News The Western Front Launch Video

i really think it's great. just nailed how i feel about the club and where i live.
while the video embraces our history, and highlights pride in our achievements, it makes no mistake that our focus is forward and creating new history.

i think the vid is aimed at two groups
1- the folks who've jumped off for feeling dissociated from the club after it became 'western bulldogs', changed to modern jumpers and moved home grounds, and
2- new residents in the west who aren't committed to clubs...young'uns, immigrants from interstate / overseas.

i'm gonig to go watch it again....

Probably none of the above. More so to explicitly state that all those stories and similar are our shared story because the West is ours. IMO the club is explicitly stating that the FFC is a team of the west and for the west. That can never change, it is the core of our identity.

It is the sort of campaign that I feel has been lacking from the 'Western' re branding exercise for many, many years.

Once again I find myself completely agreeing with SOS on this. Why wasn't this part of the re-brand years ago. It strikes a perfect balance of past, present and future of not only the club but of the interconnectedness of the club and the West as a whole.

"Western Front was a term used during the First and Second World Wars to describe the contested armed frontier between lands controlled by Germany to the east and the Allies to the west. A contested armed frontier during a war is called a "front".

There was also an Eastern Front in both World War I and World War II."
Wikipedia

So where are we going to draw the trench lines?
Exactly which territory are we to claim as our own?
Which suburbs are we going to include as allies?
Who are going to represent the Germans?
Are those non-Bulldog supporters living in "our" territory going to be called traitors?
What about our compatriots living on foreign soil?

Things to think about.

"Western Front was a term used during the First and Second World Wars to describe the contested armed frontier between lands controlled by Germany to the east and the Allies to the west. A contested armed frontier during a war is called a "front".

There was also an Eastern Front in both World War I and World War II."
Wikipedia

So where are we going to draw the trench lines?
Exactly which territory are we to claim as our own?
Which suburbs are we going to include as allies?
Who are going to represent the Germans?
Are those non-Bulldog supporters living in "our" territory going to be called traitors?
What about our compatriots living on foreign soil?

Things to think about.

I'd be quite pleased to see any kid in anything but a dogs jumper on casual day at primary schools from Footscray to Melton to Weribee beat within an inch of their lives.

If it is good enough to live in the West, if the Inner West is good enough for these yuppies who are gentrifying everything, then so is our footy club. And so.

Death to all but Scraggers.

Yeah, who was the voice over? Boydy? Simon Garlick?

I reakon it's targeting businesses for sponsorship - growth blah blah blah.

Plus, a 3 minute add does not addeth uppeth to affordability on TV or radio.

Luke Darcy.

I think you'll find they will have a few tie ins which will identify with the campaign on the radio etc. From what I can gather from the other night and the way this one is panning out, the focus is on social media at the moment.

They even tried a bit of a viral ad with the teaser and so on.

I'd be quite pleased to see any kid in anything but a dogs jumper on casual day at primary schools from Footscray to Melton to Weribee beat within an inch of their lives.

If it is good enough to live in the West, if the Inner West is good enough for these yuppies who are gentrifying everything, then so is our footy club. And so.

Death to all but Scraggers.

That wont be guaranteed as theyre are many in the West who live there and support other clubs. In the East where I live there is a diverse support for all the clubs from what I have seen. Obvisouly in my area you get more supporters of Richmond, Collingwood etc than other clubs. There is not really one team that represents the north and the east. The video is showing that our club has a strong connection to the West as we are the only team based out that way.

You have a rare talent for stating the bleedin obvious. I rather enjoyed the imagery SOS’s post provided of children being brutalised in the playground for their wrong choices. Gotta love the raw side of big footy. I hope the social media strategy doesn’t sanitize things too much and some continue to veer well off message.

I like it. It says the club was built on honesty and hard work......the club has strong foundations. But it recognises that things must change or you will be left behind...whether it be the region or the club. It respects our past but it looks to the future. It ties the Western Bulldogs brand to the region. The two are inextricably linked and this forms a platform for the future. Good work.:thumbsu:

Some people have got it.
It's a brand-building exercise that's trying to lock in an association with (and ownership of) the western suburbs. Whether or not it sells many 2012 memberships it will deliver a greater benefit if there is some enduring link with the WB set up in people's minds (esp. the people living in the west).

