Things That Shit Me (AFL edition)

Smiling and laughing after a loss. I understand that players can often have friends on the other team and that after a game is one of the few chances that they get to catch up. As someone who doesn't take losses very well (I know, it's just a game blah blah I can't help it)those few seconds after a loss to see players joking around really drives me up the wall. I didn't even participate in the game and I can be sitting there fuming while these guys can LOOK as if they didn't care. I'm all for shaking hands and all but when I play my mates in my local domestic basketball league the last thing I want to do is laugh and joke around with them right after a loss. I don't know, I just hate losing.

Folks who keeping using the the abbreviation GWS in discussion.

Although, the *******s who named the club after a government policy area and the mouthful it is should cop the initial blame. still don't know why journos and commentators can't just shorten it to western sydney during shows or games. is it a League directive?

It's a pretty silly name, but it's the team's name (even as registered with its ABN) so it's correct to use it.

I agree. But conversely i dont like seeing players helping opponents up off the deck - until the game is over. Last year in the GF one of the West Coast players picked up Hodge off the ground while his team was trailing by 10 goals. Sportsmanships great but its absolutely ridiculous to flatter your opponent during a game. Same goes for cricket fielders sprinting over to shake the hand of some batsman that's just destroyed them making 200, etc. Once the games over, shake hands and have a beer. But there should be no pleasantries during the game. You think Sam Mitchell or Ricky Ponting spent their careers boosting their opponents confidence?

Mate, I agree with your comments. You play hard to win, but when it's over, you shake hands and have a beer together. Some of the best mates I made in sport resulted from aggro towards each other on the field. The people I respected most were those who dished it out, could take it, and didn't whinge about it. It just strikes me as pathetic seeing players continually pushing and shoving when there's no reason to do so.

Smiling and laughing after a loss. I understand that players can often have friends on the other team and that after a game is one of the few chances that they get to catch up. As someone who doesn't take losses very well (I know, it's just a game blah blah I can't help it)those few seconds after a loss to see players joking around really drives me up the wall. I didn't even participate in the game and I can be sitting there fuming while these guys can LOOK as if they didn't care. I'm all for shaking hands and all but when I play my mates in my local domestic basketball league the last thing I want to do is laugh and joke around with them right after a loss. I don't know, I just hate losing.
I've seen Chris Yarran do this during a game with his team getting soundly beaten.

The AFL defending the umpires after every controversial call...

Dempsey dangerous tackle - Every body "crap decision" - AFL "Umpire made the right call"

Firrito rushed behind - Everybody "crap decision" - AFL "Umpire made the right call.

Deliberate against demons vs Eagles- Everybody " Crap decision" - AFL "Umpire made the right call"

Shits me.

The AFL defending the umpires after every controversial call...

Dempsey dangerous tackle - Every body "crap decision" - AFL "Umpire made the right call"

Firrito rushed behind - Everybody "crap decision" - AFL "Umpire made the right call.

Deliberate against demons vs Eagles- Everybody " Crap decision" - AFL "Umpire made the right call"

Shits me.
What shits everybody: Watching Essendon play.
I'm not wanting to umpire in the AFL ya **** smack. I haven't once questioned the fitness levels required to umpire a AFL. But what they do during a game is not high intensity therefore they don't need to carry on with their pre game antics.
Bullshit mate.
Lin Jong

Complete and utter friggin spud.

Top 3 worst players I've see seen in red white and blue and that's saying something coz we have had some Sh!tmen
How many games have you played mate? What shits me: supporters like you. Always ready to bag someone when things go wrong and then think they are great supporters when their team wins.

[QUOTE="Wooffa, post: 45756387, member: 17390

How many games have you played mate? What shits me: supporters like you. Always ready to bag someone when things go wrong and then think they are great supporters when their team wins.[/QUOTE]

Haha Jong has been sh!t for 5 years win or lose he is embarrassing get over it

Supporters like you who can't admit blokes who wear the jumper are bad sh!t me.

