Radio The SEN Thread 7

can't stand tony SHITbecchi. we hear far too much on the station. why on earth do hey keep persisting with car racing i don't know.

i hate car racing so thankfully his show is on early sat mornings. well, not a great thing sometimes..

but it does have a place on SEN given the popularity of the sport, and especially when the moto GP is at phillip island.

Turfology VI 2009

It seems a little bit tacky to me, Kevin. I’ve got no problem with them being thrown against pub walls wearing velcro suits but certainly not being piggybacked. I think that’s disgraceful
- On dwarf racing at Cranbourne

I would have thought the essential ingredients of a joke are set-up, middle, punch line; I think he’s lacking in all three ingredients, and I think that’s where he went wrong

He needed a whoopee cushion with him. There was something missing. It’s an extraordinary performance by the Carlton captain and pressure point ambassador
- On where environmental ambassador Chris Judd’s “poorly constructed joke” went wrong

The great news for the racing industry is that the authority has been taken away from the Australian Racing Board and racing will now be run by the Brimbank Council
- On the compromise reached regards whipping in the racing industry.

Interesting policy that d!@&head policy, Kevin, would SEN ever consider embracing it?
- On the Swans alleged “no d!@&head policy” in regards to Brendan Fevola.

They may as well be playing with a cane ball with a bell in it
- On the performances of the West Indies fill-in team during the country’s contract dispute.

My idea of fishing is throwing a penny bunger in a fish tank and seeing what floats
- On fishing

Ranting Turf - on the SEN racing coverage
I was hopeful of getting the racing on SEN. And Sen, I must say, were fully supportive of trying to get, not just the Spring Carnival …all the way through to the Sandown Classic, as well as county cups, as well as the Autumn Carnival as well. Now the racing station 927 which is really struggling, now it really is battling; the TAB took away a lot of their funding. They’re also not played in the pubs and clubs anymore… But how they’ve had the influence to actually kybosh SEN’s attempts to cover racing, mystifies me. Absolutely mystifies me, and one can only assume that the VRC… Racing Victoria's very, very supportive of the SEN initiative.

But you’ve had a club as the VRC dictating media policy. Now work this one out… how a single racing club, the VRC - and I believe the Melbourne Racing Club has just followed suit - have that sort of power and authority to dictate who can broadcast racing in this state. Absolutely it is a microcosm of how stuffed the industry is.

The Labor government formed Racing Victoria as an instrumentality to oversee racing but gave them insufficient power. Could you believe an AFL club dictating to the AFL who was going to broadcast their games? It is so absurd it is mind-boggling. And the VRC has clearly exhibited to me and the racing community that their number one priority and their number one interest is the VRC and not racing at large. And that is an appalling situation that needs to be addressed immediately. It’s a poor performance by the VRC, and you look at TVN being frozen out of the Spring Carnival - TVN which is part-owned by the VRC will not be broadcasting races live during cup week because of the deal they’ve got with channel Seven, Why’s the VRC allowed to do these media deals in the interest of the VRC and not in the interest of horse racing in general? It’s a disgraceful situation, and it’s actually mirrored interstate as well. It’s not just the Victorian racing, the entire Australian racing industry needs leadership. There needs to be a body to take control because it is a house of cards.

Turf Observation - on arguing with KB:
I don’t argue with you, Kevin. We have spirited discussions - one way, because you don’t listen to anyone else’s opinion. But that’s by the by. You look out the window when I’m making a point. … You’ve got this little thing where somehow you manage to nod when you’re actually not listening. It’s a marvellous trait that you’ve developed over the years.

You know, my eight-year-old rubbed her hand on my tummy last night and said, “dad, I think you should have an ultrasound”
- On Turfy’s physical fitness

The national pastime there is beheading rebels
- On the country of Chechnya

Can’t wait to have him play on Cunnington
On the possible match-up of Karmichael Hunt and future 2009 draftee, Ben Cunnington.

(try it, saying it quickly: Cunnington tackles Hunt)

Good to see Mark Franklin back on the air. It is a big ask taking over from BUSA but on first impressions his show is going to be a different slant on sport.

Most impressed with the EPL segment especially the guy in the studio who was talking about it, he definetely knew his EPL in detail. Looking forward to his reports down the track.

