List Mgmt. The Official 2017 "Worth a Look" Thread

If we take 3/4 kids in the draft I really hope we look at mature guys like Hanson, Bewley, Banfield ect. We already have Zuhaar and Junker on the rookie list (Zuhaar subject to upgrade) so it wouldn't hurt to have a few bigger bodies on the list who have proven themselves at the lower leagues. Give them a chance to take their game to the next level in an elite environment.

No worries. Here is who I would target.

Josh Kelly - priority number 1. Inside/outside elite footballer.

Harley Balic - elite talent as a junior, needs to get home but concerns about his dedication. Can play wing/half forward and through the midfield.

Tom Rockliff - as I said only if we get Kelly. I don't see the point in picking him up if we aren't going to have more elite runners outside him.

Harrison Wigg - yet to play a game, solid half back, mature body could play round one. Really good skills, accumulator off half back. Wouldn't cost much.

Trent Mckenzie - purely because his kicking is so good.

Brett Bewly - Williamstown VFL, 22 y.o booming left foot kick. Strong runner. Perfect modern day winger.

Matt Hanson - deserves a chance, has improved his kicking and is a hard two way runner. Proven VFL gun.

Dylan Roberton - unsigned with saints, holding out for a bit more cash. Has been a really good half back over the last 2 years. Good runner and good kick.

Connor McKenna - would probably come cheap, has some speed which we need across half back.

Harry Dear - Adelaide shifted him to the back half despite him showing a fair bit as a key forward. Won't get in to the Adelaide side as a key position player any time soon.

Michael Close - believe he hasn't signed with Brisbane OOC contract. Good hands. Can get moving around the ground

Bailey Banfield - one of the best midfielders in the WAFL. WC had the chance to pick him up last year but chose not too. Tough, clearance player who covers the ground well and has good skills.

Let's see how good our trading is this season

Yeah we looked in to it but wanted to keep our later picks.

Adelaide played him as a defender this year despite being in the top 5 in the SANFL goal kicking the year before.

Strikes me as a late bloomer. Was pretty skinny early on but is a big boy now! 198cm and 103kg, but still moves well. Can really clunk them and is still only 21 y.o so a baby in KP terms.

If Adelaide delist him, I'd pick him up as a delisted free agent no hesitation, especially with McKay showing more as a Key defender
Sold!

All our good picks want to be defenders. Brind dear in and we cross our testicles that he or larkey make it.

I'd look at:

- mckenna: pace to burn and a cheaper pittard (who i also wanted).

- lennon: rookie pick. Talent is there. Low risk high reward. Former first round pick.

- Balic: homesick so we could get him cheap. Highly rated and would have been a first round pick had he need injured hos wrist. AFL size and ready to go.

Dear: because rf8 sold me. Brown needs help. Daw looks done as a forward and mckay looks better down back. Just wood and larkey left to develop. Potentially durdin.

Hanson: lets see if his VFL form can translate to the AFL. He took a chance on Brown and it paid off. Give him a go he has earned it.

Kelly: no explanation needed.

Rockliff: leader. Allows ziebell to play forward

McKenzie: had his injury worries. Need a good kick down back. Especially with wright out. Our kick ins are predictable. With him our bang it long gains us metres (which is basically all we try and do anyway).

IF ANYONE SAYS WE ARE LINKED TO MATT SHAW AGAIN THIS YEAR I MIGHT KILL SOMEONE.

I don't know if this has been suggested here but maybe this trade period is the time to see if we can swap Majak for a pick. Not sure where the pick would be but there might be a couple of clubs prepared to do business on the basis their ruck stocks are below par. I'm thinking the Bulldogs, who really need to get Roughead back into a key defensive post. Maybe also Brisbane as apparently Martin wants to come home for family reasons.

The Saints may be a chance too because both Longer and Hickey have the capacity to spud it up more often than not.

I don't know if this has been suggested here but maybe this trade period is the time to see if we can swap Majak for a pick. Not sure where the pick would be but there might be a couple of clubs prepared to do business on the basis their ruck stocks are below par. I'm thinking the Bulldogs, who really need to get Roughead back into a key defensive post. Maybe also Brisbane as apparently Martin wants to come home for family reasons.

The Saints may be a chance too because both Longer and Hickey have the capacity to spud it up more often than not.
It's an interesting one. Didn't the lions offer daw a 3 year deal as well as North?!

I like Maj but his "I'll pull my finger out when i want" attitude + the fact that he's always injured = happy to trafe him away.

Yeah we looked in to it but wanted to keep our later picks.

