Autopsy The started-before-half-time All Time Insipid #norfball performance v. the team down the highway who shall not be named

What will that do? Leadership vacuum is due to decisions 10 years ago

How far back do we go? The 2016 reset was 8 years ago. I don’t believe we have the right people off field to move the club in the right direction.
Why you want a reset? We need to stick to a plan
I agree. Rawlings should have no part in it.
The contracts to CCJ, Corr, Stephenson and Tucker are woeful.
Not to mention the recent deals with Fisher and Stephens.
And don’t get me started on McDonald’s and Simpkins deals.
He shouldn’t be signing anything with anyone for our future sake.
Thats includes Xerri. There is no need to be signing him to a long term deal this early in the season because he tackles hard. If he fields other offers so be it. Stats mean f*** all

How the hell did X spend several years learning off Goldy and end up not be able to tap a ball to his own players.

The talent difference between X and Goldstein is so large it's impossible to describe.
He's been ok, but don't expect him to do stuff he's never and will never show.

Explaining this game as an experience gap is so dangerous. This isn't Geelong of 10 years ago. No Hawkins, no Guthrie, no Dangerfield etc. We got absolutely wiped by some blokes I have never heard of.

We're in short, medium and long term shit.

What would expect him to say? Something that isn't true?
Tell us something we don’t know?
Demand more from senior players who are on big coin and could not give a shit

I saw Stephens shit himself numerous times today.
Fishers efforts in the backline were disgusting.
They are mercenaries.

The biggest fraud of them all is Corr
Start holding these senior players to account at selection.

Keeping these same frauds in week in week out is killing confidence and form.

Biggie, Chom, Harry you could see the pain in their eyes at each goal kicked against us.
They know they have no support and won’t get coverage from McDonald and Corr.
I feel so sorry for these kids.

Realised we are paying a million a year for what looks like a washed up coach. Yikes.

Reckon there’s someone out there that could be doing better with the pile of shit he’s been handed to work with?.

How about we actually start holding the correct people accountable for once, Clarko didn’t put this list together.

When did North Ball become Chip Chip Chip ball?

Clarkson deserves some criticism for what we have served up in the first 5 weeks. We appear to be playing how we were pre his leave of absence.
Good call.
Deliberate tactic change by Clarko not to target the middle today. We didn’t use the corridor at all.
There was a clear change to use the wings to exit defensive 50 and we still conceded 21 goals.

He is starting to realise the cattle isn’t up to it, which is fair enough.
But interesting it’s been abandoned or atleast it was today.

When did North Ball become Chip Chip Chip ball?

Clarkson deserves some criticism for what we have served up in the first 5 weeks. We appear to be playing how we were pre his leave of absence.
Possible we’re trying a plan a and a plan b? Through the corridor at pace and then through a very strong tight zone with short kicks? Idk, there were times today where you could see it imo. I am drunk, however.

It may seem like a cop-out to blame all of what we've seen this year on a tough draw, but there are too many individual positives that despite our 0-5 start, I still feel like there's been an overall improvement from this team.

Drury, Ford, and Curtis combined well today. Curtis won't get his plaudits due to poor finishing, but I thought he did everything else well; five scoring shots is a decent day at the office. It's easy to forget Drury is still eligible for the rising star, and he might have done just enough to get his nomination this week.

Comben and Nyuon showed their inexperience at times but otherwise showed a ton of promise down back. KPD isn't the disaster area that we thought it was. Especially with Logue to return and Dawson developing in the VFL. Our medium and small stocks look a lot more troubling at the moment, but hopefully with Archer, Bergman, Hardeman, and George the answers are already on our list.

It's probably what we all expected
So I'm not that angry
The 1st qtr was solid
But the 2nd qtr was trash and it unravelled from there.
Pleased we fought it out to prevent 100pt loss even though it's kinda meaningless.

I think ultimately we just don't have the cattle to be competitive with Geelong the most experienced side in the league.

Positives

Comben some great strong defensive marks
Biggie very good
Drury best game so far
Ford & Curtis our most dangerous
Larkey tried hard
Sheezel the kid deserves to win :(

Negatives

Simpkin turnover merchant
LDU seemed off
Midfield in general beaten
Fisher meh
Duursma not much impact
Sellers non existent but forgiven
Red time goals

I'm glad that run of games against mostly top 4 sides is over
(GWS, Carlton, Lions, Geelong) Freo will be top 8.
AFL absolutely shafted us with that draw.