I'm kinda narked off that Born in the US finishing up now, with Steve returning to the US with his family, I think because he couldn't find fulltime work here, which is a shame because the man has far more talent then 95 percent of the other radio presenters in Australia today ... (I always used to love his sarcastic responses to any flog who sent in negative/abusive text messages about their show)
I'll miss Steve, one of the genunie good guys, and one with a great sense of humor as well. I really hope Ed can be retained on the station as well, even on the new sunday night program with Franka (Mark Franklin)

I am not really into American sports, but i did enjoy listening to these guys and get a bit of an udnerstanding of the goings on with Baseball, NFL and NBA. Agreed out of all the presenters these guys have got the most knowledge of their sports and don't pretend to know it all like Andy Maher.

They had the right mix of joking around with informative news, and had a good understanding and appreciation of AFL. Quite often would use it as analogy to explain certain events or circumstances in the american sports, which for novice like me was useful and insightful!

any1 remember murray collins? i remember he used to be on morning glory, was good them (as a regular guest) doing epl and soccer stuff.

Yep. Good bloke.

ah i see. dont get to listen to KB 99% of the time.

i thought he was in real estate.

He is.

He is in real estate.

KB sings God Save The Queen every week when he is on. His segment is/was back to back with Steve's USA report.

Got there before me.

ok next MC question. is he just an aussie-pom living here who happened to call in one day and then was offered a gid....or is he a journo or something in a previous life?

My recollection was that on MG in the old days Jason Richardson used to be in every day for a half hour discussing the overnight results. Murray filled in for him for a 2 week stretch.

I think he had just moved to Aus after working on sports radio back in the UK.

I am not really into American sports, but i did enjoy listening to these guys and get a bit of an udnerstanding of the goings on with Baseball, NFL and NBA. Agreed out of all the presenters these guys have got the most knowledge of their sports and don't pretend to know it all like Andy Maher.

They had the right mix of joking around with informative news, and had a good understanding and appreciation of AFL. Quite often would use it as analogy to explain certain events or circumstances in the american sports, which for novice like me was useful and insightful!

BITUSA was the best show on the station. Your point about getting the right mix of humour, sports news with opinions and their experiences made it the best 3hours of melb radio for mine.

I reckon many of the other presenters on the station are secretly rapt that the boys are moving on for fear that the program folks would realise the talented duo those blokes were and give them a full time position.

Interesting to see how many moves are happening in morning radio as stations refuse to sit on what they consider poor returns. And that pretty much holds for other timeslots as well.

But when it comes to sport it’s evident things are vastly different. There has only been a modicum of change at SEN over the last few years with Brownless leaving full-time to do part-time, some night shift changes, shuffling of regular guests, and, not much else. Oh, and of course, Steve Salisbury, whom I assure you is a really good bloke from what I know. His itinerary for attending sports events upon his return to the US makes it kind of sad we in Australia are left with just cricket (not on SEN) and the alphabet league in soccer. Nup, NBL doesn’t count with several NBA games on cable and OneHD. Tiger will be in and out faster than Mark-oh Allen’s birdies fly.

One come only assume SEN management understand, or believe, that sport is a niche market and ratings can’t be expected to improve much more than they have been. Or it is simply down to economics and some incumbent hosts working cheap, really cheap. Possibly like, sayyyyy, Mark Doran?

There’s a heap of never ending posts deriding the oiled one of afternoon goodness and information, here and the Fourth Estate thread that carries his name. In fairness it must be difficult to host a daily four-hour show, keeping it fresh, informative, and entertaining. Especially when, well, ya don’t know jack about much of anything.

The hate theme gets thrown around a lot in regards to some hosts and shows. Even one poster recently stated that he “despised” Born In The USA without even stating why. I believe most people try to accept most hosts if not like them, as evidenced by avid SEN listener, Manbearpig outing countless mistakes and laziness by Doran over the last couple of years until he apparently gave up listening to him. Some posters think others “hate” certain hosts simply because those others criticise particular styles or personalities.

Remember, this thread for critiquing SEN - good or bad, albeit with the latter having serious stroke over the former.

Hate is not for this thread, it’s for Islamofascists, Richard Ramirezes, and Dennis Fergusons.

Then again, bouts of contempt for Doran are unavoidable and make one constantly wonder why SEN continue with His Oilyness and his bumbling and stumbling through his shift. Or at least give him some help. Mutt Thompson, by the way doesn’t count as help. Unless you count a player’s alleged dodgy hamstring reported with the emotion and alarm of another 9/11.

