May 24, 2005
Covid Central
Socceroos
Why are we inconsistent?

I initially blamed fluctuations in effort. And that may in fact be the case. If this is so, the players should be ashamed of themselves and questions need to be asked of BS who gifts game after game to under-performing guys who for years have given us one good game a month.

But lately I'm starting to wonder if our inconsistency is related to a lack of ability? I know that's a tough pill to swallow because there is no easy fix for that. But Maybe our list has been way over-rated and a lot of the guys simply don't have the natural talent to play 3 good games a month. And this would be a MAJOR problem as the club seems hell-bent on rewarding mediocrity with 2 year contracts.

The one fact remains that this group in its current format, is not a top 4 contender which means we can't win the flag. To make top 4, we must string wins together, and for whatever reason, we simply cannot.

Is it as simple as axing the coach? Who knows? The fact the club re-signed him til the end of 2016 doesn't help. Would BS be on thin ice if this was his last year of his contract? Maybe.

IMO ability would be considered a mixture of skills and smarts.

in terms of skills it certainly feels like we're lacking at times. Without looking at any stats however I think we were better by hand and foot last year, as well as able to clunk more marks (especially in the forward 50). That said, players, let alone teams, rarely actually lose their skills.

As for smarts.... That may be a more real concern. While we have a handful of very football smart players, we also have some who at the very least look like they haven't progressed from under 12's.

I strongly believe that the change in gameplan is hurting us in both areas still. We've struggled to get it operating consistently (like every other sodding aspect of the game), partially I would argue because we didn't have an early block of easy games. And now that we've just passed one (Adelaide, Melbourne, Brisbane) and spudded it up, I'm beginning to worry we might not be completely capable of using it.

We've also had a large number of long shitfull injuries to key players, as well as some of the players who would be in the 23-28 range. This just makes things harder, and hinders our ability to rest players.

The other component in all of this though, is the player's mental space. The fact that they can seem so hot and cold between games, and now between quarters, is worrying. I fear that in an effort to slow down our playstyle players now struggle to run hard and stay switched on from the outset, as they seem to be getting told to "grind it out", as mentioned by Brad in every second presser.

Overall, its not a great situation. I don't think it's as simple as sacking the coach, but I do think it's as simple as the players and coaches having a good look in the mirror. The players NEED to try their guts out, and the coaches need to adjust their approach to everything from the way they talk to the players to selection.

I honestly think we are a smoky for the flag, if in that last 4 week block (which is relatively easy, or should be) before finals we can finally be consistent, get key players back fit and firing, and then a few others into that mysterious thing called "form", we may be able to sneak into the 4 and hit the finals like a wrecking ball.

As a side note yes Brad would be on thin ice if he wasn't contracted next year, but with that said I think a growing number of people are beginning to expect Walsh to come off the long run at years end if he Brad doesn't get our shit in order. What that might entails would be interesting to see.

Why are we inconsistent?
Its breathtakingly simple, we are LAZY.
We dont work when we should, Melbourne, Richmond, and this game, all gave lesser opposition who were willing to work a sniff. And then we are supprised they get their tails up and pile on a run of goals.

then when we wake up, shit this mobs having a bit of a go, its often too late.
All of a sudden we find ourselves under pressure and resort to making stupid decisions like Bastis out on the full and Drews sideways attempt at a pass?

The 4 quarter effort of tireless work against Port earlier in the year appears light years away.

The list is reasonable. Most players acquit themselves quite well in their early games at North but it's usually a season in they hit a mediocre groover. Sometimes it happens quicker.

I've been spruiking for some time that it's related to their attitude changing from "gotta do everything possible to keep my spot" to relaxing too much when noticing they're keeping it in spite of lazy efforts. Cue the occasional payday when they realise they've got to pull the finger and achieve minimum quota to stick around.

And there's your inconsistency.

We aren't good enough. (Devington. ..Smoky for the flag? ?? There is some smoke, but only from what you're choofing)

But in all likelihood we're going to finish 7-10 for the 6th time in 7 years. Football purgatory. A culture of mediocrity has developed. Near enough is looked upon as being promising. Near enough should be a fail. Leadership on and off the ground appears wishy washy. No one appears to have a steely eyed intensity. Even trying to come back last night looked to be a drowning man flailing hisarms around rather than setting his mind to swimming to shore. And to continue the analogy, Brisbane aren't a massive rip. Players who aren't that good, aren't that smart don't work hard enough and allow themselves to be pushed around. And they front up the next week, go okay so the pressure goes off and they stink it up again. Inconsistency because the standards are too low or not followed through by those who set them - a common theme in any organisation who are under performing and with a poor culture.

