Radio The SEN Thread 5

Wow, what a puzzling decision.

He was a bit raw James, but he had a real lot of talent and loved talking about football....which was very good to listen to. Infact I think he is second only to BP doing the overnights.

It's a real shame - I also think it's time for me to give SEN overnights the flick. WAFLL you are spot on. Ever since this new company came in, it's gone crap.

James posts on a football forum I do so I will send him a message and see what's up.

Had to remove this due to threat of libel, I'm sure you guys know who i was having a go at... I will just say that I will be turning off overnights too.

Cheers

SS

Add me to the pissed off category. Always seemed to be speaking to some good guests and I thought was very good.

God help us if we have to listen to that Fernando clown....I'm turning off, this time for good. Ever since this Crocmedia came in....show has gone to the dogs

Couldn't agree more. World Sport Overnight and All Night Sport were fabulous for expatriate Australians who were overseas and was absolutly fantastic in keeping us up to date with what was happening in Australian sport.

Ever since Crocmedia came in we have had to listen to constant plugs for Footyheads.com, substandard hosts that have little rapport with the listeners (Eg: Dylan Howard, Pete Laszer), crap like the bluff poker show and have had to put up with the misfortune of listening to Craig Hutchison at times.

Now they have gotten rid of their best host in Willoughby, on top of already getting rid of other good hosts like Mark Franklin and of course Brett Phillips. Moves like this is what will make people stop listening.

They better not get rid of Gladiators of Sport and if they do, then I will be joining the group of people who no longer listen to the show.

Remove them from SEN and the station might as well fold.

Agree. Some decisions have been terrible, the latest to get rid of James included.

Don't hold your breath for an announcement to the listeners either. They treat us with contempt. Just like when Franka was sacked no announcement same now.

They think they can treat us like shit keep changing the formats of the show, endless plugging of tthings like Footyheads or Pancake Parlour, keep changing hosts and think we will keep listening.

Well stuff them. About time we started voting with our ears so to speak and turning off. I am boycotting SEN overnights and hope others do the same.

The only thing I can say good about the show now is it would send me to sleep when I'm struggling. The boring deadpan Lowther does it every time. But not anymore. I'm boycotting.

OMG downloadme will have less to complain about now.
Didn't these idiots at Crocmedia think of poor dlm before sacking James ?

;)

Hey Jub Jub ,
Everyone has an opinion and I think this was long overdue , the kid was not up to it , well not yet anyway.
His sporting knowledge seemed limited , everyone he spoke to was his mate gday mate howza going mate , he seemed to get sexually excited when someone mentioned girlfriends or the like and at times listeneing to James was like listening to the boys at school assembly.
SEN shouldnt be any less professional at 1am as to 9 or 10 am or 3 or 4 pm..let the kid get experience elsewhere on school radio or at a local newspaper but about time SEN were more professional across all hrs.
I havent heard a smuch of him as everyone else here but I have heard enough to have an opinion.

James Willoughby has been sacked for the most trivial reason, and I've been sacked for taking a 3 week holiday, despite working 8 months unpaid. The business that have basically bought the timeslot, Crocmedia, have no idea whatsoever. I've listened to the show tonight, and it's just not up to the same standard as when Jim or someone that knows what they are doing is hosting the show. No guests, a screwed up Quiz, Macca somehow had a bad line which has never happened before, Bluff which no one listens to (but they cant help that) and the same listener getting cut off by the Eel again as yesterday. Just not good enough.

I admire your loyalty to your friend but even if we dont know who you are SEN must know who you are
Goodness knows you have given enough clues , unpaid three weeks off recently , You criticise SEN or Crocmedia as having know idea but you obviously have no intentions to ever work there again with your outburst here.
Couldnt you have posted as someone in the know , but you are more stupid than anyone and have just cut your own throat for life at the only Sports radio station in the whole country.

One more while I am rolling along here , sacked for the most trivial reason:D yeh right.
Do you know how many trivial reasons Alan Didak and Brendan Fevola have given their clubs to sack them but they are still there.
Why because their clubs no they are good and they need them.
If James was any good and couldnt be replaced your so called trivial reason wouldnt exist.
Either james did something more than just trivial or SEN Croc media feel they can easily replace him with someone better.
In business and in radio you dont give someone the sack for a trivial reason

One more while I am rolling along here , sacked for the most trivial reason:D yeh right.
Do you know how many trivial reasons Alan Didak and Brendan Fevola have given their clubs to sack them but they are still there.
Why because their clubs no they are good and they need them.
If James was any good and couldnt be replaced your so called trivial reason wouldnt exist.
Either james did something more than just trivial or SEN Croc media feel they can easily replace him with someone better.
In business and in radio you dont give someone the sack for a trivial reason

Must have been a pretty big reason to sack Bruce Eva then.

