Those 'w*****s' on the bridge.

Heyyyy I thought it was just me being 'paranoid' or something, that they're always wearing the opposition gear and playing the opposition song! For a year now I haven't heard them play the Essendon song as I've been walking to the game. And the few games we've won in that time, they've been playing some other random shit after the game.

Bastards.

I may join you in dropping random stuff into their cases.

(BTW I hope you're aware that they actually show up at non-Essendon games too...your post makes it sound like you don't.)
There was a thread either here or on BB, and I said in there the only thing they deserve to have dropped in their cases is a healthy brown cable. Just quietly drop your tweeds, unleash the monster, wipe off and walk off. Best wash your hands afterwards

Right, haven't posted for ages- but need to get a couple of things off my chest.

First (and I know there is probably a thread about this somewhere else), but are other Essendon supporters noticing the two 'musicians' (I use that term loosely) on the bridge at Telstra Dome who rock up at every Essendon game wearing the opposition's scarves and beanies playing their theme songs. I even saw them at the MCG before the Anzac game playing Collingwood's theme song! :thumbsdown:

Have noticed it the last couple of years but it is really giving me the shits this year. So have decided to wage my own little personal protest. Starting last week, I have decided to give them a small donation- one corona bottle top dropped into their povo little case, along with a couple of lines (tongue in cheek of course) about how much I enjoy listening to their music every week as I am walking to the footy with my mum.

I am also planning to double my donation each week, or until they a) cease to exist or b) start playing Essendon's theme song. Anyone care to join me this week? If you don't like the idea, I am open to others.

Go Bombers.

i think youll find they play both songs before the game, and then play the winning teams song after the game.... you havent heard essendons song lately becuase we havent won many games over the last 2 years.

That was a few years ago. The last couple of years they've only played the oppositions song before games, and whenever we win they're nowhere to be seen afterwards.

Did you read this thread at all??

The point of this is that they have not been playing the Essendon song before the game for the last couple of years. I certainly haven't heard it, and given their reaction when I approached them on the weekend (after they had played the Brisbane song 10 times in a row) suggests it's not just all in our minds. And all the Bombers supporters who cheered when they finally played it.

That was a few years ago. The last couple of years they've only played the oppositions song before games, and whenever we win they're nowhere to be seen afterwards.

Or they play the other teams song in a slow sad tune, like they did when we beat the saints. Pissed me off to, thought i was the only one.

I always make a note of them at the Dome, and today we were playing a non-Victorian team, I was curious to know whose song they were playing.

Sadly, I had to miss my first game in 9 years today, due to a bloody Indoor Cricket Grand Final being scheduled at 2:30, and obviously I can't ditch my teammates for the Granny, so I couldn't make it, which was a culture shock. Listening on the radio (without vision) after the Granny was something I hadn't experienced in 10 years, and I just finished watching the whole game on Fox now.

So I couldn't listen to what the musicians were doing. Were they there again today and if so, were they playing the Crows song?

I always make a note of them at the Dome, and today we were playing a non-Victorian team, I was curious to know whose song they were playing.

Sadly, I had to miss my first game in 9 years today, due to a bloody Indoor Cricket Grand Final being scheduled at 2:30, and obviously I can't ditch my teammates for the Granny, so I couldn't make it, which was a culture shock. Listening on the radio (without vision) after the Granny was something I hadn't experienced in 10 years, and I just finished watching the whole game on Fox now.

So I couldn't listen to what the musicians were doing. Were they there again today and if so, were they playing the Crows song?

They were playing the Essendon club song both before and after the game....

D26, that is very disappointing. I`ve missed births,birthdays,weddings,burials,christenings,shavings,bucks nights,first communions,get togethers all in the name of Essendon. I hope you won your bloody final.

Nah we lost. But it would be a dog's act not to play. How do you not play in the Grand Final? Your mates would kill you, and that's not on. At the end of the day you've gotta make a decision and come to the correct decision, even if it's a painful one.

And it was the correct decision. I also had to miss the pre-season game against the Blues because I had an official role in my Bro's wedding. Nothing I can do about that. And I'm sure if you were in either position (in my circumstances) you'd have done the same thing. I've missed weddings for the Bombers too, but not this one and not under these circumstances.

After all you have stated many times that you have mised 3 games over a couple of decades. Sometimes things come up (sickness etc) and you can't go. I've ditched parties, bucks nights, weddings too, but you can't ditch your bro's wedding when you have an official role in it. I'm not a bloody idiot.

For me this was the first time in a decade.