The bottom line is we're screwed. This group won't challenge for a flag. Changing a culture that has gone off the rails is hard and takes a long time. Ask Richmond (not that we've hit their depths). Would changing coaches help? Probably. But his moderate performances were rewarded with a needless juicy contract so that isn't happening. Do we want to rebuild? I doubt it. Or do we stay where we are - flailing around in the water whilst Gold Coast and GWS go flying past in a big shiny speed boat?

Malfunctioning forward line.

Inconsistent Petrie & LT.

The rest....Black no presence, lacks awareness in general play...reminds me of Kosi watching him.

And then run through the bit players we have tried...Daw, Brown, Currie.

We win the ball from defence....but that next kick...Cats and Crows game was blatantly obvious.

If this end of the ground...esp half forward line could fire...

We have gifted a coach a 7 year plan who has gifted a 7 year career to a bunch of mids.

Only turnover will change the level of hunger in the team.

Jacobs and Dumont should start the next 3 to reward hunger and give some of the golden boys a rocket in the 2s.

The answer is simple a 100 game mid should produce more than a kid like Dumont or a fringe player like Jacobs.

It's pretty simple we are just not good enough, the ego of this team to think they can just rock up and beat anyone is embarrassing for a bunch of blokes that have proven nothing.
We have created a culture of rewarding mediocrity performances and playing underdone players. The favouritism the selection committee seems to show to certain players needs to stop.

Personally the only way I can see us going forward is making big decisions at seasons end. This doesn't necessarily mean sack the coach but I would expect a full review to be done. The playing list just isn't performing question needs to be asked maybe the list just isn't good enough unfortunately when we rebuilt we just didn't get the picks right at the top end to get the elite talent we needed. Rebuilding during compromised draft was just about impossible. Now we are left with a list of good players but not enough elite talent to allow us to take the step up to top 4.

I have conceded this year yes we will play finals but this team will wilt under finals pressure and another finals belting is on the cards.

We have a coach and a playing group who quite simply Gives Head to Themselves. :stern look

Take the game just played against Brisbane as an example. Started off OK. Complacency set in late in the first quarter. The coach provides positive reinforecement at quarter time. Players don't lift. Game slips away in the second.

Take our performance against the Gold Coast as another example. We beat Freo the week before. Great win. Face the GC at home. No worries. After conceding 7 goals in the first quarter big worries. Try to fight back but the horse had bolted.

These are two isolated examples but this is the shit that has continued to occur under Scotts' guidance. Why? Senior players aren't threatened with their spots. Talk is cheap but the actions from the coach ain't there. Complacency Reigns. And here we are wallowing in the sea of mediocrity. :stern look

Now ask yourselves this. If Paul Roos was in charge of our club would we have lost last night?

Sure there are issues with the playing group but I believe that these issues stem from the coach. Give a player an inch and he will take a mile. Most of our guys are in their early twenties. They can't see ATM that footy ends. They are embracing the now. As guys in their early twenties do. They care that they lose but losing doesn't teach them the lesson that they're actions of inconsistency aren't acceptable. Our core group of twenty something senior types feel entrenched. Have a poor game. No worries there is always next week. It is this attitude that is killing us.

It is time for this playing list to Harden the **** Up and that can only occur with the guidance of the coach. Sadly we have a guy in charge who struggles with the feel of the game during match day and who quite simply plays favourites with certain players which in turn breeds complacency.

I believe we have the talent. Wins against 3 of the top 4 sides suggest that. But unfortunately there is a mindset at the club that making the 8 is enough. That we have to build and continue to build rather than aiming to win the premiership. The mentality is close enough is good enough and their my friends is the root of our mediocrity.

It all started with one idiot giving another idiot a contract till 2016 and the acceptance of mediocrity has snowballed from there. :stern look

It's not the end. Things can change. Leaders need to make tough decisions. The question is will they? :stern look

P.S. I thank Tas with assisting me with this post. :stern look

It's pretty simple we are just not good enough, the ego of this team to think they can just rock up and beat anyone is embarrassing for a bunch of blokes that have proven nothing.
We have created a culture of rewarding mediocrity performances and playing underdone players. The favouritism the selection committee seems to show to certain players needs to stop.

