The Great Beat-Up: The Drug Problem at West Coast *MB thread*

Re: The Great Beat-Up: The Drug Problem at West Coast

You're really going out of your way to identify yourself as a complete moron with nothing to say.

At least there won't be any confusion.

If I am a moron, then you must be a Grade-A Moron.

That must be why I have had 20 P.M's since joining BigFooty telling me to keep up the good work.

But just refer to my previous post, hey, whatever helps you sleep at night:thumbsu:

This whole issue of drugs in AFL, and of West Coast supposedly being the worst offenders, is a total beat-up.

Rumour and innuendo are no substitute for real evidence, but that hasn't stopped commentators from inflating this issue at every opportunity.

The Footy Show interview with West Coast chairman Dalton Gooding was presented as some kind of massive expose - maybe I missed it, but was anything actually revealed?

Gooding basically admitted their had been some discipline problems at the club, before saying the club wouldn't tolerate any more stuff-ups and that illicit drugs were unacceptable. What was the big revelation here? What else was he going to say? You'd get the same line on drugs and discipline from every chairman in the league.

This whole saga is marked as a beat-up by the complete lack of real information. I'm yet to see a shred of evidence that there is a "drug problem" in the AFL, or at West Coast or any other club.

Notice the way Hutchison kept referring to "a perception back East" that West Coast had a drug problem. That perception was emphasised because Hutchison had no actual evidence to use as a starting point for his questions. A perception - that's what's driving this beat-up.

I love the way commentators use "anecdotal evidence" to build their case. What does that phrase mean in this context? Rumour? Hearsay? In most reporting, that would not be sufficient to drive a story - but in this issue, that's considered a smoking gun.

Craig Hutchison spuriously linked Cousins getting locked up and Kerr assaulting a taxi driver with a supposed drug problem at West Coast. How does that work? Were drugs a factor in either incident?

Then there's the Fletcher incident. If anyone knows what happened in Las Vegas, then let's hear it. It's unsound to just assume it was a drug overdose in the absence of any real information?

Like I said - show me the evidence. Don't just recite unsubstantiated rumours or point to incidents that had nothing to do with drugs.

Quite frankly, I couldn't care less what Ben Cousins or any other player does or doesn't ingest in a nightclub. I have no interested whatsoever in this half-baked soap opera that surrounds players' off-field activities. The public appetite for this stuff mystifies me.

I thought most people follow football because they like the spectacle and the contest. Players will be judged on what they do on-field - and rightly so. Why is there such interest in everything else?

That said, the way this story about the "drug problem" has been manufactured needs to be pointed out.

People should demand some facts instead of just lapping up innuendo that feeds their dislike of the Eagles.
You seem pretty worked up even though you don,t care what ingesting is or is not done in night clubs by AFL players. You should damn well care if you follow the game . I personally don,t give a stuff which team it is, but AFL so called marvelous athletes that use meth or cocaine or get blind drunk or whatever don,t deserve the privilage of playing AFL football again . It doesn,t matter who he plays for, so don,t be so precious about the bloody Eagles. Unfortunately for you there is evidence, and wonderful Ben is in rehab. If
he kicked a guareteed 20 goals a game I wouldn,t have him back in football,
He,s broken his familys heart, he,s weak, he got on dope, he hangs with flaming wanna be mobsters he won,t co operate with police and you know what blind man HE,S NOT FATHER CHRISTMAS IN THE AFL HE,S GOT A FEW MATES !! They aren,t all Eagles and everybody knows that except you . This
dope kills youngsters and stuffs up others and lots of them love footballers.

1. Sampi threatened to harm himself, not his girlfriend's sister.

2. Who smoked dope? Heard nothing of that before.

3. Who beat up who at a nightclub? Again news to me.

4. Where is the evidence that Fletcher was on drugs?

5. You'd be stupid enough to give evidence against underworld figures?

6. This particular "underworld figure" owns and hangs out a prominent Perth nightclub. Even I know people who work there who from time to time surely speak to him.

No, no beatups there whatsoever.
fool

Let me say this.

IT IS OUR FAULT NO ONE ELSES.

Ridiculous statement blaming the East.

Was it said tongue in cheek perhaps?

Probably not. :eek:
Well said Big Man if your fair dinkum, This back and forth stuff about drugs in footy should finish now, We all need to realise that drugs and the Eagles is one story there are many many more from other clubs,.But the fact is that dope is the new "piss up" but its long term effects are fairly unknown , we know you can stuff up your liver on grog and you can become a pain in the neck bore on booze, or you could become a gutless woman thumper or an out of control violent individual. This is pretty serious stuff and most people go through life having fun, having a few drinks and being in control, and not killing themselves on the road. If they make 70 or 80 plus years in their life
then they are probably having a few quiet ones still, safely . Of course there are exceptions,.But drugs, like they make today, are different to booze, sometimes they,re made in some backyard lab by some money hungry underworld peice of you know what, they come into the country from god
knows where and they are distributed by people who are doped out of their brain and desperate. Or worse, some dog who doesn,t care. Long term phsychological problems are unknown but they are there. If you are some kid who thinks its ok because your hero thinks its ok then you could be looking at a future that looks magnificent until one day the dope does something to your brain , maybe 20 years down the track. Now it may or may not ruin your life . But if you cop a flashback and then suffer a terrible stroke at 46 like my mate then you might have another look at drug taking. He,d been off crap for
20 years then had strange little trips in his head, now he,s a veg. Now maybe
it wasn,t the dope but probably it was. My former juice freak mate turned junky is now unknown to the world. I hope Ben isn,t re visited some years down the track! Mavelous fit strong young men should respect themselves and not think they are invincible and that the sun does not shine out of their ********s!

