The Fitness & Weight Loss Mega Thread

6'10, I am the guy in the superman outfit.

dwight_howard_picture_83.jpg

Hey Ricky, what do you know about those personal training certs, not that I want to be a personal trainer (I didn't even know hammer curls worked biceps :p) but I think it always be nice too add more credentials.

We all know it is 90% nutrition :D

Hey Ricky, what do you know about those personal training certs, not that I want to be a personal trainer (I didn't even know hammer curls worked biceps :p) but I think it always be nice too add more credentials.

I know that most PT's are idiots. I know that 2 years of a Human Movements course means you can walk into a PT job (ahead of people who do a Cert 3 & 4 at even the most 'prestigious' [for want of a better word] tafe's/institutions that offer personal training courses) but who would do that when you're on your way to being an exercise physiologist/radiographer etc. etc?

Cert 3 is a six month course and a Cert 4 is a six month course. It's a year in total and can cost you up to $2k. Seriously if you're going to do one, do a good one after you've got your proper degree and are in a good paying job. You can do it through any half decent tafe a few nights a week/at home and you'll be well ahead of the people that do these '16 week' PT courses, which I think just get them a job in a gym to assist people more so than actually train people.

I'm thinking about doing one but it'll probably be the Human Movements course.

I know that most PT's are idiots. I know that 2 years of a Human Movements course means you can walk into a PT job (ahead of people who do a Cert 3 & 4 at even the most 'prestigious' [for want of a better word] tafe's/institutions that offer personal training courses) but who would do that when you're on your way to being an exercise physiologist/radiographer etc. etc?

Cert 3 is a six month course and a Cert 4 is a six month course. It's a year in total and can cost you up to $2k. Seriously if you're going to do one, do a good one after you've got your proper degree and are in a good paying job. You can do it through any half decent tafe a few nights a week/at home and you'll be well ahead of the people that do these '16 week' PT courses, which I think just get them a job in a gym to assist people more so than actually train people.

I'm thinking about doing one but it'll probably be the Human Movements course.

Hmm thanks mate, interesting stuff!
Wow 2x6 month courses!? I think I may be more interested in the 16 week stuff :p I am transferring to a new course next year and will be able to get my undergraduate at the end of next year but I will be pursing post-graduate studies so I doubt I would have time to do those 6 month things. I have no plans of working in a gym setting (not as a trainer, anyways), the aim is purely to have "something" training related that regular folks would not care too much in depth about - just so they can say "oh he also has some training qualifications" :)

Bollocks.

It's 90% genetics, 9% nutrition, 1% Stanozolol. :thumbsu:

lol'd

Edit. Didn't you mention you were planning on changing courses too?

Hmm thanks mate, interesting stuff!
Wow 2x6 month courses!? I think I may be more interested in the 16 week stuff :p I am transferring to a new course next year and will be able to get my undergraduate at the end of next year but I will be pursing post-graduate studies so I doubt I would have time to do those 6 month things. I have no plans of working in a gym setting (not as a trainer, anyways), the aim is purely to have "something" training related that regular folks would not care too much in depth about - just so they can say "oh he also has some training qualifications" :)

lol'd

Edit. Didn't you mention you were planning on changing courses too?

You really just want to know about some good training techniques and what exercises hit what muscle groups, right? The 16 week course probably would be your go then. Just don't go whinging when they try and teach you to do crunches to spot reduce fat on your gut. I think that's about the level of those courses.

Yeah, one day. I was in a bit of a huff when I said it. I'm in engineering at the moment and I'm not far off having a degree so I'll probably get it finished regardless of how much I despise it. That way I can work as a draftsman (it's not a Bachelor in Engineering, it's an associate degree (like a diploma I guess), so essentially I'll just be half an engineer - my current employer wanted me to study for them to employ me so this is how it worked out :confused: ) but yeah, once I have it, I'll go into HM for the betterment of my life.

You really just want to know about some good training techniques and what exercises hit what muscle groups, right? The 16 week course probably would be your go then. Just don't go whinging when they try and teach you to do crunches to spot reduce fat on your gut. I think that's about the level of those courses.

Haha not really, I only really want something that says I have some "knowledge" about training :p Who would you trust more with your health? The guy with the post grad or the guy with the same post grad and a training cert?