Adelaide played him as a defender this year despite being in the top 5 in the SANFL goal kicking the year before.

Strikes me as a late bloomer. Was pretty skinny early on but is a big boy now! 198cm and 103kg, but still moves well. Can really clunk them and is still only 21 y.o so a baby in KP terms.

If Adelaide delist him, I'd pick him up as a delisted free agent no hesitation, especially with McKay showing more as a Key defender
On Dear, he was looking like he was developing really well in 2016 as a key forward, he kicked 40 goals including a dominating 6 goal haul against North Adelaide. He really struggled early though with the addition of Elliot Himmelberg and Paul Hunter chewing up a bit of extra space up forward and we then chucked him back pretty much out of necessity because Otten was playing AFL, Kyle Cheney was injured and Luke Carey, our other 190cm+ defender (he was a top up player for us) had left at the end of the year, so our tallest defender was Tom Doedee, who is only 189cm. So my only issue with him as a key forward may be how he goes with Ben Brown and maybe Jarrad Waite also occupying space since he really looked to struggle a bit when that happened to him this year in the reserves.

He's looked OK as a defender, at least 1-1, but doesn't find the pill a ton, but the athletic traits are definitely there. One of his bigger asset is probably the fact that for a tall bloke he is really good below the knees, super clean with his pickup and generally has a good pair of hands and certainly isn't afraid to use his size to make an impact, which I love to see (but that might just be because I've watched Jenkins skirt so many contests). We also had to use him a bit as a relief ruckman when Reilly O'Brien was injured in the 2nd half of the year, he's not great, but he'll at least be competitive in that role. He signed a 2 year extension at the end of 2016 and we generally haven't delisted players who are still under contract, regardless of whether we have any intention of playing them or not (eg Mitch Grigg in 2016). We don't have a ton of KP depth at the moment, Otten may very well leave as a free agent, which would leave Himmelberg and Dear as our only talls in the 2nd's, along with potentially having Cheney leave and Doedee being called up to replace Jake Lever. I wouldn't list him as untouchable and if he requested a trade back to Victoria I think we'd genuinely attempt to get him there.

I'm still not sure if he'll make it, he was troubled by injuries a lot when he was younger although he's managed to stay pretty healthy since he's been in Adelaide, though I could certainly understand why a team would take a chance on bringing him over, especially since he won't cost a ton to grab.

On Dear, he was looking like he was developing really well in 2016 as a key forward, he kicked 40 goals including a dominating 6 goal haul against North Adelaide. He really struggled early though with the addition of Elliot Himmelberg and Paul Hunter chewing up a bit of extra space up forward and we then chucked him back pretty much out of necessity because Otten was playing AFL, Kyle Cheney was injured and Luke Carey, our other 190cm+ defender (he was a top up player for us) had left at the end of the year, so our tallest defender was Tom Doedee, who is only 189cm. So my only issue with him as a key forward may be how he goes with Ben Brown and maybe Jarrad Waite also occupying space since he really looked to struggle a bit when that happened to him this year in the reserves.

He's looked OK as a defender, at least 1-1, but doesn't find the pill a ton, but the athletic traits are definitely there. One of his bigger asset is probably the fact that for a tall bloke he is really good below the knees, super clean with his pickup and generally has a good pair of hands and certainly isn't afraid to use his size to make an impact, which I love to see (but that might just be because I've watched Jenkins skirt so many contests). We also had to use him a bit as a relief ruckman when Reilly O'Brien was injured in the 2nd half of the year, he's not great, but he'll at least be competitive in that role. He signed a 2 year extension at the end of 2016 and we generally haven't delisted players who are still under contract, regardless of whether we have any intention of playing them or not (eg Mitch Grigg in 2016). We don't have a ton of KP depth at the moment, Otten may very well leave as a free agent, which would leave Himmelberg and Dear as our only talls in the 2nd's, along with potentially having Cheney leave and Doedee being called up to replace Jake Lever. I wouldn't list him as untouchable and if he requested a trade back to Victoria I think we'd genuinely attempt to get him there.

I'm still not sure if he'll make it, he was troubled by injuries a lot when he was younger although he's managed to stay pretty healthy since he's been in Adelaide, though I could certainly understand why a team would take a chance on bringing him over, especially since he won't cost a ton to grab.
If he has half the amount of mongrel his ol man had....absolutely. We have way too many choirboys in our team. Get some ratbags onto our list, loveable ones.

