The Tambling Drafting Clanger pales into insignificance when considering Cotchin over Rioli.

I don't know. So far, if you said "who is the best player"? then the argument would be Rioli vs Palmer.

HOwever, you really can't judge clangers on first year decisions. In that case, LIndsay Thomas has shown more than Mitch Thorp, so by your reasoning, Thorp should have only been picked at 40+. Clearly not the case.

Cotchin is injured, so he can't exactly do too much. Look at the other mids/smaller players taken before Rioli, aside from Cotchin.

Morton has shown a fair bit, and you must admit, it's difficult for a player to shine, when 1/2 the guys around you, can't successfully master the drop punt.

Myers isn't AFL ready, and the Bombers have sufficient cover of his "type" of player. The fact of the matter is that Cyril was drafted because he met the needs of the Hawks.

In fact, going through, the only player that raises eyebrows is Patty Veszpremi.

Looking back on it now, if the Hawks were drafting purely on "needs" rather than best player, Cyril Rioli would have "fitted" the need more than any.

Dawk fans forget that they chose Roughnuts, bulldogs chose griffen, It was common knowledge that Buddy had an attitude bigger than his talent, he also had some off field issues, They will struggle to stop him going to WC for $1,000,000 PA.
Tambling on the other hand will prove his worth for the RFC.

He was nicknamed Bling because of his surname tamBLING

Buddy's debunked every myth that's existed about him since day one...attitude problem will hamper him, one trick pony, can't take contested marks, inconsistent.
Hilarious that the best you've got now is that we'll struggle to keep him because he's worth so much.

As for Rioli, has been superb. Is rubbish people suggesting his pace is all he's got, Tambling had lightning pace since day one, and he wasn't worth the sweat off my sack.
Funnily enough, its primarily the usual suspects trying to denigrate Rioli, nothing to do with the club he plays for of course.

Even if we could have taken Rioli, we wouldn't have. We have an excess of that type of player...

Wow....just, wow.

Don't watch much football do you?
Got anything else besides cliches to throw at me?

Palmer is having a greater influence on games than Rioli at present, that is not to say I don't rate Rioli, but at present (and it has been recognised by a rising star nomination) Palmer is more of a standout.

This is all of course my humble and biased opinion ;)

This has to be the worst thread in history, saying that a 17yo who has been injured up until 2 weeks ago is so much worse than a guy who has played 5 AFL games and should have been pick 1 in front of Kruezer, Masten, Ebert, Morton, Meyers, etc.:confused:

No, it doesn't.

This is a poor troll H2F, I expect better.

Try waiting more than 5 games before you write off a guy who will be ten times the player Rioli is.

FWIW Kruezer, Morton and Palmer will all have better careers then Cyril Rioli ..
Another pathetic troll from HacktoFranklin ...

Turn it up ... Alwyn is a fat slower version of Cyril.
Not denying he has skill, but Cyril reminds me of a slightly fitter Dean Rioli, and Dean Rioli was unfulfilled potential, but always seemed to be completely up himself about his miniscule achievements

Richmond have enough forward pockets in Deledio and Tambling. They didnt need another one. They needed a fast clearance winner like Chris Masten. Sad thing for Tigers is it looks like Cotchin wont even play a AFL game due to injury. A even funnier thing however is that the only reason Tigers picked up Cotchin was because our recruiting team told them it was a good idea :D
He'll play after the bye ya flog

Maybe you can help me out here Big Cox, because I said in numerous threads that Masten was ten times the player Cotchin was... Before the start of the season...

Everyone will conveniently forget that though.
You have finally proved what a drop kick you are .Who takes any notice of you. Your laughable

Shit brick, nice one, thats about all you can do when you are losing isn't it pimple lips.
Oh and I see the welfare thing is still popular with you.
If only you knew.
Suck it up princess, mummy and daddy will make it all better for you.
They might super size your happy meal.
Good to see you still don't have a life, haven't grown up at all and spend your entire pathetic excuse for a life on big footy, hating richmond.
You are a joke tubby.
Loser in the dictionary has you at number 2.
the people who joined there deformed cells to create you are in first position.
You provide me with comic relief after a hard days WORK, something you wouldn't know a thing about, it is impossible that you do anything other than sit your tubby ass in front of your computer, based on the overload of crap that you supply to the footy loving public everyday.
THAT IS GOLD

blablablablablablabla......

Rioli is the standout pick in last years draft....STANDOUT....he has it all and has been brilliant all year....not good or excellent BRILLIANT....he has NO weakness whatsoever....no use comparing him to anyone he is in a league of his own just as Buddy is....Infact he is a miniture Buddy.

He is the ONLY player that Andrew Russell (fitness coach) at Hawthorn has seen complete a full pre-season in there first year at a club...

He completed ALL SESSIONS and did a FULL pre-season which in his opinion is remarkable for a kid in his first pre-season...He did the same load as the senior more experienced and hardened players did....you can obviously hardly tell because he can't run out games can he and has been found wanting and blowing gaskets after each match..plus as some of you would have it he's a fat Pig right...:rolleyes:

Palmer, Morton and Kruezer have been solid but nothing more.

Anyone who's comparing this kid with anyone else of a similar background and stature for that matter are in lala land...there is no better and there has been no better PLAYER to come into the AFL .......EVER...including JUDD, Hodge and the rest.

He makes seasoned opponents look second rate...that's right second rate...he is head and shoulders the best talent and best performed player to come out of last years draft and then some...

The drainpipe Russell put it perfectly commentating last week....The kid is that far ahead of any other kid out of last years draft its laughable....Healy, Jakovich, Dunstall, and Darcy have all said the same thing after watching this kid play...but what do they know.....and anyone who has seen him play and thinks otherwise is obviously watching Stokes play and not Rioli.

The Kid is and WILL be a superstar and no-one has ever started off there AFL career better....NO-ONE

Only 5 games my ass, you don't lose your ability through experience , you get better....the kid is in 1st gear and tearing it up..he is not contributing...he is starring and in 1st gear....god help the opposition when he gets some experience.

...but he hasn't been nominted for a rising star yet he can't be that good...

BWAHAHAHHAHAHA..

give me a break..... like i need some BS media award to validate what im seeing...wake up to yourselves the Kid is a superstar...but wait he can't be he hasn't played 10 years of footy yet.....grow up FFS.

It's happenoing before your very eyes...i don't need to wait 10 years to validate my thoughts on what's actually happening today ..but some of you are a bit slow on the uptake and you need that time to reflect ..go figure.

Oh and while im at it Buddy has done Sweet FA aswell and again only time will tell if he's any good..

Bwahahahahhahhhaahaha.....

by yrs end tambling will be number 2 behind buddy in re-worked 04 draft. bookmark it.

Tambling will never be as good as Delidio, Roughy, Lewis or Griffen. These guys have already shown plenty and you forget to consider that these guys will still improve also. Tambling has great speed and skill but his mental toughness is a concern.

blablablablablablabla......

...there is no better and there has been no better PLAYER to come into the AFL .......EVER...including JUDD, Hodge and the rest.

BWAHAHAHHAHAHA..

give me a break.....

Bwahahahahhahhhaahaha.....

Wow! So in other words you reckon he goes all right the boy Cyril? Just make sure you close your eyes when he cums because i hear it stings like a bitch:eek:

Or anyone over Rioli for that matter.

Only people who have not seen the first 5 Hawk games will disagree.

Rioli should have gone number one in last years draft.

Well done Hawks ...

Gee it's all sunny when things are going well hey? It will all end in tears eventually. Aaron Davey will tell you.

The Tambling Drafting Clanger pales into insignificance when considering Cotchin over Rioli.