Purely a marketing move! haha

My friend is doing engineering, I haven't heard from him in a while....Wonder if the stress finally got him :p
Well not stress - more hate :)

Edit. I don't actually intend to train anyone

G'day guys...
I'm actually trying to put weight back on (not fat though) but I didn't know where to post it..

Here's the situation, over the last 14-15 months I've dropped 38kgs. I'm down to 79kgs and I'm 6"3. I started off just wanting to lose some weight to look a bit better and be happier with myself etc. All the usual stuff.
Anyway, the problem is that the weight loss got to my head in the way that once I dropped the first few kilos I'd started getting compliments from people saying how good you look blah blah blah.
As I kept dropping weight the compliments became more regular so to speak, so I sort of got it in my head that the more weight I lost the more compliments I'd get and be socially accepted.

I didn't lose the weight healthily (exercise, training etc), I lost it through a major loss of appetite to the point where it would make me feel physically sick whenever I would put food upto my mouth, the reason I decided to do this is because I was fed up (pun intended :p ) with feeling like I wasn't accepted by people because of my weight (118kgs).

So now I want to get back up to 90kgs, but a healthy, built 90kgs not a "Poppin fresh" 90kgs. And I've got pretty much zero idea on how to go about it. (Without a gym membership)
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

G'day guys...
I'm actually trying to put weight back on (not fat though) but I didn't know where to post it..

Here's the situation, over the last 14-15 months I've dropped 38kgs. I'm down to 79kgs and I'm 6"3. I started off just wanting to lose some weight to look a bit better and be happier with myself etc. All the usual stuff.
Anyway, the problem is that the weight loss got to my head in the way that once I dropped the first few kilos I'd started getting compliments from people saying how good you look blah blah blah.
As I kept dropping weight the compliments became more regular so to speak, so I sort of got it in my head that the more weight I lost the more compliments I'd get and be socially accepted.

I didn't lose the weight healthily (exercise, training etc), I lost it through a major loss of appetite to the point where it would make me feel physically sick whenever I would put food upto my mouth, the reason I decided to do this is because I was fed up (pun intended :p ) with feeling like I wasn't accepted by people because of my weight (118kgs).

So now I want to get back up to 90kgs, but a healthy, built 90kgs not a "Poppin fresh" 90kgs. And I've got pretty much zero idea on how to go about it. (Without a gym membership)
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

G'day mate. First of all, well done on being honest about your situation. Hope all is well now and you're eating right and you are healthy.

In my opinion, it may be pretty difficult to put on muscle mass without going to the gym. It's not impossible though. If you're prepared to do some body weight exercises you may have a fair chance at reaching your goals.

First of all, you'll need a good diet. This is literally 90% of the task. Here's a quick sample of what my diet looks like (and I'm someone with a similar goal - gaining muscle mass without the fat).

Meal 1 - whey protein shake + scoop of ground oats
Meal 2 - 6 weet bix
Meal 3 - 50g almonds 15g walnuts
Meal 4 - 200-300g chicken/beef with rice (or if I'm slack Subway/fish and chips)
Meal 5 - 250g low fat yogurt
Meal 6 (post workout) - whey protein shake
Meal 7 - 200-300g chicken/beef with rice and veggies

That's it roughly. Of course from time to time, to keep my sanity, I'll have a chocolate or something. I drink Coke too (although I've cut back heaps). It's not the end of the world if you cheat a little bit.

I drink 3L of water each day but that's not to say that I don't have my slack days whereby I drink less than a litre.

I take a multivitamin too - best thing I ever invested in!

I train 5-6 times a week in the gym. I've put on about 10kg since I started training seriously in February. That's the sort of time frame you could expect if you jumped straight into the deep end with a gym membership. But chances are it'll probably take twice as long - I don't know anyone who hasn't taken time to adjust to a new lifestyle.

I can expand more on the bodyweight workouts later if you want. There's certainly more that can be said about dieting too. Macros and calorie intake is the next step! :thumbsu:

Thanks mate, appreciate it...
I will definitely have a look at the eating plan once I get my home gym in place. Just don't want to eat heaps right now without working it off.

Again, thanks for taking the time to reply.

Thanks mate, appreciate it...
I will definitely have a look at the eating plan once I get my home gym in place. Just don't want to eat heaps right now without working it off.

Again, thanks for taking the time to reply.

No dramas at all mate.

When you get that home gym sorted jump in here and we'll point you in the right direction.

