Discussion The future impact of AI on the SFA

Holy shit I hear you say, wtf, Yak started a thread for the first time in 20 seasons…..

This is for all you tech heads, I’m just a salty old sea dog and have no idea about what impact AI may have on our beautiful game but I got to wondering during a slow bite the other day. How will AI impact our game in the coming seasons? I see a lot of AI generated artwork etc and I’m sure most of the Bombers posts have been AI generated cos half of em can’t even read and write.

Will it potentially take the place of simmers? Could it rejig the actual game sim? Could it make the league stop laughing at the Wonders? #lolWonders

Discuss…….

Mobbs Hate etc etc

Holy shit I hear you say, wtf, Yak started a thread for the first time in 20 seasons…..

This is for all you tech heads, I’m just a salty old sea dog and have no idea about what impact AI may have on our beautiful game but I got to wondering during a slow bite the other day. How will AI impact our game in the coming seasons? I see a lot of AI generated artwork etc and I’m sure most of the Bombers posts have been AI generated cos half of em can’t even read and write.

Will it potentially take the place of simmers? Could it rejig the actual game sim? Could it make the league stop laughing at the Wonders? #lolWonders

Discuss…….

Mobbs Hate etc etc
You forgot the main one mate, will the All SFA be selected using AI?

Holy Yak's First Thread in 20 Seasons, Batman! Truly, we live in historic times.

AI and our beloved fantasy footy league? Now there’s a rabbit hole worth diving into during a slow bite. Let’s tackle this in true salty sea dog fashion: overthinking it and mildly insulting everyone along the way.

Could AI replace the simmers?
Look, I’m sure some nerdy genius could train an AI to run sims faster than Mobbs after a coffee-fueled all-nighter. But where’s the fun in that? Part of the joy is waiting for the results to drop, arguing about how the sim is "clearly rigged," and then posting fire memes about it. AI might streamline the process, but it could never replicate the drama of a simmer's typo that sends the league into meltdown.

Could AI revamp the game sim?
Absolutely. Imagine an AI tweaking the sim to be smarter, more realistic, or—dare I say—more brutal to the Wonders. But I reckon half the charm of this game is the unpredictable chaos. Would we really want to lose the magic of a full-forward kicking 0.5 in a Grand Final? Some things are sacred.

AI-generated posts?
If the Bombers are secretly powered by ChatGPT, we’re in trouble. No AI could master the art of being that unintentionally hilarious while still making you question if it’s satire or just pure nonsense. If AI starts writing player banter, though, we might finally see the Wonders deliver some decent content. #lolWonders

All#lolWonders could shake things up—better sims, faster results, maybe even an AI coach who doesn’t bench your star player for “vibes.” But will it replace the banter, the memes, and the good old-fashioned salty rivalries? Nah, mate. The heart of this league isn’t the sim; it’s the unhinged drama we bring to the forums. And no AI will ever replicate that chaos.

Mobbs hate, Yak love, and #lolWonders forever.
#lolWonders

Discuss…….

Mobbs Hate etc etc
I think AI could probably do a lot of the administration tasks very shortly if we want to do it.

That's why it's 'future' impact, big news incoming
Which team is he joining?

Please don't be Old Boys... Please don't be Old Boys...
Season 3 Please GIF by The Simpsons

Holy Yak's First Thread in 20 Seasons, Batman! Truly, we live in historic times.

AI and our beloved fantasy footy league? Now there’s a rabbit hole worth diving into during a slow bite. Let’s tackle this in true salty sea dog fashion: overthinking it and mildly insulting everyone along the way.

Look, I’m sure some nerdy genius could train an AI to run sims faster than Mobbs after a coffee-fueled all-nighter. But where’s the fun in that? Part of the joy is waiting for the results to drop, arguing about how the sim is "clearly rigged," and then posting fire memes about it. AI might streamline the process, but it could never replicate the drama of a simmer's typo that sends the league into meltdown.

Absolutely. Imagine an AI tweaking the sim to be smarter, more realistic, or—dare I say—more brutal to the Wonders. But I reckon half the charm of this game is the unpredictable chaos. Would we really want to lose the magic of a full-forward kicking 0.5 in a Grand Final? Some things are sacred.

