Jatz
Jatzosaurus Rex
- Sep 7, 2008
- AFL Club
- Carlton
- Other Teams
- Philadelphia Eagles
Sure have! I'll see if I can find some pics.You've been to the Leicester Square store? I am most envious
Bought this for the darl for her birthday, she's a huge Disney nut. We've loved doing it together, has definitely re-invigorated my lego love (purchased the batcave set for myself as a tax pressie.) It looks amazing putting it together.New Disney 100th anniversary GWP looks worth getting if Disney is your thing. Should be available from July 1 but only with Disney purchases. Not sure of the threshold.
That's very unusual (to have pieces missing), I hope it's not symptomatic of a wider issue. It's happened to me three times in around 300 sets, and each time I was alerted because there was an extraneous piece in the relevant bag, thus passing the weight test.Bought this for the darl for her birthday, she's a huge Disney nut. We've loved doing it together, has definitely re-invigorated my lego love (purchased the batcave set for myself as a tax pressie.) It looks amazing putting it together.
But twice now there has been a couple of pieces missing and have had to get them shipped out. Super annoying
Legend. Becoming an expensive hobby lol. She already has her eye on the Hogwarts one. I'm really digging the complicated/detailed builds, as opposed to the display type pieces, like the captain america shield. I've actually enjoyed the little freebie houses of the world that have come with them.PS your other half may like the Walt Disney camera set that's coming soon
I was telling my mate this and he said the same thing, he's only had it once... (His collection is insured for $80k..... So he's got a fair collection lol)That's very unusual (to have pieces missing), I hope it's not symptomatic of a wider issue. It's happened to me three times in around 300 sets, and each time I was alerted because there was an extraneous piece in the relevant bag, thus passing the weight test.
Double check all the bags and the annoying little bags-inside-bags. Occasionally, no matter how careful I am, I find pieces stuck in the corners or whatever.
Mine took about 8 business days both times, so not too bad, but stupid annoying to have to wait.It had crazy weird luck with missing pieces.
When I upgraded my lego game this year from $20-100 sets up to $300 sets, the first 2 expensive sets I built had pieces missing. (The McLaren and Starry Night.)
Touch wood - it hasn't happened since then.
It sucks looking at half built sets for a month waiting for pieces to arrive.
I have found Speed Champions sets to be very prone to forgetting the sticker set. They're usually just sitting in the booklet, but I reckon it's missing up to 20% of the time.
No, there's little chance of pieces being out of order. Each bag is subject to a number of tests before packing, including weight. I've never seen an example of that.I was telling my mate this and he said the same thing, he's only had it once... (His collection is insured for $80k..... So he's got a fair collection lol)
We definitely double checked. Although to be fair, we are only opening bags in order, not all at once. It's my first dip back in, are there often pieces out of order?
God bless a partner who's into the hobby too - don't discourage her . Will definitely help when $1,000 + sets take your fancy .Legend. Becoming an expensive hobby lol. She already has her eye on the Hogwarts one. I'm really digging the complicated/detailed builds, as opposed to the display type pieces, like the captain america shield. I've actually enjoyed the little freebie houses of the world that have come with them.
When i purchased the batcave box, she was like, cool another one we could do together....
I'm like, nope... Dats mine lol.
Also, the lack of quality TMNT builds is depressing. I'd spend stupid money on those lol.
Ok cool, cheers for that i'll keep that in mind, be meticulous with checking the bags. For sure its possible we've misused a piece, especially with the Disney 100 set being so detailed, and my first time building since i was a young bloke.No, there's little chance of pieces being out of order. Each bag is subject to a number of tests before packing, including weight. I've never seen an example of that.
The other thing that's worth checking is for any pieces incorrectly applied - for example a 3x1 plate where a 4x1 is needed. This can happen especially easily with Technic beams and axles, which is why there are measuring guides in their instructions.
Wow, $80k is a fair collection. I'm guessing he keeps mint sets for sale/investment. All of mine are, or have been, built, so it would be a small fraction of that. But that's the joy of the hobby, it can be so many different things to different people.
yeh for sure will check out the Ninjago'sGod bless a partner who's into the hobby too - don't discourage her . Will definitely help when $1,000 + sets take your fancy .
I'm with you I love the sets that are interesting builds, but I love the displays too. You can't get much more complicated than Technic if that's to your taste.
I have Ninjago City Markets to build, I loved building the others in that series if that aesthetic appeals. They're chock full of detail.
As to the expensive, my argument is I spend less on Lego than I do on health insurance, and I get far more return...
Once you get the hang of it, it's possible to pick up almost every purchase at a discount or with some extra like a GWP or extra points. The Lego Stores, Amazon, discount retailers like Target and even Lego online themselves have sales.
A ten month old? That's wonderful, congratulations - you've got the whole duplo genre to explore and there are some awesome options there. Keep yours in the pool room and get building with himyeh for sure will check out the Ninjago's
When i met her she was a lawyer who also venue managed bars in Melbourne. If you'd told her she'd be building lego sets on a week night in country Victoria she's laugh you out of the room.
Now the drama with these is out 10 month old is not far off walking...... Keeping these out of arms reach. Will be traumatic if he pulls them down
Nice, cheers ill bargain hunt around
Thank youA ten month old? That's wonderful, congratulations - you've got the whole duplo genre to explore and there are some awesome options there. Keep yours in the pool room and get building with him
Legend. Much appreciated will doA quick shopping guide:
- Make sure you're a lego.com VIP and subscribe to their updates. Watch for sales, VIP events (double points etc) and GWPs
- also join the certified stores VIP program (annoyingly this is separate to LEGO's own, as it's a franchise) and subscribe to their updates. They have regular deals (eg 25% off a few newer sets last weekend)
- check Big W, Target, DJ and Myer on an ongoing basis. They don't have all sets but do have regular sales/clearances. Big W and Target often have lower RRP too. I have Woolworths rewards and use the points on big W Lego sales
- it's worth having Amazon prime if you buy regularly from there. They often price match sales elsewhere too, as well as their own specials. I probably buy more from there than anywhere. The brickingaround blog has a neat app that summarises all of Amazon's current discounts on Lego.
- other online sites like ToysRUs often have sales
Jay's brick blog is a good source of local information re new releases, GWPs etc
HTH
Oooo, I haven't opened Botanic Garden yet. Hope mine isn't similarly affected. Glad you got them quickly .I didn't get the stickers with the Friends Botanic Garden. It is one set that needed them with all the plant names. Bit annoying but they got sent out quickly.
Up to bag 3 on the giant mini figure and loving it.
I've just built Donkey Kong. As the N64 game was our children's go to for years (AFAIK they never finished it) this was a real nostalgia trip. Will collect all the other Kongs too even though it is a shameless waste of money...
That's fun. I like Bowser but not enough to buy it. I blew my load with the Collisseum. Excuse my crassness.
It's a bit of a funny line of sets really. I know there's a massive bunch of people that would've preferred Minifigures, and I get it, but I can't imagine Minifigures would've given us so much character variety (the Sonic sets have a total of 4 characters across the whole wave), and I don't know how you would've came up with that many interesting builds to go with the figures anyway, so I really appreciate the brick built figures being the centre point of each set.I think the Mario sets are overpriced for what they are - the ones I have prior to the Donkey Kong release were all at significant discount, but they are fun to build and play with.