Having personally banished You Blokes (except the Wednesday Turf time), Doran is mostly only sampled during car travel by myself.
I’m almost down to 1116TURF instead of 1116SEN.

Personally, it’s good to hear more of Doctor Turf if only for one glaring reason - he never sits on the fence regarding any topic, and he loathes PC.

As for Doran, while driving home one day listening to the Good One doing an interview with a guest, he fired up a little while discussing a topic. Doran thought he’d found a perfect cause and effect relationship for Collingwood’s demise in the 2009 season. The dismissal of Brad Scott from the Pies’ coaching staff on the eve of the finals. To back up his theory he referenced Port Adelaide’s removal of Alistair Clarkson from their staff in 2007 and the thrashing Port consequently received at the hands of the Cats.

Now, you don’t have to be a neurologist or even a bit-time footy fan to realize Doran just made Clarkson a premiership winning rookie coach in 2008. This kind of very poor work would not be tolerated on most radio here or abroad. The error is compounded by the fact that if he got the year correct he would have actually brought up the perfect counter point against his own argument. Port dismissed Clarkson in 2004 and actually went on to win their first ever flag. One can only shake their head listening to this goofball.

Later on before going to a break, Doran while indulging in banter with Mutt, and apparently after a barrage of text messages, made the correction not by retraction of his Pinheadness but by a sarcastic apology to Mark Williams (as if he’d be listening) for his getting the facts wrong. Then he quickly bailed to that break. SEN - Sports Embarrassment Network. Australia’s only sports station and they can’t get rights to our national sport.

Come on SEN, unless you’re competitive in the ratings it’s time to get Doctor Turf a daily gig; where’s Damien Fleming? Go and poach Dunstall or BT. Time for some change at SEN! Other stations are making changes - get with the program. And don’t worry about Mark Doran’s future, I can get him appropriate employment selling magazines at Southern Cross station.;)

Now, back to needle watch for the Washington sniper. It’s getting close. In the words of Marv Albert: Yesssssss!

Reserve your hate for those who deserve it.:mad: Update: clemency denied by Supreme Court. Yesssssss! Do I have perspective or what! :D

Interesting to see how many moves are happening in morning radio as stations refuse to sit on what they consider poor returns. And that pretty much holds for other timeslots as well.

But when it comes to sport it’s evident things are vastly different. There has only been a modicum of change at SEN over the last few years with Brownless leaving full-time to do part-time, some night shift changes, shuffling of regular guests, and, not much else. Oh, and of course, Steve Salisbury, whom I assure you is a really good bloke from what I know. His itinerary for attending sports events upon his return to the US makes it kind of sad we in Australia are left with just cricket (not on SEN) and the alphabet league in soccer. Nup, NBL doesn’t count with several NBA games on cable and OneHD. Tiger will be in and out faster than Mark-oh Allen’s birdies fly.

One come only assume SEN management understand, or believe, that sport is a niche market and ratings can’t be expected to improve much more than they have been. Or it is simply down to economics and some incumbent hosts working cheap, really cheap. Possibly like, sayyyyy, Mark Doran?

There’s a heap of never ending posts deriding the oiled one of afternoon goodness and information, here and the Fourth Estate thread that carries his name. In fairness it must be difficult to host a daily four-hour show, keeping it fresh, informative, and entertaining. Especially when, well, ya don’t know jack about much of anything.

The hate theme gets thrown around a lot in regards to some hosts and shows. Even one poster recently stated that he “despised” Born In The USA without even stating why. I believe most people try to accept most hosts if not like them, as evidenced by avid SEN listener, Manbearpig outing countless mistakes and laziness by Doran over the last couple of years until he apparently gave up listening to him. Some posters think others “hate” certain hosts simply because those others criticise particular styles or personalities.

Remember, this thread for critiquing SEN - good or bad, albeit with the latter having serious stroke over the former.

Hate is not for this thread, it’s for Islamofascists, Richard Ramirezes, and Dennis Fergusons.

Then again, bouts of contempt for Doran are unavoidable and make one constantly wonder why SEN continue with His Oilyness and his bumbling and stumbling through his shift. Or at least give him some help. Mutt Thompson, by the way doesn’t count as help. Unless you count a player’s alleged dodgy hamstring reported with the emotion and alarm of another 9/11.

