the players that no one seems to be mentioning

i reckon Minson can improve his average to 65-70, Virgil

needs an upgrade. but not a bad selection if you can't afford McIntosh.

Now I know it was only a NAB cup game but H-Mac looked absolutely hopeless on the weekend. He'd need to lift his game to get a look in at the Superfists.

The guy just can't stay on the park. I would expect him to have a run around in the WAFL for a few games to start the year and then IF he strings a few games together then he should get a game.

The only scenario where he may be worth the risk is if he comes into the team and kills it for 2 games (avg's 85ppg+) and one of your non-keepers is ripe for a downgrade. In any other circumstance I think his propensity for soft tissue injuries rules him out

Thanks for the input mate.

I think Raines will be in the top 10 most popular players
I cant understand all the hype over Raines as i just cant see where he is going to play in the Richmond team.There are no midfield spots for him and i doubt he will used as a running back as theres others more favoured in the pecking order ahead of Raines.Nab cup form was great last time out but when Richmond get their full list together i cant see him getting a run

If Bowden swings between the forward half and the back half then it is certainly possible. The back 6 would consist of McGaune, Moore, McMahon, Thursfield, Raines and Newman. Throw Bowden into the rotations and I think it'd work fine. We'll see tonight I guess.

what about shane tuck? he absolutely dominated the last 5 or so games at the end of last season. what do people think of him? and also the effect the inclusion of cousins will have on his output?

This issue has been covered abit already.
Should he continue his form it will be likely he will gain selection in Richmonds backline.

He is also so popular because there are not many cheap back options and he has the ability to score well for his price (and perhaps if luck permits pickup a premium on a bad run e.g. Shaw after a tag).
I can think of 3 possible selections under $290k that are quite popular at the moment that are not rookies with Raines being the most popular.

hmm, yeh i think Raines is good value, should be able to find a spot in the team i think, though that spot may be starting off the bench, plus he will be competing with King, but i feel he is the better player so will earn the spot, I have Tuck as well as I see him as having a great year in an ever improving team, one other Richmond player i am also considering who I have not seen mentioned is Jack Riewoldt, he is only 257 800, approaching his 3rd season and seems to get a lot of marks around the 50, what do you think, worth a punt in the forward line?

what about shane tuck? he absolutely dominated the last 5 or so games at the end of last season. what do people think of him? and also the effect the inclusion of cousins will have on his output?

Shane Tuck is the Joel Corey of Richmond

excellent fantasy selection IMO :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Jack Riewoldt, he is only 257 800, approaching his 3rd season and seems to get a lot of marks around the 50, what do you think, worth a punt in the forward line?

Mate check how bad his first NAB cup game was DT scoring wise, surely a terrible selection. Added to that fact, Richmond look like a side on their way to finishing 9th, all signs point to Riewoldt being a bad pick.

:eek::cool::p:D:eek:

Mate check how bad his first NAB cup game was DT scoring wise, surely a terrible selection. Added to that fact, Richmond look like a side on their way to finishing 9th, all signs point to Riewoldt being a bad pick.

:eek::cool::p:D:eek:

Actually mate Riewoldt scored 109 last week, racking up 21 touches and ten marks roving around the half forward line, might want to check your facts out, im putting my balls on the line and putting a strong recommendation on him, though he may not be consistent he will avergae around 80 I believe, and is highly unlikely to get dropped, so all signs point at Riewoldt being a very valuable Pick...

I guess you didnt pick up on the sarcasm...

The smilies are usually a good give-away. :p:thumbsu:

im watching the nab game right now and raines looks very impressive. not only in forward rebound movement but in defending on his opposition player. i would say he should most definetly be in their best 22. in the first quarter he looked their best backmen.

im not saying he will score well dt wise just saying he is highly likely to play.

im watching the nab game right now and raines looks very impressive. not only in forward rebound movement but in defending on his opposition player. i would say he should most definetly be in their best 22. in the first quarter he looked their best backmen.

im not saying he will score well dt wise just saying he is highly likely to play.

Agreed. Jake King out. Raines in.

daniel jackson from richmond.

in his 5th or 6th year at the tigers. avgof 71 ppg last year in 11 games. also he avg'd 87 in his last 6 games.

has posted scores of 102 and 91 in the nab cup games.

priced at 318k in the mids could be worth a go.

He played well but in terms of DT he had lots of possessions but only got 72...

For me, we know raines can average 65 from 2007 and 2006, so if he can just get into the team, he will offer good value for his price, and with a few extra years under his belt since these scores, i think 70-75 isnt impossible.

:thumbsu:

How well was he moving. I think he'll play because he is their best small forward stopper. It also frees up Newman to play more attacking footy and use his awesome kick. I think Wallace would like him because he runs at the players instead of that chip/chip crap which allows the other team to flood back.

Foley playing a bit too well for pre-season. I still can't see how he won't get tagged most matches - just so damaging.

Foley will get tagged. I had never realy seen foley unleashed, but i think it was the third quarter of the richmond round one match, he had 15 disposals at 87%! Thats unreal, and you cant let that go unnoticed...

I think that even if he doesn't get tagged, by half time he will be! Let's face it though, Collingwood have never been a big believer in tagging guns and for some reason it has generally worked for them.

At that price, more safer options than Jackson in the midfield. Could be a good pick though.

agree he is supposeed to be in our tagger aswell.

on foley, it kills me every year i pick the bloke causes hes just so awesome in patches, but then goes missing for whole quarters. Also he can get a 30 possesion game and get less than 90 points, due to barly any kicks and marks.

but i think im gonna pick foley again, sooner or later hes gotta start average 90's. Should of learnt another year how to deal with the tag + the better midfield means attention can be dverted elsewhere aswell.

From what I saw tonight Dayne Beams and Alex Rance could fill positions on the bench very nicely. Still waiting to see Steele Sidebottom get a run.

the players that no one seems to be mentioning