Personally the only way I can see us going forward is making big decisions at seasons end. This doesn't necessarily mean sack the coach but I would expect a full review to be done. The playing list just isn't performing question needs to be asked maybe the list just isn't good enough unfortunately when we rebuilt we just didn't get the picks right at the top end to get the elite talent we needed. Rebuilding during compromised draft was just about impossible. Now we are left with a list of good players but not enough elite talent to allow us to take the step up to top 4.

I have conceded this year yes we will play finals but this team will wilt under finals pressure and another finals belting is on the cards.
I agree with some of what you said but favouritism? You might have noticed, as I have everytime I read the paper that our injury list has been steadily getting bigger, and bigger. I don't think favouritism is the issue.

no game plan to deal with teams who possess the ball. we did it to teams last year - chip and switch , wait for a free man in the corridor (which we leave because we are lazy and downhill skiing for the turnover that someone else will magically create) and then run/goal with no pressure from 30 out- over and over. Not enough hardness and pressure on the ball carrier to force turnovers- to be smashed in marks and uncontested ball - like in round 1 - is game plan and effort related. Not skill. Everyone knows now - against us, hold the ball, chip it around and we will drop off. get ready for more of it - week after week.

Maybe we're not inconsistent at all and are still the mid range side we'd all hope we'd progressed from.

We are kidding ourselves if we think we'll go further then week one in the Finals, and we'll only get there because of our draw.

Here's a reality check in regards to our "great" wins;

Port: probably the only game we've played to our potential, though wouldn't beat them now.

Sydney & Freo: got them at a great time, no way we'd beat them now.

West Coke: they're only just going themselves

The rest have been underwhelming wins and all of our losses have been abysmal.

We are turning into Richmond and it has me concerned!

We have changed as a club. No heart. There are some talented players, but they don't always apply themselves or put the effort in. Coaches haven't sorted out why there is this fluctuation in form. Is this task beyond Brad Scott & co, so far it appears so. The shinboner spirit is officially dead.

Say whatever you want, we've wrestled control to some degree back in each match this year. Sure we've gone on and had great and I mean GREAT victories in some and not been able to close a few deals but overall we've improved as a team. I think (hope) we all know that.

I don't often make excuses or forgive the run, but the reality is that team was putrid, and is not a top 8 team, and clearly the worst we've put on the park all year.

We missed Nahas, and of Wells. And the fact that the 2 X factor types we've invested heavily into in Garner & Harper were both unavailable to pick up the slack.

It's not the coach, it's not ability and I thought our effort was ok, execution and weather/browny retiring/poor showing the week before conspired against us and we we got nosed out.

The sky isn't falling, we can make it up. People quickly forget how other great North teams have done this to us. It's kinda how we roll.

I'm in my early 30's, so I can only recall the following:

Rossy Lyon goal at princess park in 92, lose after leading by 29 @ 3/4 time.

Dunstall in 93, having never seen us beat hawthorn, he kicked goal to put them in front w 30 seconds to go.

Adelaide away in 1993. 27 points up at 3/4 time, lose.

Sydney @ princess park, lose by 83 points in 1995/6.

Even our great teams have shown an unique ability to lose the seemingly unloseable.

They just need to win this week. All will be forgiven when we beat hawthorn.

Say whatever you want, we've wrestled control to some degree back in each match this year. Sure we've gone on and had great and I mean GREAT victories in some and not been able to close a few deals but overall we've improved as a team. I think (hope) we all know that.

I actually don't think that's the case at all mate.

In fact I think our gameplan has gone backwards - we concede far too much of the ground to the opposition in the pursuit of being more defensive and limiting scoring.

Sure that gives us impressive "inside 50 to points against" defensive stats which give the illusion we are defending well, but in reality it is just through weight of numbers - and means we have stuff all ability to score up the other end with players 2 on 5. Then when we lose that contest, the opposition run it out with ease through uncontested marks all over the ground as once again, we are giving up far too much space.

I thought we played very well overall last year bar a couple of games, but just didn't close out wins for a number of reasons. This year we have been impressive for a bit and caught teams at the right time, but mostly just shithouse for the rest.

I just think we aren't very good. The wins against Sydney and Freo were more due to them playing poorly than us playing well.

I'd say the Port Adelaide win was the only good win of the season so far.

I put last night down to workrate and lazyness, our worst footy should be winning a match like that comfortably, in fact we were still in a position to pinch it. The reality is a good side would have been up by 40-50 at quarter time and Brisbane would have given up, sure they played well and lifted but its because we let them, they kicked something like 10 out of 11 goals...thats absurd.

The Question I Can't Answer