I'd ditch a normal cricket game, but not the GF. Morally you just can't. I don't think it's disappointing at all. I think it's the honourable thing to do.

The most important thing is Essendon winning.

What were the circumstances of your 3 missed games? You have missed games, you know.

Noticed that they were playing the crows before the game and an essendon supporter went up to them said something and dropped something in box, then they started playing sunnyside up, after reading this thread wonder if was a corona cap now or $$$

I would do anything to get them playing the dons song. Every game i notice them and it annoys me to no end. Those to fools are starting to get on my nerve. I am going make try something along the lines of what has been suggested.

Yeah today was the first ever time i have heard them playing the bomber theme song...

Maybe the corona bottle tops worked?

Haha. I've thrown my rubbish (not just bottle tops) in their case for the last month. Yeah, I'm so tough.

They have a website...footybuskers.com (maybe .au) or something. I emailed them to ask why they wouldn't play the Essendon song. They said it was because Essendon fans never gave them money when they played it, so now they don't play it.

They played it yesterday though, more than the Adelaide song (at least for the time I heard them), AND stuck around to play it after the match. Maybe they really hate Adelaide. At any rate, they got a lot of cheers from the Essendon crowd yesterday, and I could hear a lot of people yelling "finally!" and "hey you remember it!"

So Bombers_Forever....not giving them money won't make them 'go away', although it's a pretty piss poor excuse from them...without playing our song they'd make even less money.

Right, haven't posted for ages- but need to get a couple of things off my chest.

First (and I know there is probably a thread about this somewhere else), but are other Essendon supporters noticing the two 'musicians' (I use that term loosely) on the bridge at Telstra Dome who rock up at every Essendon game wearing the opposition's scarves and beanies playing their theme songs. I even saw them at the MCG before the Anzac game playing Collingwood's theme song! :thumbsdown:

Have noticed it the last couple of years but it is really giving me the shits this year. So have decided to wage my own little personal protest. Starting last week, I have decided to give them a small donation- one corona bottle top dropped into their povo little case, along with a couple of lines (tongue in cheek of course) about how much I enjoy listening to their music every week as I am walking to the footy with my mum.

I am also planning to double my donation each week, or until they a) cease to exist or b) start playing Essendon's theme song. Anyone care to join me this week? If you don't like the idea, I am open to others.

Go Bombers.
Get a life and a brain

Go Bombers.

I hate those guys me and my mate give em shit everygame when there playing the oppositions song they annoy the shit outa me

They actually talk about the Essendon song and their supporters on their site which I found quite amusing:

"This song is pretty self explanatory, if maybe a little harsh! We have a lot of trouble getting the truth over to Bombers fans but hopefully this song and this explanation will help them to see the truth! We have been busking at the footy for about 6-7 years now at the Dome and the G and we play at every game either before or after or both, where possible, and we play for every team. Two teams enter, one team leaves, thats our philosophy (with only two exceptions - see the stats page).

At the start of our busking careers we played the Bombers song on the way in and out when they won, at home games, at away games, against Melbourne teams, against interstate teams, at the Dome, at the G, we played it! However we soon realised that when we played the Bombers we would go home with considerably emptier pockets than other games with other teams. We didn't know why and we still don't but we kept a track of this and our records indicated that basically the Bombers fans were tight!! I would say it nicer if there was a nicer way to say it!

We can play for teams with smaller fan bases (like Kanga's etc, not knocking the Kanga's, going great this year!)and even interstate teams in Melbourne with relatively few supporters at games (like Port Adelaide or Freo) and still go home better off than if we were to play the Bombers song at a Bombers game, even if they win, even if they win in a close game (which is more exciting) or win by thrashing the opposition by 100 goals!

Ultimately we had to make the decision to not play it because, as our song says, it wasn't worth it! We cop heaps of abuse from Essendon fans who want to hear their song (check out the bombersblitz website!) but its not a good business move to play it, as we have proven many times. We have given Essendon a few second chances and keep getting the same result so now we don't play it at all! We don't get much enjoyment out of dissapointing and annoying the Bombers fans, we are there to entertain the crowd, not piss them off (can't be helped after the game sometimes, but there can only be one winner, it's not our fault if your team loses!), but you get what you pay for, so Bombers fans miss out!! Bombers fans, there is a way to hear your song...you figure it out!!!"

As a Collingwood supporter Ive seen them twice this year when we played the Bulldogs and Hawthorn. Neither time where they playing our song, dont think they like the pies either. :confused:

Those 'w*****s' on the bridge.