It's about pride in who we are and where we come from. Getting rid of any western suburbs cringe (Linkman notwithstanding). It also sends a similar signal to people NOT living in the western suburbs that the club has more than bogans supporting it, so you too can support it without fear of being branded a bogan by association. Some of them even drink lattes, like you! (2:42)

And it's not a magic wand - it won't change anyone's mind on one viewing but after a while, with repeated and follow-up exposure, the message starts to sink in. (Sort of like how hearing the Bunnings ads lots of times makes you think they actually DO have the cheapest prices. Clever marketing!)

However it does nothing for me as a long time expat from Melbourne or anyone else outside Vic. Indeed clubs like Collingwood, Carlton and Essendon have no need to draw on regional support like this. Their market has long since transcended the Melbourne suburbs and is now a national (or even global) brand. In that sense they are way ahead of us, but I guess we have to stake our claim wherever we can get support and memberships. Only when we are strong in Melbourne can we hope to commandeer a greater share of the national market.

As some have noticed it is an attempt to bury any "bring back Footscray" initiative. I can't see us changing from the WB any time soon.

Finally, it also buttresses our position as a Melbourne-based club. When the next new AFL franchise or relocation takes place (as surely it will within 10 years or so, maybe to Hobart or Auckland) we want to be as far removed from the likely candidates for liquidation/relocation as possible. If we are firmly anchored in the western suburbs and strongly identified with them we may survive intact. It would be harder for a club like Norf to map out such a strong geographical association.

Incidentally for those concerned about the lack of a phone number for memberships, the Wb website has the 1300 number immediately below the vid.

Anyone here studying or working in public relations / advertising? It would make an absorbing case study and I'd be interested in what you saw in it.

As some have noticed it is an attempt to bury any "bring back Footscray" initiative. I can't see us changing from the WB any time soon.

Me either, however I doubt the intent was to bury the Footscray name, if anything it has come out and affirmed it's place in our identity. I don't expect us to trade as the Footscray Bulldogs again, however in recent years the Club has tried to hide from its roots and allowed this self loathing amongst a lot of supporters to grow and go unchallenged.

My perception of things to date has been the Club distancing itself from Footscray rather than embracing the West. The focus has been on the obstacles, on fear of failure. There are many so called fans on this board that applaud the strategy. It hasn't worked. It hasn't been good enough. Its just generated a lot of bitterness and exhaustion at never being good enough.

This campaign is really going about the work that should have been done all along, it is growing the brand's identity rather than shunning it. Footscray has always been the focal point of the West and our Club has always been seen as the team from the West. I think you mentioned that we are inextricably linked, absolutely we are. Why not beat our chest about it? We have an opportunity to piggy back on the region's prosperity and highlight a point of difference between our brand and others in the football world.

I really hope this campaign does well and affirms the brand the way it should. I hope fans of the FFC can learn to accept who we are and learn to celebrate it again because like the video says, for better or worse, 'this is our place, our story.' All champion brands have a strong myths and stories, the things that build the identity. Very good brands elicit some sort of emotional response, we've clearly gone with ideas around feelings of association, growth and hope ('infinite possibilities.') and for mine, the timing is great and the message resonates quite clearly.

Beyond that there is some real moxy about the message, declaring ownership of the region. People might follow other clubs etc, but they are on our turf. They are the exception in our eyes. I like that being made public by the Club. I love it.

I agree with the majority of the sentiments here, that it is about taking pride in our past but also looking to the future.

I remember that one of the Essendon directors did some research into the growth in the Western Suburbs, and came out and stated that the Doggies were just as important to expansion as GWS and the GC suns due to the new and emerging demographics. I think there was also a mention of the risk that soccer can play in not attracting supporters to our game, perhaps that is the meaing behind the Western Front, - challenging soccer.

You have a rare talent for stating the bleedin obvious. I rather enjoyed the imagery SOS’s post provided of children being brutalised in the playground for their wrong choices. Gotta love the raw side of big footy. I hope the social media strategy doesn’t sanitize things too much and some continue to veer well off message.

My post yes was stating the obvious but it was a fact that not all kids in those areas support the Dogs. I liked SOS's post quite a lot.

I agree all children living in the west and not supporting the dogs should be flogged....they have to be learned proper just as I is.

But, all clubs are looking for areas, regions, towns, states and even countries where they can build their brand and supporter base. The Hawks and Tassie is one example. We have sold home games all over the place too, but the biggest opportunity is still right in front of our eyes.

The dogs unlike almost any other team, perhaps except the interstate teams and perhaps Geelong are linked geographically with a distinct region in this case the western suburbs of Melbourne. It's growing, and it's changing. The Dogs are growing and changing in line with that. The dogs have the advantage that it's where they are actually located it's the heart land.

