Radio The SEN Thread 10

I forgot to post this earlier. On sunday morning, I was heading down to Phillip Island. At about 6:30, there's a golf show on, and Marko's on it! (He's everywhere) It sounds live, but I'm not sure if it is (6:30 am for a half hour slot?). Anyway, Marko was telling a story which I'm not sure any of you have heard.

He was talking about how in one tournament he was in, he was contemplating the end of his career, which I think was supposed to be that event, which was having it's last round the next day, or soon after. He was miserable about it, and was drinking piss the whole night. In that same event, there was a prize for shooting the course record, a Louis Vuitton watch.

So the next day, Marko, in what I think was supposed to be his last day of pro golf, unenthused and full of piss, shot the course record! (66 iirc). He didn't win, but he received his watch. He was pumped about it and it reinvigorated his career. The watch gave him inspiration and he was proud to have it He produced more good results and that got him to participating in the British Open.

He would tell anyone, anywhere for the next 10 years that it was Louis Vuitton watch and that it was worth $15,000. Then one day, the band broke. So he went to get it fixed at whichever LV outlet he went to. A few day later they called him back and gave him his watch back, back in a parcel saying "not genuine"!

i enjoy the golf show early sunday morning. for a while his dulcet tones would accompany me as i traveled down eastlink to the club of which i am a member of. really got me in the mood for me 18 holes.

this week, for some reason moreso than previous ones, ive heard callers say to kb "i rang X days/weeks ago, remember me?". KB replies "ah yes I remember you (repeats callers name)". dont think kb remembers said caller.

it's all good bedford. we've said our pieces, let's leave it at that.

im not a mod on this here board so i cannot delete or edit or infract.

anyway, schebecci with the motor show this morning. mentioned that the melb gp starts when teh afl is on. said the afl have generally been good by not scheduling games at the time of the race in melb.

thanks afl.

Oh yeah, Spring Carnival? Can't wait for that! After the classic GF we had yesterday, we need an outlet to express this buzz and enthusiasm the city has.

The GP? Well, l like I always say, if there's any rubbish from that area that contributes nothing to the rest of the city, palm it off to Sydney. :eek:

anyway, schebecci with the motor show this morning. mentioned that the melb gp starts when teh afl is on. said the afl have generally been good by not scheduling games at the time of the race in melb.

thanks afl.
What, you listen to that anyway?

I remember a Collinwood game being scheduled at the exact time the GP was going to be on a few years back (Ooooohhh, Collingwood). The AFL haven't gone close to scheduling another one of their games since. They know who's boss!

Darin Parkin provided an excellent analysis of the GF last night between 8pm and 10pm. Good to have an extended show where the issues can be discussed. Good to see that Brett Phillips is back doing the Final Serve and Sunday afternoons.

Cameron Luke said earlier that the Afl should have booked One Direction and Rihanna for the GF entertainment.Didn't realize that the average GF crowd consisted almost exclusively of 12 year old girls!

Does anyone actually care about half time entertainment anyway? You are either at a bbq somewhere kicking the footy or having a chat at halftime. If you are at the ground you are getting some food or going to the loo. Just put on Auskick and let some kids have the chance of a lifetime.

The Schibecsta

BVAUtXoCIAAB--Y.jpg

Is that Tony Schibecci or Frank Butcher from Eastenders?

Did anyone else hear Finey on Friday night making out he knew something about music?
I gather he was trying to make a loose, ominous (humorous?) link between Jimmy Hendrix using Gibson (josh) guitars while he recorded Purple Haze; the latter obviously being a reference to Freo.

He said something like: "well, when Hendrix recorded Purple Haze, he did so using he favourite guitar, which was a Gibson Stratocaster." :p
Not only was Hendrix synonymous with Fenders (even though he did sometimes use Gibsons), that's like saying a "Ford Commodore". :D

Ah, bummer, I missed Dermy. Did he tell any new stories?

yeah told the story of last years grannie.

"i was walking, you know that hill between punt road oval and gate 4? well i was wallking there and i saw a few guys drunking stubbies, wearing short and shirts, drinking stubbies.....i walked past them and one of them said "gday derm", and i looked over and said "gday Brian!" *others in studio laughed*

so in 365 days, brian has gone from outside drinking stubbies, and gone to 100K people inside"

i lost count of the number of times he mentioned "I".

wish he could summarise better, and tell stories in a succinct time frame