WSYD The Sydney Celtics

Got any data to back those comments up fabulousphil?

Just because the mothers imposed their religion, doesn't mean they have any celtic affinity. The female society back then was not as independant at the time

Just remember reading about it ..... look i reckon the western sydney celts sounds OK to me ....... you dont have to be a Viking (or viking descent) to barrack for the Canberra raiders.... but its not going to happen.

Mothers have more influence than you give them credit for ....... irish catholics are generally IMO much more fervant about their religion and culture than poms were about their brand of christianity.

we're going to keep going around in circles

we both agree its not going to happen, we can agree to disagree on the rest.

cheers

Convicts tried in Ireland were also different from their English counterparts – far more of them were women, more were married and juveniles were fewer. The men were, on average, two years older than English, Welsh and Scots offenders, and the criminal records that they brought with them were more likely to be minor. Robbery and theft of animals were crimes for which the Irish were overrepresented, and minor thefts predominated.
The Irish in Australia p.25

Australia’s assisted Irish immigrants were overwhelmingly rural people who came especially from the modernising parts of the economy, where rural change from tillage to pasture threatened status and prospects. They included high proportions of Catholics and extraordinary high rates of female migration, which served to correct the sex-imbalance of the colonial populations.The Oxford Companion to Australian History p.350

http://www.ncs.net.au/history/essay_15.html

Ok ... we can agree to disagree but just thought i would post this anyway ;)

cheers.

Celtics, Shamrocks, Gaelics...............none of them will happen. How do I know? Because I'm bloody Australian!!!!! Sixth generation, descended from Irish settlers, but do I give a toss????????????????????????? Do I speak Irish or Gaelic????????????????????????????? Aaaghhhhhh!

Irish Convicts make up a very small part of the Irish Dispora in Australian history. The majority of the Irish in Australian came out to Australia in the 1850's at the time of the Irish famine and during the gold rush. Most of these Irish were Free settlers, not convicts.

Sydney Celtic is a great idea and it will work. I am a 5th generation Irish Australian and I truely believe it will be a success. It will have a world wide interest and will have great success in a country that has the highest concentration of Irish dispora than anywhere in the world.

But I do think it maybe better if the team was based in Tasmania and named the "Tassie Celts".

I am English of Irish descent and already support a team. I am very proud of my Irish heritage but wonder if any lessons have been learnt from soccer's disastrous history of basing sides on ethnic origins rather than locations !

I would not support a side just because it has Irish links despite the pride in my heritage, but if I was not of Irish descent or was, but had little connection with it. I would find it hard to support that side.

A few years ago when the soccer federation were looking at a national competition. Perth Azzuri and East Fremantle Tricolore got together to form Perth Italia as the Western Australian representative side. They were both strong clubs with very strong support, but automatically the Greeks, Croatians, Portugese, English and Australians had their backs up as they felt excluded.

You're underestimating the Irish Diaspora (forget the actual Irish, there's only about 6 million of them) of some 80 million people strong. The branding of something 'Celtic' definitely can't hurt. The Irish diaspora is renowned for rabid and fanatical following of sport.

Would I belong to the 80 million demographic?

If so, then I think you are overestimating it, looking at my family from both sides. Hell, one of them considers themselves distant Italian, even though they are half Irish.

Celtics, Shamrocks, Gaelics...............none of them will happen. How do I know? Because I'm bloody Australian!!!!! Sixth generation, descended from Irish settlers, but do I give a toss????????????????????????? Do I speak Irish or Gaelic????????????????????????????? Aaaghhhhhh!

You are one of the 80 million passionate Irish Diaspora, fool.

Yay Ireland.

This is a nothing issue but Boston have a team called the Celtics and most of their players are African American. There wouldn't have to be many Irish players if there was a Sydney Celtics team.

Boston’s Celtics, Glasgow Celtic, Notre Dame Fighting Irish or London Irish Rugby - These clubs are part of the Irish diaspora - The actual players of the teams don't have to be part of the Irish diaspora, but if they do then they tend to become fan favourites.

The Celtic brand name for a club is for the supporters only - NOT THE PLAYERS.
The AFL are planning on using this Sydney Celtics club as a GAA connection to the AFL, it will allow the Irish players who are amateurs to become professional in what they do best. Therefore the new team will consist of Gaelic Footy stars, who are Irish citizens. This will be a world first!
All the other Irish diaspora clubs have a small number or no Irish citizens in there ranks at all, for example Boston Celtics. Although the supporters are a part of the Irish diaspora and they make up a huge number for these clubs.

Re: AFL considering an Irish dominated team in NSW named " Sydney Celtics " ..

West Sydney will fail no matter what you want to call them. Personally I like West Sydney Venom...I'll horde that merchandise to flog on e-bay 5 years after they fold.:thumbsu:

WSYD The Sydney Celtics