On to the Hawks I expect us to come out breathing fire
I'll be done for awhile if we get thrashed by them or show no effort.

Good call.
Deliberate tactic change by Clarko not to target the middle today. We didn’t use the corridor at all.
There was a clear change to use the wings to exit defensive 50 and we still conceded 21 goals.

Good to be back to the ‘treating the regular season as pre season’ M.O.

It’s a shitshow wrapped in a cluster**** bound by a disaster.

I want tough Clarko to make a comeback. I am a bit over this nice Clarko. The players need to be told some home truths and it doesnt look like thats happening. Time for some HARD decisions and the first one should be to drop the captain
Both of them.

The draw has been most unkind having played three 2023 Preliminary Finalists, Fremantle who look like a far better team than last year and Geelong who were Premiers in 2022 and playing like contenders again this season and have looked out of depth in at times in every game, but it has been disappointing that our performances have dropped away after some positive signs in the first three games. Now would have been the perfect time for a bye and go into some winnable games after a bit of a reset. Unfortunately, it's not to be so now Clarko is going to have to get our kids up and firing for the Hawthorn game after two beltings at the hands of Brisbane and Geelong.

It will be interesting to know if what happened at Bondi yesterday and the upsetting and tragic link to the club had an effect on the players, they didn't look all there today.

If Dawson is fit to play next week, he should come in for Corr and Nyuon, Biggie was pretty good today while that was one of Corr's worst performances.
Scott looks a little out of his depth down back and needs to be moved back to the wing, he is a better option than Stephens.
Sheezel needs to spend more time in the middle, he looks so dangerous in the forward half and his ability to find a target inside 50 was elite.
Stop Xerri taking the ball out the ruck, it's not working and his teammates aren't reacting quickly enough to assist him.
Perfect

Tell us something we don’t know?
Demand more from senior players who are on big coin and could not give a s**t

I saw Stephens s**t himself numerous times today.
Fishers efforts in the backline were disgusting.
They are mercenaries.

The biggest fraud of them all is Corr
Start holding these senior players to account at selection.

Keeping these same frauds in week in week out is killing confidence and form.

Biggie, Chom, Harry you could see the pain in their eyes at each goal kicked against us.
They know they have no support and won’t get coverage from McDonald and Corr.
I feel so sorry for these kids.

I agree with all of that. But no coach does that in the presser.

I come in Peace. Just on Clarko, as ive discussed with a Nth mate of mine, at the Hawks, Clarko had the luxury of unreal drafts, early picks, that got him the likes of Rioli, Buddy, Mitchell, Hodge, Lewis, Roughead, stars, that went onto win 3 premierships for him. He has not had that at Nth, its lot harder now. drafts are more even, tougher. Also , whose the genius who thought of this fixture, a young team v an old very experienced team on old teams home deck, where they know every blade of grass.?? This match should have been at Marvel at least. .
Agreed . But they could play in Clarkson's back yard and still get smashed.

Good call.

What we don’t have the cattle for is chip chip chip possession footy. We are still the most scored team against on turn over, so I’m not sure what his realisation is protecting.

Never seen a side make unforced turnovers like us. Can’t even tell if Clarko’s game plan is sh*t or not as I assume it doesn’t involve Bailey Scott and Jy Simpkin missing 15 metre kicks by 10 metres under no pressure

Opposition teams have taken away our run through the middle of the ground.
Sure they have. Which means we need multiple avenues for transitioning the football. Unfortunately we are also persisting with “senior” guys like Tucker, Jy, Scott etc. who cannot execute fundamental skills. So anything that isn’t Powell or Sheezel breaks down and results in a turn over.

Northball held up decently for the first three weeks, but has looked awful at the skinny Norwood Oval and GMHBA Stadium against two of the stingiest defences in the AFL.

I think it's fair to reserve judgment for a few weeks. We play the worst backline we'll be facing all year next week, but the expectation has to be that we score 100+ points.

If Clarko says "We know where we are at" in his press conference again I will spew. Obviously we also know where we are at and we don't like it one bit!

Autopsy The started-before-half-time All Time Insipid #norfball performance v. the team down the highway who shall not be named