- Apr 1, 2008
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
- Other Teams
- Liverpool, Raiders, GSW, QPR, NYM
Riewoldt fighting a one man media war.
Tip of the cap.
Well, he was pretty stubborn in backing his players in regardless of performance, so making sure the umps feelings are not hurt would be right up his alley.I admire Brad Scotts.
He f...ed our club with his nonsense.
And then has gone on to f..k the game with more nonsense.
That takes balls.
Classy.Well, he was pretty stubborn in backing his players in regardless of performance, so making sure the umps feelings are not hurt would be right up his alley.
However, we should really give the guy a break, as it is difficult to see what is actually happening during a game with his head up Gilligan's backside.
It's the typical corporate circling the wagons manouver. Basically regardless how crap the policy is all those with skin in the game unite to protect their shared interest.The media is building the narrative and Reiwoldt is yet to get on board.
Talking the truth to bullshit artists trying to keep the snout in the trough.
On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Agreed.I was a soccer referee for many years, put up with a ton of shit, entitled parents and players.
Natural reaction for players to be like “what for” with the arms raised and I never took it personal not that it is in the first place. I also do it especially when umps call one of my tackles in the back when I slid beside her!
Getting back to the point, I feel like this divides the whole community and just makes it unwatchable and over-umpired. I watch the game for whoever is playing, not for the umpires.
Stop making so much sense!Regarding tonight's 50 for umpire dssent...
In the "old days" you'd expect that the umpire's response to the player would be to explain that he didn't see the ball hit the ground and that he believed it was a mark - benefit of the doubt. That was pretty normal. The player may not have been happy, but he understands the umpire can be blindsided and gets on with the game. End of event.
Tonight, the umpire made no effort to calm the situation and seemingly could not hold back from blurting "umpire dissent" and calling a 50. So instead of earning respect and shutting down any noise this umpire has inflamed a proportion of football followers - those who understand the tribalism, the passion and the emotion that the game creates. His decision to pay 50 has now already inflamed the issue in the media and umpire respect is out the window.
You got it wrong mate. The ball did hit the deck. You could have calmed the situation but you poured heat onto it and you have lost respect for yourself and your entire fraternity. Not that a good many people had much for you all anyway.
Totally right.Stop making so much sense!
Seriously though, I'm all for stopping abuse of umpires, but that is not at all what this rule is doing.
You should be able to seek clarification on a call or express frustration, neither of those things are abusing an umpire.
Ex1. "Oh come on! He ducked into it!" - Doubt you could find a single person who is an umpire or has umpired at any level who would actually be offended by that.
Ex2. "He ducked into it you blind *******" - Actual umpire abuse.
99% of interactions with umpires would match Ex1. It's the 1% we should be paying, not the 99.
In implementing these rules, they're actually increasing the chance an umpire will be abused by a fan, and their calls are being questioned MORE in the media.
They say that they want respect for umpires to reach the levels of respect shown in Rugby Union, but you know how Union umpires get respect? By calmly speaking with players like adults, not treating them like children who need talking down to.
Union has black and white rules.Stop making so much sense!
Seriously though, I'm all for stopping abuse of umpires, but that is not at all what this rule is doing.
You should be able to seek clarification on a call or express frustration, neither of those things are abusing an umpire.
Ex1. "Oh come on! He ducked into it!" - Doubt you could find a single person who is an umpire or has umpired at any level who would actually be offended by that.
99% of interactions with umpires would match Ex1. It's the 1% we should be paying, not the 99.
In implementing these rules, they're actually increasing the chance an umpire will be abused by a fan, and their calls are being questioned MORE in the media.
They say that they want respect for umpires to reach the levels of respect shown in Rugby Union, but you know how Union umpires get respect? By calmly speaking with players like adults, not treating them like children who need talking down to.
Footy medias words not mine
I used to enjoy Union, but now I find it one the most boring, inane sports around.Stop making so much sense!
he starts kicking accurately he is gonna kick some decent bags.Once King puts it all together, he's going to mash some teams up.
they will keep kidding themselves is a great move, hans christion andersons empourers new clothes revisited.It's ridiculous.
I've been involved in umpiring local footy for 18 years. A good umpire will calmly answer any sort of "What for?" question and even if he's wrong most players will accept it. Good communication with players is part of the job. If a player wants to swear, or scream, or carry on with the point, or call you a cheat, or throw the mouth guard, or flip you the bird etc - yep, ping him.
Don't blame the umpires. They weren't taught this from the grass roots. Quite the opposite I would dare say. I'd also guess that many of them hate it. Blame Brad and the AFL. Once again they've come up with something well intended but utterly ballsed up the execution of it to make the situation worse.
they will keep kidding themselves is a great move, hans christion andersons empourers new clothes revisited.
I honestly reckon it's remuneration. They don't get much. And not too many people want to give up playing in order to not be paid much to officiate others playing. Plenty of easier part time jobs going around that pay better, too. A lot of local league clubs have heaps of cash to splash about on players.Love the Emperor's New Clothes analogy! I thought of the dissent rule being like cane-toads - a solution which made a bigger problem.
Like I said, it's well intentioned but been implemented in a totally ham-fisted and woefully short-sighted way that it's hard to believe the 'emperor' can't see that they're naked.
The official line is that we're 6000 umpires short and it is a fact that there is a vast shortage of umpires at local level. In our league, we have blokes doing multiple games per day, and some senior games can't get a full panel of fieldies, boundaries and goalies. But where is the evidence that the shortage is largely to do with 'dissent' from players? From my limited experience, two years of COVID has seen blokes find other things to do. Some haven't travelled for two years and so have taken this year to do it. Kids have hardly played for two years so some are sticking with that before taking on umpiring. Were local umpires who walked away in the last two years ever asked why? How many were through player dissent? But also, what do local leagues do to promote umpiring? How can the AFL help that? What were the trends before COVID? Is the remuneration enough at all levels? Is the pathway from local to elite clear and accessible enough? Were local leagues part of the discussion on how to get local umpires back to local leagues? Were elite umpires? Aside from trying to eliminate even the slightest motion of dissent, what else is being done? Or is that it? And what instructions have been given to local leagues regarding dissent?
And what considerations are being made now that this very limited scheme has backfired spectacularly and umpires at all levels are held to even more ridicule and criticism than before?
God help us. He’s been at the AFL for what, 2 years, and he’s already given us one of the biggest **** ups ever. I went to bed at 3 qtr time cause it was such a shit boring game.