still) would fill a hole that was desperately needed to be plugged???

as to the other trading...

Jade Rawlings has given more the I expected already from two games... he cost us zip except for lets say Johnny Baird's spot on our list...

Casey Green... has also played better then I expected... I am very happy with the decision to trade for him...

Thurley... I don't see what anyone else saw in this bloke and to me he is our biggest trading disaster for 2005...

the rest are kids...

as for the style we play... I don't like it... but I think that Dean knows more about our team and our limitations then what I do... so until he is vindicated or replaced he deserves our support and will get it from me...

NorthBhoy said:
Relatively, yes. We definately haven't had a bad one.

tell me the last time our club has been given any credit before the start of a season... even when we have been sitting at 5-0 no-one has given us credit... surely this must work against the club at some point of time... maybe 2006 is that point of time???

Rooboy 96 said:
did we truely trade like we had great faith in our list... or did we trade a late first round pick for a bloke that we assumed (and may still) would fill a hole that was desperately needed to be plugged???

as to the other trading...

Jade Rawlings has given more the I expected already from two games... he cost us zip except for lets say Johnny Baird's spot on our list...

Casey Green... has also played better then I expected... I am very happy with the decision to trade for him...

Thurley... I don't see what anyone else saw in this bloke and to me he is our biggest trading disaster for 2005...

the rest are kids...

as for the style we play... I don't like it... but I think that Dean knows more about our team and our limitations then what I do... so until he is vindicated or replaced he deserves our support and will get it from me...

For the 900th time, we never traded for Thurley. He came to us for nix in the PSD.

Arguments about Thurley need to framed along the lines of...

Would be be better off with Cupido?

or...

Would we be better off with Woewodin?

For me the answer is no in both cases, Cupido is whack, and Woewodin would be a waste given how far we are from a flag.

Thurley hasn't done much since Round 1.... but I could name about 20 guys in the same boat.

Hearts to hearts said:

This is one of my hobby horses at the moment. Personally I believe that teams out of form, on bad runs, and low on confidence almost always tend to display these characteristics. I've seen it in Ausie Rules, football over here (City went on a 14 match winless streak in my first season back in Manchester), I've seen it in countless other sports.

You can't just flick a switch and turn that off, but when it happens you will see a different style of play. It won't be because they are trying to play any different, people will get confidence back, they will be more prepared to back themselves, they want the ball more, they will be more prepared to run forward instead of backwards.

Look at when we play well compared to when we play poorly, the criticism is always the game plan, but how much of that game plan is influenced by factors like I've described above.

And I guarantee you that when Richmond go on their losing run their style of play will start to look a lot less attractive.

this has to be classed as one of the threads of the yr so far for me. posters passionately writing about there thoughts and ideas of the season so far. thank you to all who have posted so far, a must read for any diehard north melbourne fan,

i havnt been able to get to more than two games this yr and reading through the negativity of some threads on the bigfooty board have been sickening. many of those posters staying clear of a thread that makes sense and is not just criticising.

thankyou again for some commonsense posting returning to the board.

RoyalBlue said:
For the 900th time, we never traded for Thurley. He came to us for nix in the PSD.

Arguments about Thurley need to framed along the lines of...

Would be be better off with Cupido?

or...

Would we be better off with Woewodin?

For me the answer is no in both cases, Cupido is whack, and Woewodin would be a waste given how far we are from a flag.

Thurley hasn't done much since Round 1.... but I could name about 20 guys in the same boat.

My apologies... let me say that another way then...

Thurley... I don't see what anyone else saw in this bloke and to me he is our biggest recruiting disaster for 2005...

to me the bloke has no upside... crikey I hope I am wrong... but to me Hay has more potential to be a premiership player then this bloke...

One thing that has worried me about the last couple of years is how often we surrender the lead early in matches. More often than not we are behind at quater time/half time, often even in matches we win. The players, seemingly, don't come out playing confidently as though they are going to win, and aren't as positive and attacking as the opposition are early in games. Not trying to have a go, but this is a trend I have observed over the past few years. On several occassions we have played our best football when we were forty points down. I wonder why that killer instinct only kicks in then. I just wonder whether on some level all the media coverage of the 'shinboner spirit' would get to you as a player and you may come to believe you aren't as good as the opposition but if you fight then you can compete. When their pride is on the line, when they are down by a bit, all of a sudden they play great hard footy. This drive to win isn't as evident from the outset in games. There doesn't seem to be a winning mentality. Think of the Adelaide game this year, Adelaide last year at the dome, and Port last year at Manuka, there are many other games as well.

In saying that I think that we are just about as low as we can go and things will turn around pretty soon. When all the press settles about games in Canberra vs Carrara, off field misdemeanors, and some of the younger guys can establish themselves in the side and there is a bit more pressure on the others who have been around for a few years, then hopefully we will see a settled line-up that can focus on winning games of footy. When they can string together 4 good quaters then in wont be long before this becomes a couple of games and then we will be back up there as a contender.

The best thing we can do as supporters is exactly that - support the club. That is our role as much as the players have roles to do on the field. For the club to go forward everyone needs to be pulling their weight. We need to have faith in the processes that the club has in place otherwise we are only contributing to their demise (when the time is right there will be people in place whose role it is to seek answers to questions). Get behind the club now, if even only for yourself, so that when we taste success in the near future you can look back on what is happening now and truly know how good it is to be a supporter of this great football club.

The Club