VFL team of the year:

B: Luke Tynan, Sean Gregory, Marty Hore
HB: Brett Bewley, Cam O'Shea, Damien Mascitti
C: Eli Templeton, Matt Hanson, James Tsitas
HF: Bayley Fritsch, Alex Boyse, Michael Gibbons.
F: Ben Cavarra, Jordan Lisle, Dylan Conway
Foll: Nick Messe, Andrew Moore, Willie Wheeler
Int: Jacob Ballard, Adam Marcon, Nick Jamieson, Anthony Brolic, Liam Hunt, Tom O'Sullivan.

Bewley, Hanson, Tsitas, Fritsch, Gibbons, Cavarra, Wheeler and Brolic would all be worthy of a rookie list spot on an AFL club list

VFL team of the year:

C: Eli Templeton, Matt Hanson, James Tsitas

Can we draft this guy already??? I've seen enough. He's too good for VFL. Stands out as apure footballer and is consistent week to week with solid to strong accumulation of the footy. Uses it well. Well worth a rookie pick, based on some of the guys we have already tried in that part of the draft. I'd even use a late round pick on him. 4th or 5th, for instance.

I thought he only signed a one year deal at the end of last year after the trade period?

He just strikes me as the sort of guy that will develop and mature as his career goes on. From all accounts he has improved his running capacity and strength since first arriving in Adelaide.

Can we draft this guy already??? I've seen enough. He's too good for VFL. Stands out as apure footballer and is consistent week to week with solid to strong accumulation of the footy. Uses it well. Well worth a rookie pick, based on some of the guys we have already tried in that part of the draft. I'd even use a late round pick on him. 4th or 5th, for instance.

Some gun VFL players I can understand not getting drafted. Especially due to height and inability to imrpove kicking ect.

The thing is with Hanson is since he has arrived to Werribee from Tassie he has improved just about every aspect of his game. I remember early in the piece there was concerns he wasn't strong enough and didn't have the tank to play AFL. So he went out put on 3-4kg, got leaner and now covers the ground with the best of them. Then there was concerns about his kicking and decision making, this has improved out of sight over the last 2 years. He is now one of the better inside mids in regards to disposal efficiency in the VFL.

If he has made those improvements off his own back imagine the progress he would make in a full-time professional environment. Even if he only made a 5% improvement over the course of an AFL pre-season I think he would be a very valuable AFL footballer. Its not like he is a short ass or really slow either. 187cm and 81kg, will allow him to hold his own with most AFL mids.

was just thinking about Templeton the other day, wasnt he supposed to be the next big thing? looks like he has got into the too good for vfl not good enough for aft area like LA was in.

He had a mini hot streak with the aints in 2014 then ended up with some bad injuries, never returned and was delisted.

The kid is from Tassie too.

was just thinking about Templeton the other day, wasnt he supposed to be the next big thing? looks like he has got into the too good for vfl not good enough for afl area like LA was in.

Little bit of a tweener @ 181cm and only 73kg. He was probably one of the better kids in the country during his under 16's but dropped off due to ijury in his under 18 year which resulted in him going to the saints in the 3rd.

Played his first 6 games across half forward at the saints then broke his arm. Only played another 8 games across 2 seasons before he was cut by the Saints. He was never going to make it as a small forward which is why he got pushed out by the saints as they have a lot of other options in that area (gresham, billings ect).

Has gone back to VFL and playing more mid/wing and has been racking up touches. Finished equal 7th in the liston last night. Averaged like 23-24 touches a game for Port Melbourne this year.

I'd look at:

- mckenna: pace to burn and a cheaper pittard (who i also wanted).

- lennon: rookie pick. Talent is there. Low risk high reward. Former first round pick.

- Balic: homesick so we could get him cheap. Highly rated and would have been a first round pick had he need injured hos wrist. AFL size and ready to go.

Dear: because rf8 sold me. Brown needs help. Daw looks done as a forward and mckay looks better down back. Just wood and larkey left to develop. Potentially durdin.

Hanson: lets see if his VFL form can translate to the AFL. He took a chance on Brown and it paid off. Give him a go he has earned it.

Kelly: no explanation needed.

Rockliff: leader. Allows ziebell to play forward

McKenzie: had his injury worries. Need a good kick down back. Especially with wright out. Our kick ins are predictable. With him our bang it long gains us metres (which is basically all we try and do anyway).

IF ANYONE SAYS WE ARE LINKED TO MATT SHAW AGAIN THIS YEAR I MIGHT KILL SOMEONE.

my exwife has been asking this question non stop ..... just saying :-D

List Mgmt. The Official 2017 "Worth a Look" Thread