No current season stats available
Looks like Nat Fyfe has been spending some time in the Gym.
He used to be a wiry type.
Is he getting too big?Nuts to think he's surplus to requirements in Freo's midfield
Mickey Conlan revisited!Nuts to think he's surplus to requirements in Freo's midfield
Doubtful. He's lean as hellIs he getting too big?
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
I know you have covered his weaknesses pre-draft, but I was wondering what you think of those weaknesses now as an afl level player? Are they more pronounced or is he better then you originally rated him?Logan McDonald dropped.
Looking forward to reading 15 articles about how Sydney screwed up that selection
I know you have covered his weaknesses pre-draft, but I was wondering what you think of those weaknesses now as an afl level player? Are they more pronounced or is he better then you originally rated him?
I don't know why this is constantly thrown around even though McDonald has being underwhelming since being drafted. He's had a cleaner run at it than Phillips and was more AFL ready entering the system due to playing a good amount in his draft year and playing against men. There were and will be other drafts to fill KP forward stocks - drafting to fill need with a first rounder is stupidity.
I honestly can't wait for Phillips to get a clean run at it so s**t like this stops being thrown around by people who have no idea what they're talking about. Someone else said it so Phillips must be terrible and McDonald the second coming - I'll just repeat it because it sounds good and I'm mad at the club.
I disagree with almost all your points but this is by far the worst and most infuriating to see repeated ad nauseam
I'm going to clarify my view of McDonald here by actually providing details. The reason I get so frustrated with this constant comparing him to Phillips is that in my opinion, McDonald has been comfortably the most overhyped young player in the competition. I liked McDonald in his draft year and I feel like he's gone backwards and underwhelmed since entering the AFL system - I expected to see much better signs than what he's showing. The hype around him is so embarrassingly misguided, I struggle to believe these people are watching the same player I am.
Go watch the game on the weekend and tell me what impresses you about him? I'll break down his goals from the weekend for a start, let alone his other possessions:
1st goal - Absolutely perfect lace-out pass from McInerney. The kick on goal was brilliant, props to him, he's a real nice set shot on goal and always has been.
2nd goal - Blind kick inside 50 that fell into his lap by luck. Kicked it from dead in front, 30m out
3rd goal - Was in no mans land when the ball came inside 50m, the ball hit the deck and he was by luck in heaps of space due to his initial poor positioning. He snaps with no one near him from around 30m out, straight in-front.
Some other concerns generally:
- He was the most AFL-ready key position player in a long time and yet has struggled to win a spot in the Swans team. Admittedly, a great team, but a great young talent who's as ready made as we've seen in a long time...
- He's looked very slow at ground level
- Much of his touches come from lace out delivery, often further up the ground. He struggled to get separation on the lead against Jake Lever on the weekend on numerous occasions.
- Constantly trails into marking contests when he should be flying - this happens a lot.
- He just doesn't take contested marks often at all, he's not dynamic in the air, and he's playing on 2nd and 3rd string defenders most of the time. He's taken 10 contested marks in his first 16 games. For comparison's sake, Harry Mckay had 21 in his first 16 games, Curnow 17 in his first 16 games, Jeremy Cameron 26 in first 16, Naughton 22 in his first 16, Mitch Lewis 28 in his first 16, Tom Lynch 29 in his first 16. Feel free to name any other young star key position forward in the competition and I'm more than happy to pull up their first 16 games and the amount of contested marks they took.
I've watched almost all of his games this year for Sydney and he's played one nice game this year - Round 10 against Carlton where he kicked 3.3 and had 3 contested marks, apart from that, I've not found him to be impressive at all. Let me again remind you that this is with him coming into the competition off the best key position underage year in a long time, and with nothing but a clean run at it the moment he was drafted.
I'll be surprised if he ends up a top 8-10 key forward at any point in his career.
I wouldn't, not even close. I wasn't downplaying his goal-kicking at all, I mentioned it as something he's always been good with.
The main points stand. He's looked slow, nowhere near the contested marking threat he should be (honestly those stats I found were damning, I didn't realise how far behind he was at the same stage despite being more AFL-ready then all of them) and has generally been underwhelming when called up to AFL level, despite being as ready made pre-draft as you'll ever see.
I went back and watched footage from games this year and it only confirmed the way I was feeling about him. I'm telling you, ignore the mis-guided hype and watch him objectively.
Honestly mate, 100% spot on. Does not pass the eye test and is playing in one of the best sides in the comp, generally matched against the 2nd, 3rd or even 4th defender in some cases (Franklin -> Reid -> Could argue Heeney -> McDonald)
I'm convinced some moron raved about McDonald a while ago and no one else has done any work in breaking down his game and just repeated the same thing ad nauseam. Absolute insanity.
I implore everyone watch McDonald with a critical eye and not be swayed by the hype or surface base-level stats.
If I re-did the rankings for the 2020 draft, McDonald would not make the top 10 after being in my top 5 in his draft year. We 100% dodged a bullet and I'm willing to stick my neck out with my view here.
prolly good to not get to worked up over this, like saying my ute was a bad buy compared to the tractor, they have little relevence to one another. but hey the media have to print something i guess.I've been carrying on about this for a while now due to how frustrated I am at how stupidly off the ratings off Logan Mcdonald have been since he entered the comp (and especially earlier this year), often at the expense and in direct comparison to Phillips who hasn't gotten a decent run at it. Here's some posts I've made in recent times:
I think my frustration in footy stems from people not forming their own opinions, but repeating the moronic opinions of others. Some idiot out there suggests McDonald is apparently the best thing since sliced bread 6 weeks ago and everyone just repeats that opinion.prolly good to not get to worked up over this, like saying my ute was a bad buy compared to the tractor, they have little relevence to one another. but hey the media have to print something i guess.
Do you see CCJ as a ruck more than a forward. His form as a ruck at north in the vfl has been superb.I think my frustration in footy stems from people not forming their own opinions, but repeating the moronic opinions of others. Some idiot out there suggests McDonald is apparently the best thing since sliced bread 6 weeks ago and everyone just repeats that opinion.
Anyone who has paid particularly attention to his game since he entered the comp (even in his better performing games) should have been concerned.
I've said it before, but the exact same thing is going to happen with CCJ and the whole 'I can't believe they gave a 2nd rounder for him' view. I guarantee you the media and critical-about-everything North 'supporters' are going to have egg all over their faces sooner rather than later on this one too.
If you want to know who not to listen to, go find the fools who suggested we made a mistake picking Phillips and/or the fools who have been calling the 2nd rounder for CCJ a mistake. Then, totally discount their opinions on anything football-related because they're parrots.
The high collars on the geriatrics looks good. Very old school.Melbourne’s indigenous jumper looks like a Christmas sweater
At the core of the design sits Bunjil, Wurundjeri’s creator spirit, which is represented in the form of a wedge-tailed eagle.What’s the story with the bird?
At the core of the design sits Bunjil, Wurundjeri’s creator spirit, which is represented in the form of a wedge-tailed eagle.
Bunjil, regarded to have created all living things, is depicted above the flowing Birrarung (Yarra River) – a feature of Narrm (Melbourne) that holds great significance to Wurundjeri people.