Analysis The Matt Taberner effect

He deserves a bag soon purely to get credit for his form.

Genuine question.

What's more valuable? 2 goals per game regardless of opposition or 5 goals one week, one the next and 0 the week after?
2 goals a game. Better consistency for forwards.
Schulz had 4 goals then went none the week after. Not ideal really.

I’ll be disappointed if he doesn’t kick at least 60 goals now.
He should have 40 goals or close to it by the time the bye is here.
Again.... My expectations were different at the start of the season....

Keep in mind in the 2018 and 2019, he has had a solid 1st half of the season and then an injury riddled 2nd half of the season.

26.14 from 9 games after we faced essendon.

He kicked 1 goal and 1 behind before he got injured vs the swans last night.

So thats 27 goals and 15 behinds from 10 games.

I am gutted he is injured.

Freo have Port in Adelaide, Dogs in Perth and Suns in Perth then the bye.

Hoping the injury is only a 1 month injury and we get him back after the bye.

26.14 from 9 games after we faced essendon.

He kicked 1 goal and 1 behind before he got injured vs the swans last night.

So thats 27 goals and 15 behinds from 10 games.

I am gutted he is injured.

Freo have Port in Adelaide, Dogs in Perth and Suns in Perth then the bye.

Hoping the injury is only a 1 month injury and we get him back after the bye.
A month? Jesus. None of his injuries have been soft tissues. All his injuries have been at Optus stadium. Lower leg too. Again the surface keeps bugging him.
Notice how last season he played all games bar one when he didn’t have to play on Optus for a few months..

He seems a bit of an alternative personality.
I’ve heard several of the players describe him as a different cat, a bit weird in how he thinks etc etc. they say it in an affectionate manner I might add.
I hope he’s not out for long. Rolled ankle could be a week or two.

What pissed me off the most about Taberner getting injured is the player who pushed him in the back at the time he did it was pushing in the back throughout the entire game and the umpires just let it go. If they aren't going to protect the players using the rules of the game then they should be held accountable - both publicly and by the club.

Video of the many many incidents showing Tom McCartin pushing players in the back should be edited together and sent to the AFL. It certainly wasn't just the very obvious one on Lobb, he was doing it almost every single time. He had just one free kick against. I counted at least 5 that were not called... highly likely there were even more. If they don't call him on it then why would he stop doing it?

If Essendon are going to have a sook about Serong's tag on Merrett then we certainly have a more plausible case when one of our players gets injured and will likely miss games.

He seems a bit of an alternative personality.
I’ve heard several of the players describe him as a different cat, a bit weird in how he thinks etc etc. they say it in an affectionate manner I might add.
I hope he’s not out for long. Rolled ankle could be a week or two.
You can tell in media appearances. Each to their own. Hard worker, puts in the effort and kicks goals.
What pissed me off the most about Taberner getting injured is the player who pushed him in the back at the time he did it was pushing in the back throughout the entire game and the umpires just let it go. If they aren't going to protect the players using the rules of the game then they should be held accountable - both publicly and by the club.

Video of the many many incidents showing Tom McCartin pushing players in the back should be edited together and sent to the AFL. It certainly wasn't just the very obvious one on Lobb, he was doing it almost every single time. He had just one free kick against. I counted at least 5 that were not called... highly likely there were even more. If they don't call him on it then why would he stop doing it?

If Essendon are going to have a sook about Serong's tag on Merrett then we certainly have a more plausible case when one of our players gets injured and will likely miss games.
It happens every game. Defenders set up the block or scrag 50m behind play. Richmond and Brisbane have done it for years. Less likely of a free kick inside 50. Umpires aren’t awarding 50/50 forwards’wau

Thought turned the corner after playing all but one game last season.
Now an ankle injury, missed 3 weeks then it’s a high calf strain out for 4.
Absolute hard trainer. Comes back in ripping nick for pre seaosn but gee getting a bit unfair for him with these weird injuries. Definitely miss him, would be awesome to see Lobb, Tabs and Treacy develop and kick goals.

Well that’s just jinxed it. Thanks.
Sorry about that. I knew it was too good to be true to have taberner to play 20-22 games for the season.

Sucks he is out for the next 3-4 weeks.
A month? Jesus. None of his injuries have been soft tissues. All his injuries have been at Optus stadium. Lower leg too. Again the surface keeps bugging him.
Notice how last season he played all games bar one when he didn’t have to play on Optus for a few months..
Waht round is it now? 16? Got carlton too. So he is out for rounds 16-19?

Round 20 we have richmond at home, round 21 we got Brisbane at home, round 22 got the derby and round 23 got the saints away.

He is going to be stuck on 27 goals and 15 behinds for a while but at least it wont be like 2018 and 2019 when he missed the entrie 2nd half of those seasons.
Thought turned the corner after playing all but one game last season.
Now an ankle injury, missed 3 weeks then it’s a high calf strain out for 4.
Absolute hard trainer. Comes back in ripping nick for pre seaosn but gee getting a bit unfair for him with these weird injuries. Definitely miss him, would be awesome to see Lobb, Tabs and Treacy develop and kick goals.
Again, I worry it will be like harley bennell again, constantly getting those calf injuries.

Saying that, sucks he is out for 3-4 weeks. Means that he will only play the last 3-4 weeks of the season.

BigRang , your thoughts on Matt Taberner?
Oh boy wowee I love it when i get dragged back into the house by the ear when i've been a naughty boy ahaha.
Look mate I'm not saying he's terrible, or that I think he should be banished to the WAFL or anything. IMO and that's all it is, (My opinion), he's a serviceable stay at home full forward, clunks a a good grab etc, but he does seem to break down when he's trying to cover heaps of ground and he is prone to brain fades and does kill momentum when he takes a mark on the flanks and then takes an hour to figure out what to do with the ball and allows oppo defence to clog up the forward line. You can think whatever you want that's your perogative, all was saying in the other thread (I'm not going back over there to reply again BTW) is that I think that at this stage Treacy is projecting as being a better player over his career.
Also, FYI ive been a fremantle supporter since their inception thank you very much.
:peace:

Oh boy wowee I love it when i get dragged back into the house by the ear when i've been a naughty boy ahaha.
Look mate I'm not saying he's terrible, or that I think he should be banished to the WAFL or anything. IMO and that's all it is, (My opinion), he's a serviceable stay at home full forward, clunks a a good grab etc, but he does seem to break down when he's trying to cover heaps of ground and he is prone to brain fades and does kill momentum when he takes a mark on the flanks and then takes an hour to figure out what to do with the ball and allows oppo defence to clog up the forward line. You can think whatever you want that's your perogative, all was saying in the other thread (I'm not going back over there to reply again BTW) is that I think that at this stage Treacy is projecting as being a better player over his career.
Also, FYI ive been a fremantle supporter since their inception thank you very much.
How very opinionated of you to say so.

Yeah Well i have been a Freo supporter since late 2001 or early 2002.

I agree with most of your thoughts. But I went to accurate detail in stats about taberner on that other thread

Analysis The Matt Taberner effect