AI-generated posts?
If the Bombers are secretly powered by ChatGPT, we’re in trouble. No AI could master the art of being that unintentionally hilarious while still making you question if it’s satire or just pure nonsense. If AI starts writing player banter, though, we might finally see the Wonders deliver some decent content. #lolWonders

All#lolWonders could shake things up—better sims, faster results, maybe even an AI coach who doesn’t bench your star player for “vibes.” But will it replace the banter, the memes, and the good old-fashioned salty rivalries? Nah, mate. The heart of this league isn’t the sim; it’s the unhinged drama we bring to the forums. And no AI will ever replicate that chaos.

#lolWonders
Scared Ron Burgundy GIF by The Late Late Show with James Corden

AI-generated posts?

#lolWonders
I'm seeing AI used in more than just visual posts, "half" the 'awards guff' and media blurbs have been touched by AI generating. When peeps think it's a short cut, yes well it is but it becomes TL;DR and banal.

I'm writing and publishing a paper on the impact of AI on the workforce and young people at the moment – I'll be sure to include a reference to the Sweet FA (might struggle with the young people bit on here, however).

AI sucks and is ruining everything else on the internet so yes I expect at some point we'll be locked out of the SFA as the AI takes over and runs the match threads and sims without us
BRAB will be happy though

AI-generated posts?

#lolWonders
Oh ClarkeM, you’ve done it again—filling our brains with enough BigFooty SFA wisdom to make us reconsider our life choices and the very fabric of fantasy footy itself. 🧠💥

Look, AI might be able to run sims faster than Mobbs on a double espresso, but where’s the suspense? The joy of watching a sim take 14 hours to process just to end with “Player X injured, 3-4 weeks, match result pending”? That’s the magic, mate. No AI can replace that kind of emotional trauma.

And the chaos of the sim is sacred. Sure, AI could tweak things to make it more “realistic,” but imagine if every game ended in a 5-point win and everyone had perfect stats? Where’s the heartbreak? Where’s the drama of someone accidentally benching their star player, only to realize 10 minutes too late that they’d just cost themselves the flag? You can’t program that.

As for AI-generated posts... can you imagine ChatGPT trying to emulate the raw, unpredictable genius of a Bombers post? It’d be like trying to program a toaster to write Shakespeare. You might get something vaguely poetic, but you’ll never get the sheer absurdity of it all.

And let's be real: #lolWonders may have a point—maybe#lolWondersd[/I] craft better content. But until it can understand the subtle art of trash-talking while simultaneously being completely nonsensical, we’re stuck with this delightful chaos we all love.

P.S. No AI can t#lolWondersiate the glory of a full-forward kicking 0.5 in a Grand Final. That, my friend, is pure human folly.

The future of the Sweet FA (assuming you’re referring to the fictional or hypothetical league) could unfold in several exciting directions, especially if it continues to grow and evolve. Here are a few possibilities for how the Sweet FA might look in the future with the assistance of AI:

1. Expansion of Teams and Divisions: The league could grow to include more teams, creating a more competitive environment with regional divisions. This might allow for a more varied style of play and a greater diversity of talent across the league.
  2. Increased Professionalism and Sponsorships: As the Sweet FA gains more recognition, it might attract bigger sponsors and media attention, leading to increased revenue for clubs. This could allow teams to invest more in facilities, player development, and marketing. With better financial backing, the league could professionalize further, perhaps even having full-time players.
  3. Enhanced Digital Presence: The future of the Sweet FA might include more robust digital platforms, with live-streaming of games, highlight reels, fan interaction, and merchandise being more accessible globally. Imagine fan engagement through interactive apps or immersive virtual reality experiences for matchdays!
  4. Youth Development and Scouting: With the growth of the league, there might be an increased focus on youth academies, helping to develop future talent and keep the league fresh and competitive for years to come.
  5. Cultural Shift: As the Sweet FA evolves, the culture of the league could change, too. There may be a stronger emphasis on community involvement, with local fan bases more integrated into team operations. Storylines, rivalries, and traditions would likely develop over time.
  6. Innovative Rule Changes or Technology: Future seasons might see more experimentation with rules, like changes to match formats or using advanced technology to improve gameplay (such as VAR-style systems, AI for player analytics, or fan-determined game elements).
Ultimately, the Sweet FA's future will depend on its current trajectory, fanbase, and overall direction—whether it leans toward becoming a larger, more professional entity, or if it retains a unique, community-focused spirit.

