The Non-Footy Sports Discussion Thread

What setup they got there man - I’m not far at all
Basically they've just put the playing pitch in the middle of the footy oval. They use the footy set up for food/drinks so thats not too bad. You're allowed on the pitch a few minutes after the match ends, but the girls hang around to meet and greet as well - very inclusive. I've played footy in front of bigger crowds than was there today, but it was a nice arvo in the sun with a couple of coldies. I think the main seating area is sectioned of for families and club officials, but my best little mate and I cruised through there last week with a grin at the confused looking security bloke :) We like the outer anyway. There was face painting as well for the kids. Tickets were free last week but $10 this week. And if you fancy a kick after the game, the City set up with the synthetic pitches is open to ping the ball around on just a carpark or 2 away.

Noticed again this morning that Argentina made up at least 90% of the crowd . I was surprised at how much they outnumbered us but thought it may have been because not many aussies would have booked accom ect thinking we would make the last 16. Why are there so many of them ?
A lot of cashed up Arab and Indian fans here. A lot of families at games as well. They pack out the stadiums. Messi is a god in the region. They are all wearing Argentina colours, Messi shirts etc. They are very excitable and passionate too. Free flags are given out to fans outside the grounds to add to the colour. Just my rough guess but I’d say there was appx 20k Argies at the game and maybe a thousand dutch scattered all over the stadium. There’s also a special category for the local workers. Very affordable tickets, $10 for group games and around $20-30 for the knockouts.
Woke up around midday after getting back from the stadium at 3.45am and missed out on the $8 coffee, juice, croissant breakfast special at the café across the road. Special only lasts till 11am, dammit.

Noticed again this morning that Argentina made up at least 90% of the crowd . I was surprised at how much they outnumbered us but thought it may have been because not many aussies would have booked accom ect thinking we would make the last 16. Why are there so many of them ?

Valentino, another fan from Buenos Aires who was not even born when Messi made his World Cup debut in 2006, knows at least four people from Argentina's capital city that have taken a big financial hit to come to the World Cup.

"We also know people, at least four of them, that left everything away to come here and support the team," he said.

"The people I know are from Buenos Aires alone. Then after coming here, I have seen interviews of fans who have come from other parts of Argentina; these people are saying that they have parted with their life savings to come here."

Victoria, another Argentina fan who came with her boyfriend from Cordoba, was tired and hesitant to talk when I first approached her.

She was tired after singing for the whole 90 minutes in the game against Australia.

But when she realised I would only ask her about the singing Argentina fans, she revealed something remarkable.

"Four people from Cordoba have come on their bicycles from Africa. They took cheap flights to Africa from Argentina, and then from there, they rode their bicycles to Qatar," Victoria told this reporter.

"I have seen them share their incredible stories on Argentinian TV channels. I think it took them around three months to reach Qatar from Africa.

"So that shows you how passionate we are about football and the Argentina team."

Victoria says many local people in Qatar have also offered their houses to Argentinian fans who cannot afford hotel rooms.

"I have also heard from some of my friends that some people from hometown, Cordoba, are here in Qatar, but they don't have the money to take hotel rooms," she said.

"So some Qatari people have given them free accommodation, and our have people have offered them Alfajores (traditional Argentinian sweet delicacy) as a token of thanks.

"That's the kind of effort our people have taken because we love our country, we love our team, we love Messi, and we love all our players.

It's amazing when you see so many Argentina fans singing and dancing in every match. Almost 40,000 people have come from Argentina to support the team in these World Cup matches. This number is amazing because the country is suffering a lot economically," Martin told this reporter.

"For a lot of these fans, it was extremely difficult to come to Qatar for this World Cup."

The majority of Argentinian fans, according to Martin, made a lot of sacrifices to be able to visit Qatar for the World Cup.

"Football is everything for Argentinians. If they have to save money all their lives to be at a World Cup, they will do it," he said.

There could have been more

About 6,000 Argentinian fans, identified by authorities in their home country, will not be allowed to enter football stadiums in Qatar during the World Cup tournament, an official from the South American country has said.

Marcelo D’Alessandro, the Minister of Justice and Security of the city of Buenos Aires, told local radio in an interview that, of the 6,000 fans who have been barred from entering grounds, close to 1,600 are from the capital.

We want to return peace to football and ensure that the violent ones are out,” said Mr D’Alessandro said.

"They were included for belonging to the barras [violent fan groups], for participating in violent acts, for illicit associations such as 'trapitos' [banned street businesses] and for owing child maintenance payments."

"Four people from Cordoba have come on their bicycles from Africa. They took cheap flights to Africa from Argentina, and then from there, they rode their bicycles to Qatar," Victoria told this reporter.

"I have seen them share their incredible stories on Argentinian TV channels. I think it took them around three months to reach Qatar from Africa.
That is wild. If they win what a story that will be for their grandkids!

