The Swans v Giants "Rivalry".

Baby steps.
You want them to just not bother at all do you ? Just leave it up to the average westie to slowly come around over a 50yr timeframe maybe ?
A new club that is constantly losing each week sitting in rugby league heartland just thrown to the wolves and all that money invested at risk ?..when you have an easy option of at least trying to kick start something ?

How about you go invest 100 mill in a whiz bang new improved 4 minute abs machine... and dont even try flogging it.

They listen to that moron Phil Gould...so they cant be that smart to start with.

Surely I'm not the only one who thinks that this will become, in time, a massive rivalry? Due to geographic and socio-economic factors this has the potential to become a Silvertails vs. Fibros type rivalry.

The Swans have been accused of sipping more chardonney than the WC Eagles
and the WS are more fibro than Collingwood so I don't think it'll take that long at all.
Sydney is a massive city so it could generate a massive rivalry.

The shits not going to happen on field but off field. Last reports our attendences have dropped by the wayside this year and yes it has to do with the redevelopment of the SCG but also becasue people who were casual swans fans have now decided to go and follow GWS..all 2k of them.

About as credible as the cricket big bash team rivalries.... ie not very. A stupid concept by the afl

It gladdens me that you're not on the AFL marketing team.
I've seen the Dockers/Eagles grow into a mighty stouch from lowly begginnings.
It was a fantastic start to the season with Swans vs Giants.
This second game will be a lot more significant.
The potential and the differences between the derby sides is much greater for the Swans/Giants than the Eagles/Dockers.

It gladdens me that you're not on the AFL marketing team.
I've seen the Dockers/Eagles grow into a mighty stouch from lowly begginnings.
It was a fantastic start to the season with Swans vs Giants.
This second game will be a lot more significant.
The potential and the differences between the derby sides is much greater for the Swans/Giants than the Eagles/Dockers.

Do you see everything AFL related with rose coloured glasses?

a) It was not a fantastic start to the season. A lot of people had the view that season started the following week. It was an embarrassing way to showcase the game.

b) The second game will be exactly like the first game, sure the franchise team will show some fight but it will blow out in the end.

Stop drinking the cool aid and see it for what it really is.

Do you see everything AFL related with rose coloured glasses?

a) It was not a fantastic start to the season. A lot of people had the view that season started the following week. It was an embarrassing way to showcase the game.

b) The second game will be exactly like the first game, sure the franchise team will show some fight but it will blow out in the end.

Stop drinking the cool aid and see it for what it really is.

Magnificently put. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Should definitely be called the "Cannibal Cup", coz that's all it's doing to the existing AFL market in Sydney.

Don't agree that it is cannibalizing the Sydney market. Some swans supporters may have drifted over but by and large, it will grow the market.

All of my mates who are rugby boys now talk about GWS and the Swans. That's twice what they used to. Organic growth will take many years but I reckon they'll get there...in around the same time it took the Swans (20+ years).

I'd think that Sydney would want to belt the sh1t out of GWS for as long as they can and that GWS would want to upstage Sydney.

I'd say that there would be a genuine rivalry.

All of my mates who are rugby boys now talk about GWS and the Swans. That's twice what they used to. Organic growth will take many years but I reckon they'll get there...in around the same time it took the Swans (20+ years).

Do they like, talk about it every single minute? Or was it just a passing comment that was passed over within 30 seconds?

So far no one i know of has not embraced the code or taken a slight interest because of GWS. In fact there's been more ridicule about the code and much more of the "Like watching seagulls fight for a chip" type of comments which i hardly heard a few years ago.

And 20 years of just wasting money to build a small supporter base is just pathetic. But hey Andy D needs these franchises to work or else the fat campaigner doesnt get an annual half a mil payrise.

And 20 years of just wasting money to build a small supporter base is just pathetic. But hey Andy D needs these franchises to work or else the fat silly doesnt get an annual half a mil payrise.

Just replying to your comment to express regret that I can't give it a "like" vote more than once. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Your quote I've highlighted is the best analysis yet of this contemptible franchise experiment.

Don't agree that it is cannibalizing the Sydney market. Some swans supporters may have drifted over but by and large, it will grow the market.

I think in 20 years the AFL will have cut their losses and they'll now be the Tasmanian Giants

They'll do something to upset me, like beating us, eventually. Until then I'm a well-wisher. Probably still afterwards, given the games in Canberra.

22626967.jpg

I gotta say that a lot of Giants fans and member's I've encountered really respect the Swans for their resilience, their success and the way they go about their footy.

But a time will come when kids come through and there'll be 15 - 20 year olds who can't remember a time when there was only one AFL team in Sydney.

Between now and then, there's a lot that can happen that can cause a rivaly between the two sides.. On-field, off-field, either way when the two teams run out against each other you'll know a win will mean a lot to both sides.

It's not a rivalry yet, but odds are that as the years go on, being the only 2 teams in town wil mean they'll become rivals.

The AFL is guilty of pre-empting the market, nothing more.

Half the reason for putting GWS in would be to build a natural rivalry with the Swans. Build the rivalry, build the overall interest in AFL up there.

See all the Swans come back bleating in a few years time when GWS hand out regular beltings to them.

And 20 years of just wasting money to build a small supporter base is just pathetic.

Average attendances thus far in 2012:

GWS .................................13,676
Manly-Warringah.........13,580
Cronulla-Sutherland.....13,203
Gold Coast Titans...........12,342
Sydney Roosters...............11,418
Penrith Panthers...............11,331
Canberra Raiders...............10,241

In their first year GWS - who have won just one game - are averaging higher crowds than 6 nRL clubs in League heartland (and they still have their Collingwood home game to come). Don't dismiss their support base, it may be small by AFL standards, but this is their first year. They've done well to build a support foundation which they will grow over the next 20 years. As the Giants grow the significance and size of the Sydney Derby will grow with them, but it's the one thing the AFL can't force. It will happen eventually. The Giants will win one, there'll be a dirty act in a game, an all in melee, a finals face-off, and the rivalry will explode organically.

Let's not forget this is the week before Origin III. The fact that this game is being mentioned at all in the Sydney media can only be considered a big step forward.

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-sport/jack-praises-two-afl-teams-in-sydney-20120626-2104b.html

There are a LOT of Sydney Swans fans and ex pats who are going to GWS to support the code or to stick it up the NRL and to do their part in making sure Sydney becomes an AFL dominated city. These are the foot soldiers the AFL have enlisted.

Mate Sydney differs from Victoria. I am 100% certain that if the NRL was a vic game (oh the shock the horror!) they would have the same numbers as AFL at games.

There are a lot of things to do in Sydney other than sitting in a stadium in the freezing cold eating over priced cold pies and chips whilst going feral because some nuffty said your club sucks.

In Melbourne once you get over visting the "laneways" and maybe a few art galleries the place is flipping boring so you either go hang out with the cool kids in some dank depressing bar/cafe (pref anywhere inner north) and talk about how awesome you are cause your from melbourne OR you can watch footy all weekend.

Apart from that there is absolutely **** all to see and do in Melbourne. Nada, zilch.

The Swans v Giants "Rivalry".