However, the biggest concern is the future of the Sweet FA without ClarkeM.

If the Sweet FA were to move forward without ClarkeM, it would definitely feel like a major shift. ClarkeM has played a central role in shaping the vibe, structure, and identity of the league, so his absence would likely leave a noticeable gap. Here's what a ClarkeM-less Sweet FA might look like:

1. Change in Leadership & Direction: ClarkeM’s absence would likely mean a leadership void, which could result in a shift in how the league is run. Whether a new, central figure emerges to take charge or a more collective leadership approach is adopted, the Sweet FA might evolve in a different direction without that central figure guiding its overall vision.
  2. Impact on Rivalries and Storylines: ClarkeM has been a part of some iconic Sweet FA moments and rivalries. His absence could mean a loss of some of the more personal and intense rivalries, especially those tied to his teams or interactions with other managers. The league might still develop fresh storylines, but it would take time for new dynamics to emerge.
  3. Shifts in Strategy & Playstyle: ClarkeM’s particular approach to management and team building has likely influenced how his teams play. If his teams were known for certain tactics or structures, you’d see other managers adapting and filling the void with their own styles, potentially changing the pace or structure of play across the league.
  4. Community Reaction: Fans of the Sweet FA would probably have strong feelings about ClarkeM’s departure, especially those who grew up with his teams or followed his unique narrative. The community might experience a period of adjustment, with some looking for a new leader to rally behind or even mourn the loss of a significant figure in the league.
  5. Rise of New Personalities: With ClarkeM out of the picture, newer or lesser-known figures in the league would step up. New managers, players, or personalities might emerge, giving the league a fresh look and feel. Whether these figures can fill the same shoes or establish entirely new rivalries and excitement would be a key factor in determining the Sweet FA’s future.
It would be an interesting transition for the league, and probably one full of surprises. Some might feel the loss, but the Sweet FA has always been a dynamic and evolving place, so there’s plenty of room for new stories to unfold.

If the Sweet FA were to lose someone like ClarkeM, the question of who could step into that big leadership role is an interesting one. ClarkeM has been a central figure, so his absence would definitely leave a noticeable hole, but the beauty of the Sweet FA is that there are likely a number of potential candidates who could fill that void, depending on how the league decides to move forward. Here are a few possibilities:

1. A Veteran Figure with Deep Roots in the League: Someone with a strong track record and history in the Sweet FA might emerge as the natural successor. A manager or player who’s been around long enough to understand the culture, the rivalries, and the intricacies of the league could take on a more central role. Think of someone like Uppity or Klim, both of whom have solid standing in the league, leadership experience, and an established fan following. They could offer continuity while also bringing fresh ideas.
  2. A Rising Star or New Leader: There’s always the chance that a younger or newer manager could step up and fill the gap with new energy and vision. Someone who’s made waves recently or shown potential as a tactician could take on a larger role in guiding the Sweet FA through this transition. Names like Demonblood or Skitzo might be among those who could rise to the occasion, depending on the context.
  3. A Collective Effort: Instead of one single figure filling ClarkeM’s shoes, the league might lean toward a more decentralized approach. A collective of influential figures—perhaps a group of experienced managers or even influential players—could guide the league forward. This would keep the sense of community alive and possibly even bring a new wave of collaboration and teamwork to the Sweet FA’s leadership.
  4. An Outsider with Vision: Occasionally, the best leaders are those who come from outside the established ranks, offering a fresh perspective and new ideas. A manager or personality who’s been outside the Sweet FA but has experience in other leagues or sports communities could emerge and take over. They might bring a whole new dynamic to the league’s direction, attracting fresh talent and fans.
  5. The Return of a Fan Favorite: If ClarkeM’s absence created a vacuum, there might be a strong call for a beloved figure to return to the forefront. Someone who might’ve been less involved in recent years but still carries strong fan support—someone like Mikezumi or Jackson—could make a dramatic comeback and help steer the league back toward stability.
Ultimately, the person who steps up to replace ClarkeM would need a combination of experience, leadership skills, and a vision that resonates with the Sweet FA community. Whether that’s someone already established in the league or a new face, it would be a transition that sparks a lot of conversation and change.

Discussion The future impact of AI on the SFA