The Non-Footy Sports Discussion Thread

“It’s disappointing it’s come to this, the comments were made on the news on the Friday night which I considered it to be banter, I considered it to be humour, which is consistent with most things I do,’’ Jones said on the Today show.

“Whether it be the Sunday Footy Show or the morning show (at the tennis).

“Having said that I was made aware on Saturday morning from Tennis Australia via the Djokovic camp that the Djokovic camp was not happy at all with those comments.

TONY JONES: I OFFERED TO APOLOGISE TO NOVAK

Joe Barton
Under-fire Channel 9 presenter Tony Jones says he feels immense regret about the Novak Djokovic scandal, and says he offered to apologise to the Serbian star.

Jones broke his silence on the saga on Monday.

“I can only again tell Novak what I told him 48 hours ago,” Jones said on Channel 9.

“And that is I do apologise if he felt that I disrespected him. I should also add that in the correspondence with Novak’s team, I agreed to meet with them in person to discuss all this.

“They came back and said yes, we would be keen to meet in person. That hasn’t transpired, but I’m sure it will over the next 24 hours.

“I do feel as though I’ve let down the Serbian fans. Now, I’m not just saying this to try and wriggle out of trouble or anything. I genuinely feel for those fans.

“If I could turn back time right? And I know we’ve all got PhDs in hindsight.

“The one thing where I overstepped the mark and this is certainly what’s really sort of angered Novak Djokovic and his camp, is the last comment I made in that back and forth with the crowd. ‘Kick him out’.

“Now I can stand here and put whatever spin I want in that, but it can only be interpreted as a throwback to the Covid years when he was kicked out. Now that that has angered Novak, which I completely understand now.

“So look, it’s it has been an unfortunate situation. It’s been one of personal angst for Novak.
“It’s quite clearly personal angst for me as well. But I just think the priority here now is to focus on the tennis again.”
This is beautiful.

That flog Chompers has taken great pleasure in publicly kicking our club around like an old tin can for the past 6 years and now it looks like the ol' Karma Bus has finally pulled up at his place and has a spare seat onboard..

Just need it to drop around to USC and the 5-Minute Fireman's house now.

17 minutes into his pre Tennis Show and not one mention from the Chomp

I see comments elsewhere that he had “apologised”

Anyway What Caught my eye, the only thing worth watching (other than if we win) will be a pissa the first Sunday because there’s nothing like seeing him squirm, fake or not

I can’t help thinking there is a double standard here. Novak is a public figure and with that there is always going to be some level of attention, positive and negative. If similar light hearted comments were directed toward other public figures in different arenas such as a politician, it would be a complete non event. Novak also makes exceedingly more money than your average public figure too. I think he’s being a bit precious.

Perhaps, but chompers is also a flog

Same.

Jones is a dick but Novak is being a petulant child about a clearly satirical attempt.

Same.

Jones is a dick but Novak is being a petulant child about a clearly satirical attempt.
His sense of entitlement and want to be universally adored makes him sook up regularly.

With Novak it's always been about him, disliked by many within tennis and now can't handle a comment of fact, but somehow turns it into an anti-Serbian thing - go **** yourself!

Whilst TJ's behaviour was that of a 12 year old, old has-been ND has proved yet again what a piece of shit he is.

With Novak it's always been about him, disliked by many within tennis and now can't handle a comment of fact, but somehow turns it into an anti-Serbian thing - go **** yourself!

Whilst TJ's behaviour was that of a 12 year old, old has-been ND has proved yet again what a piece of shit he is.
His level of hubris is at a level above most, if not all.

His reluctance to play day matches a case in point.

The Non-Footy Sports Discussion Thread