Ticketek must love this time of year

They have spent tens of millions setting up and maintaining their systems.
They need to make a return on their investment, you can't just say an automated ticket/ballot entry doesn't cost them anything.

Part of the $5.50 goes towards that ballot letter that members got sent. They probably work out to $1 a pop to organise, print and send. And they had to do that for 6 clubs.

Membership numbers of clubs have all increased, and I bet the surcharge or “booking fee” has too.

The rort will take place again this year and they’ll earn themselves even more.

I've had to pay the registration fee the last two years for no result.

This year I paid an extra $200 for access to finals and the GF tkts from the clubs allocation, if we make it. What really worries me about the GF is the tkt allocation is random. You can decline standing room tkts but that just means you'll get nothing if that's what the system spits out.
I'm confident the club's allocation will be decent seats, :oops: we're long odds this year though.

Hawthorn and Swans fans have no doubt received an email from their respective clubs informing them to enter the ballot for Grand Final tickets, should their sides be successful in the prelim( I know I have).

The problem is, you have to enter this ballot before you know if you're side is going to play off in the big dance(tomorrow), and you'll be handing over $5.50 for each barcode you enter to the lovely people at Ticketek. Non refundable of course.

I'd be interested to know if Freo, Geelong, North and Port supporters have also been advised to enter the ballot? I assume so.

Even if we think about it very conservatively and presume that only half of these membership bases enter the ballot, Ticketek are looking at an influx of around $805,000.
Now, although I'm not great with maths we're talking about somewhere between 60-80% of those transactions being handed over for literally no service whatsoever(as only 2 teams will make it, in case I lost you somewhere).

If every member of every club contacted enters the ballot, Ticketek would stand to pocket $1.6million, without even printing out or selling a ticket.

It's a rort.

I don't think they love this time of year they get slaughtered in the media for their finals ticketing system fail which happens almost every year.

London to a brick it happens again next year too....

AFL media operations and their process to fix it:

• open document
  • amend date to current year
  • save document
  • hit send
An absolute farcical billion dollar operation.

And I guarantee all AFL execs, club officials, Ticketek management will all have their corporate seats and boxes full and prime seats occupied for each game.

Perhaps they'd like to give up their access for the weekend to the rank and file that lost their mornings and tickets when it shit the bed

I didnt think so.

GO Catters

I don't think they love this time of year they get slaughtered in the media for their finals ticketing system fail which happens almost every year.
Exactly.

They much prefer making heaps of cash over Pink running 30 shows Australia wide.

No media coverage, no negativity, lots of booking fees

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

London to a brick it happens again next year too....

AFL media operations and their process to fix it:

• open document
  • amend date to current year
  • save document
  • hit send
An absolute farcical billion dollar operation.

And I guarantee all AFL execs, club officials, Ticketek management will all have their corporate seats and boxes full and prime seats occupied for each game.

Perhaps they'd like to give up their access for the weekend to the rank and file that lost their mornings and tickets when it shit the bed

I didnt think so.

GO Catters

This is what happens when there is no competition or regulation.

Better to say "sorry" while cashing the cheques than pay for the infrastructure.

If this were another monopolised industry where people could get hurt they would be sued.

Just think, they are pocketing all this, without even selling a single ticket.

Would love to know what cut of each ticket they get on top of that.
Yep. The cut of each ticket they get should be the 'service fee'.

Imagine going to Woolworths and getting charged a 'service fee' on top of what you've already bought, for the privilege of using the self serve checkout.

You wouldn't mind as much if the service they offered was halfway decent but the website is a shambles and selecting tickets is ridiculously convoluted assuming you actually get through the queue. They just don't give a stuff because at the end of the day they'll still sell their tickets to someone and rake in the cash with a subpar platform and service.

The ballot fee is a bullshit way of letting the AFL say "look we are keeping the price of tickets down"

I don't know what the ratio of successful to unsuccessful ballots is, but say it was 5 to 1, just charge $25 more for a ticket.

Paying money to get nothing is shite.

Ballot fee is what exactly? For all finals or the gf ballot?

Don't you get the money back if you're not successful in the ballot?
Ray Liotta Laughing GIF

Dude, you don't even get your money back if your team is unsuccessful in the Prelim. (Yes, you must register before you even know if your team will make the GF)

Like everything, the absence of competition in services really screws us. Plus the ACCC has been rendered toothless because the Government is more interested in promoting business interests then pretty much anything else, so issues with service delivery just don’t get adequately regulated.

And if you are super pissed off with the quality of regulators in general in this country, they are persistently wildly under resourced and can’t meet any effective targets even if the legislation wasn’t watered down in the interests of private profits. I speak from experience and as someone who is leaving my regulation and enforcement job in exactly 8 hours from now

Like everything, the absence of competition in services really screws us. Plus the ACCC has been rendered toothless because the Government is more interested in promoting business interests then pretty much anything else, so issues with service delivery just don’t get adequately regulated.

And if you are super pissed off with the quality of regulators in general in this country, they are persistently wildly under resourced and can’t meet any effective targets even if the legislation wasn’t watered down in the interests of private profits. I speak from experience and as someone who is leaving my regulation and enforcement job in exactly 8 hours from now

A little off topic but Australian markets always wind up with two main players and a token third. So we get little real competition - ticketing is a great example. Both companies suck but if you want a ticket you have to wade through their filth.

But even with the two - they are never really in competition from the pov of the customer buying tickets.

You want a ticket to the footy at the MCG but ticketek piss you off? What are your choices? Buy an MCG footy ticket from someone else? Can't do that. Buy a ticket to a different event from another ticket provider? That'll show em.

Ticketek must love this time of year