The Team 2013

Wood Roughy Morris
JJ Talia/Williams Howard
Wallis Libba Draftee
Dahl Jones Higgins
Cordy Roberts Dickson
Minson Boyd Griffen

I can tell I forgot about a lot of players but I would be happy with something similar happening.

I won't bother dealing with draft picks till we know who we get.

Just a few gut feelings here:

Hoping Fletch. R. and Dickson in particular have huge pre-seasons in the gym.
Suspect Fletch will be a swing man in 2013, after that ???, might settle at one end or the other, depending what happens with others though. But believe he will be a ripper.

Wonder if Crossy might do a Libba Sen., and reinvent himself. He showed some great stuff in the backline during this season on occasions. Would see him spending most of his time down back, then sharp bursts as our centreman to relieve Wall., little Libba and Boyd, while they take bench time. Plus a teaching role in there. Don't waste him by putting him out on a wing...does not suit his skills versus deficiency/pace sets.

Roughy and Talia as KPD's with Marko and Austin as reserves/back-up options.

Once the final lists are issued toward year's end it will be interesting to see if Panos is still with us. If so they must have definite plans for him. They won't hang on to him for another season, and still not play him thats for sure.

Williams to play forward.

Addison as our defensive forward, may even replace Gia [ even if it were on pace alone...ha, ha]. 2014 on Hunter may fill this role.

Coony as a small/med forward when his knee is ok, Gia [ the next Super Sub] when it is not.

Ayce as a forward pocket/second ruck.

A huge amount depends on if Morris comes up or not. The fate of our season pretty much hangs on it really.

I suspect we will inject a mix of Tutt, JJ, Pearce etc for some pace.

As I said at the start, obviously who we pick up in the draft might change a lot of ideas here, but I can't see B Mac pushing a lot of new kids up regularly, unless they have real mature bodies.

It will be an interesting year to see what happens with Redders, he could be anything or nothing, hard to tell yet. Same with Zephi.

Hoping to see Tim Membrey on the list
Austin as a lose in the backline
Grant to finally do something and keep him forward he is not a back man
Wood to be a star in the backline all year
Clay to really cement his spot
Tutt to get over his injures and start playing some games
id like to see Vez play Gia's role
Roughie i think will be able to hold down FB and Austin as the lose would help cover

Still thinking of the rest, I'm pretty optimistic about next year, even though i can't see us winning many games i think the team will show great development and really start to come together and we will start to know which of the pups will cement there spots.

A huge amount depends on if Morris comes up or not. The fate of our season pretty much hangs on it really.
In what way? Surely having Morris up and about for 22 games wouldn't get us into the finals? I think the fate of our 2013 season was largely decided by decisions made 2-4 years back.

I see our 2013 position probably in the range 14th-18th next year with a slight chance of getting as high as 10-13 (but would be very surprised if so).

In what way? Surely having Morris up and about for 22 games wouldn't get us into the finals? I think the fate of our 2013 season was largely decided by decisions made 2-4 years back.

I see our 2013 position probably in the range 14th-18th next year with a slight chance of getting as high as 10-13 (but would be very surprised if so).

My thinking DW is that the backline now consists largely of kids [ think Roughy, Talia, Fletch R. etc.]. They need the guidance of a mature, experienced
and knowledgeable general down there with them.
As to what I said re our season depending on this, I am not expecting a big increase in our win/loss ratio, merely that I want to see a season more like the first half of 2012, and less like the second half.

Without Moz down back with the kids we will see plenty more floggings, which will do nothing for our back 6's, or the teams development or confidence and self belief going forward.
If he can help keep us competitive, while teaching the kids how to play their roles well, to me that will make the difference between a development season, and an out and out disaster.

Does someone want to post a non-fantasy team from say Rd 15 2013?

What does it look like without Cooney, Morris, Williams, Gia, Higgins and one of Cross, Murphy and Boyd?

That's what we'll be likely be missing.

Looking a bit further into the future. Not convinced Williams will be gone by then... Or Higgins for that matter. Not based on age anyhow.

Very quickly and not without flaws - I might be playing a few out of position in order to make up a 22 here.....

FB: JJ Roughead Talia
HB: Pearce Roberts Howard
C: Wood Wallis Griffen
HF: Hunter Jones Dahl
F: Dickson Cordy Tutt
R: Minson Libba Picken
I: Boyd, Williams, Smith
S: Higgins

Gone: Morris, Murphy, Cross, Gia, Cooney (of the recent mainstays of the list).

Dependent on who we draft and how they develop, people like Jong, Campbell, Panos, Redpath, Grant, Austin, Skinner could come in or out of the side.

Looking a bit further into the future. Not convinced Williams will be gone by then... Or Higgins for that matter. Not based on age anyhow.

Very quickly and not without flaws - I might be playing a few out of position in order to make up a 22 here.....

