Tim Kelly - Requests Trade to West Coast

Still, on an open market, there is no way Dangerfield was worth that little.

Don't make me laugh with Dean Gore.

Don’t hate on the club or player mate, we can only play by the rules and that is what Geelong did.

Well sounds like Kelley’s manager certainly has
- Kelly’s manager Anthony Van Der Wielen insists it’s the Eagles or bust for his client, who won’t join the Dockers under any circumstances.

As for indulgence I can’t think of a bigger one than ablett

Ablett maybe had a few more runs on the board.

It’s a bit unprofessional to go about it like that I reckon. He’d want to be careful about burning his bridges - especially in a small town like Perth...
People have spoken strongly about Ross Lyon specifically ,Brad Hardie ,Kim Hagdorn along with numerous online callers . Hardie has no ties to Freo but is concerned for players and some Freo staff, willing to burn his bridge as a media person ,and Hagdorn has as well . Is a manager concerned for his players he manages , you bet ya . Good on him speaking out about the crap at Freo and protecting the welfare of his stable .

If Geelong is asking for the moon for Kelly, its simple, Eagles walk away.
Kelly comes over as a free agent next year, and we dont even give up anything.

Theres something called leverage, and Geelong have none.

He won't be a free agent , players are free agents when delisted , Geelong won't delist . He can delist himself and nominate for the draft .

Geelong as said they have no intentions of letting him go. What I'm worried about is we don't have a top 10 pick

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
Exactly, they know we don't have one and we can't get one easily. I'm wondering if they are posturing for our second rounder this year and our first next year, or our second and a player (Brander?). I think both options are overs.

Wouldn’t be giving up Brander, I mean going by Geelong board logic, Brander hasn’t given us his 7 years Service. Won’t be giving up Cole either. Two second rounders, a second and Nelson or trading a future pick and a second or two seconds for Swans first rounder on traded to Geelong is all I’d do. If not, walk away and go back next year when he’s out of contract. No other club will want him due to the family issues. And Freo won’t want him after what his manager has come out and said today.

It’s also amazing how, Geelong and it’s supporters don’t want to take any responsibility here. They knew TK’s situation and they took the risk even though it was highly likely he would be leaving ASAP. Just keep feeding us the old “west coast didn’t want him for 6 years” argument even though he wasn’t worth drafting until the 2016/17 draft. Our recruitment team obviously thought that no other club (outside of WA) would be stupid enough to draft him. But yet Geelong jumped us two picks and took him and now they’re whinging and abusing both him and his girl on instagram. Classy.

Let's be real here and so people know.

Our compo for lycett counts as a first rounder for the afl 2 in 4 rule.

About the best Geelong is going to get is next year's first and Nelson.

Wce still need to make first round picks as well and we have no one of leverage who wants out and wants to be traded.

The other realistic option would be our gold coast second and next year's first for Kelly and Geelong second next year.

Both options realistically are worth from a points perspective around pick 10-15. Slyce goes, Nelson out, karps, emac out from main list.

Mutimer from main to rookie, all rookies bar Watson delisted.

In Kelly and hickey/roughead. 3 picks in main draft. Parto and my man Mallen the only other real options to go.

Nothing insane is going to happen.

Um, Geelong paid the going rate in compensating those clubs! Cats are willing to let Tim walk, but you have to pay market rates. Why should we let him go for understand!

As far as I can tell these are roughly the Geelong trades for players in to the club over the past few years

Dangerfield - Pick 9, 28 + Dean Gore for Dangerfield + Pick 50

Ablett - Pick 19 + Pick 30 for Ablett, Pick 24, Pick 58

Tuohy - Pick 15, Pick 63 + Billie Smedts for Tuohy + Pick 22

Henderson - Pick 16

Smith - Pick 39 + 53

Full market rates or mostly at a discount?

giphy.gif
Why not, it's only going to be pick 18

Kelly will be an Eagle :westcoast:next year you can rest assured of that and will be running around in jumper # 11 .

Our recruiting guys have been into him for a long while.

He has nominated us as his only choice.

Lets look at our history , when we have had players come out and nominate us as their only destination, it has been done on the back of us telling them that we are committed to getting it done.

