Oppo Camp The Non-North Footy Discussion & Matchday Chat Thread (NNFD&MCT) VII

Thanks mate. I wasn’t trying to be disrespectful, but usually the indigenous jumpers don’t go to far outside the boundaries of the team and their mascot.

It just didn’t make sense to me that Melbourne had a bird.

Does the same mob claim North Melbourne?
you mean the Wurundjeri people?

They covered most of what would have been metro Melbourne. In the below I think the Woiworung (which I thought was a language) is the Wurundjeri people.

The map itself is the Kulin Nation.

Kulin_Map.PNG

Thanks mate. I wasn’t trying to be disrespectful, but usually the indigenous jumpers don’t go to far outside the boundaries of the team and their mascot.

It just didn’t make sense to me that Melbourne had a bird.

Does the same mob claim North Melbourne?
Yes

"Marram is the word for Kangaroo in Woiwurrung language, the language of the Wurundjeri people," Nicholson Ward said.

"The way I have represented it in the guernsey is to honour the Kangaroo. The Kangaroo only physically moves forward so it symbolises moving forward in a positive way and into the future in a positive way. I’ve also used Uncle William Barak’s men and women symbols used in his artworks.

"The pawprint represents the players and their own unique journeys and the way they’ve come from different places across Australia and the world. It honours their diversity and uniqueness.

"The meeting place represents the North Melbourne Football Club, it represents the players, staff and supporters all coming to Wurundjeri country to support the girls and boys."

you mean the Wurundjeri people?

They covered most of what would have been metro Melbourne. In the below I think the Woiworung (which I thought was a language) is the Wurundjeri people.

The map itself is the Kulin Nation.

Kulin_Map.PNG

Thanks mate. This sort of brings me back to a conversation I was having with Ferbs about how little I know (and Australians in general are taught) about our countries history.

Part of the issue is that a lot of the indigenous stuff wasn't written down and stuff that is written down is taught as truth.

This is of course changing. Books like Dark Emu and The biggest estate on earth, paint a very different picture to the pre colonial picture taught in schools.

The truth is likely somewhere between the white washed and the passed down stories.

It is also worth looking at the indigenous roots of Aussie rules.

Part of the issue is that a lot of the indigenous stuff wasn't written down and stuff that is written down is taught as truth.

This is of course changing. Books like Dark Emu and The biggest estate on earth, paint a very different picture to the pre colonial picture taught in schools.

The truth is likely somewhere between the white washed and the passed down stories.

It is also worth looking at the indigenous roots of Aussie rules.

Wow!

We were discussing exactly that in the Media & entertainment thread. I have just finished Killers of the flower moon, and we got onto the topic of early Australian colonialism. I even wrote that it’s hard because a lot isn’t written down and stories are passed down through generations verbally. I literally wrote that I’m thinking about reading dark emu next.

Have you read it?

Wow!

We were discussing exactly that in the Media & entertainment thread. I have just finished Killers of the flower moon, and we got onto the topic of early Australian colonialism. I even wrote that it’s hard because a lot isn’t written down and stories are passed down through generations verbally. I literally wrote that I’m thinking about reading dark emu next.

Have you read it?
Yes.

Bruce Pascoe also gave a ted talk on it.

Edit there are a couple of things that led me more into looking into this.

I went to New Zealand and they were having Maori Language week were their news was presented in Maori and had English subtitles. Anyway everywhere there was Kia Ora, I started wondering why I knew the words for hello for a place I had been to once and not the words in the language of the people who lived on the land I was born on for thousands of years before I got here.

There was the footy connection, Marngrook etc.

THere is a depth of culture in this country and it is every where and most people wouldn't know it if they were staring at it.

At the core of the design sits Bunjil, Wurundjeri’s creator spirit, which is represented in the form of a wedge-tailed eagle.

Bunjil, regarded to have created all living things, is depicted above the flowing Birrarung (Yarra River) – a feature of Narrm (Melbourne) that holds great significance to Wurundjeri people.
So they're the Narrm Eagles, or at least the Narrm Wedgies.

Wow!

Have you read it?
1657194485588.png

A representation of Bunjil sitting atop Olliver's Hill in Frankston.

Another, larger but otherwise similar statue by the same artist is located near Spencer St Station in "The Melbourne Quarter" of Docklands.

Somewhere I have a photo taken near Hall's Gap where the oldest known rock painting of Bunjil can be found.

Yes.

I went to New Zealand and they were having Maori Language week were their news was presented in Maori and had English subtitles. Anyway everywhere there was Kia Ora, I started wondering why I knew the words for hello for a place I had been to once and not the words in the language of the people who lived on the land I was born on for thousands of years before I got here.

THere is a depth of culture in this country and it is every where and most people wouldn't know it if they were staring at it.

Gday - wominjeka 👍🏻

Yes.

jeez. There’s a bit in that. So much to learn.