This Week: Lead Jack Lead!!!

gopies1981

Feb 25, 2007
I think the most important match up this week could be Jack Anthony V Brian Lake match up!

I am sure all pie fans can remember back to round 15 when the last time we played the Dogs and Brian took Jack to the cleaner's. I was at that game and it was so frustrating because for some reason Jack just refused to lead all night and was trying to out muscle Lake and that will not get the job done against the best defender in the competition.

So Jack if you are reading this post get on your bike son and lead to the ball and I think this will go a long way to beating Brian.

You can beat Brian, Jack I have full confidence in you Mate!:thumbsu:

The last time we played the Dogs it was a different Anthony playing. Was sore, refused to kick in any circumstance.

Won't happen to that extent again.

Anthony is faster than Lake, that's a fact. I'd like to see Anthony leading up the ground, leave someone like Medhurst deep.

The last time we played the Dogs it was a different Anthony playing. Was sore, refused to kick in any circumstance.
i hope so because it was by far the stupidest game ive ever seen jack play

Jack has a tendency to want to get involved in 1 on 1 battles, rather then lead lately.

This week, MM has to get him out of this by making him lead from about 20 metres out in all directions.

Leave the resting ruckman in the goalsquare, while Medhurst, Cloke and Anthony drive the doggies defense nuts with so many leads they wont be able to handle it.

But really, the most important tactic against the dogs is to get the ball in quickly, because Jack will beat Lake off a lead if the ball is moved quickly.

Jack has a tendency to want to get involved in 1 on 1 battles, rather then lead lately.

This week, MM has to get him out of this by making him lead from about 20 metres out in all directions.

Leave the resting ruckman in the goalsquare, while Medhurst, Cloke and Anthony drive the doggies defense nuts with so many leads they wont be able to handle it.

But really, the most important tactic against the dogs is to get the ball in quickly, because Jack will beat Lake off a lead if the ball is moved quickly.

I agree with ya 100%. But Jack must lead and lead all around the forward 50! Come On Jack you can do it mate!

Someone has to be smart enough to also contest the footy when Anthony get's into a wrestle with Lake coming over the top.

If we can bring the footy to ground it cuts out some of Lake's dominance.

The last thing we need is for Lake to be marking all our inside 50 attempts. he is one of the best defenders in the league at marking opposition kicks inside 50 while still maintaining a tight leash on his direct opponent. When you stop him marking the ball as much as he generally does this negates much his effectiveness, in terms of reading the ball he is probably amongst the best in the competition.

I hope Anthony has learned a fair bit from the last time they played because in the contested situation Lake absolutely destroyed him, Jack was constantly looking to make contact but Lake just destroyed him in the one on ones. The best approach for Jack as has been said would be to play in front, lead hard, and if outpositioned attempt to bring the ball to ground for our small forwards. The other key is also to be mindful of Lake and his capacity to rebound, last time Lake was at the forefront of nearly every Bulldogs forward thrust out of defence.

Seriously. I would park Leigh Brown's massive can in the forward line this week and say every time Lake looks to body Anthony, come over the top and crash into Lake (fairly of course).

Make the football hit the ground.

We're quite profficient at finding space within the forward 50.

It's actually better that we place a kick in front of the forward and force them to lead into that space. Defenders cannot read or stop that sort of delivery into the forward 50.

I think we are a bit harsh on Jack.He's doing extremely well for a player who is really in their 2nd year of football
My thoughts exactly, a bit tough to carve him up for playing body-on-body after all Wayne Carrie was silly enough to consistently try the same tactic on Jakovich on most occassions. This saw him get towelled up, on the few occassions he played leading footy against Jako he beat him pointless, but still he would revert to body-on-body and get towelled up again. Let's hope Jack is smarter.

I think we are a bit harsh on Jack.He's doing extremely well for a player who is really in their 2nd year of football

I'm Not being harsh On Jack at all! I'm Just stating that Jack must lead to beat Lake. If he just wrestles with Lake, Jack will get killed.

I am very confident that if Jack play's smart and provides leading options all night for our midfielders J.A will be in for a big night!

I think it's very important to note that the past does not equal the future, and Jack has developed into a better player since the last time the pies faced the dogs. Jack does need to lead though and work harder during this match, BUT I believe he is capable of doing just that and having a good match as he has worked very hard off the field. Go Jack I'll be cheering for u very loudly Sunday... Do us proud kiddo!!!

PS: He is still v young and learning with every match, I think we need to cheer him on during this journey, I hope he stays at Collingwood for the rest of his promising career.... I for one will support him forever!!!

Anthony is faster than Lake, that's a fact. I'd like to see Anthony leading up the ground, leave someone like Medhurst deep.

I'd like to see Jack take Lake up the ground as you suggest and Fraser drop into the hole the second he departs the 50.:thumbsu:

I still would not discount Rocca making a surprise appearance which would see Lake on him. Play him just as we did Scarlett last time Rocca was fit.

I think most of the criticism of Jack in this thread has been constructive, though. We all appreciate just how well he's done considering that it's his second year, and that he has made a fantastic transition considering he was being molded as a defender. I think we all just want him to play to the fullest of his capabilities.

I wonder if J.A reads these posts..... if so id love to see his responses and comments, i guess actions speak louder than words we will just have to see how our boy performs sunday...

GO PIES!:cool:

Leave Cloke deep I reckon. They'll be stretched down back if we rest a ruckman forward too.

This Week: Lead Jack Lead!!!