Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

I'm a curmudgeon so would crack the shits if people were stopping me eating where I wanted and blocking up trams.

If you were in London in the 60s you'd have been frowning and complaining about the band on the roof causing all the commotion.
"I want this noise stopped. You can't use a telephone, dictate a letter or have your window open."

The upgrading makes sense.
The huge carpark doesn't.
And like i said, its a few towns that get upgraded facilities. So yay for Bendigo, and a big "so what" , for Echuca, Albury, Shepparton, Port Fairy, Traralgon, Moe, Bairnsdale, Orbost, Warragul, etc etc etc.

Pollies think of them all collectively as " In the Bush". The people who live there don't think that way at all.

Bendigo doesn't even need it, it's just central hub in Melbourne speak.
Shep would piss people right off, prime wine country there in goulburn vallley, don't you be building shit buildings where we get pissed, it's unAustralian!!1!
Echuca would probably need 40 years to be civilised instead of "I have a boat on the murray I spent 16hrs on".

Dan wanted a lemon and would have gotten many boots in my summation, I mean, at least the Ballarat hub already has multiple ovals to update, not sure the dustbowl up at Echuca matters much...

Bendigo doesn't even need it, it's just central hub in Melbourne speak.
Shep would piss people right off, prime wine country there in goulburn vallley, don't you be building s**t buildings where we get pissed, it's unAustralian!!1!
Echuca would probably need 40 years to be civilised instead of "I have a boat on the murray I spent 16hrs on".

Dan wanted a lemon and would have gotten many boots in my summation, I mean, at least the Ballarat hub already has multiple ovals to update, not sure the dustbowl up at Echuca matters much...

But can Ballarat use spectator facilities for 40 000? Its not the updating that's a waste, its the unnecessary crowd facilities that will never be used again.

Yep, i was actually chatting with a mate about this, i think alot of international events may need to chill with their requirements. I was reading the FIFA ones and they are frankly ridiculous. I think the smallest stadium can be is like 70k and they need to be kept exclusive and empty for 9 weeks prior to any games. Thats just ******* stupid.

How about this one - the OLYMPIC INSIGNIA PROTECTION ACT 1987:

For some reason the Olympics get a whole act of parliament protecting their trademarks. No idea why they can't just go through the same trademark channels as everyone else.

Wine country? Not many wineries around Shep.

Just put a heap of sugar and yeast in a 3L bottle of Juice, shake it up , then loosen the lid just enough so it won't stop excess gas escaping but will stop air getting in.
Perfect wine for Shep.

It’s the weekend * ers
The Ashes
The Open
Some footy ( maybe)

Happy days
Boring

Kambosos v Hughes
UFC London

And yes maybe the battle of the little young injury riddled poor children of St.Kilda in the big bad competition that is just so difficult to win a game in 😭😭

Yeah I grew up there. Nothing like a wine region imo, regardless of marketing speak calling it one.

Guess just me and mine then, as Nagambie had a few little further south in Michellstown and Sunbury has 3 so... follow the reds?

Yeah I grew up there. Nothing like a wine region imo, regardless of marketing speak calling it one.

Last time I was there it had a huge muslim population, pretty interesting changes.

All I remember of Shep was going there as a kid because I was doing riding lessons and had to get kitted out. Decked myself out at the county clothing store and now have pics dressed like the gay cowboy in the Village People. Those country ****s should have told me that I looked like a twat. The guy that did the riding lessons told me I looked like a **** wit too. Country people are rough.

Guess just me and mine then, as Nagambie had a few little further south in Michellstown and Sunbury has 3 so... follow the reds?

Fowles is up that way somewhere I think. They do some good wines. Shep was more mafia and fruit back in the day though. They probably made some of their own but not too many proper wineries back in the day.

The athletes villages are millions not billions and are easily re used (Dan announced a couple bil in public housing today that will be a drop in the ocean for that problem anyway). Plus you can still have the villages in the burbs or close regions, the stadum upgrades and infrastucture costs were the blow out.

Plus if the reports are to be believed GCF and others made the suggestion to keep it in Melbourne and use existing and the Vic Gov said "Nah we like the regions and weve costed them, not even entertaining the Melbourne option"... IF you believe that.
I don’t want to talk politics and the spin that’s going on - just finance - we are broke - hence the decision made.

If you believe the Chairman that the cost overruns were some 2 to 3 times the projected cost after less than 18 months what does that mean for the cost of all his pet projects like the $200 billion suburban rail loop?

That $1.1 billion compensation we paid for scrapping the East West Link and got nothing for would have come in handy let alone the forthcoming Commonwealth Games compensation.

The wheels are well and truly off - expect the Chairman to have an unforeseen health issue in early to mid 2024 and ride off into the Sunset. All yours Jacinta!

I don’t want to talk politics and the spin that’s going on - just finance - we are broke - hence the decision made.

If you believe the Chairman that the cost overruns were some 2 to 3 times the projected cost after less than 18 months what does that mean for the cost of all his pet projects like the $200 billion suburban rail loop?

That $1.1 billion compensation we paid for scrapping the East West Link and got nothing for would have come in handy let alone the forthcoming Commonwealth Games compensation.

The wheels are well and truly off - expect the Chairman to have an unforeseen health issue in early to mid 2024 and ride off into the Sunset. All yours Jacinta!
It’s not really worth the technicalities and ultimately they are costing more than original estimates but the way they’re administered and procured they’re not actually over budget. You can’t do accurate budgets for projects that big and contractors won’t take that risk on.

He may or may not ride off into the sunset but his big build will be quite the legacy.

It’s not really worth the technicalities and ultimately they are costing more than original estimates but the way they’re administered and procured they’re not actually over budget. You can’t do accurate budgets for projects that big and contractors won’t take that risk on.

He may or may not ride off into the sunset but his big build will be quite the legacy.
All in favour of infrastructure - worked in the infrastructure procurement & finance sector for 20 years.

Oh it will certainly be a legacy - one that you, me & our children will be paying high taxes for as long as you can forecast. Unfortunately there are no assets left to sell to bail us out this time.

Gotta live within your means even though we all want it all.

That 1.1bn wouldn't have been a thing it Naptime wasn't such a dire prick of a bloke. Blind freddy with any manner of pulse knew that boot was incoming, but not him apparently, too much smoke being blown up his arse that it fogged his glasses.

First ball of the day

A lead we can defend however

Would have been all out for 1 run if not for a tiny little white line and mm of boot. Laughable resistance in actually sunny weather over there.

That 1.1bn wouldn't have been a thing it Naptime wasn't such a dire prick of a bloke. Blind freddy with any manner of pulse knew that boot was incoming, but not him apparently, too much smoke being blown up his arse that it fogged his glasses.

Would have been all out for 1 run if not for a tiny little white line and mm of boot. Laughable resistance in actually sunny weather over there.
Can’t comment on the first para - politics

The second para - spot on! Too many top order bats wasted golden opportunities yesterday.

Can’t comment on the first para - politics

The second para - spot on! Too many top order bats wasted golden opportunities yesterday.

Technique problems, much like Warners cranked neck watching his rerun dismissals on his QLED.

Edit: Starc quietly up to 4th highest of innings thus far, eclipsing my man Warners 32, 6 runs to leapfrog Smith into 3rd.