Gooding basically admitted their had been some discipline problems at the club, before saying the club wouldn't tolerate any more stuff-ups and that illicit drugs were unacceptable. What was the big revelation here? What else was he going to say? You'd get the same line on drugs and discipline from every chairman in the league.

But Gooding also said Cousins ( may be guilty of verballing here but this was the inference ) was training the house down and had been meeting all his obligations - a week later it turns out he had been missing training sessions since July last year . If Gooding was telling the truth as he knew it then was Worsfold covering for Cousins or was Gooding just lying to the media , therefore the Weagles board was covering for Cousins .

If rec drugs are not the concern of the AFL then why are the AFL helping to pay for the rehab of player earning what $500k a year , sounds like the Weagles are getting concessions , I hope they are being taken into account under the salary cap .

Definition of hypocrite (noun)
form: hypocrites
person who makes false professions of their views or beliefs.

I don't think there is a single person on BF who doesn't think that about you.
How have I displayed hypocrisy?

I've been making the same argument throughout.

That must be why I have had 20 P.M's since joining BigFooty telling me to keep up the good work.
TRANSLATION: "Other people think I'm cool, so there!"

Have you framed them and stuck them on your fridge?

What kind of loser brags about getting PMs?

lacking the ability and comprehension skills to digest the counter arguments doesn't make your argument undiminished.
What have the counter-arguments been?

As far as I'm aware, the main one is that a high-profile example of drug use at West Coast can be extrapolated into evidence of a broader, more entrenched pattern.

That's basically what's being promoted here. Cousins' issues are supposedly evidence that the club has a "drug problem".

I don't accept that.

You seem pretty worked up even though you don,t care what ingesting is or is not done in night clubs by AFL players.
I don't have much interest in what they ingest. Gossip about off-field activites is something I've never had much of an appetite for.

That doesn't mean I don't have an opinion on an issue that has received such enormous coverage over the past month or so.

You should damn well care if you follow the game . I personally don,t give a stuff which team it is, but AFL so called marvelous athletes that use meth or cocaine or get blind drunk or whatever don,t deserve the privilage of playing AFL football again.
Pfffttt...

They don't "deserve the privilege"?

I didn't realise Judge Judy posted on BigFooty.

This dope kills youngsters and stuffs up others and lots of them love footballers.
Won't somebody please think of the children!

He does hoogs!!

He truly does.

Self delusion like that is really very sad.

Poor, poor cadet!!

*sniff*

Do you think he looks in the mirror when he brushes his teeth?

Nice aviator btw. One of my favourite images.

Do you think he looks in the mirror when he brushes his teeth?

Nice aviator btw. One of my favourite images.

I have said this to Gunnar before and he had a massive hissy fit and stamped his feet.

But I reckon the whole inside of his house is one big mirror!!

You see, he tries to portray this image that he is some worldly wise reporter....breaking stories and writing the important opinion piece articles.

But the reality is that he is a know nothing hack who struggles in his cadetship at a suburban rag in the Sydney suburbs.

And all he covers is stuff like cats getting caught up trees and how Mrs Brown of Gladesville celebrated her 90th birthday at the local nursing home.

Gunnar needs to get his love and respect from somewhere.

And when he tires of his reflected image at home, he comes to BF and tries for it.

Although he fails miserably.

Kinda sad really.

I have said this to Gunnar before and he had a massive hissy fit and stamped his feet.

But I reckon the whole inside of his house is one big mirror!!

You see, he tries to portray this image that he is some worldly wise reporter....breaking stories and writing the important opinion piece articles.

But the reality is that he is a know nothing hack who struggles in his cadetship at a suburban rag in the Sydney suburbs.

And all he covers is stuff like cats getting caught up trees and how Mrs Brown of Gladesville celebrated her 90th birthday at the local nursing home.

Gunnar needs to get his love and respect from somewhere.

And when he tires of his reflected image at home, he comes to BF and tries for it.

Although he fails miserably.

Kinda sad really.

Crazier than a speed 'in Kerr.
More stupid than a loco cuzz.
Able to leap fact in a single bound.

Look! Up in the sky!
It's a big bird drearleader. It's plain. It's SuperNERD!

