Don77

Oct 16, 2002
Right, haven't posted for ages- but need to get a couple of things off my chest.

First (and I know there is probably a thread about this somewhere else), but are other Essendon supporters noticing the two 'musicians' (I use that term loosely) on the bridge at Telstra Dome who rock up at every Essendon game wearing the opposition's scarves and beanies playing their theme songs. I even saw them at the MCG before the Anzac game playing Collingwood's theme song! :thumbsdown:

Have noticed it the last couple of years but it is really giving me the shits this year. So have decided to wage my own little personal protest. Starting last week, I have decided to give them a small donation- one corona bottle top dropped into their povo little case, along with a couple of lines (tongue in cheek of course) about how much I enjoy listening to their music every week as I am walking to the footy with my mum.

I am also planning to double my donation each week, or until they a) cease to exist or b) start playing Essendon's theme song. Anyone care to join me this week? If you don't like the idea, I am open to others.

Go Bombers.

Stupid business practice to be honest.

Here you have a rich team with a generally 'better-off' supporter base (ie $$$$), but no they decide to play the opposition song therefore there is no chance in hell that they'll be getting any money off us. They'll play North's, the Bulldog's ... they're scraping the bottom of the barrel.

Ain't ever getting a cent from me ... the low-lifes.

The best guy to give moeny to is the guy that plays classical gas. he rocks!!!!!!!!

I agree although on Saturday he changed to playing Spanish songs.

Also once he started playing Waltzing Matilda played a line couldn't do it reverted back to classical gas.

And I think the two ****ers go for Saints. Always wear Saints scarfs, tops, beanies....

Heyyyy I thought it was just me being 'paranoid' or something, that they're always wearing the opposition gear and playing the opposition song! For a year now I haven't heard them play the Essendon song as I've been walking to the game. And the few games we've won in that time, they've been playing some other random shit after the game.

Bastards.

I may join you in dropping random stuff into their cases.

(BTW I hope you're aware that they actually show up at non-Essendon games too...your post makes it sound like you don't.)

Its not smart business especially when its a Essendon home game at the dome. :eek:

I noticed people a few weeks ago dumping their free packets of chips they were handing out to people walking to the ground in the musicians boxes.

Right, haven't posted for ages- but need to get a couple of things off my chest.

First (and I know there is probably a thread about this somewhere else), but are other Essendon supporters noticing the two 'musicians' (I use that term loosely) on the bridge at Telstra Dome who rock up at every Essendon game wearing the opposition's scarves and beanies playing their theme songs. I even saw them at the MCG before the Anzac game playing Collingwood's theme song! :thumbsdown:

Have noticed it the last couple of years but it is really giving me the shits this year. So have decided to wage my own little personal protest. Starting last week, I have decided to give them a small donation- one corona bottle top dropped into their povo little case, along with a couple of lines (tongue in cheek of course) about how much I enjoy listening to their music every week as I am walking to the footy with my mum.

I am also planning to double my donation each week, or until they a) cease to exist or b) start playing Essendon's theme song. Anyone care to join me this week? If you don't like the idea, I am open to others.

Go Bombers.

i hate those two little prick i might give them a wack in the mouth.

It's embarrassing to think that they play the same song over and over again. I walk past them and just feel plain embarrassed for them. Then I have the overwhelming urge kick their kneecaps in. But I restrain myself.

I feel the same way about the classical gas guy and the blind accordion women who plays My Heart Will Go On opposite Crown, in front of QBH. Damn conscience.

Go Bombers.

I am glad it has been said.

my mates never believed me when i told them.

i had a crack at them after the saints game when they were playing a slow and depressing version of the saints song rather then ours.

I've noticed the same thing, but I will mention that the one time I threw a coin in, they switched to our theme song straight away...

So there you go.

Stop beating tightarses, give them a donation, and they'll play your song.

Mate if they played our song i would contemplate dropping my wallet in there. you would think out of a pure making money sense the winner's song is going to bring in more money then the losers

The best guy to give moeny to is the guy that plays classical gas. he rocks!!!!!!!!

Classical Gas guy is an institution amongst a few of my friends. We see him everywhere: Football, Spring Racing Carnival, in the City, we always donate to him, he's a really nice guy. One of my mates (who works at moonee valley) went outside for a smoko, but dropped his last dart in a puddle, Classical Gas Guy saw it happen and came over, recognised my mate from previous occasions, and chopped him out! Absolute Legend!

As for those ***** on the brigde, I thought I was the only one who noticed that they seem to be against Essendon. I even saw a little girl give them some money, asking that they play the Bombers Song. Their reply: "Sorry. We don't know that one .... " They can go get ****ed!

Hahahah! Made them play the song today! I was walking past and not surprisingly, they were playing the Brisbane song. Having got to the ground early we thought we'd wait and see if they'd ever play our song...and they played the Brisbane song ten times in a row before I went up to them (and some other guy who was passing at the time) and asked when the last time they played the Essendon song was....

They looked incredibly embarrassed to be approached by a few people, and started up with the Essendon song, to a HUGE (and sarcastic) cheer from the surrounding Essendon supporters.

Nowhere to be seen after the game...

Hahahah! Made them play the song today! I was walking past and not surprisingly, they were playing the Brisbane song. Having got to the ground early we thought we'd wait and see if they'd ever play our song...and they played the Brisbane song ten times in a row before I went up to them (and some other guy who was passing at the time) and asked when the last time they played the Essendon song was....

They looked incredibly embarrassed to be approached by a few people, and started up with the Essendon song, to a HUGE (and sarcastic) cheer from the surrounding Essendon supporters.

Hahaha, If only I was there!

I found that funny, I was walking out wondering what they'd be doing. NOWHERE to be seen.

i quite like 'em - it's all a bit of fun. Let's face it - if it were the pies they were having a go at, we'd think it was hilarious.

I like the way they played the saints song really slow and sad after we had a win over them.

Haha I thought I was the only one that noticed this.

BomberGal, did you find out WHY they only play "Essendon's opponents songs."

I wanna know who they are and who they barrack for.

Those 'w*****s' on the bridge.