We need to keep building on that ownership and that belonging. A flag or 2 would really help build the brand and the supporter base in the area. Like someone said earlier, the West of Melbourne is important for the AFL with the demographic lending itself to soccer. Given time, some flags and the dogs could well be a very powerful club off field in 10 to 20 years.

Some people have got it.
It's a brand-building exercise that's trying to lock in an association with (and ownership of) the western suburbs. Whether or not it sells ................................................................................... or working in public relations / advertising? It would make an absorbing case study and I'd be interested in what you saw in it.

Well articulated!:thumbsu: I think you have hit the nail on the head or did the creative for the Bulldogs

Little bit off topic but what do people think of the Darwin experiment. All reports i saw/heard sugested we were just starting to build a supporter base up there when we were turfed out in favour of other clubs such as Port, Tigers, Melbourne etc.

Bit hard to grow a brand when the AFL destroys the good will and effort in one or two seasons.

Little bit off topic but what do people think of the Darwin experiment. All reports i saw/heard sugested we were just starting to build a supporter base up there when we were turfed out in favour of other clubs such as Port, Tigers, Melbourne etc.

Bit hard to grow a brand when the AFL destroys the good will and effort in one or two seasons.

Certainly seemed like we got shafted by the AFL on this venture. I am sure there were a few other aspects to it, like our Coach not being keen on the travel and the impact the heat can have, the AFL's fixturing of the games and so on but I got the impression it was a growing market for local supporters to travel to for those games and with the community work being done it was fast becoming a bulldog friendly space.

Being an extremely tribal Westie I loved it. In fact, at times it looked more like an ad for the Maribyrnong City council at times than for the Dogs.

Still, I think it needed an insert of Linkman picketing the Corner Store or Duchess of Spotswood in his flanno shirt and bucket hat with a "****ter Yuppies and Reffos Out" sign to give it that authentic Western suburbs vibe of chip on the shoulder stupidity that only he can provide.

Ted Bullpitt lives!

Anyone here working in public relations / advertising? It would make an absorbing case study and I'd be interested in what you saw in it.

I'd rate it less than ordinary. Most of the comments on the AFL Board thread are on the mark.

For those here who curiously like it, I'd like to see them try to reverse engineer an advertising/marketing brief for this.

Ive read a lot of posts to this thread and overall I can see the premise of this video and whats its trying to do. It shows our club's connection to the West. I think the video is more geared toward people who live in the Western Suburbs but dont follow a team (one example the immigrants who have moved into the area). I thought the video could have focused on the club a little more but I can see the purpose of the video. Im ironically from the Eastern Suburbs and have been Supporting the Bulldogs for over 10 years. The Western Suburbs is a big growth area in fact one of the largest growth areas in Australia and many young professionals are moving into Footscray, West Footscray, Yarraville, Williamstown, Maribyrnong bumping up the house prices in these suburbs. These suburbs are close to the City well served by public transport. The club has done lots of great community work in the West in visiting schools and helping disadvantaged youth. Our club should keep doing whats its doing in trying to engage the West.

I'd rate it less than ordinary. Most of the comments on the AFL Board thread are on the mark.

For those here who curiously like it, I'd like to see them try to reverse engineer an advertising/marketing brief for this.

I liked it. Why do i need to reverse engineer it? It is what it is. Makes me feel good. I'll leave the analysis to those who will have an objective point of view. But this is my club and it has always been connected to the area I live in.

One of the strangest pieces of propaganda i've seen in a long time. Seems to go for an eternity, and i'm still unsure what the intention of it was.

- As an advertorial for the area - it's pretty good
- As an advertorial for the footy club - not so good

Seemed to be more about changing the sterotypes of the area, ie at the start of the video it was all about construction and hard work, but then changed later into latte sipping and yuppiedom. Not a massive amount of footy related content.

If anyone has seen Year of the Dogs, watching that video reminded me about the PR man who wanted to introduce a list of buzzwords that each player should use in their interviews. That's all that video was to me - a list of buzzwords and tired cliches.

Man the people on this board can be ****ing cynical.
It's a 3 minute internet video linking the club and the fastest growing region in Australia. Nothing more, nothing less, it's supposed to evoke a sense of us vs them and a sense of pride in your club and your area. If you are too jaded and frankly too full of bullshit to not get that I honestly feel sorry for you. I also think it's interesting that those who profess not to 'get' the video seem to be those who don't live in the region.

News The Western Front Launch Video