Yes, it's SuperNERD - strange visitor from another planet who came to BF with powers and abilities far beyond those of mortal men. SuperNERD - who can change the course of media leaks, bend logic with his boob brain, and who, disguised as Clark "Gunnar Longshanks" C*nt, mild mannered reporter for a great metropolitan newspaper, "My Footy News & Issues" fights the never ending battle for Denial, Ignorance and the Deflection Way.

Gunnar claims he has never put on a blue set of undies over his tights or a flowing cape:eek: ....says Kryptonite is a media beat up! .. it's a myth... Prove it or else!?

He never said he was more out of touch than a speed 'ing Kerr... the BF nuts did! ....and he is mighty offended by the implication! Prove it or else!?

PS Gunnar, seems this thread aint going away just yet:D ... you could admit to being human? ....or just say , OK! I got it slightly wrong? (We dont care about the druggies only your denial)

Crazier than a speed 'in Kerr.
More stupid than a loco cuzz.
Able to leap fact in a single bound.

Look! Up in the sky!
It's a big bird drearleader. It's plain. It's SuperNERD!

Yes, it's SuperNERD - strange visitor from another planet who came to BF with powers and abilities far beyond those of mortal men. SuperNERD - who can change the course of media leaks, bend logic with his boob brain, and who, disguised as Clark "Gunnar Longshanks" C*nt, mild mannered reporter for a great metropolitan newspaper, "My Footy News & Issues" fights the never ending battle for Denial, Ignorance and the Deflection Way.

Gunnar claims he has never put on a blue set of undies over his tights or a flowing cape:eek: ....says Kryptonite is a media beat up! .. it's a myth... Prove it or else!?

He never said he was more out of touch than a speed 'ing Kerr... the BF nuts did! ....and he is mighty offended by the implication! Prove it or else!?

PS Gunnar, seems this thread aint going away just yet:D ... you could admit to being human? ....or just say , OK! I got it slightly wrong? (We dont care about the druggies only your denial)

:D :D :thumbsu: Gold 10/10 :D :D

Roll up, roll up.

Come and watch Longshanks the Magnificent dance his way through the hapless BigFooty hordes.

See the bewildered indignation on their faces as they fail to lay a hand on our hero. See their sloping foreheads wrinkle with confusion as their unopposable thumbs grasp only thin air.

Watch as Longshanks, agile of mind and pure of spirit, runs rings around the lumbering dolts who can manage only angry grunts.

The bitterness in their hearts makes them weak and stupid.

Watch as Longshanks stumbles around with a blissfull unawareness. In his mind he sails through the forums without a challenge, not because of some self proclaimed superior mental agility, but because everyone is far too busy amusing themselves at his expense. Longshanks remains convinced that he is hero for the masses, but is blind to the reality, as he simply cannot see through all the tickets he has on himself.

In a nutshell, you've just demonstrated why I'm better than you.

You simply don't have the imagination to ever get the better of me. Let alone the brains or the balls to make a compelling argument.

Run along.

I thought he works in television? :confused:

hutchy? o.o;

Roll up, roll up.

Come and watch Longshanks the Magnificent dance his way through the hapless BigFooty hordes.

See the bewildered indignation on their faces as they fail to lay a hand on our hero. See their sloping foreheads wrinkle with confusion as their unopposable thumbs grasp only thin air.

Watch as Longshanks, agile of mind and pure of spirit, runs rings around the lumbering dolts who can manage only angry grunts.

And that post....ladies and gentlemen....girls and boys..

Sums up......in one foul swoop

The ego, arrogance and ignorance of Gunnar...."cadet".... Longshanks.

I told you that it was kind of sad.:(

The ego, arrogance and ignorance of Gunnar...."cadet".... Longshanks.
Claim whatever hollow vindication you need to.

It's pretty clear that I've got you covered in every aspect.

I don't mind if you want to pretend otherwise.

Claim whatever hollow vindication you need to.

It's pretty clear that I've got you covered in every aspect.

I don't mind if you want to pretend otherwise.

I hope that you have a big shovel cadet!!

At least one that is as big as your mouth!!

Big shovel that bastard.

Roll up, roll up.

Gunnar Longstinks, the Italain army tank, crawls forward slowly, makes a lot of noise then when the situation gets out of control it races off backwards going hell for leather though the thirty reverse gears, findsa corner to hide in then reappears two weeks later when everything has blown over.

Apparently Ben Cousins has a current drug problem, and news to you the decadent reporter of bilge, The AFL commission are meeting next week to decide how to punish Daniel Kerr, for of all things illicit drug use, and by the way, Fletcher and his manager after all the whining (a sound much like gunnar grinding through reverse as he realises he has lost again) have decided not to produce the medical records that apparently could clear his name and have decided to simply let the matter rest. Obviously another correct verdict in this media beat up, bing bang Fletcher od'd and wont release the records because of the incriminating evidence they hold.

Get ready for reverse again Gunnar, you do know Kerr tried to get a court imposed gag oreder to stop the media from releasing his drug tapes don't you. But that is the usual Eagles line, deny theres a problem and bully the press to stop ant TRUTH from getting out.

Benny- junkie
Kerr- Junkie
Fletcher- Junkie on a second chance at life