Having personally banished You Blokes (except the Wednesday Turf time), Doran is mostly only sampled during car travel by myself.
I’m almost down to 1116TURF instead of 1116SEN.

Personally, it’s good to hear more of Doctor Turf if only for one glaring reason - he never sits on the fence regarding any topic, and he loathes PC.

As for Doran, while driving home one day listening to the Good One doing an interview with a guest, he fired up a little while discussing a topic. Doran thought he’d found a perfect cause and effect relationship for Collingwood’s demise in the 2009 season. The dismissal of Brad Scott from the Pies’ coaching staff on the eve of the finals. To back up his theory he referenced Port Adelaide’s removal of Alistair Clarkson from their staff in 2007 and the thrashing Port consequently received at the hands of the Cats.

Now, you don’t have to be a neurologist or even a bit-time footy fan to realize Doran just made Clarkson a premiership winning rookie coach in 2008. This kind of very poor work would not be tolerated on most radio here or abroad. The error is compounded by the fact that if he got the year correct he would have actually brought up the perfect counter point against his own argument. Port dismissed Clarkson in 2004 and actually went on to win their first ever flag. One can only shake their head listening to this goofball.

Later on before going to a break, Doran while indulging in banter with Mutt, and apparently after a barrage of text messages, made the correction not by retraction of his Pinheadness but by a sarcastic apology to Mark Williams (as if he’d be listening) for his getting the facts wrong. Then he quickly bailed to that break. SEN - Sports Embarrassment Network. Australia’s only sports station and they can’t get rights to our national sport.

Come on SEN, unless you’re competitive in the ratings it’s time to get Doctor Turf a daily gig; where’s Damien Fleming? Go and poach Dunstall or BT. Time for some change at SEN! Other stations are making changes - get with the program. And don’t worry about Mark Doran’s future, I can get him appropriate employment selling magazines at Southern Cross station.;)

Now, back to needle watch for the Washington sniper. It’s getting close. In the words of Marv Albert: Yesssssss!

Reserve your hate for those who deserve it.:mad: Update: clemency denied by Supreme Court. Yesssssss! Do I have perspective or what! :D

Good points. Is as if the station just accepts that the mediocrity of some of their shows is acceptable. Station making money? Yes. Ok, don't change a thing. You lot should hear the difference between shows here and shows in the US. I have spent time there and heard many many shows. You can hear them on the web, as well.

Pity about SEN not trying something daring. How about Dr Turf, Ed and Steve for the morning. It would be funny, high brow and something different. You have a clever marketing campaign, whet the appetites of listeners and get them across. Once they heard those three, you'd have many more listeners than You Blokes, Timmy and the driver seat.

Haha :D

Mutt Thompson, by the way doesn’t count as help. Unless you count a player’s alleged dodgy hamstring reported with the emotion and alarm of another 9/11.

what's wrong with "massive, HUGE story breaking down at Punt road. Ben Cousins has passed wind"

Come on SEN, unless you’re competitive in the ratings it’s time to get Doctor Turf a daily gig; where’s Damien Fleming? Go and poach Dunstall or BT. Time for some change at SEN! Other stations are making changes - get with the program. And don’t worry about Mark Doran’s future, I can get him appropriate employment selling magazines at Southern Cross station.

Flemmo was on the MMM breaky show this morning. he is a really good radio performer. i remember when he was on MG filling in for watson/lyon in the old days he was brilliant. real funny bloke too.

Pity about SEN not trying something daring. How about Dr Turf, Ed and Steve for the morning. It would be funny, high brow and something different. You have a clever marketing campaign, whet the appetites of listeners and get them across. Once they heard those three, you'd have many more listeners than You Blokes, Timmy and the driver seat.

Will never happen. i dont think there will be more listeners tuning in for them over watson and maher. imagine the uproar! "bloody yanks, what do you know about footy????". could you imagine a discussion not on footy for more than 5 mins?

Is it just me or does Patrick Smith sound different this week? Almost sounds like a completely different person.

its cause he's in person, rather than on the phone. its refreshing

was at the golf yesterday. made an effort to walk past in the arvo to see snoran. he wasnt there at the time, must've been in the media tent as a card carrying person

Heard Doran speaking to the boss of IMG [can't think of hisname] supposedly off air enquiring how things are at the station. Doran replied things could be better,yes Numbnuts if you were no longer on air things WOULD BE BETTER:rolleyes: