Oppo Camp The Non-North Footy Discussion & Matchday Chat Thread (NNFD&MCT) VII

I honestly reckon it's remuneration. They don't get much. And not too many people want to give up playing in order to not be paid much to officiate others playing. Plenty of easier part time jobs going around that pay better, too. A lot of local league clubs have heaps of cash to splash about on players.

How about we double umpires' remuneration and see how that goes?

I've spoken to a few people who never got onto umpiring because of dickhead spectators, but I also know a lot of people who thought the pay in hospo and retail wasn't worth dealing with dickhead customers. Up the pay and they will come.

Totally agree. The spectators at junior level in particular can be a major problem - some 14yo kid running around for some pocket money getting called a useless **** all day, each week by gutless losers in the crowd. Of course he's going to give that up for a part time job which probably pays better and is more fun.

The leagues can stump up some coin, but if the AFL want to save umpiring at local level, how about they look into their piggy bank and give it to leagues specifically for the recruiting, payment and retention of umpires? Or to hire the security at junior level? But no, it's players waving their arms about and looking quizzically at elite umpires that's the problem so just tell them to stamp that out and problem fixed.

Idiots.

I stopped umpiring at junior level because the pay is shocking and training was 45 minutes away, as were most games, despite there being local games near me. The abuse wasn’t too bad. Parents made it a real point to make sure the kids respected the umpires and thanked us after every game. Most parents are appreciative. I felt I was a pretty good umpire, but not brilliant.

There’s only a few bad eggs but unfortunately they tend to be the ones that stick out and remembered more with junior football especially.

Once again they've come up with something well intended but utterly ballsed up the execution of it to make the situation worse.

I’d assume the vitriolic responses they’ll get over the fence are going to get worse.

Mick Malloy made a great point on the front bar.

At AFL level fine whatever they’re professionals who play at well secured grounds.

God help some young umpire that pays a penalty for that sh*t at some suburban ground where a seniors game is decided by not much. They’ll wind up confronted on the way to their car.

It's ridiculous.

I've been involved in umpiring local footy for 18 years. A good umpire will calmly answer any sort of "What for?" question and even if he's wrong most players will accept it. Good communication with players is part of the job. If a player wants to swear, or scream, or carry on with the point, or call you a cheat, or throw the mouth guard, or flip you the bird etc - yep, ping him.

Don't blame the umpires. They weren't taught this from the grass roots. Quite the opposite I would dare say. I'd also guess that many of them hate it. Blame Brad and the AFL. Once again they've come up with something well intended but utterly ballsed up the execution of it to make the situation worse.
Can you imagine grass roots footy applying this rule? The umps will need full time security if the crowd feels their team has been ****ed over. I genuinely worry about their future safety.

I was a boundary umpire for 3 years whilst playing 3rds, I never once felt threatened by the players - the crowd though, FMD, a many a time I thought we'd be slaughtered going into the changerooms lol

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I can’t wait to see a bad decision paid in the goal square and a player goes off at the ump because he knows a 50 means nothing!
Reminds me of the time that Micky Martyn dropped his knees into Lloyd's back when he took a mark in the goal square, twice in about five minutes. The resultant 50s added up to about six metres in total. Strangely enough, after the second one, Lloyd didn't get too many more touches.

How's the block!! Its an actual block! Not the the pissweak incidental contact they pay these days.

This year I've seen several bounces go over one ruckman's head, that ruck turn's to follow the ball, impedes the other ruck and get's pinged. WTF??? Are they sposed to teleport out of the way?

How's the block!! Its an actual block! Not the the pissweak incidental contact they pay these days.

This year I've seen several bounces go over one ruckman's head, that ruck turn's to follow the ball, impedes the other ruck and get's pinged. WTF??? Are they sposed to teleport out of the way?
Ruck infringements are a parody these days...

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app