Oppo Camp The Non-North Footy Discussion & Matchday Chat Thread (NNFD&MCT) IX

It's a weird one hey. They've been in a very good seat for a couple of those but fallen short. On the other hand he managed to entirely rebuild them with only a few years in the bottom half of the ladder and always competitive throughout.
I've got a (completely unfounded) theory that the coach, by and large, has **** all influence on GF day. It's all about the energy within the playing group. Good coaches will obviously play an extremely heavy role in building the team's journey to that point, but once the team reaches that point, it's all on the players. It's up to them to put the cherry on top of the cake that represents their season's efforts, and when it clicks on that day, it's pretty insane to watch. The only real influence a coach can have imo revolves around positional shake-ups to try and wrest back momentum eg. Luke Jackson into the ruck in 2021. Speeches will work sometimes, other times they won't. One of the most famous speeches in GF history was made by a coach whose team then lost by nine goals.

If the energy within the playing group is flat or overly nervous for whatever reason (sometimes teams have bad days, and you don't choose them), there's only gonna be so much a coach can do to change that collective energy, despite probably being painfully aware of the situation. Sydney seem to have a monkey on their back about GFs, and I don't think that's a reflection on Longmire much at all. I'd have him up there with Clarko for how he got Sydney to back it up year on year and had them playing sustained, skilled, sharp, disciplined football for essentially more than a decade

I've got a (completely unfounded) theory that the coach, by and large, has **** all influence on GF day. It's all about the energy within the playing group. Good coaches will obviously play an extremely heavy role in building the team's journey to that point, but once the team reaches that point, it's all on the players. It's up to them to put the cherry on top of the cake that represents their season's efforts, and when it clicks on that day, it's pretty insane to watch. The only real influence a coach can have imo revolves around positional shake-ups to try and wrest back momentum eg. Luke Jackson into the ruck in 2021. Speeches will work sometimes, other times they won't. One of the most famous speeches in GF history was made by a coach whose team then lost by nine goals.

If the energy within the playing group is flat or overly nervous for whatever reason (sometimes teams have bad days, and you don't choose them), there's only gonna be so much a coach can do to change that collective energy, despite probably being painfully aware of the situation. Sydney seem to have a monkey on their back about GFs, and I don't think that's a reflection on Longmire much at all. I'd have him up there with Clarko for how he got Sydney to back it up year on year and had them playing sustained, skilled, sharp, disciplined football for essentially more than a decade
Agree when coaches can go win loss win in a sequence of GFs.

Horse got those sydney squads into some pretty quick rebounds up the ladder after the poorer years.

Imo, get the blokes to the big dance and its on them on the day.

Hollywood says different, so end of argument 😩

Lol. I meant the Redfoo looking recruiter in the North room, not actual Redfoo. Is that you TTS?
Oh, "ole" Redfoo, no that's not me, get a laugh every time I see him, it does look pretty cool, IF YOU LIVED IN THE 70S!
No, only joking, its looks okay, all the old styles always come back, the same with women's fashion. A port workmate said something interesting, that Miss Kane voiced her approval of a female staffer in the draft room of all clubs on the night of the National Draft but we didn't have one and I said to him that its not law and that it was purely a strong suggestion as last year we had one of the girls on the computer but not this year.

I see what Laura is trying to do but to me regardless of sex, the best people should be in the room, its actually disgusting for women, imagine your a woman say involved at your club and were at the draft and you got told by a club who doesn't have a woman in the war room "hey, can you come in here {the war room} and just stay for awhile in case the camera looks around, we need a woman in here!

I don't care if there is 7 guys and 5 women, or say 8 women and 4 guys, I want the best people at North Melbourne doing the job and if that has to be sacrificed then that is what I would be doing to prove a point, grab a girl from out of the office or at the club and tell her the reason and would she still like to do it.

Oh, "ole" Redfoo, no that's not me, get a laugh every time I see him, it does look pretty cool, IF YOU LIVED IN THE 70S!
No, only joking, its looks okay, all the old styles always come back, the same with women's fashion. A port workmate said something interesting, that Miss Kane voiced her approval of a female staffer in the draft room of all clubs on the night of the National Draft but we didn't have one and I said to him that its not law and that it was purely a strong suggestion as last year we had one of the girls on the computer but not this year.

I see what Laura is trying to do but to me regardless of sex, the best people should be in the room, its actually disgusting for women, imagine your a woman say involved at your club and were at the draft and you got told by a club who doesn't have a woman in the war room "hey, can you come in here {the war room} and just stay for awhile in case the camera looks around, we need a woman in here!

I don't care if there is 7 guys and 5 women, or say 8 women and 4 guys, I want the best people at North Melbourne doing the job and if that has to be sacrificed then that is what I would be doing to prove a point, grab a girl from out of the office or at the club and tell her the reason and would she still like to do it.
I agree. I understand the whole "need to see it to believe it" angel but it can be a bit of tokenism rather than say highlighting the excellent work in recruiting of Emma Quayle to promote the pursuit of such roles.
If the AFL is serious about getting more women in the trade/recruiting space, they could invest in pathways (maybe 50k for an AFLW player post career) to get into recruiting as they have done with coaching pathways.

Apparently Hawthorn are having a Documentary filmed about them.
I would watch the shit out of it if it starts with Sam Mitchell convinced they're going deep in September and ends with them struggling to get out of the bottom 6.

Shame it’s the Hawks and not us……will get them even more members. Those things go global when well done and they generally are well produced.
Well it’s fortunate this is being produced by channel 7 then, given they’ve never made a doco that picked up a skerrick of international interest.

All part of their concerted effort to keep an audience I expect, now Fox does game day calls, after they failed to add any value to their footy coverage for decades.

Save ourselves for Netflix I reckon mate! I would be happy to write the pitch myself.

Well it’s fortunate this is being produced by channel 7 then, given they’ve never made a doco that picked up a skerrick of international interest.

All part of their concerted effort to keep an audience I expect, now Fox does game day calls, after they failed to add any value to their footy coverage for decades.

Save ourselves for Netflix I reckon mate! I would be happy to write the pitch myself.
Everyone loves the story of blue collar battlers. Hawthorn are not blue collar battlers.

If we arent producing/have been producing our own documentary then thats a boat missed and the ship has sailed. Would have been great to see die hards being interviewed at their local pub over the last few years, on the street etc and showing the turn of misinformation into glory.

Oppo Camp The Non-North Footy Discussion & Matchday Chat Thread (NNFD&MCT) IX