The End of the Rough,Tough Player? who were your favorite?

The dele larmer

May 20, 2008
wantirna sth
cricket
THE DELE wants to know who were your favorite rough and tough guys from past and present? Being an Essendon supporter my favorites from the past were Dean Wallace and " Rotten " Ronnie Andrews . with blokes like Barry Hall and Dean Soloman on the outer do we need the Big tough guys in our Game? Is our game getting soft? Has trial by Video and slow mo replays ended the time and the need for rough and tough guys in your team?:cool:

200px-Millane.jpg

Gee how many do you want?
big carl was dangerous
Robbie muir was a genuine nut
Dermott had more balls than nearly all
rhys jones had a few issues once crossing the white line
Greg williams was prone to losing it big time
Jim Edmond was a little unbalanced
so many others to choose from but with all of them they were also very good players and had great careers...even muir could play footy even though he is thought of as a thug...The other thing with all these players they also took heaps and didnt squeel like stuck pigs when they did

Back in the 80's Brereton v Merrett or Brereton v Duckworth usually involved a fair few horns being locked. All genuine tough guys. In more recent times I reckon there has been no tougher than Carey and J Brown. C Mooney likes to think he is tough but he is all tatts and stupid love taps. Any of the previous blokes mentioned would wreck him.

leigh matthews by the length of the field. Probably only plugger in my time watching footy came close to this beast in intimidating the opposition.

of the saints I've seen, plugger and Spud.

the Manbeast cowed 1/2 the defenders he went up against, and Spud, well you knew that if you took a mark against the big tank, you'd get your thump in the back/side of the head from the attempted spoil. No one burst packs like Plugger, he'd send them the rolling like ninepins.

I can tell you, even the best full forwards liked to be on a substantial lead from Frawley to avoid those hams coming up the side of their face.

Not proud of all that Lethal dished out but he wasnt called Lethal for nothing.
Dipper the same.
Derm the same.
Gary Ayres was as tough as they came.

From other clubs loved Rotten Ronnie Andrews and Stan 'the man' Magro.

Matthews and Lockett, IMO no one intimidated players like those guys did.
And in saying that they both had incidents they would rather forget, and were targeted by other teams on a regular basis.

Imagine if they had super slow-mo replays back in the days of Matthews, Lockett and co... half these guys would have careers that looked something like:

Career: 1982-1994
Games: 31
Suspended Games: 209

The video scrutiny has certainly taken a lot of the hard plays out of the game - mothers with children probably think this is a good thing. I'm not so sure...

Not proud of all that Lethal dished out but he wasnt called Lethal for nothing.
Dipper the same.
Derm the same.
Gary Ayres was as tough as they came.

From other clubs loved Rotten Ronnie Andrews and Stan 'the man' Magro.

Yep :thumbsu:
Dipper, Derm and Ayres were my favorites.
Dean Greig from the Saints was one tough B'stard, not a long or outstanding career, but one of my favorite players non the less.

Imagine if they had super slow-mo replays back in the days of Matthews, Lockett and co... half these guys would have careers that looked something like:

Career: 1982-1994
Games: 31
Suspended Games: 209

The video scrutiny has certainly taken a lot of the hard plays out of the game - mothers with children probably think this is a good thing. I'm not so sure...

I think its a good thing, not saying I didn't enjoy the footy of the past, I did, but lets be honest, some of the brilliant talent you are seeing today, would probably get cleaned up behind play by dog acts if this was 70s style football, and probably close to 80s style football.

yeah I enjoyed watching plugger steam roll a few guys, but on the flip side watching ablett steamroll David Grant and Nathan Burke in 91 (for which he copped a suspension, but would probably get 5 plus weeks today) was sickening.

its fun watching your guys clean up other guys and get away with it, but when its your young kid getting hammered its not so good.

when I first started watching footy, Trevor barker would cop at least 2 blows to the head every game that made you sick.

I reckon on the on field violence stakes, footy is better now than before, and a guy like lethal, would still be a class player in todays footy, he'd just play differently.

The Scott brothers. :D

I reckon Matthews 'made them'.

in fact matthews turned the whole brisbane side into miniture clones of himself, but with sufficient discipline to not get suspended and play hard within the rules.

I would say more than a few coaches/teams/players tried to mimick the Brisbane style.

Hammil v scott was almost worth the price of admission on its own.

The End of the Rough,Tough Player? who were your favorite?