Redden, Jetta, Yeo.

Pretty simple join the dots we chase you ...... you commit ....... we get a deal done.

The doddle brains on here will bitch and moan that we have paid way to much, gave to much away

greatwhiteshark will have a hard on because we have given numerous draft picks away ( and we all know how much he hates draft picks ) so he wont have to support auskickers.

The recruiting team deliver the goods to Simpson.

All are happy and all is well everywhere ................ except big footy.

Fast forward :

End of round three 2019 season Kelly has kicked a total of 8 goals in his three games and averaged 26 possession...... the West Coast Big Footy consensus raves about what a f****** bargain we got and hang shit of The Handbagers :geelong: for capitulating at the trade table.

Thats how it works folks ..... so strap your self in and enjoy the show ..... oh and do't be distracted by the side show , otherwise known as the trade period. :p

Geelong have a contract that says Kelly must play for them next year which is plenty of leverage. They don’t have to trade Kelly unless they’re happy with what’s offered

Next year Kelly comes out of contract and we’d still have to come to terms on a trade with the difference being that Kelly can walk away from Geelong and enter the draft again if there’s no trade reached. No guarantees heft to us

Like it or not Geelong have all the leverage they need

the more i read about the situation that the kellys are in the more i think we should break the bank to get him.

they have twins that are under 1 and a toddler that is autistic, and no family support. their lives must be insane pressure and chaos.

i had just one kid and the first few months of her life was amazingly difficult, and we relied on parental help a great deal. even now she is 3 its tough going, and shes not autistic, and we dont have twins to deal with at the same time.

they need to come home.

and look, draft picks are just picks, im sure we will find some good stuff in the later draft. we should trade our first picks and future picks for top pick 8 - 10 or whatever.

if geelong are going to dig in their heels and refuse to make any sort of sacrifice, if getting 10 spots better in one draft is more important to them than the welfare of their own players, then we should be prepared to make that sacrifice.

Kelly will be an Eagle :westcoast:next year you can rest assured of that and will be running around in jumper # 11 .

Our recruiting guys have been into him for a long while.

He has nominated us as his only choice.

Lets look at our history , when we have had players come out and nominate us as their only destination, it has been done on the back of us telling them that we are committed to getting it done.

Redden, Jetta, Yeo.

Pretty simple join the dots we chase you ...... you commit ....... we get a deal done.

The doddle brains on here will bitch and moan that we have paid way to much, gave to much away

Greatwhitesharks will have a hard on because we have given numerous draft picks away ( and we all know how much he hates draft picks ) so he wont have to support auskickers.

The recruiting team deliver the good to Simpson.

All are happy and all is well everywhere ................ except big footy.

Fast forward :

End of round three 2019 season Kelly has kicked a total of 8 goals in his three games and averaged 26 possession...... the West Coast Big Footy consensus raves about what a f****** bargain we got and hang shit of The Handbagers :geelong: for capitulating at the trade table.

Thats how it works folks ..... so strap your self in and enjoy the show ..... oh and do't be distracted by the side show , otherwise known as the trade period. :p
Considering we focused on the draft last season, i don't really mind not having too much influence in this years draft. Also a few of the guys from last years draft look good.

My only issue is trading Brander.

the more i read about the situation that the kellys are in the more i think we should break the bank to get him.

they have twins that are under 1 and a toddler that is autistic, and no family support. their lives must be insane pressure and chaos.

i had just one kid and the first few months of her life was amazingly difficult, and we relied on parental help a great deal. even now she is 3 its tough going, and shes not autistic, and we dont have twins to deal with at the same time.

they need to come home.

and look, draft picks are just picks, im sure we will find some good stuff in the later draft. we should trade our first picks and future picks for top pick 8 - 10 or whatever.

if geelong are going to dig in their heels and refuse to make any sort of sacrifice, if getting 10 spots better in one draft is more important to them than the welfare of their own players, then we should be prepared to make that sacrifice.
Cats fans like to gloss over over his family situation.

I get the risk/reward of drafting a Kelly type player but i would be disappointed if we drafted a bloke that was in Kelly's situation. Kelly's issue is much more serious than homesickness and unlike homesickness, it cannot really be resolved.