Valentino, another fan from Buenos Aires who was not even born when Messi made his World Cup debut in 2006, knows at least four people from Argentina's capital city that have taken a big financial hit to come to the World Cup.

"We also know people, at least four of them, that left everything away to come here and support the team," he said.

"The people I know are from Buenos Aires alone. Then after coming here, I have seen interviews of fans who have come from other parts of Argentina; these people are saying that they have parted with their life savings to come here."

Victoria, another Argentina fan who came with her boyfriend from Cordoba, was tired and hesitant to talk when I first approached her.

She was tired after singing for the whole 90 minutes in the game against Australia.

But when she realised I would only ask her about the singing Argentina fans, she revealed something remarkable.

"So that shows you how passionate we are about football and the Argentina team."

Victoria says many local people in Qatar have also offered their houses to Argentinian fans who cannot afford hotel rooms.

"I have also heard from some of my friends that some people from hometown, Cordoba, are here in Qatar, but they don't have the money to take hotel rooms," she said.

"So some Qatari people have given them free accommodation, and our have people have offered them Alfajores (traditional Argentinian sweet delicacy) as a token of thanks.

"That's the kind of effort our people have taken because we love our country, we love our team, we love Messi, and we love all our players.

It's amazing when you see so many Argentina fans singing and dancing in every match. Almost 40,000 people have come from Argentina to support the team in these World Cup matches. This number is amazing because the country is suffering a lot economically," Martin told this reporter.

"For a lot of these fans, it was extremely difficult to come to Qatar for this World Cup."

The majority of Argentinian fans, according to Martin, made a lot of sacrifices to be able to visit Qatar for the World Cup.

"Football is everything for Argentinians. If they have to save money all their lives to be at a World Cup, they will do it," he said.

There could have been more

About 6,000 Argentinian fans, identified by authorities in their home country, will not be allowed to enter football stadiums in Qatar during the World Cup tournament, an official from the South American country has said.

Marcelo D’Alessandro, the Minister of Justice and Security of the city of Buenos Aires, told local radio in an interview that, of the 6,000 fans who have been barred from entering grounds, close to 1,600 are from the capital.

We want to return peace to football and ensure that the violent ones are out,” said Mr D’Alessandro said.

"They were included for belonging to the barras [violent fan groups], for participating in violent acts, for illicit associations such as 'trapitos' [banned street businesses] and for owing child maintenance payments."

That's a long way of saying bandwagoner.

ALeague decision is not being well received. Interesting comment by the CEO that the negative reaction has been much stronger than they expected - and that this deal has been 12 months in the making. That means they had 12 months to predict the reaction.

Bloody idiotic idea - do you really think if the afl started from scratch with all new clubs , it wouldn’t be played at the mcg every year

ALeague decision is not being well received. Interesting comment by the CEO that the negative reaction has been much stronger than they expected - and that this deal has been 12 months in the making. That means they had 12 months to predict the reaction.

My whole family and everyone we know well around our reserved seats are bloody livid. One of the most idiotic and typically Sydney-centric A-League decisions made yet, and there have been many howlers.

Moving to Paramount has been a viewing disaster. Seems all decisions are purely $$$ driven now. Assuming discussions have been progressing for 12 months I wonder if any other state had the chance to bid. If so I would have thought the news would have leaked and provoked some public discussion. Interesting to see what more comes out about process.

Yeah that was their last howler and it remains a shocking decision which is holding the A-League back massively. My extended family used to watch all MVFC games and now I’m the only one who can and does. The sport has no idea how to best administer itself for future growth. None!

I've pretty much lost all interest in the A-league. Used to go to Adelaide United games regularly and if not watch the games on TV. But I'm not buying another subscription to watch sport. If there is one thing Football in this country knows how to do, it's to **** itself up the date.

I spose if we ever get a Perth v Wellington GF it's halfway in between. But If Adelaide are playing one of the Melbourne teams this year the clubs should just boycott the decision and play it in Mt Gambia.

Yeah that was their last howler and it remains a shocking decision which is holding the A-League back massively. My extended family used to watch all MVFC games and now I’m the only one who can and does. The sport has no idea how to best administer itself for future growth. None!

And just after the World Cup - when it should be boom time

The FFA have just blown the Socceroos WC feel good good factor. Don’t know how they can think that fans will buy this idea. Incredible and idiotic decision. The decline began when they thought they can get a better deal than Foxtel. It’s been shit since then. The coupling up with the EPL on the weekends back then was great. Watch the A League games early on, listen to Bozza/Peacock talk crap for an hour before an EPL game would begin.

I think Messi might have more composure than anyone I’ve ever seen. It’s insane how well he responds under pressure. Bloke should retire to become a hostage negotiator.
He is a freak. He just finds a way no matter how many men you put on him.

The Non-Footy Sports Discussion Thread