FB: JJ Roughead Talia
HB: Pearce Roberts Howard
C: Wood Wallis Griffen
HF: Hunter Jones Dahl
F: Dickson Cordy Tutt
R: Minson Libba Picken
I: Boyd, Williams, Smith
S: Higgins

Gone: Morris, Murphy, Cross, Gia, Cooney (of the recent mainstays of the list).

Dependent on who we draft and how they develop, people like Jong, Campbell, Panos, Redpath, Grant, Austin, Skinner could come in or out of the side.
Lets just turn to Melbourne and follow their example by getting rid of any experienced players! Worked well for them..

I think you should read before you post. Someone asked for a team of the future, without the senior players.....

Wow, hard to pick a team during the season let alone before the draft and before we have even started pre season lol....so I won't even try.

Most interesting however is how we structure.... Will Roughy continue to play back, especially now that Brian is gone. Will Tommy Williams continue to be used forward? Who will be CHB? Maybe Jones? FF? Cords?

Certainly we'll be inexperienced in key position, but still plenty of experience and class on the flanks and on ball.

Have to let the trade and draft periods settle so we know what we got, I expect the likes of Tutt and Howard to push next year. I liked what we got from JJ and Jongy late, but it's a bit much expecting them to dominate next year. No doubt Talia will have a role, again don't expect he'll play 22 games.

It looks likely that we will be mostly getting youngsters in, 3 picks inside 25 so they should be decent players. Especially the first 2. I think it's good thing....I really don't like top up fringe players.....I reckon Melbourne is making mistakes with their recruitment of players from other clubs....time will tell I guess.

the trick is getting the draft right......we have a great opportunity this year to get that right.

Cant believe no-one is starting the Z-factor

FB JJ Roughy Morris
HB Bob Austin Wood
C Tutt Boyd Higgins
HF Jones TW #6
FF Zeph Dickson Picken
Rucks Minson Griffen Smith
Int: Grant, Wallis, Libb, Coon

emerg; Howard, Cordy, Campbell, Pick 5 & 6

Austin hasn't been offered a new contract yet and he's starting to get a bit worried. You'd think with Lake gone that he'd a least get another year as a rookie

Absolutely... For a guy on (supposedly) his last chance, he performed very well and deserves another year on the list.

Cant believe no-one is starting the Z-factor

FB JJ Roughy Morris
HB Bob Austin Wood
C Tutt Boyd Higgins
HF Jones TW #6
FF Zeph Dickson Picken
Rucks Minson Griffen Smith
Int: Grant, Wallis, Libb, Coon

emerg; Howard, Cordy, Campbell, Pick 5 & 6
I'd put a heap of cash on skinner being delisted in 12 months time. Doesn't have the fitness or intensity for afl footy. He wouldn't last 5 minutes in a final, let alone a GF.

Generous, i give it 3 weeks.

Whoah. Loving that everyone's team is completely devoid of our most experienced and best players.

B: Austin, Markovic/Morris, Roughead
HB: Murphy, Williams/Talia, Wood/Pearce/JJ
C: Boyd, Wallis, Picken
HF: Dahlhaus,Gia/Williams, Dickson
F: Cooney, Jones, Higgins
R: Minson, Griffen, Liberatore
INT: Cross, Cordy, Smith
SUB: Grant/Howard/Roberts/Campbell

So many possibilities really. Add in the draft picks and you've got a selection headache. Naturally though, it's a headache in theory mostly, because as much as we'd like to pretend all those guys are AFL standard, they really aren't and we're going to have to keep playing our experienced fellows as much as possible. Morris still needs to recover from his injuries and yes. It's all up in the air.

In other words. TOO HARD FOR MY INFERIOR BRAIN

B: Wood, Roughead, Roberts/Morris
HB: Murphy, Talia, JJ
C: Griffen, Wallis, Picken
HF: Dahlhaus, Jones, Dickson
F: Gia, Cordy/Williams, Higgins
R: Minson, Boyd, Liberatore
INT: Cross, Grant, Smith
SUB: Howard/Pearce/Cooney/Pick 5,6/Hunter

Depends on Morris/Williams being fit which I highly doubt Williams will be able to do as he is the unluckiest guy. Don't see any glaring weakness other then the spine is ridiculously inexperienced. We really do have a lot of competition for the smaller spots as I would love to be able to put Howard/Pearce into the side.

Wouldn't mind seeing Roberts used as a swing man as he looks good both in the backline and forward line.

Really feel for Addison - did a really good job this year and worked really hard, but still can't find a way into our line ups. Rotten luck, but that's footy.
Yes, well I guess that's the reason we're the fans and not coaches.

B: Wood, Roughead, Roberts/Morris
HB: Murphy/Howard/Vez, Talia, JJ/Pearce/Higgins
C: Griffen, Wallis, Picken/Cross
HF: Dahlhaus, Jones, Dickson
F: Gia/Grant, Cordy/Williams, Cooney
R: Minson, Boyd, Liberatore
INT: Smith, Pick 5,6, Hunter
SUB: PANOS!

Think that'll be the basis of of a great team in 2014/2015 with those draft picks too

GO DOGS

The Team 2013