I admire your loyalty to your friend but even if we dont know who you are SEN must know who you are
Goodness knows you have given enough clues , unpaid three weeks off recently , You criticise SEN or Crocmedia as having know idea but you obviously have no intentions to ever work there again with your outburst here.
Couldnt you have posted as someone in the know , but you are more stupid than anyone and have just cut your own throat for life at the only Sports radio station in the whole country.

Could not agree with you more downloadme.

I don't post on here often, but have been a listener of SEN for ages and occasionally come on here for a read and a laugh.

I cannot believe the amount of disgraceful stuff I have read here from those who work or have worked for SEN/ Crocmedia.

The majority of posts since early this morning have obviously come from those in the know and are mates with James Willoughby. Even an idiot would know that.

These people are weak and have nothing better to do than post what they have.

Like you said above, this person has made a massive mistake and will find it very difficult in the future to find work in the industry.

How silly can this person be to write what he has.

Hi all.

I would just like to publicly apologise for my outburst late last night/early this morning.

I was in an extremely pissed off mood and my head wasn't totally around the situation at the time. To come out and publicly criticise the show's content and employers was way out of line and I accept all the criticism that comes my way.

I especially apologise to Andrew Lowther, Tristan Foenander and the rest of the Crocmedia team for making this situation public.

Thank you all, and again, I sincerely apologise.

jackson4.gif

Hi all.

I would just like to publicly apologise for my outburst late last night/early this morning.

I was in an extremely pissed off mood and my head wasn't totally around the situation at the time. To come out and publicly criticise the show's content and employers was way out of line and I accept all the criticism that comes my way.

I especially apologise to Andrew Lowther, Tristan Foenander and the rest of the Crocmedia team for making this situation public.

Thank you all, and again, I sincerely apologise.

do they read posts here?

Anyone been listening? Sure has been amateur hour since midnight.

as opposed to what overnight radio is really like? to be honest the only decent/professional overnight outfit ive ever heard is the ABC with tony delroy.

Anyone been listening? Sure has been amateur hour since midnight.

I understand the idea of giving these young kiddies their big break on radio but for Christ's sake can we ensure they at least have some personality - as other posters have said at least it is a good insomnia cure

well its aus open time again (soon). does anyone else remember last year when ivanovic won the french open and some bozo doing the sports central segments kept refering to her as ana ivank-ovic?
I heard someone refer to her as Ivanisevic.

Surprised me because I thought Goran had retired and wasn't expecting him to compete in the French Women's.

i don't mind Andrew lowther, he knows his sport although he can sound slightly mono-tone at times, he seemed a perfect foil for BP. James was another host that i liked listening to, i guess that means back of the net is in the bin as well.

how i miss the days of the agitator with tony and the boys and how we had zantuck, sj peak and tony for the GOS.

For all the great things that mark fine has done for this station, I just wish we could rewind 2 years and hear the 'Start me up' intro for Beva after Dark.

Again, Bruce Eva was one of the biggest losses a station could ever have and was the best in the business.

Instead of crashing down with a final bang, SEN seem to be dying a death of a thousand cuts as the high standard from lyonchop, billy +tim plus Beva through to WSO... to now with a rolling bench of hosts through positions, one can;t help but feel it has been 2 years of radio wasted.

Overall it hasn't been a great period for footy on radio recently, epitomised by the biggest loss of them all, Clinton Grybas. Hopefully it can return to the quality of a couple of year ago

Do you have any comments regarding the quality of this morning's All Night Appetite, YouveBeenReimered?

Sorry mate, I didn't have a good listen. I heard the first hour and the audio glitched, but although that looks bad, there is nothing anyone can do. Sometimes it just does that.

Instead of crashing down with a final bang, SEN seem to be dying a death of a thousand cuts as the high standard from lyonchop, billy +tim plus Beva through to WSO... to now with a rolling bench of hosts through positions, one can;t help but feel it has been 2 years of radio wasted.

How can you put the words high standard and Billy in the same sentence ?

Couldn't give a monkeys about the night shift to be honest. No-one listens and it barely gets any advertisers. Therefore the only way is up in my opinion.

For all the other timeslots, the ratings are travelling along very well for a still start up radio station. How you can say its dying is a bit ridiculous ?

It has improved ratings wise year after year.

Bad luck for young James but SEN is not a charity organisation. I suspect he wasn't getting paid that much and probably asked for more than the ratings would justify. Too bad but he would he would have got some invaluable experience that he should be able to put to use elsewhere if he keeps his head on straight.