Listening to Dwayne Russell try to make a 40-point difference in a game sound exciting and thrilling. Last week's North vs Port was the worst game I've ever heard from the commentary box; Ziebell kicked a goal with only 8 minutes left to make it IIRC 33 points the difference and he tossed up his usual "and he breathes some life" or "They're still in it!". No, the game was over at quarter time. North are the only team who could have blow that lead (Patrenko) but instead they were the team that were down. You are the utmost most annoying bloke of all time, Dwayne.
I reckon Dwayne is good, he is just trying to keep
[QUOTE="Wooffa, post: 45756387, member: 17390

How many games have you played mate? What shits me: supporters like you. Always ready to bag someone when things go wrong and then think they are great supporters when their team wins.

Supporters like you who can't admit blokes who wear the jumper are bad sh!t me.[/QUOTE]
You would shit yourself little man if he got within 10m of you on a football oval. How many games did you say you have played????????

I agree. But conversely i dont like seeing players helping opponents up off the deck - until the game is over. Last year in the GF one of the West Coast players picked up Hodge off the ground while his team was trailing by 10 goals. Sportsmanships great but its absolutely ridiculous to flatter your opponent during a game. Same goes for cricket fielders sprinting over to shake the hand of some batsman that's just destroyed them making 200, etc. Once the games over, shake hands and have a beer. But there should be no pleasantries during the game. You think Sam Mitchell or Ricky Ponting spent their careers boosting their opponents confidence?
that was McGovern and I have no issue with it. you will see opposition players pick each other up from time to time. Sometimes they might actually know each other from junior footy or be friends off field.
Saying McGovern did the wrong thing by helping Hodge up when play was dead shits me

Players that drop their knees and wrestle the opponents arms to their neck region. That sh*ts me the most. We now have players leading into a contest with their knees already dropped (expecting high contact). Not only is this very dangerous, but it has only gotten to this level because the AFL incentivized it (act of dropping the knees) early. Firstly, someone is going to die. Secondly, I hate watching football and seeing this BS.

I reckon Dwayne is good, he is just trying to keep

You would shit yourself little man if he got within 10m of you on a football oval. How many games did you say you have played????????[/QUOTE]

Haha yeah petrified

I'd just wait for him to fumble it or handball it into the ground. Or dropped chest marks.

Doesn't matter how many I played he is still shite

But but he is tough and he tries lol

It's only a game mate.

Thing that shits me is players who ****in lay prone, supine, squat, hand on face, staring into space, cry after losing a close game or final. Yes, it's disappointing, but it's weak. i've played in several Grand finals up here - won some and lost some - and I love seeing the opposition do it (makes the win that much sweeter), hate watching my own team do it. seems to be the *******s who never put in as much during the season who end up acting like it's the greatest shock and disappointment in their lives.

Are you really comparing yourself, and whatever ammos games (or high school?) you've played, to professional footballers and their reactions after losing a GF, which is tantamount to an entire year of brutal struggle counting for nowt?

Really!? Because that shits me.

You would shit yourself little man if he got within 10m of you on a football oval. How many games did you say you have played????????
I know a bloke who played on him before he was drafted, had 5 kicked on him. He wasn't exactly an imposing force on field.

Agree with this, seen it on Melbourne forums too. A player plays like shit, you point it out, get abused because apparently you're not allowed to negatively comment

that was McGovern and I have no issue with it. you will see opposition players pick each other up from time to time. Sometimes they might actually know each other from junior footy or be friends off field.
Saying McGovern did the wrong thing by helping Hodge up when play was dead shits me

Play's dead when the game is over. I'm sorry my opinion shits you but I'm sure you'll move on.

nope play is dead when the whistle is blown, game is over when the final siren sounds.

Semantics. Play (and tactics) are always going on from before the ball is bounced until the final siren. You don't give you're opponent a helping hand because there is a break in play (Alistair Clarkson certainly wouldn't)

Things That Shit Me (AFL edition)