FTA-TV The "Prisoner" Appreciation Thread *Post 557 - No spoilers*

Prisoner has certainly had its share of very obnoxious female prisoners. Frankie Doyle. Sharon Gibson. And now Noelene Burke has returned!

Margot Gaffney is another sweetheart. I noticed she was in it a week or so ago but will come into her own down the track. Hope I haven't given tooooo much away.

He was back tonight but didn't have the gay voice he had a couple of weeks ago.

Yeah I'd love a ytube of that phone call. What a crack up.

Noelene Burke back in...she is one ugly woman that one. I laughed at her feeble attempt to mess up the office and then how the cop searches her without permission or for any reason. I think she could have used a better lawyer because I am pretty sure that cop violated several laws there.

As usual Erica Davidson is as soft as butter. The prisoners riot. Herself and her fellow officers are assaulted, deprived of their liberty, their lives threatened etc. And what happens? The prisoners face no new charges, just get their parole suspended and lose privileges for two weeks! Ridiculous!

Why does Paul Reed now drive around in a pick-up truck with Wentworth Detention Centre written on it ?
I thought he was getting around in a cream coloured Falcon a few weeks ago.

It was funny when the cop went to see the gallery guy [Austin ?]
You could see people across the road standing there watching what was going on.

"$5 for a pack of ****! That is outrageous!" I bet all you smokers had a "I wish" moment with that one. LMAO

I agree, Meg gets some garden shears shoved in her throat and the crim gets no biscuits for 2 weeks. Tough prison this one.

I have worked with people like Lizzy and it astounds me constantly just how great an actress old Sheila Florence was RIP.

Yeah I seen that F100 ute. Mrs Davidson has to get a taxi and Paul Reed gets a company car???

"$5 for a pack of ****! That is outrageous!" I bet all you smokers had a "I wish" moment with that one. LMAO

IQUOTE]

Yep, I had a chuckle on that one.:D

I'm starting to get into Prisoner all over again as there was a while where I gave it the flick then went back to it. Geez heaps more to come and some right "freaky" characters and a changing of top dogs.

It looks like Meg, another considerable do-gooder, in moving house has attracted into her life just the kind of neighbours she deserves.

As for Paul Reed, I actually don't mind him. He's certainly way, way better than that awful Jean Vernon, the social worker before him.

It was good to see that horrible art dealer Austin get his comeuppance. :)

And there was yet another memorable quote from acid-tongued Vera - "The regulations say the hair should be tied back and kept away from the face. And that makeup should be kept to a minimum. Those are the regulations and I agree with them. We work in a prison not a beauty parlour".

I also loved Vera's reference to Meg's neighbours' kids needing "a good smack".

I love Vera Bennett. :D

What's with the cop car speeding past Meg and Paul, while he was searching for his son, right at the end of the episode? Talk about adding a random event to create a cliffhanger :D

It looks like yet another sudden departure from the show with Paul Reid inexplicably AWOL, with the producers making a feeble attempt to explain his absence by saying 'he's pretty busy at the moment', especially at a time when his son is going through some issues. His sudden disappearance must've had something to do with Mallaby's ailing health at the time (?)

Lizzy mentioned something about having seen Chrissy's baby in the Maternity ward. That can only mean Chrissy will be back soon. One can only hope.

What's with the cop car speeding past Meg and Paul, while he was searching for his son, right at the end of the episode? Talk about adding a random event to create a cliffhanger :D

That was strange.It looked as though the cop cars light wasn't flashing but they had the noise of a siren. :eek:

I agree that was a bizare ending.

Other strange story twists this week -

Wentworth Guards enjoy a cuppa while one of their charge is r*ped. Apparently it's OK to let a convicted crim go off with a member of the public alone? They don't allow this in the Prison so why is it OK at the factory?

what happened to the Drama group - seems they dropped that like a hot potato?

Judy Bryant escapes how lucky for her that the Cop she knocked out just happened to be the same size as her XXXL ?

Did you see that Hooker in bright green tight satin pants - I suppose that's one way to draw attention to yourself

Weasal (the document forger) just happens to be sitting out the front of his place when Judy goes looking for him....handy that.

what happened to the Drama group - seems they dropped that like a hot potato?

I assume that's gone because Ken [Tom Oliver] is now banned from the prison for getting caught with Bea.

One thing I've always found strange is a visitor is allowed to walk unescorted from the prison gate to the reception,which is maybe 150-200 metres away.

One thing I have liked seeing recently with a few outside shots of melbourne was seeing the old red rattler trains and those orange painted trams. Takes me back.

It's got me stuffed why that sheila nicked off with the payroll and then came back though.

One thing I have liked seeing recently with a few outside shots of melbourne was seeing the old red rattler trains and those orange painted trams. Takes me back.

It's got me stuffed why that sheila nicked off with the payroll and then came back though.

Thought same thing on the Red Rattlers. Trip down memory lane for some I'd say who caught one of them each day.

ScreenShot021-1.jpg

The "pregnant through rape" storyline is often a favourite with TV soaps, although in the real world it's exceedingly rare for rape to result in pregnancy.

I loved that line from Ian Smith's character referring to social workers - "They don't grow on trees, you know". That of course was back in 1980. :D It'll be interesting to see how much longer this current old eccentric one lasts. Of course if Vera had her way, they'd do away with social workers entirely! :D

Kay White is a fun character.

I loved that line from Ian Smith's character referring to social workers - "They don't grow on trees, you know". That of course was back in 1980. :D It'll be interesting to see how much longer this current old eccentric one lasts. Of course if Vera had her way, they'd do away with social workers entirely! :D

Not very long. Agnes' incompetence causes too much heartache for the women and is moved on pretty quickly.

Funnily enough where I'm up to on my DVD run is the story line of Lois Ramsey's other role in Prisoner - Ettie Parslow.

LOL Wentworth Security shown up again when a 12 year old climbs the fence to break into the prison to see his mum..what a pisser.
Speaking of that 12 year-old, he's played by Darren Sole. In Prisoner they're talking about him going into a children's home. The other role I've seen him in was when he was in another drama series called Home where he played a kid in just such a place.

Pretty poor effort by Kay White. Ok, she obviously wanted to lose, but you think she could at least have put up a fight against Bea.

Vera continues to be in great form lately. She's so much fun. :)

I agree about Vera. That thing she did to Fletch after he tried to put her in her place by saying he was the deputy govenor, and then she made him look like douche. Priceless. Vera is the best character on the show right now.

oh no Meg has been shot by a sniper....you'd think they'd upgrade the security from the single guard on the gate after all those escapes, terrorist raids, stray dogs getting in, drugs being left at the fence, and kids breaking in.

In other newsworthy moments Vera got laid but contrary to popular beliefs it didn't change her nasty/bitter disposition.

Fletch the letch changes the roster so he can go pick up chicks at a singles bar....nice use of his authority there.

Finally the first "Steam Press" burns victim appears as Bea decides to help out a mate. Thanks Bea you're all heart!

FTA-TV The "Prisoner" Appreciation Thread *Post 557 - No spoilers*