AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
My first comment was that I hope we drafted Majak " if he was anywhere near the mark". I haven't seen him play or any of the others and I can't make a judgement based on big footy or a five minute video. If you experts have been watching these people play and tell me that he is nowhere near the mark that is fine, let's pick somebody else. But in the meantime don't put words into my mouth and suggest that I said to pick him because he is an immigrant
on Majak.....not sure....do you take the risk that he will firstly make the transition to the highest standard.... take the risk that he might bring that x factor to our club?? .....can we afford to get it wrong?
.....than get improvement from a beep testing freak that can't kick and handpass
I have followed the jets closely for over 5 years and i could think of 5 or 6 players who deserve to get drafted before Majak. I understand the hype about Majak, very quick agile, good leap and has a nice highlights package, but he has hardly been a consistant performer a TAC level. His 6 possesion a game average is proof He even got dropped throughout the year because he wasn't having enough impact on games.
Sean Tighe, Matt Notman, Johnny Rayner, Kyle Hartigan, Scott Sherlock have all been consistantly good for 2 and in some cases 3 years at TAC level, but because they don't have the highlight reel that Majak has their prospects are significantly lower.
If we are looking at Majak just because he will have an impact on our new multi-cultural facilities i would be extremely disappointed. Although the facilities are an excellent intiative we must maximise our success on the field, and to do that we should be drafting the best available players, even if they are rookies.
How have you ascertained that Daw can't kick or handpass?
At 18 years of age, I think his biomechanics are locked in, so I can't see his skillset drastically improving.
It's far easier to make someone blessed with a decent skill set run faster, jump higher and get stronger, than get improvement from a beep testing freak that can't kick and handpass. Daws footy nous also seems to be a little lacking.
Like Filthy I hope we do select Daw with our first pick, at pick 9. If we do you can bet that the selectors see plenty to work with on the potential front. I don't necessarily want a guy who's the best junior. I want the junior who has the best senior potential, long term.
Burgan was on sen this arvo discussing Daw and he feels certain he won't last beyond the Dogs' first pick, at pick 19 (or whatever it is). His gut feeling is that we'll select him at Pick 9. I can't remember who else they spoke to today on Daw but it was someone else heavily involved in TAC Cup. He gave him the big thumbs up as a raw talent who "could be anything". That defines a speculative pick and I'd be happy with that.
Wouldn't have a clue on the second one but my guess is it will be the best remaining midfielder from the list mentioned earlier.
I like the idea of gambling with our rookie picks. Daw is the one bloke in the rookie draft that has that x-factor and I want to take the punt.
We've often been criticised as "lacking that x factor" and you sum up my feelings on the matter well. Get Majak!
I don't give a **** if Daw turns out to be nothing, honestly.
If the recruiters feel we are in a position to gamble, properly, on a pick for once, then **** it.
If we have a pick in the 80s and grabbed him, we wouldn't give a ****.
Now people act like rookie list picks are first or second round picks in the national draft.
I've got faith in the recruiters. Let's see how they go.
Hallelujah.
I don't necessarily want a guy who's the best junior. I want the junior who has the best senior potential, long term.
If I had to guess, I'd say Majak is a long shot to make it, but he could pay off in spades.
I don't give a **** if Daw turns out to be nothing, honestly.
If the recruiters feel we are in a position to gamble, properly, on a pick for once, then **** it.
Now people act like rookie list picks are first or second round picks in the national draft.
Spot on RB, these are effectively picks 90+. If we arent entitled to pick speculatively with these picks, we never are. Regardless of whether it is Daw or whoever a 'high risk/high return' type pick should be the go.I don't give a **** if Daw turns out to be nothing, honestly.
Im not talking about being blase, I'm sure all picks are researched to the best of our capabilities, but all teams are interested in plucking a "project player" type of guy then why not with a rookie selection. All clubs do it, ex-rugby, the irish, ex-basketballers, ex-rowers. I want high return, even if it is a little riskier.I don't understand that logic mate.
I hope the club researches every single pick we make and takes the players they deem the most likely to play senior footy.
I don't want the selectors to be blase about pick 1 or pick 45.