Three things....

LiterallyNobody

Cancelled due to poster being a Campaigner
30k Posts 10k Posts Cake Connoisseur SFA Daffodil Day Fund Raiser Harry Potter Fan Song Contest Winner - 5+ Rounds Shiny Penny
Jul 26, 2006
Thing one - The umpiring was not that bad. It seems every game this year which is close and involves St Kilda has eighty or ninety ****ing decisions that everyone has to bitch and moan about and al of a sudden St KIlda didn't deserve to win. St Kilda was in front when the final siren rang. I think that to be says they deserved to win.

Thing two - Anyone disappointed with the style of play and looking to blame Ros Lyon, St Kilda and the board, players and all their fans and supporters :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:, seriously, welcome to footy in 2009. This is how the game is played now. Tough, uncompromising, contested, fierce.

Don't like it - don't watch it.

Thing three - I cannot believe the big deal that is being made out of our "celebrations" after the final siren. COME ON, could you clutch any harder at the straws FFS???! First of all, this was our fourth Prelim in SIX years - we have lost three and we finally, FINALLY won one! Of course they would be excited.

But don't for one second think that these boys think it is all done now. They will be excited to be in the Grand Final for once, but I'm sure each and every sniogle one of them has one eye on the prize next weekend and is trying to work out evey little thing they need to do and everything that is required of them.

The season is half over for us - the players know it and the fans know it. Everything is meaningless because next Saturday arvo, we are going to see two teams fighting it out for the big prize on equal footing.

Bring it the **** on!!!!!!!

I'm a neutral supporter and I can safely say that the umpiring was not bad, it was disgraceful.

You deserved to be in the Grand Final after your season, but on tonight's performance you deserved to be celebratin Mad Monday this week.

Only a St Kilda fan wouldn't recognise how ripped off the DOggies were tonight.

Enjoy the win, but don't bitch and moan next week if the maggots make a decision that costs you a flag.

I've said this in another thread, but I hope you guys don't mind me repeating.

We were robbed! Right in front of me! Right in Front of Me!!:D

I'm neutral and thought the umpiring wasn't too bad at all. Is everyone whinging about the Aker desision? Was clear cut methinks.

The umpiring wasn't bad. Bulldogs should have been well in front at quarter time. If you don't put scoreboard pressure on a team like St Kilda then you have nothing to complain about. Only dubious decision was the Riewoldt goal at the start of the 3rd quarter.

Bulldogs got the short end of the stick tonight.

All of the 50-50 push in the backs seemed to go against them and I thought Brian Lake was robbed on multiple occasions.

Boo ****ing hoo. Bad umpiring is in every game these days, apparently. It used to be only Collingwood supporters who would whinge about the mpiring every week - now it's everyone.

What were the bulldogs thinking when the siren rang tonight?

It wasn't "gee, we were hard done by, we should've been given all these decisions"; it was "Bugger, we tried our guts out and fell short of the Grand Final, that really ****ing hurts"

So if you want to sook about the umpriing, eff off to one of the other nine threads on the main board about it.

I really do think the doggies supporters are quite good losers, because I would honestly be gutted if I were in their shoes, I know how it feels, from 04 05 and 08 - it friggen hurts. to front up on this site after that is very gutsy so good on you.

Unfortunately it seems to be the oppo supporters who are complaining about the umpires.

I'm a neutral supporter and I can safely say that the umpiring was not bad, it was disgraceful.

You deserved to be in the Grand Final after your season, but on tonight's performance you deserved to be celebratin Mad Monday this week.

Only a St Kilda fan wouldn't recognise how ripped off the DOggies were tonight.

Enjoy the win, but don't bitch and moan next week if the maggots make a decision that costs you a flag.
hehehehehehe:p

And you are not very nice....if it wasn't for the saints advancing, I would have been behind the dogs. Sore loser :thumbsdown:

Don't worry about him mate. Some people take defeat a little harder than others. It's hardly the time for rational thinking. Cut some slack:)

Good luck:thumbsu:

We got the rub of the green from the umpires tonight, no doubt. But if the doggies had taken their chances in the first half like we did in the second (6 goals from 6 shots) then we wouldn't be having this conversation.

Don't worry about him mate. Some people take defeat a little harder than others. It's hardly the time for rational thinking. Cut some slack:)

Good luck:thumbsu:
Whereas reasonable fans such as your good self are entitled to a bit less criticism. Well done on a great season and good luck next year!

Congratulations to the saints, thought there were some dubious decisions tonight but it can go both ways. The team in front at the end of the game deserves to win...and of course they do
Good luck with next week.

Lol sore loser much?
I'm sure I speak for the majority when I say for w***ers like you who can't cop defeat, I hope it hurts more than most.

they all hurt more than most mate...that's what happens in the finals.

more than happy to cop defeat - am accustomed to it, in fact - it's why i back up again each year.

i can't stomach umpires though, who, as 99% of tonight's posts will show you, influence the outcome of matches.

the free to the big Sook at the start of the 3rd q was a disgrace. Saints clearly had the umpires. Dogs had their chances still. Dogs lost it because they had no self belief. crowd was silent during last when dogs had control. Where were you dogs fans? Couldn't hear you?

I know umpiring goes both ways but I thought the dogs were hard done by tonight It was still a great game the Saints were awesome. But I felt for the doggies tonight as a supporter you guys have every right to be upset.

First of all Doggies played a fantastic game and for the most part deserved to win, unfortunately for them some first quarter attempts at goal didn't work out.
Some dodgy umpiring decisions, but in a game where it's won by a goal umpire decisions always blamed. Riewoldt's 'touched' goal is a tricky one cos hard to see from umpires perspective if it came of the boot or hand last and as Buckley pointed out it is a goal 100% of the time.
The only thing that is annoying me are those having a go at Riewoldt for diving, because I saw a number of times he was getting some pretty harsh treatment from Doggies players and even at one point saw he had his hair pulled, and isn't Brad Johnson No.1 for taking dives?
Anyway, as I said earlier, any game that has a margin within 8-9 points could always have been turned by an umpiring decision and this game is no exception.

I am definitely no big fan of AFL umpiring standards, but I must say that for the most part I thought the game looked like it was one of the better umpired games for the year.

First of all Doggies played a fantastic game and for the most part deserved to win, unfortunately for them some first quarter attempts at goal didn't work out.
Some dodgy umpiring decisions, but in a game where it's won by a goal umpire decisions always blamed. Riewoldt's 'touched' goal is a tricky one cos hard to see from umpires perspective if it came of the boot or hand last and as Buckley pointed out it is a goal 100% of the time.
The only thing that is annoying me are those having a go at Riewoldt for diving, because I saw a number of times he was getting some pretty harsh treatment from Doggies players and even at one point saw he had his hair pulled, and isn't Brad Johnson No.1 for taking dives?
Anyway, as I said earlier, any game that has a margin within 8-9 points could always have been turned by an umpiring decision and this game is no exception.

The Dogs didn't deserve to win anything.

They weren't good enough.

They aren't tough enough mentally, or physically.

They were beaten by a side that has now had their measure 3 times this year.

You only deserve to win a game of football - particularly a final, if when the final siren goes you're in front on the scoreboard.

I can't believe any rational football supporter thinks you can win a Prelim final without deserving to do so!

Thing One - Get used to it, its been other supporters excuse for Geelong winning for 2 and a half years;

Thing Two - You're right, but its still ugly. But hey, I'd take a premiership any way or by any means;

Thing Three - I agree. Of course they were happy. Its called tall poppie syndrome. Other supporters are jealous its not their team...

Three things....