No sugar coating, that sounds like one ****ed up eating disorder.
I would see your GP first, get checked for possible physiological problems, then see a psychiatrist specializing in eating disorders if needed.

Yeaa, I think I'll be fine once I can get my appetite back... Which I still have no idea on how to do. Doing my head in.

Another reason why I think you should seek professional help.

No sugar coating, that sounds like one ****ed up eating disorder.
I would see your GP first, get checked for possible physiological problems, then see a psychiatrist specializing in eating disorders if needed.

Another reason why I think you should seek professional help.

Nahhhh, its not that serious. Don't scare him.

A lot of people who meet me these days don't realise that just 3 years ago I was a skinny, scrawny, malnourished little prick. By that, I'm talking, lucky to be 60kg at 6ft tall. I left school and hastily moved out of home. With a goal in mind of saving to buy a car, combined with my inability to cook a meal, combined with my sheer laziness, I got sick. No doctors were visited. I just faced the problem head first. Baby steps, starting with dinner. I bought frozen meals from Woolworths, had my multivitamin and went to bed. I cut out all chips and biscuits next, and added in a good snack like fruit or nuts. Breakfast was the last thing I was able to do. even when I was up five kg and eating so many healthy things, it wasn't for another 6 months until I had an appetite for breakfast.

These things are so common. Serious as hell but common. I had a friend in a similar situation around the same time, she saw a doctor that said she could die if she stays on that path. He recommended her to all these specialists who just did their tests and prescribed her some drugs but in the end it was the baby steps back into healthy eating that did it.

And its not hard to see what's healthy and what's not. A sandwich and a bottle of water is better than a pie and a coke. Anything that turns paper clear suggests its processed or deep fried. I stayed far from these things.

I think you should seek professional help.

Ricky I believe this is a very different issue to yours. You started because you couldn't cook and you were lazy. This has developed from him not being accepted because of his weight. Very different issues.

The fact that you have admitted there is an issue is a great start in the right direction. With the help of a doctor and/or dietitian you should be able to get the real help you need.

Yeaa, I went to the doctors last Wednesday about it all and he reckons that I'm at a decent weight for my height, but still took some blood tests. I got the blood test results back and it's all normal, which I was surprised at.

I've started to just try and make sure I eat, I'm not much of a talker (about real stuff anyway) so I don't think a psychiatrist would be that beneficial.

Since I found out how much weight I'd lost (given it's only been a few days) but I've still been making an effort to eat more, I've even been having breakfast every morning.

As a side note, the doctor thinks it's G.O.R.D (Gastro-oesophageal reflux disease) and is going to prescribe me a liquid medication seeing as liquids are easier for me to get down than tablets.

Good to hear :), I hope that you no longer have an unhealthy relationship with food (even if you still do, I hope it is getting better). Right now, developing a healthy relationship should be focus #1, reaching your goal weight should be secondary.

Good luck! :thumbsu:

Edit. So relieved you had enough common sense to see a medical professional, lol

Good to hear :), I hope that you no longer have an unhealthy relationship with food (even if you still do, I hope it is getting better). Right now, developing a healthy relationship should be focus #1, reaching your goal weight should be secondary.

Good luck! :thumbsu:

Edit. So relieved you had enough common sense to see a medical professional, lol

Yeaa, I think that my goal weight will come with my slowly but steadily improving diet and continuous exercise, weights etc.

The squiggly ones one the front that look like forked worms lol

You must have heaps of veins at your BF%, was it weird for you when you first saw new veins?

tooblue/10

What is your new goal by the way? Slowly bulking?

The squiggly ones one the front that look like forked worms lol

You must have heaps of veins at your BF%, was it weird for you when you first saw new veins?

tooblue/10

What is your new goal by the way? Slowly bulking?

I'm actually not all that vascular. Veins around my arms and a few in the pubic area but none on the shoulders or neck or chest yet. Got one feral as vein in one of my calves though. :(

Nah, doing a hard bulk until January. Then I'm going to do a 4 week cut before I ship off for a quick holiday in Thailand. Then back on the hard bulk for as long as I need to get to 90kgs (about 8 to go from now). Then I'll cut down to 85 and try and hit that at about 7 or 8%.

I know it won't go to plan but that's the plan in any case. :thumbsu:

You? Short term/long term?

The Fitness & Weight Loss Mega Thread